Loading
Home // Ontario // Community portraits // Centre francophone de Toronto, at the heart of Toronto’s multiethnic Francophone community
back

Centre francophone de Toronto, at the heart of Toronto’s multiethnic Francophone community

The Centre francophone de Toronto helps to support the well-being and development of the French-speaking community of this dynamic and cosmopolitan Canadian metropolis. The centre offers many French-language services and varied cultural and artistic programming. Every year, long-established Francophone Torontonians are joined by a large number of newcomers from various countries and other regions of Canada, who benefit from the centre’s reception and integration services. This unifying organization has become a major hub of the Toronto and Ontario Francophone community.

 

To learn more…

A port of entry for Francophones in the heart of the city

centre-franco-toronto-300x240 -  - Centre francophone de Toronto, at the heart of Toronto’s multiethnic Francophone community
Centre francophone de Toronto, exterior

The Centre francophone de Toronto acts as a portal for the city’s Francophone community. It offers its services to over 25,000 people living in the Greater Toronto Area and employs over 100 people. Its services are especially dedicated to newcomers, to help them integrate into their new society. Toronto is the largest city in the country, and receives the largest number of new arrivals every year, many of whom are Francophone nationals from Eastern Europe, the Caribbean and West Africa. The centre enables members of this growing community to make themselves heard in French and to cultivate pride in belonging to a dynamic community.

The head office Centre Francophone de Toronto, located in the heart of the city, facilitates communication, improves the quality of services, and fosters partnerships with other sociocultural organizations, such as La Cité, a college of applied arts. The centre, which is very well integrated into its environment, maintains healthy relations with educational institutions in order to promote access to education in French. Its role is recognized by government authorities in Toronto, Ontario and the rest of Canada.

Development of a community-based mission

img_20161118_114301-300x169 -  - Centre francophone de Toronto, at the heart of Toronto’s multiethnic Francophone community
Coin de la petite enfance (Early Years Corner), Centre Francophone de Toronto

The Centre francophone de Toronto has been in existence since 2004. It is the result of a merger between two organizations: the Conseil des organismes francophones du Toronto métropolitain, founded in 1976, and the Centre médico-social communautaire, created in 1989. By grouping the missions of these two organizations and gradually adding other components to its activities, the centre has become the Francophone organization in Ontario that offers the broadest spectrum of services.

The centre actively promotes the French language while showing due respect for the various cultural backgrounds of the members of the Toronto’s Francophone community, which are highly varied. It dispenses health, legal and job search services, while facilitating access to resources for children and families.

Artistic promotion adjusted to fit the realities of the community

In addition to its social mission, the centre is associated with Francophone artistic programming that takes into account the diversity of the Toronto community. This cultural component was adopted in 1987, at a time when cultural expression in French was not highly regarded in Toronto and the Francophone community was more fragile than it is today. For a number of years, the centre has played a unifying role in fostering the influence of Francophone artists, in both the visual and theatrical arts, and in organizing various other cultural activities.

In recent years, the centre has participated in Creole Month, Black History Month and La Francophonie Week, in addition to contributing to the Canada-wide festival Coup de cœur francophone, which aims to promote Francophone artists both nationally and internationally. Concerts, shows, storytelling evenings, exhibits and all kinds of other performances are offered to a variety of audiences. Several thousand people have attended these artistic and cultural events.

The Centre francophone de Toronto is planning to put more emphasis on the sociocultural dimension of its activities and to leave the organization of major cultural events to other Toronto players. This reorientation reflects the growing power and influence of Toronto’s Francophone community, where a number of organizations have taken up the torch formerly held by the centre. These organizations include theatre companies like the Théâtre Français de Toronto, La Tangente and Les Improbables, or facilities such as the Alliance Française de Toronto. French-language cultural offerings are now highly visible in Canada’s metropolis. The centre nevertheless intends to continue promoting Francophone artists, a mission that is particularly dear to its heart.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Portraits de communautés // Centre francophone de Toronto, au cœur de la francophonie plurielle torontoise
retour

Centre francophone de Toronto, au cœur de la francophonie plurielle torontoise

Le Centre francophone de Toronto participe au bien-être et au développement de la communauté d’expression française de cette dynamique et cosmopolite métropole canadienne. Il y dispense en langue française plusieurs services et offre une programmation artistique et culturelle variée. Aux francophones établis depuis longtemps à Toronto s’ajoutent chaque année un grand nombre de nouveaux arrivants, en provenance de plusieurs pays et d’autres régions du Canada, qui bénéficient des structures d’accueil et d’intégration du Centre. Cet organisme fédérateur s’avère plus que jamais un pôle majeur de la francophonie torontoise et ontarienne.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Porte d’entrée des francophones au cœur de la ville

centre-franco-toronto-300x240 -  - Centre francophone de Toronto, au cœur de la francophonie plurielle torontoise
Extérieur du Centre francophone de Toronto

Le Centre francophone de Toronto agit comme portail de la francophonie torontoise. Il offre ses services à plus de 25 000 personnes vivant dans l’agglomération de Toronto et emploie près d’une centaine de personnes. Ses services sont tout spécialement dédiés aux nouveaux arrivants afin de favoriser leur intégration, car Toronto est la plus grande ville du pays et celle qui reçoit le plus de nouveaux arrivants chaque année, dont un bon nombre de ressortissants francophones provenant d’Europe de l’Est, des Antilles et d’Afrique de l’Ouest. Le Centre permet à cette communauté en croissance de se faire entendre en français et de cultiver la fierté d’appartenir à une communauté dynamique.

Son siège social, situé au cœur de la ville, facilite la communication, améliore la qualité des services et favorise les partenariats avec d’autres organismes socioculturels, par exemple le collège d’arts appliqués La Cité. Le Centre, très bien intégré dans son milieu, entretient des relations avec les institutions d’enseignement pour favoriser l’accès à l’éducation en français. Son rôle est reconnu par les instances gouvernementales torontoises, ontariennes et canadiennes.

Développement d’une mission axée sur la communauté

img_20161118_114301-300x169 -  - Centre francophone de Toronto, au cœur de la francophonie plurielle torontoise
Le Coin de la petite enfance du Centre Francophone de Toronto

Le Centre francophone de Toronto existe depuis 2004. Il résulte de la fusion de deux organismes : le Conseil des organismes francophones du Toronto métropolitain, fondé en 1976, et le Centre médico-social communautaire créé en 1989. En regroupant les missions de ces deux organismes et en ajoutant progressivement de nouveaux volets à son action, le Centre est devenu l’organisme francophone ontarien qui propose la gamme de services la plus étendue.

Le Centre fait la promotion active de la langue française dans le respect des divers horizons culturels des membres de la communauté francophone torontoise, qui sont très variés. Il dispense des services de santé, d’aide juridique et de recherche d’emploi, tout en facilitant l’accès aux ressources pour l’enfance et la famille.

Une promotion artistique ajustée aux réalités du milieu

En plus de sa mission sociale, le Centre est associé à une programmation artistique francophone qui tient compte de la diversité de la communauté torontoise. Ce volet culturel a été mis en place en 1987 dans un contexte où l’expression culturelle en français était assez peu valorisée dans la Ville Reine et où la communauté francophone était plus fragile qu’aujourd’hui. Le Centre a joué pendant plusieurs années un rôle fédérateur en favorisant le rayonnement d’artistes francophones, tant en arts visuels qu’en arts de la scène, et en organisant diverses activités culturelles.

Dans les dernières années, le Centre a participé au Mois créole, au Mois de l’histoire des Noirs et à la Semaine de la francophonie, en plus de contribuer au festival pancanadien Coup de cœur francophone qui a pour but de faire connaître des artistes francophones nationaux et internationaux. Des concerts, spectacles, soirées de contes, expositions et prestations de toutes sortes ont été offerts à différents publics. Plusieurs milliers de personnes ont assisté à ces événements artistiques et culturels.

Le Centre envisage de privilégier dans l’avenir le volet plus socioculturel de son action et prévoit laisser l’organisation d’événements culturels majeurs à d’autres acteurs de Toronto. Cette réorientation témoigne de la valorisation croissante de la francophonie à Toronto, où plusieurs organismes ont repris le flambeau que portait auparavant le Centre francophone de Toronto, que ce soit les compagnies théâtrales comme le Théâtre français de Toronto, la Tangente, les Improbables, ou des structures comme l’Alliance Française de Toronto. L’offre culturelle en français est maintenant très présente dans la métropole canadienne. Le Centre tient toutefois à poursuivre sa mission de promotion des artistes francophones, qui lui tient à cœur.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.