Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, a treasure of Quebec’s religious heritage
back

Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, a treasure of Quebec’s religious heritage

The Catholic faith has long been at the centre of Francophone culture in Canada. The Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, a masterpiece of Gothic Revival religious architecture in North America built between 1824 and 1829, provides exemplary proof of the religious fervor that was shared by the clergy and the faithful at the time. Its interior decoration, which was restored between 1870 and 1900, is a marvel. It reflects the grandeur and splendor of God the all-powerful and compassionate. It arouses both admiration and emotion. Its polychrome wooden decoration, inspired by the Sainte-Chapelle of Paris, is also full of lessons for those who observe it closely. Many symbolic representations evoke Catholic doctrine, and a number of stained glass windows illustrate the history of Montreal. Hundreds of thousands of tourists visit this magnificent church every year.

 

To learn more…

Welcome to paradise

basilique-ext-205x300 -  - Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, a treasure of Quebec’s religious heritage
Basilica exterior

When we enter the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal for the first time, we feel the same (possible) enchantment we would feel if we entered paradise. The astonishing splendor and warmth of the church’s decoration fills visitors with emotion. The vaulted ceiling, blue and decorated with a constellation of stars, the refined elegance of the chancel, the high altar and the finely sculptured altarpiece, the polychrome opulence of the side aisles and of the pillars that support them, all seem unreal. What other church has the same powerful and mysterious charm? Welcome to the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal.

Sculptor and architect Victor Bourgeau, assisted by sculptors Louis-Philippe Hébert and Henri Bourriché, produced this splendid decor starting in 1872, some 40 years after the first version of the church was completed. The person behind this initiative was Rousselot, a parish priest who had just returned from visiting the Sainte-Chapelle in Paris that year. The romantic spirit of the time inspired this recourse to emotion as the foundation of faith and piety.

The basilica is larger than the average church, with its double aisles on each side of the nave. Although the basilica can accommodate up to 10,000 people, it nonetheless gives an impression of intimacy. It is profoundly pleasing; it both attracts and welcomes the visitor.

Evolution of a cultural marriage

6791_basiliquend_19-300x262 -  - Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, a treasure of Quebec’s religious heritage
Chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Coeur (Chapel of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart)

This magnificent example of French Canadian architecture embodies the multicultural influence that characterizes Quebec society. At the beginning of the 19th century, when the basilica was first constructed, Quebec was still no more than a British colony known as Lower Canada. The Sulpicians, who were responsible for this founding parish of Montreal, hired an American architect of Irish origin, James O’Donnel, a Protestant from New York (who later converted to Catholicism), to replace the parish church, which had become too small. They chose O’Donnel because he was inspired by a British cultural current that was becoming increasingly popular, the Gothic Revival, which was pleasing to the Sulpician clergy both in the United States and in Montreal. This British accent is particularly visible in the exterior of the church, with its spires in the form of towers. The original interior of the church, which was not pleasing to the French Canadian faithful, was replaced, as we have seen, by a decor of French inspiration.

a044239-v8-300x248 -  - Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, a treasure of Quebec’s religious heritage
Chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Coeur (Chapel of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart), Montreal (c. 1930)

This marriage of cultural influences continued in the 1980s, when following a big fire, a monumental sculpture was added to the Gothic Revival box structure of the chapel of Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Cœur, adjacent to the basilica itself. This sculpture reflected contemporary design and was produced by a Quebec sculptor, Charles Daudelin, who was very much in tune with what was going on in international contemporary art. The harmonious masterpiece of the Notre-Dame Basilica gives expression in its own way to the cultural fusion that characterizes the historical development of Quebec, where Indigenous, French, British, American and now worldwide influences are harmoniously combined.

Deep roots in Quebec society

a044238-v8-236x300 -  - Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, a treasure of Quebec’s religious heritage
Notre-Dame Basilica c. 1930

The Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal continues to occupy a central place in Quebec society, even though religious practice is today in considerable decline and a number of elements that are part of the religious heritage are threatened. Francophone Catholics have invested a great deal in places of worship, both in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada, and it is impossible to preserve and highlight all this religious heritage. However, the Montreal basilica, which embodies the fervent Catholic past of the French Canadians, continues to hold a special place in the hearts of Quebecers.

Various important events continue to take place in the basilica: national funerals, such as those of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, the Prime Minister of Canada, of hockey star Maurice Richard, and of renowned artists like Gilles Carle and Claude Léveillée. International singing star Céline Dion, who is a native of Quebec, was also married in the basilica. Thanks to the exceptional acoustics of this church, the Montreal Symphony Orchestra occasionally performs concerts there, as well as other singers and musicians. These events are sometimes broadcast on television and make the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal known across the country. The future of this treasure of our religious heritage is assured.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, joyau du patrimoine religieux québécois
retour

Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, joyau du patrimoine religieux québécois

La foi catholique a longtemps été au centre de la culture francophone au Canada. La basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, chef-d’œuvre de l’architecture religieuse néo-gothique en Amérique du Nord, construite entre 1824 et 1829, illustre de façon exemplaire la ferveur religieuse partagée par le clergé et les fidèles. Sa décoration intérieure, renouvelée entre 1870 et 1900, émerveille. Elle reflète la grandeur et la splendeur du Dieu tout-puissant et miséricordieux. Elle suscite autant l’admiration que l’émotion. Son décor de bois polychrome inspiré de la Sainte-Chapelle de Paris est aussi chargé d’enseignement pour qui l’observe attentivement. De nombreuses représentations symboliques évoquent les dogmes catholiques et plusieurs vitraux illustrent l’histoire de Montréal. Des centaines de milliers de touristes visitent chaque année cette magnifique église.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Bienvenue au paradis

basilique-ext-205x300 -  - Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, joyau du patrimoine religieux québécois
L’extérieur de la basilique

Entrer pour la première fois dans la basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal provoque le même (possible) émerveillement qu’entrer au paradis. La splendeur et la chaleur étonnantes de la décoration saisissent le visiteur d’émotion. Le plafond voûté de couleur bleue constellé d’étoiles, l’éclat raffiné du chœur, du maître autel et du retable finement sculpté, l’opulence polychrome des tribunes latérales et des piliers qui les supportent, tout cela paraît irréel. Quelle autre église dégage un charme aussi puissant et mystérieux ? Bienvenue dans la basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal…

Le sculpteur et architecte Victor Bourgeau, aidé des sculpteurs Louis-Philippe Hébert et Henri Bourriché, réalise ce décor à compter de 1872, soit une quarantaine d’années après que la première version de l’église eut été complétée. Le curé Rousselot, qui venait tout juste de visiter la Sainte-Chapelle, à Paris, cette année-là, en est l’instigateur. Le courant romantique inspire ce recours à l’émotion comme socle de la foi et de la piété.

Cette église est plus large que la moyenne avec ses doubles tribunes de chaque côté de la nef. Elle peut accueillir jusqu’à 10 000 personnes, mais elle dégage quand même une impression d’intimité. Elle plaît. Elle attire. Elle accueille.

Évolution d’un mariage culturel

6791_basiliquend_19-300x262 -  - Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, joyau du patrimoine religieux québécois
Intérieur de la Chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Coeur

Ce joyau de l’architecture canadienne-française incarne l’influence multiculturelle qui caractérise la société du Québec. Au début du 19e siècle, à l’époque de sa construction, le Québec n’est encore qu’une colonie britannique appelée le Bas-Canada. Les Sulpiciens qui sont responsables de cette paroisse fondatrice de Montréal engagent un architecte américain d’origine irlandaise, James O’Donnel, un protestant de New York (qui se convertira plus tard au catholicisme) pour remplacer l’église paroissiale devenue trop petite. Ils le choisissent parce qu’O’Donnel s’inspire d’un courant britannique qui gagne en popularité, le renouveau gothique, qui plaît au clergé sulpicien américain et montréalais. Cet accent britannique est particulièrement visible à l’extérieur de l’église, dans les tours-clochers. L’intérieur d’origine, qui ne plaisait guère aux fidèles canadiens-français, a quant à lui été remplacé, comme on l’a vu, par un décor d’inspiration française.

a044239-v8-300x248 -  - Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, joyau du patrimoine religieux québécois
Chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Coeur en 1930

Ce mariage d’influences culturelles se poursuit dans les années 1980 quand, à la suite d’un grave incendie, on greffe à l’écrin néo-gothique de la chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Sacré-Cœur, adjacente à la basilique elle-même, une sculpture monumentale au design contemporain, réalisée par un sculpteur québécois sensible à l’art contemporain international, Charles Daudelin. L’harmonieux chef-d’œuvre de la basilique Notre-Dame exprime donc à sa manière l’amalgame multiculturel qui caractérise le parcours historique du Québec, où les influences autochtones, françaises, britanniques, américaines et maintenant mondiales se marient harmonieusement.

Enracinée dans la société québécoise

a044238-v8-236x300 -  - Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal, joyau du patrimoine religieux québécois
Église Notre-Dame en 1930

La basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal continue d’être un lieu central de la société québécoise même si la pratique religieuse est aujourd’hui en net déclin, et que plusieurs éléments du patrimoine religieux sont menacés. Car les catholiques francophones ont beaucoup investi dans leurs lieux de culte, tant au Québec qu’ailleurs au Canada, et il est impossible de préserver et de mettre en valeur tout ce patrimoine religieux. Mais la basilique de Montréal, qui incarne le fervent passé catholique des Canadiens français, demeure chère aux Québécois.

Divers événements d’importance s’y déroulent : des funérailles nationales, comme celles du premier ministre du Canada Pierre Elliot Trudeau, de la vedette de hockey Maurice Richard ou d’artistes réputés comme Gilles Carle et Claude Léveillée. La vedette internationale de la chanson originaire du Québec, Céline Dion, s’y est aussi mariée. Grâce à l’acoustique exceptionnelle de cette église, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal y présente à l’occasion des concerts, tout comme d’autres chanteurs ou musiciens. Ces événements sont parfois télédiffusés et font connaître la basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal à travers le pays. L’avenir de ce joyau du patrimoine religieux est assuré. La basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal est située dans le site patrimonial de Montréal, déclaré par le gouvernement du Québec.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.