Loading
Home // Ontario // Arts and Culture // Franco-Ontarian artists: A national cultural gem
back

Franco-Ontarian artists: A national cultural gem

More and more Franco-Ontarian artists are emerging in drama, literature, music, dance, humour and the visual arts. Many of them are recognized on the French Canadian scene for the quality and importance of their work. Thanks to a number of Franco-Ontarian cultural organizations, these artists’ works and products can be found in most regions of Ontario. Franco-Ontarian television is also well developed, the Télévision française de l’Ontario (TFO) channel having been created in 1970. Three cities in three different regions play a key role in the development of artists, artistic activities and cultural events: Toronto in the south, Ottawa in the east and Sudbury in the north. Ontario’s Francophone community, numbering almost half a million, is the largest in Canada outside Quebec. These Francophones contribute to the vibrancy of the Franco-Ontarian artistic and cultural sector.

 

To learn more…

The importance of theatre to the Franco-Ontarian identity

The first professional Francophone theatre company in Ontario was founded in Toronto in 1967. With the creation of the Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario in Sudbury in 1971, Franco-Ontarian language and reality took shape for the first time in landmark plays such as Moé j’viens du Nord, ‘stie and Lavalléville. Since then, Franco-Ontarian theatre has taken root in every region of the province.

Several professional theatre companies (Théâtre du Trillium, Théâtre de la Vieille 17, Théâtre la Catapulte, Théâtre la Tangente, Théâtre français de Toronto, Compagnie Vox Théâtre and Créations In Vivo) regularly produce plays by Franco-Ontarian authors (Jean-Marc Dalpé, Brigitte Haentjens, Robert Marinier, Claude Guilmain, Michel Ouellette, Patrick Leroux). The plays Les murs de nos villages, Hawkesbury Blues and French Town have garnered both public and critical acclaim, and French Town by Michel Ouellette won the 1993 Governor General’s Award. Several amateur companies also produce a variety of plays.

Rich and diverse literature

Since the 1970s, French Ontario has boasted a vibrant and diversified literature. And since the creation of the first Franco-Ontarian publishing house in 1973, Sudbury’s Éditions Prise de parole, Franco-Ontarian authors have had the privilege of publishing in their own province. They even have a choice when it comes time to submit their manuscripts, because Ontario now has the largest number of French-language publishing houses outside Quebec: Prise de parole, L’Interligne, Vermillon, David and GREF. The Regroupement des éditeurs franco-canadiens, an organization dedicated to promoting French Canadian literature, is based in Ottawa. The French-language book fairs in Toronto, Sudbury, Hearst and Eastern Ontario, as well as the Salon du livre de l’Outaouais in the Ottawa region, also promote Franco-Ontarian literature.

Franco-Ontarian authors publish stories, novels, plays, short stories, youth literature and poetry. Franco-Ontarian literature took off in the 1970s, spearheaded by successful poets like Robert Dickson, Patrice Desbiens and Jean-Marc Dalpé, who is better known today for his plays. Other poets, including Andrée Lacelle and, more recently, Éric Charlebois, Tina Charlebois and Sonia Lamontagne, have won multiple awards. Ottawa’s Daniel Poliquin is undoubtedly the most well known Franco-Ontarian novelist. His talents as both a novelist and a literary translator have earned him numerous awards and distinctions since the 1990s, when Visions de Jude was published. Other novels, including La quête d’Alexandre by Hélène Brodeur and La vengeance de l’orignal by Doric Germain, have become Franco-Ontarian classics. La vengeance de l’orignal, published in 1980, was the first Franco-Ontarian bestseller, with more than 10,000 copies sold. Authors Didier Leclair, Andrée Christensen, Marguerite Andersen, Michel Dallaire and Margaret Michèle Cook have all won awards for their work. Despite its youth, Franco-Ontarian literature is extremely diverse and of exceptional quality.

An impressive musical repertoire

Music also plays an important role in Franco-Ontarian culture. Paul Demers’ song Notre place, written in 1989, was named the official anthem of Franco-Ontarians in 2017. Like Franco-Ontarian literature, Franco-Ontarian music has its roots in Sudbury. In 1973, the first edition of La nuit sur l’étang, a landmark event in the history of French Ontario, took place amid a resurgence of Franco-Ontarian identity and cultural activity. Musicians, poets, playwrights and visual artists participated. By 1979, the event was devoted almost exclusively to music, and a number of Franco-Ontarian singers and bands have performed regularly over the years. CANO musique (CANO stands for Coopérative des artistes du Nouvel Ontario, a group of multidisciplinary artists to which the musicians belonged), active from 1975 to 1985, was one of the most popular bands of the time, along with Garolou, whose repertoire was based on traditional music. In the 1970s and 1980s, Robert Paquette’s songs were popular in Quebec and Europe. In 1986, the Ontario Pop competition (now Rond Point) served as a launching pad for emerging Franco-Ontarian artists. In 1990, the Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique afforded artists greater visibility and access to better distribution of their music.

Damien_Robitaille_et_Stephane_Paquette-200x300 -  - Franco-Ontarian artists: A national cultural gem
Damien Robitaille at the Librairie du Centre in Sudbury

Since the 1990s, Franco-Ontarian music has seen impressive growth. The bands Swing, Deux Saisons, Brasse-Camarade, En bref, Konflit Dramatik and Afro Connexion, and singers Marcel Aymar, Damien Robitaille, Stef Paquette, Andrea Lindsay, Tricia Foster and YAO have been extremely successful. Franco-Ontarian music has become more diversified, and Franco-Ontarian artists now perform across Canada and around the globe. Singer Véronic Dicaire, known for her talent as an impressionist, performs regularly in Europe and the United States. Younger artists are also doing well; most promising are Mehdi Hamad, Mélanie Brulée, Céleste Lévis and Gabrielle Goulet, as well as the bands Georgian Bay, Moonfruits and Pandaléon.

The diversity of media and performing arts

Thanks to TFO, Franco-Ontarians have access to French-language television content created by and for Franco-Ontarians. Television productions for preschool and school-age children are particularly popular around the world, thanks to TFO’s multiscreen initiatives (television, Web casting and mobile applications). Visual artists receive support from the Bureau des regroupements d’artistes visuels de l’Ontario (BRAVO), with four regional offices. Sculptors Laurent Vaillancourt, Maurice Gaudreault and Laurette Babin, painters Clermont Duval, Shahla Bahrami and Marc Charbonneau, and multidisciplinary artists Sylvie Bélanger, Yvan Dutrisac, Joseph Muscat and Ginette Légaré are only a few of the 300 professional visual artists working in French Ontario. The Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario in Sudbury, Jean-Claude Bergeron in Ottawa and Le Labo, a Francophone media arts centre in Toronto, play an important role in the visual arts. Lastly, a few Franco-Ontarian comedians are now widely known in Quebec, where there are numerous performance opportunities: Ottawa’s Patrick Groulx, Saint-Bernardin’s Katherine Levac and Hawkesbury’s Julien Tremblay.

L’écho d’un peuple, an example of the impact of festivals and cultural events

From 2004 to 2008, a collective artistic project in Eastern Ontario, L’écho d’un peuple, was extremely successful. This multidisciplinary megashow highlights the role of art in the Franco-Ontarian community by raising funds to prevent the closure of Hôpital Montfort, the only Francophone hospital in Ottawa. Several festivals and cultural activities also take place in French Ontario each year: Franco-Fête de Toronto, Franco Fierté, Francophonie en fête and Ciné-franco in Toronto ; the Festival frano-ontarien in Ottawa; and La nuit sur l’étang in Sudbury. Saint-Jean-Baptiste day is also celebrated with a show and a variety of festive activities in many Francophone communities. There are also a number of festivals in Franco-Ontarian schools: the Festival de Théâtre Action, the Festival de danse, Vision’Art (visual arts), and Quand ça nous chante (popular music). The Franco-Ontarian school system also has an improv league (L’AFOLIE).

French Ontario, a dynamic arts community

With its various institutions and organizations, the Franco-Ontarian community can be proud of its many resources that foster access to cultural and artistic products created in the province. With eight professional theatre companies, some fifteen amateur companies, eight publishing houses and several cultural centres and annual festivals, Franco-Ontarian arts and culture are well represented. In Toronto, Ottawa, Sudbury, Hearst, Windsor and the other regions of Ontario where Francophones live, the arts scene is alive and well and holds a promising future.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Arts et culture // Les artistes franco-ontariens, une richesse culturelle nationale
retour

Les artistes franco-ontariens, une richesse culturelle nationale

Les artistes franco-ontariens sont de plus en plus nombreux en théâtre, en littérature, en musique, en danse, en humour et en arts visuels. Plusieurs se démarquent sur la scène franco-canadienne par la qualité et l’importance de leurs œuvres. Grâce à plusieurs organismes culturels bien ancrés dans la communauté, ces artistes proposent une variété d’œuvres et de produits dans la plupart des régions de l’Ontario. Le secteur télévisuel est aussi bien développé avec la Télévision française de l’Ontario (TFO) créée en 1970. Trois villes, dans trois régions différentes, jouent un rôle central dans le développement d’artistes, d’activités artistiques et d’événements culturels, soit Toronto pour le sud, Ottawa pour l’est et Sudbury pour le nord. La communauté francophone de l’Ontario est la plus nombreuse dans une province autre que le Québec avec plus d’un demi-million de personnes. Ces nombreux francophones contribuent à la vigueur du secteur artistique et culturel franco-ontarien.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

L’importance identitaire du théâtre franco-ontarien

Le premier théâtre professionnel francophone de l’Ontario voit le jour à Toronto en 1967. Puis, avec la création du Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario à Sudbury en 1971, la langue et la réalité franco-ontariennes prennent forme pour la première fois dans des pièces phares comme Moé j’viens du Nord, ‘stie et Lavalléville. Depuis, la dramaturgie franco-ontarienne s’est ancrée dans toutes les régions de la province.

Plusieurs troupes de théâtre professionnelles (Théâtre du Trillium, Théâtre de la Vieille 17, Théâtre la Catapulte, Théâtre la Tangente, Théâtre français de Toronto, Compagnie Vox Théâtre et Créations In Vivo) produisent régulièrement des pièces d’auteurs franco-ontariens (Jean-Marc Dalpé, Brigitte Haentjens, Robert Marinier, Claude Guilmain, Michel Ouellette, Patrick Leroux). Les pièces Les murs de nos villages, Hawkesbury blues et French Town ont connu d’importants succès autant publics que critiques et la pièce French Town de Michel Ouellette a remporté le prix du Gouverneur général en 1993. Sur le plan communautaire, plusieurs troupes montent aussi des pièces tirées d’un répertoire varié.

Une littérature riche et variée

Depuis les années 1970, la littérature franco-ontarienne est vivante, diversifiée et souvent publiée dans la province. En effet, depuis la création de la première maison d’édition franco-ontarienne en 1973, les Éditions Prise de parole de Sudbury, les auteurs de l’Ontario français ont le privilège de publier chez eux. Ils ont même l’embarras du choix lorsque vient le temps de soumettre leur manuscrit, car l’Ontario possède désormais le plus grand nombre de maisons d’édition francophones hors Québec, avec Prise de parole, L’Interligne, Vermillon, David et le GREF. Le Regroupement des éditeurs franco-canadiens, un organisme dédié à la promotion de la littérature franco-canadienne, a d’ailleurs pignon sur rue à Ottawa. Les Salons du livre de Toronto, de Sudbury, de Hearst et de l’Est ontarien, de même que le Salon du livre de l’Outaouais pour la région d’Ottawa concourent également à la diffusion de la littérature franco-ontarienne.

Les auteurs franco-ontariens publient des contes, des romans, des pièces de théâtre, des nouvelles, de la littérature jeunesse et de la poésie. C’est grâce à cette dernière que la littérature franco-ontarienne a pris son envol dans les années 1970 avec des poètes incontournables tels Robert Dickson, Patrice Desbiens et Jean-Marc Dalpé, qui est aujourd’hui surtout reconnu pour son théâtre. D’autres poètes, dont Andrée Lacelle et, plus récemment, Éric Charlebois, Tina Charlebois et Sonia Lamontagne, ont remporté plusieurs prix. Du côté du roman, l’Ottavien Daniel Poliquin est sans doute l’auteur le plus connu. Ses talents de romancier et de traducteur littéraire lui ont valu plusieurs prix et distinctions à compter des années 1990, avec la parution de Visions de Jude et des œuvres suivantes. D’autres romans, dont La quête d’Alexandre d’Hélène Brodeur et La vengeance de l’orignal de Doric Germain, sont devenus des classiques franco-ontariens. La vengeance de l’orignal, paru en 1980, est d’ailleurs le premier best-seller franco-ontarien, vendu à plus de 10 000 exemplaires. Il faut aussi mentionner les auteurs Didier Leclair, Andrée Christensen, Marguerite Andersen, Michel Dallaire et Margaret Michèle Cook, qui ont tous remporté des prix. La littérature franco-ontarienne est donc très diversifiée et de grande qualité malgré son jeune âge.

Un répertoire musical impressionnant

La musique occupe aussi une place importante dans la culture franco-ontarienne. La chanson Notre place de Paul Demers, créée en 1989, a été désignée hymne officiel des Franco-Ontariens en 2017. Tout comme pour la littérature, c’est à Sudbury que la musique proprement franco-ontarienne s’est d’abord développée. En 1973, la première édition de La nuit sur l’étang se déroule dans un contexte d’ébullition identitaire et culturelle. Cet événement a marqué l’histoire de l’Ontario français. Des artistes en musique, poésie, théâtre et arts visuels y participent. Dès 1979, l’événement se consacre presque exclusivement à la musique et plusieurs chanteurs et groupes franco-ontariens vont se produire régulièrement lors de ses éditions annuelles. Le groupe CANO musique (acronyme de Coopérative des artistes du Nouvel Ontario, le groupe d’artistes multidisciplinaire dont ces musiciens faisaient partie), actif de 1975 à 1985, est l’un des plus populaires de cette époque, avec le groupe Garolou dont le répertoire reposait sur la musique traditionnelle. Dans les années 1970-1980, Robert Paquette fait aussi rayonner la chanson franco-ontarienne au Québec et en Europe. En 1986, l’arrivée du concours Ontario pop (désormais Rond Point) sert de tremplin aux artistes franco-ontariens émergents. En 1990, la fondation de l’Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique procure aux artistes une plus grande visibilité et une meilleure diffusion de leur musique.

Damien_Robitaille_et_Stephane_Paquette-200x300 -  - Les artistes franco-ontariens, une richesse culturelle nationale
Damien Robitaille à la Librairie du Centre à Sudbury

Depuis les années 1990, la musique en Ontario français connaît une effervescence impressionnante. Les groupes Swing, Deux Saisons, Brasse-Camarade, En bref, Konflit Dramatik et Afro Connexion, ainsi que les chanteurs Marcel Aymar, Damien Robitaille, Stef Paquette, Andrea Lindsay, Tricia Foster et YAO connaissent plusieurs succès. La musique franco-ontarienne s’est diversifiée et ses artistes se produisent maintenant un peu partout au Canada et dans le monde. La chanteuse Véronic Dicaire, davantage reconnue pour ses talents d’imitatrice, se produit régulièrement en Europe et aux États-Unis. La relève actuelle se porte également très bien ; des artistes tels Mehdi Hamad, Mélanie Brulée, Céleste Lévis et Gabrielle Goulet, de même que les groupes Georgian Bay, Moonfruits et Pandaléon sont prometteurs.

La diversité des arts médiatiques et de la scène

Avec la Télévision française de l’Ontario (TFO), les Franco-Ontariens ont accès à du contenu télévisuel francophone créé par eux et pour eux. Ses productions pour les jeunes d’âge préscolaire et scolaire sont particulièrement appréciées à travers le monde, grâce à ses initiatives multiécrans (télévision, diffusion Web et applications mobiles). En arts visuels, le Bureau des regroupements d’artistes visuels de l’Ontario (BRAVO) soutient ses artistes avec quatre bureaux régionaux. Les sculpteurs Laurent Vaillancourt, Maurice Gaudreault et Laurette Babin, les peintres Clermont Duval, Shahla Bahrami et Marc Charbonneau, ainsi que les artistes interdisciplinaires Sylvie Bélanger, Yvan Dutrisac, Joseph Muscat et Ginette Légaré ne sont que quelques-uns des 300 artistes visuels professionnels qui font carrière en Ontario français. La Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario à Sudbury, Jean-Claude Bergeron à Ottawa et le centre d’arts médiatiques francophones Le Labo à Toronto sont importants dans ce milieu. Enfin, en humour, quelques personnalités franco-ontariennes sont maintenant très connues au Québec où l’industrie de l’humour très développée leur permet de faire carrière : Patrick Groulx d’Ottawa, Katherine Levac de Saint-Bernardin et Julien Tremblay d’Hawkesbury.

L’écho d’un peuple, un exemple de l’impact des festivals et événements culturels

De 2004 à 2008, un projet artistique collectif de l’Est ontarien, L’écho d’un peuple, connaît un succès impressionnant. Ce méga spectacle multidisciplinaire témoigne de l’importance des arts pour la communauté franco-ontarienne, car il a notamment permis d’amasser des fonds pour éviter la fermeture de l’hôpital Montfort, le seul hôpital francophone à Ottawa. De plus, plusieurs festivals et activités culturelles ont lieu chaque année en Ontario français : à Toronto, la Franco-Fête de Toronto, Franco Fierté, Francophonie en fête et le Ciné-franco ; à Ottawa, le Festival franco-ontarien ; à Sudbury, les Concerts la Nuit sur l’étang. La fête de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste est aussi soulignée par un spectacle et diverses activités festives dans plusieurs communautés francophones. Plusieurs festivals animent également le milieu scolaire : le Festival de Théâtre Action, le Festival de danse, Vision’Art pour les arts visuels et Quand ça nous chante en musique populaire. Le milieu scolaire franco-ontarien est aussi doté d’une ligue d’improvisation (L’AFOLIE).

L’Ontario français, une communauté artistique dynamique

Dotée d’institutions et d’organismes variés, la communauté franco-ontarienne peut se vanter d’avoir plusieurs ressources favorisant l’accès aux produits culturels et artistiques créés dans la province. Avec huit compagnies de théâtre professionnelles, une quinzaine de troupes communautaires, huit maisons d’édition, plusieurs centres culturels et festivals annuels, le milieu artistique et culturel franco-ontarien est bien représenté. Que ce soit à Toronto, à Ottawa, à Sudbury ou dans les régions où vivent de nombreux francophones, comme dans l’Est ontarien, à Hearst ou à Windsor, la scène artistique est bien présente, vigoureuse et porteuse d’avenir.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.