Francophone Canada

Immigrants from France were the first Europeans to permanently settle in what is now Canadian territory. The French practised cod fishing in Newfoundland’s fish-rich waters, and the fur trade in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and the St. Lawrence Valley with the Indigenous populations, which facilitated settlement in those regions.

The French descendants quickly named themselves Acadians and Canadians, to distinguish themselves from the French from France. They first lived in the Maritime Provinces. They then settled in the St. Lawrence Valley, but quickly spread out in small groups into the Great Lakes region, the Prairies, and all along the Mississippi Valley, down to the Gulf of Mexico. In 1763, the French colonies passed into the hands of the British.

The Francophone communities throughout Canada would preserve their heritage and identity over the next two centuries, often in difficult conditions. In the second half of the 20th century, they made important gains, which today allow them to benefit from favourable conditions in a country where the French language and culture are now considered an asset.

According to the 2016 census, there are over seven million French-mother-tongue Canadians in Canada (21.4% of the population). They are spread throughout all regions, but concentrated in Quebec, where they number over six million and form the province’s majority population (79.1%). These descendants of the French pioneers are considered a founding people.

That is why French is one of Canada’s two official languages.

About Canada’s French Origins

In 1604, the first French immigrants founded permanent settlements in what is now the province of Nova Scotia, and then in what is now Quebec in 1608. Their descendants quickly distinguished themselves from the French from France, who continued to immigrate to those regions. Their cultural and social differences emerged through interactions with the Indigenous peoples, with whom they maintained constant relations, and because they lived in the vast spaces of the North American continent, whose climate and geography differed from those of France. These Acadian and Canadian descendants thus developed a culture that was different from those of the regions of France from which they hailed.

The Acadians practised fishing, maritime and fur trade with the Micmac, Malecite and Abenaki. They mainly used the fertile lands that they conquered on the French Bay, known today as the Bay of Fundy, through a unique soil irrigation technique thanks to dykes and aboiteaux. These major projects shaped their social organization, as the dykes were built through pooled resources and labour, and the meadows that were thus gained on the sea were shared and managed communally.

The Canadians from the St. Lawrence Valley were more mobile. Their main settlements were concentrated in the St. Lawrence Valley, between Quebec City and Montréal, but the extensive fur trade led them to explore vast territories. They did so by forging alliances with numerous Indigenous peoples, including the Montagnais, Algonquin, Abenaki, Huron, Ottawa, Saulteux, Potawatomi, and many others, according to the names the French gave them at the time. Over generations, this activity would lead them to travel across more than half of the North American continent. The Canadians were also the source of many Métis families, as many of them lived in Indigenous territory and wed Indigenous women in “country marriages.”

Alliances with First Nations

Despite occasional rivalries, the alliances forged by the Canadians and Acadians with the First Nations were one of the strengths of the French peoples of North America, who were much fewer in number than the British populations who settled along the American coast, between Massachusetts and Georgia. Those partnerships, which lasted for more than a century and a half, characterized the French presence on the continent, compared with the British and the Spanish, who, being more focussed on land use and development, had more distant, indeed hostile, relations with the Indigenous peoples.

The British Regime

Rivalries between the French and British for control of the North American continent ramped up during the Seven Years’ War (1756 to 1763), and resulted in the British Conquest of French America. Starting in 1755, Acadia, which had been under English jurisdiction since 1713, but remained French, was the scene of a collective tragedy. To eliminate all resistance, the British deported over 11,000 of the 14,000 Acadians. And from 1758 to 1760, the British conquered all of New France, home to over 55,000 Canadians. Those two events long cut off ties between the Francophones of New France (including Acadia) and France. From then on they lived in British territory, under the authority of the United Kingdom, which then governed thirteen colonies on the Atlantic coast, giving it dominance over the entire North American continent.

In Acadia, the British immediately took over the fertile lands that the Acadians had created through their aboiteau system. Because the British needed them to maintain that unique system and no longer feared the small contingent of Acadians that had remained or returned from exile, the Acadians were once again permitted to settle in the Maritime Provinces in 1764, but in small dispersed groups. The Canadians, who still formed a strong majority in the St. Lawrence Valley, were quickly authorized by the British to use the French language and to practise the Catholic religion, in order to maintain peace in the new colony.

The aftermath of the British Conquest was not unduly harsh for the Canadians, certainly much less so than for the Acadians, because of their large numbers and the vast territory they occupied. The British made concessions to the Canadians to facilitate the change of allegiance in their new colony. However, they did not abandon the idea of ultimately assimilating those two Francophone, Catholic populations into the English language and Protestant religion. Faced with that threat, the two communities joined forces and resisted as best they could.

The Acadians, dispersed and reduced in numbers, slowly reorganized. Spread out in the colonies of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island, which were quickly populated by the British, they took some time to recover the momentum that would bring them a certain prosperity starting in the 1880s. During that time, the Canadians from Lower Canada (present-day Quebec), who from that time on were called French-Canadians, to distinguish themselves from the Anglophones who lived in that colony and in Upper Canada (present-day Ontario), had the advantage of having remained on their lands and having conserved a portion of their goods. Large in numbers, they could exert pressure that was sometimes effective, maintain greater social cohesion, and preserve certain institutions, such as French schools, of which the Acadians were largely deprived. However, the urban and Anglophone elite rapidly dominated the new colonies’ economic, social and political life, and the French-Canadians and Acadians found themselves in a situation of inferiority and poverty.

The Affirmation of Francophone Communities

French-Canadians’ future prospects improved in the 1840s and 1850s, following a demographic, economic and political crisis that culminated in the Lower Canada Rebellion in 1837–1838. That armed uprising of French-Canadian patriots, easily repressed by British troops, caused the Catholic Church to develop rapidly and take charge of French-Canadian society. In a short period of time, that institution became a powerful engine of development and emancipation for the French-Canadians and Acadians. Starting in the mid-19th century, the Church developed the education, health care, heritage and identity of French-speaking Catholics. Together with secular society, it vigorously promoted the “French-Canadian Culture,” as it was called at the time.

The Catholic Church accompanied the French-speaking populations who were moving west, to work in the fur trade, logging, and agriculture. It looked after the moral education of all its flock, the French-Canadians and the Métis, and stimulated their devotion to the French language. The clergy led, organized and sustained communities in the current provinces of Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, and the Northwest Territories, and gave them an institutional strength that they could not have otherwise had.

Another important step in the preservation of French-Canadian culture came with Confederation in 1867, which recognized the provinces’ legislative powers over education, health, culture, and natural resources, while bringing them under the authority of a federal government. In the province of Quebec, Francophones became the majority in a democratic parliament with executive and legislative powers for the first time. Over time, those powers became very beneficial to them. The situation was less favourable for the other Francophone minority communities in the other provinces. They had to rely on the Church, which organized, structured, mobilized, and became a quasi-state within the state. It compensated in part for the absence of true political power by joining forces with secular community organizations, such as the Saint-Jean-Baptiste Society and the Société L’Assomption en Acadie.

On the Prairies, the Church also promoted the settlement of new territories acquired by Canada through the recruitment of Francophones in Quebec and, to a lesser extent, in France, Belgium, and Switzerland, and among French-Canadians who had emigrated to the United States to become factory workers. It convinced some of them to return to Canada to farm. Those Francophones reorganized into small communities, among the thousands of immigrants of various nationalities who populated the Prairies, especially from 1890 to 1930.

The Turning Point of the 1960s

Starting in the 1960s, Quebec became drastically secularized. The Government of Quebec replaced the Church and took charge of the development of Quebec society, which was predominantly French-speaking, through a strong and versatile public administration that promoted culture, language, the economy, and Francophones’ values. In New Brunswick, the large Acadian minority, which represented one third of the provincial population, enjoyed a similar momentum when an Acadian premier came to power, ushering in a lasting transformation in the relationship between the province’s Acadians and Anglophones. Elsewhere in Canada, a similar identity and community awakening occurred some years later.

In the 1970s, a nationalist movement gained momentum in Quebec. Intellectuals and politicians proposed to repatriate all powers to Quebec, by establishing an independent country, to better serve the interests of Quebec’s Francophone majority. That project was ultimately unsuccessful, but created turmoil throughout Canada, for both Anglophones and Francophones. The latter reacted by redefining their identity, from French-Canadians to Franco-Ontarians, Franco-Manitobans, or Fransaskois. They also sought to acquire more power and autonomy if Quebecers separated from Canada. That political upheaval drove communities to develop projects and strategies to secure their future.

Contemporary French Canada

Under the French Regime, the British Regime and after Confederation in 1867, Francophones have always settled throughout Canada. They have held and still hold jobs in all sectors: agriculture, logging and mining, fisheries, transportation, trade and industry, services, education, research and innovation. They make significant contributions to political life by electing representatives to their provincial governments and to the federal government, and they actively participate in all artistic disciplines. Francophones are an integral part of Canadian society.

In the North American continent’s sea of English and Spanish speakers, it is always a challenge to promote the French language and culture. In Canada, with the highest number of Francophones and where their contemporary achievements and historical legacy are significant, they rise to that challenge in all provinces by proudly preserving and developing their cultural heritage, while respecting the Anglophone majority and the other ethno-linguistic communities that enrich Canada.

With a majority at the provincial level, Quebec continues its efforts to protect and promote the French language and culture. Since the 1980s, thanks to the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms entrenched in the Canadian Constitution, Francophone minority communities have had their language rights and their French-language education rights recognized, which have developed everywhere. French immersion schools welcome tens of thousands of students and encourage better understanding between the English-speaking majority and French-speaking minorities. Knowledge about the French language is progressing throughout the country. The cultural vitality of Quebecers, Acadians and other Canadian Francophones has never been greater. Enhanced recognition of the French language contributes to more harmonious relations between Francophone and Anglophone communities and encourages Francophone immigration to Canada. Francophone immigrants from Europe, Africa, and the Caribbean help to strengthen and revitalize traditional communities.

Sustained efforts are nevertheless necessary to ensure the future of the Canadian Francophonie. In some regions, assimilation into the English-speaking community is rampant. The demographic decline in many communities is cause for serious concern. International Francophone immigration, which partly offsets a low birth rate in Francophone communities, is also a challenge for integration. In addition, digital media, mainly English-speaking, are revolutionizing communications and sweeping the planet, and pose another major challenge for the Canadian Francophonie. Canada’s Francophone communities are front and centre in the rapid transformations jolting the contemporary world and requiring constant adjustments.

Come and discover these diverse, dynamic and welcoming Francophone communities. They will surprise you.

Le Canada francophone

Des immigrants venus de France sont les premiers Européens à s’établir de façon permanente sur le territoire actuel du Canada. Les Français pratiquent la pêche à la morue dans les eaux poissonneuses de Terre-Neuve et la traite des fourrures dans le golfe et la vallée du Saint-Laurent avec les Autochtones, ce qui facilite l’établissement de colons dans ces régions. Rapidement, les descendants français se nomment Acadiens et Canadiens pour se distinguer des Français de France. Les premiers habitent les provinces maritimes. Les seconds s’établissent dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent, mais rapidement, ils essaiment en petits groupes dans la région des Grands Lacs, dans les Prairies et tout le long de la vallée du Mississippi jusqu’au golfe du Mexique. En 1763, ces colonies françaises passent aux mains des Britanniques.

Au cours des deux siècles suivants, les communautés francophones réparties sur tout le territoire canadien vont préserver leur héritage et leur identité francophones, souvent dans des conditions difficiles. Dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle, elles font des gains importants, de sorte qu’elles bénéficient aujourd’hui de conditions favorables, dans un pays où la culture et la langue françaises sont désormais perçues comme une richesse.

Selon le recensement de 2016 de Statistique Canada, plus de sept millions de personnes de langue maternelle française vivent au Canada (21,4 % de la population). Elles sont réparties dans toutes les régions, mais concentrées au Québec où elles sont plus de six millions et forment la majorité de la population de cette province (79,1 %). Ces descendants des pionniers français sont considérés comme l’un des « peuples fondateurs » du Canada avec les Autochtones et les Britanniques. Leur langue – le français – est d’ailleurs l’une des deux langues officielles du pays.

Aux origines françaises du Canada

Les premiers immigrants français fondent des établissements permanents dans la province actuelle de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1604, puis sur le territoire actuel du Québec en 1608. Rapidement, leurs descendants se distinguent des Français de France qui continuent d’immigrer dans ces régions, car des différences culturelles et sociales apparaissent au contact des Autochtones avec qui ils entretiennent des relations régulières et parce qu’ils fréquentent les vastes espaces du continent nord-américain, dont le climat et la géographie sont différents de ceux de la France. Ces descendants acadiens et canadiens développent ainsi une culture différente de celle des régions de France d’où ils proviennent.

Les Acadiens pratiquent la pêche, le commerce maritime et le commerce des fourrures avec les Micmacs, les Malécites et les Abénaquis. Ils exploitent surtout les terres fertiles qu’ils conquièrent sur la baie Française, l’actuelle baie de Fundy, par une technique unique de drainage des terres à l’aide de digues et d’aboiteaux. Ces travaux d’envergure façonnent leur organisation sociale, car les digues sont érigées en commun et les prés qui sont ainsi gagnés sur la mer sont partagés et gérés de manière communautaire.

Les Canadiens de la vallée du Saint-Laurent sont plus mobiles. Leurs principaux établissements sont concentrés dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent, entre Québec et Montréal, mais la pratique de la traite des fourrures à grande échelle les pousse à explorer de vastes territoires. Ils le font en multipliant les alliances avec de nombreux peuples autochtones : Montagnais, Algonquins, Abénaquis, Hurons, Outaouais, Saulteux, Potouéatamis, et bien d’autres, selon les appellations que leur donnent les Français à l’époque. Au fil des générations, cette activité les amènera à circuler à travers plus de la moitié du continent nord-américain. Les Canadiens sont également à l’origine de nombreuses familles métisses, car plusieurs d’entre eux vivent en territoire autochtone et se marient à la manière du pays avec les femmes autochtones.

Les alliances avec les Premières Nations

Malgré des rivalités occasionnelles, les alliances que nouent les Acadiens et les Canadiens avec les Premières Nations sont l’une des forces des peuples français d’Amérique du Nord, qui sont beaucoup moins nombreux que les populations britanniques établies tout le long de la côte américaine, entre le Massachusetts et la Géorgie. Ces relations de partenariat qui s’étendront sur plus d’un siècle et demi caractérisent la présence française sur le continent, par rapport aux Britanniques et aux Espagnols qui, plus préoccupés par l’occupation et l’exploitation des terres, nouent des relations moins étroites avec les Autochtones, voire franchement plus conflictuelles.

Le Régime britannique

Les rivalités entre Français et Britanniques pour la maîtrise du continent nord-américain s’amplifient pendant la guerre de Sept Ans (1756-1763) et se soldent par la conquête britannique de l’Amérique française. À partir de 1755, l’Acadie, qui est déjà sous autorité anglaise depuis 1713, mais qui est demeurée française, est le théâtre d’un drame collectif. Pour éliminer toute résistance, les Britanniques déportent plus de 11 000 Acadiens, sur une population totale d’environ 14 000 personnes. Puis, de 1758 à 1760, les Britanniques conquièrent toute la Nouvelle-France où vivent plus de 55 000 Canadiens. Ces deux événements mettent fin pour longtemps aux relations des francophones de la Nouvelle-France (incluant la région acadienne) avec la mère patrie. Ils vivront désormais en territoire britannique sous l’autorité du Royaume-Uni, qui possède dorénavant, avec ses 13 colonies de la côte Atlantique, une suprématie sur l’ensemble du continent nord-américain.

En Acadie, les Britanniques accaparent immédiatement les terres fertiles que les Acadiens ont gagnées sur la mer grâce à leur système d’aboiteau. Comme les Britanniques ont besoin d’eux pour maintenir le bon fonctionnement de ce système unique, et qu’ils ne craignent plus le faible contingent d’Acadiens qui est demeuré sur place ou qui revient d’exil, les Acadiens sont de nouveau autorisés à s’établir dans les provinces maritimes en 1764, mais par petits groupes dispersés. Quant aux Canadiens, restés très majoritaires dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent, les Britanniques les autorisent rapidement à utiliser la langue française et à pratiquer la religion catholique pour conserver la paix dans la nouvelle colonie.

Les lendemains de la Conquête britannique ne sont pas dramatiques pour les Canadiens, bien moins que pour les Acadiens, en raison de leur grand nombre et du vaste territoire qu’ils occupent. Les Britanniques font donc des concessions aux Canadiens pour faciliter la transition au nouveau régime politique et économique mis en place. Cependant, à long terme, ils n’abandonnent pas l’idée d’assimiler ces deux populations francophones catholiques à la langue anglaise et à la religion protestante. Devant cette menace, les deux communautés (les Canadiens et les Acadiens) se serrent les coudes.

Les Acadiens dispersés et réduits en nombre se réorganisent lentement. Répartis dans les colonies de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, qui se peuplent rapidement de Britanniques, ils mettront du temps à retrouver un élan salutaire qui leur procurera une certaine prospérité, à compter des années 1880. Pendant ce temps, les Canadiens de la colonie du Bas-Canada (le Québec d’aujourd’hui), que l’on appelle désormais des Canadiens français pour les distinguer des anglophones qui habitent cette colonie et celle du Haut-Canada (l’Ontario actuel), ont l’avantage d’être demeurés sur leurs terres et d’avoir conservé une partie de leurs biens. En raison de leur nombre, ils sont en mesure d’exercer des pressions sur le pouvoir politique afin de conserver une plus grande cohésion sociale et de maintenir le fonctionnement de certaines de leurs institutions, comme les écoles françaises, dont sont largement dépourvus les Acadiens. Cependant, les élites urbaines anglophones dominent rapidement la vie économique, sociale et politique de ces nouvelles colonies et les Canadiens français et les Acadiens se trouvent en situation d’infériorité et de pauvreté.

L’affirmation des communautés francophones

L’amélioration des perspectives d’avenir des Canadiens français survient dans les années 1840 et 1850, après une crise démographique, économique et politique qui culmine lors des Rébellions des patriotes, en 1837 et 1838. Ce soulèvement armé de patriotes canadiens-français, facilement réprimé par les troupes britanniques, provoque un rapide développement de l’Église catholique qui prend en charge la société canadienne-française. Cette institution devient en peu de temps un puissant moteur de développement et d’émancipation des Canadiens français, puis des Acadiens. À partir du milieu du 19e siècle, l’Église développe l’éducation, les soins de santé, le patrimoine et l’identité des catholiques francophones. De concert avec la société laïque, elle promeut vigoureusement la « civilisation canadienne-française », comme on disait à l’époque.

L’Église catholique accompagnera les populations francophones qui se déplacent vers l’ouest, pour travailler à la traite des fourrures, à l’exploitation forestière et à l’agriculture. Partout, elle veillera sur les bonnes mœurs de ses fidèles, canadiens-français et métis, et stimulera leur attachement à la langue française. Le clergé anime les communautés, il les organise, les encadre et leur procure une force institutionnelle qu’elles ne pourraient avoir autrement, dans les provinces actuelles de l’Ontario, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan, de l’Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique, voire des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Une autre étape importante dans la préservation de la culture canadienne-française survient lors de la création de la Confédération canadienne en 1867, qui reconnaît aux provinces des pouvoirs législatifs en matière d’éducation, de santé, de culture et de ressource naturelles, tout en les réunissant sous l’autorité d’un gouvernement fédéral. Dans la province de Québec, les francophones deviennent pour la première fois majoritaires dans un Parlement démocratique doté de pouvoirs exécutifs et législatifs. Avec le temps, ces pouvoirs leur seront très bénéfiques. La situation est moins favorable pour les communautés francophones en situation minoritaire, dans les autres provinces canadiennes. Elles doivent compter sur l’Église qui s’organise, se structure, se fortifie et devient un quasi-État dans l’État. Celle-ci peut donc compenser en partie l’absence de réels pouvoirs politiques, en s’alliant à des organismes communautaires laïcs comme la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste ou la Société L’Assomption en Acadie.

Dans les Prairies canadiennes, l’Église favorise aussi la colonisation des nouveaux territoires qu’acquiert le Canada par le recrutement de francophones au Québec et, dans une moindre mesure, en France, en Belgique, en Suisse et parmi les Canadiens français qui ont émigré aux États-Unis pour travailler dans les manufactures. Elle convainc certains d’entre eux de revenir pratiquer l’agriculture au Canada. Ces francophones se regroupent en petites communautés, parmi les milliers d’immigrants de diverses nationalités qui peuplent les Prairies, surtout de 1890 à 1930.

Le tournant des années 1960

À partir des années 1960, le Québec se laïcise radicalement. Le gouvernement du Québec remplace l’Église et prend en main le développement de la société québécoise, majoritairement francophone, par le biais d’une administration publique forte et polyvalente qui propulse à l’avant-plan la culture, la langue, l’économie et les valeurs des francophones. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, l’importante minorité acadienne, qui représente le tiers de la population provinciale, bénéficie d’un élan semblable lorsqu’un premier ministre acadien prend le pouvoir, amorçant une transformation durable dans le rapport entre les Acadiens et les anglophones de la province. Ailleurs au Canada, un réveil identitaire et communautaire semblable se manifeste quelques années plus tard.

Dans les années 1970, un mouvement nationaliste prend de l’ampleur au Québec. Des intellectuels et des politiciens proposent de rapatrier tous les pouvoirs au Québec en fondant un pays indépendant afin de mieux servir les intérêts des francophones, qui sont majoritaires dans ce territoire. Ce projet ne se matérialise pas, mais cause bien des remous à travers le Canada, tant chez les anglophones que chez les francophones. Ces derniers vont réagir en redéfinissant leur identité, passant de Canadiens français à Franco-Ontariens, Franco-Manitobains ou Fransaskois. Ils chercheront également à acquérir davantage de pouvoir et d’autonomie, au cas où les Québécois quitteraient le navire canadien. Ces bouleversements politiques poussent ces communautés à créer des organismes communautaires représentatifs qui répondent à leurs besoins spécifiques et à développer des projets et des stratégies pour assurer leur avenir.

Le Canada francophone contemporain

Sous les Régimes français, puis anglais, et après la création de la Confédération canadienne en 1867, les francophones se sont établis partout sur le territoire canadien. Ils ont occupé et occupent toujours des emplois dans tous les secteurs : agriculture, exploitation forestière et minière, pêcheries, transports, commerce et industrie, services, enseignement, recherche et création. Ils contribuent largement à la vie politique en élisant des députés aux gouvernements de leurs provinces et au gouvernement fédéral, en plus de participer activement à la scène artistique dans toutes les disciplines. Les francophones font partie des forces vives de la société canadienne.

Dans la mer anglophone et hispanophone du continent nord-américain, c’est toujours un défi de faire rayonner la langue et la culture françaises. Au Canada, où l’on compte le plus grand nombre de francophones et où leurs réalisations contemporaines et leur héritage historique sont marquants, ils relèvent ce défi dans toutes les provinces en préservant et en développant leur patrimoine culturel avec fierté, dans le respect de la majorité anglophone et des autres communautés ethnolinguistiques qui enrichissent le Canada.

Fort de son poids démographique francophone au niveau provincial, le Québec poursuit ses efforts de protection et de promotion de la langue et de la culture françaises. Depuis les années 1980, grâce à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés enchâssée dans la Constitution canadienne, les communautés francophones en milieu minoritaire ont réussi à faire reconnaître leurs droits linguistiques et leurs droits à l’éducation en français, qui s’est développée partout. Des écoles d’immersion française accueillent des dizaines de milliers d’élèves et contribuent à établir des ponts entre la majorité anglophone et les minorités francophones. La connaissance de la langue française progresse au pays. La vitalité culturelle des Québécois, des Acadiens et des autres francophones canadiens n’a jamais été aussi grande. Une plus grande reconnaissance de la langue française contribue à des rapports plus harmonieux entre les communautés francophones et anglophones et encourage la venue d’immigrants francophones au Canada. L’immigration francophone de l’Europe, de l’Afrique et des Antilles participe à la consolidation et au renouvellement des communautés traditionnelles.

Des efforts constants sont néanmoins nécessaires pour assurer l’avenir de la francophonie canadienne. Dans certaines régions, le taux d’assimilation à la communauté anglophone est élevé. Le déclin démographique de plusieurs communautés est préoccupant. L’immigration francophone internationale, qui compense en partie un faible taux de natalité dans les communautés francophones, pose en même temps un défi d’intégration. Enfin, les médias numériques, principalement anglophones, qui révolutionnent les communications et balaient la planète, représentent un autre enjeu de taille pour la francophonie canadienne. Les communautés francophones du Canada se trouvent au cœur des transformations rapides qui secouent le monde contemporain et exigent d’elles des adaptations constantes.

Venez découvrir ces communautés francophones diversifiées, dynamiques et accueillantes. Elles vous surprendront !