Loading
Home // Northwest Territories // Cultural Heritage // Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre
back

Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre

Recognized throughout the Northwest Territories, this important institution acts as a museum and government archive centre, among the many other services it provides.

Nestled in the heart of the capital, Yellowknife, it houses hundreds of thousands of objects and archival documents depicting the territory’s culture and history. Without the Heritage Centre, it would be very difficult to know about the founders, pioneers and events that led to the creation of the Northwest Territories. It’s also an essential source of information for partner organizations, which can count on its professional storage and archiving services.

Founded in 1963 by a group of volunteer history enthusiasts who managed the site until 1970, when the government took over, the Centre has grown and its programs provide solid protection for documents and archives, through the creation of a museum space among other things.

In April 1979, Prince Charles inaugurated the building located on 48th Street. Visitors to the Northern Heritage Centre will be immersed in a rich history that has been closely guarded, respected and shared.

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Territoires du Nord-Ouest // Patrimoine culturel // Centre du patrimoine septentrional Prince-de-Galles
retour

Centre du patrimoine septentrional Prince-de-Galles

Cette importante institution reconnue partout aux Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest a plusieurs vocations, notamment celle d’un musée et d’un centre d’archives du gouvernement.

Nichée au cœur de la capitale, Yellowknife, elle est la gardienne de centaines de milliers d’objets et d’archives dépeignant la culture et l’histoire du territoire. Sans elle, il serait bien difficile de suivre les traces des fondateurs, des pionniers et des événements qui ont forgé les TNO. Le centre est donc une source incontournable d’informations pour toutes ses organisations partenaires, qui peuvent aussi compter sur ses services professionnels de stockage et d’archivage.

Le centre a été fondé en 1963 par un groupe de passionnés d’histoire bénévoles, qui a géré l’endroit jusqu’en 1970, quand le gouvernement a pris le relais. Le centre a ensuite grandi et ses programmes ont fourni une solide protection aux documents et archives, entre autres par la mise sur pied d’un espace muséal.

En avril 1979, le Prince Charles a procédé à l’inauguration du bâtiment sis sur la 48e rue. Entrer dans le Centre du patrimoine septentrional, c’est faire partie d’une riche histoire gardée jalousement, respectée et partagée.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.