Loading
Home // Manitoba // Cultural Heritage // The Centre du patrimoine of the Société historique de Saint-Boniface, the future of Franco-Manitoban memory
back

The Centre du patrimoine of the Société historique de Saint-Boniface, the future of Franco-Manitoban memory

The Centre du patrimoine of the Société historique de Saint-Boniface and the Centre culturel franco-manitobain occupy the same building, located steps away from Winnipeg’s Francophone theatre, the Cercle Molière. Several Francophone organizations are grouped together in this location: community radio, the music organization Le 100 NONS, the Éditions du Blé, the Red River folk dance troupe, an exhibition hall, a restaurant, as well as all the Francophone archives for Manitoba. A number of stakeholders in the Francophone cultural scene are found in this institutional hub, and numerous clients participate in the activities that take place here. The Centre du patrimoine welcomes people doing genealogical research and consulting the various archive sources and documents in its library. Since 1998, this high-quality infrastructure has ensured that Franco-Manitoban memory will continue into the future and has promoted the vibrancy of their culture. The Centre du patrimoine also collects valuable evidence of the changes currently influencing the community’s historical journey.

 

To learn more…

Collections at the Centre du patrimoine

Anyone who wants to carry out research on French Manitoba, or more generally, on Francophones in Western Canada, should visit the Centre du patrimoine de Saint-Boniface (Winnipeg), where they can consult many different kinds of documents: manuscripts, books, newspapers, maps, photographs, artworks, sound recordings, films and digitized documents. Among some 500 archival sources, some are exceptionally valuable. First of all, the Louis Riel fonds is one of the most important collections of writings from the Métis leader and father of the province of Manitoba. Also noteworthy are the religious archives of the Corporation archiépiscopale catholique romaine de Saint-Boniface, the mother church of all of Western Canada, founded in 1818, and the archives of several male and female religious congregations who played an essential role in French Manitoba, especially the Bibliothèque nationale de l’Archevêché de Saint-Boniface, which includes approximately 30,000 titles. It also includes the archives of the Société historique métisse and those of the Association d’éducation des Canadiens français du Manitoba, not to mention the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation radio and television archives in Manitoba and the works of the Métis artist Réal Bérard and the plans of the Franco-Manitoban architect Étienne Gaboury.

These archives shine a light on the cultural, social, religious, political, economic and legal history of Francophones in Manitoba. The Centre du patrimoine is now the only provincial institution dedicated to acquiring French and Métis archives in Manitoba. To this end, the Centre also offers its services to members of the Métis nation who are looking for documents that confirm their membership in this community.

The Centre du patrimoine also hosts exhibitions presented in the Salon Empire located at the entrance to the centre, such as the CONNEXION exhibition by Nelson Briand Mutima, a young artist from Burundi who emigrated to Winnipeg in 2011, which was organized as part of National Francophone Immigration Week in 2015. At the same time, the Centre launched a project on the oral history of new immigrants in order to document the profound transformations that are occurring at this time in the Franco-Manitoban social fabric. In February 2017, the Centre also presented an exhibition on the role of education in supporting minority Francophone communities, EDU2017, organized by the Fédération nationale des conseils scolaires francophones.

Heritage, Present and Future

The Centre du patrimoine of the Société historique de Saint-Boniface has carried out an enormous digitization project in order to make part of its collection available on its website. This publication process, which also includes a series of historical information texts on the Francophones of Manitoba, increases knowledge and recognition of the historic role played by Franco-Manitobans and the Centre’s contribution in fostering the culture of the community.

In a wider perspective, the Centre has also preserved part of the façade of the former Cauchon Bloc, built in 1881 and 1882, which was one of the most prominent commercial buildings in Winnipeg. This four-storey building, designed by the architect Louis-Arsène Desy, was commissioned by the journalist, politician, businessman and first Francophone Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba, Joseph-Édouard Cauchon. Its stamped-metal Victorian façade, with decorative cast iron columns covered in galvanized iron, now decorates the Mur du patrimoine, located at the entrance to the Centre du patrimoine, in memory of that influential Francophone and that admirable building, the demolition of which in 1982 revealed the importance of preserving and showcasing Francophone heritage.

The Maison des artistes visuels francophones, created in 2000 in the old St. Boniface city hall, benefited from this heritage awakening and gave new life to this prestigious three-story red-brick classical-style building, with a dome-covered central tower, which is today designated a National Historic Site of Canada. This centre for modern artists contributes to the vitality of the Franco-Manitoban community, and indirectly showcases the community’s built heritage.

Decisive action by the Société historique de Saint-Boniface

Since its creation in 1902, the Société historique de Saint-Boniface, the oldest Francophone historical society in Western Canada,has promoted Franco-Manitoban and Métis heritage. It is the origin of the collections that are currently on display at the Musée de Saint-Boniface, and in the 1970s, it launched a wide initiative to bring together all the Francophone archives in Manitoba. It developed a state-of-the-art building project, comparable to the building that houses the mostly Anglophone Manitoba Provincial Archives, to store Francophone archives and make them accessible to the public. In this way it carries out its mission to honour the memory of Francophones since their arrival in the region starting in the 1730s, as well as of the Métis, through publications, exhibitions, position statements, and various services offered to the public.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Patrimoine culturel // Le Centre du patrimoine de la Société historique de Saint-Boniface, l’avenir de la mémoire franco-manitobaine
retour

Le Centre du patrimoine de la Société historique de Saint-Boniface, l’avenir de la mémoire franco-manitobaine

Le Centre du patrimoine de la Société historique de Saint-Boniface et le Centre culturel franco-manitobain occupent le même édifice situé à deux pas du théâtre francophone de Winnipeg, le Cercle Molière. Plusieurs organismes francophones sont regroupés à cet endroit : la radio communautaire, l’organisme de musique Le 100 NONS, les éditions du Blé, la troupe des danseurs folkloriques de la rivière Rouge, une salle d’exposition, un restaurant ainsi que toutes les archives francophones du Manitoba. Plusieurs acteurs de la scène culturelle francophone se retrouvent dans ce noyau institutionnel et une clientèle nombreuse participe aux activités qui s’y déroulent. Le Centre du patrimoine reçoit les personnes qui font des recherches généalogiques et consultent les divers fonds d’archives et les documents de sa bibliothèque. Depuis 1998, cette infrastructure de qualité assure la pérennité de la mémoire des Franco-Manitobains et favorise leur rayonnement culturel. Le Centre du patrimoine recueille également de précieux témoignages sur les changements qui influencent actuellement le parcours historique de la communauté.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Les collections du Centre du patrimoine

Quiconque veut effectuer des recherches sur le Manitoba français ou, plus généralement, sur les francophones de l’Ouest canadien doit visiter le Centre du patrimoine de Saint-Boniface (Winnipeg) et consulter ses documents en tous genres : textes manuscrits, livres, journaux, cartes, photographies, œuvres d’art, enregistrements sonores, films et documents numériques. Parmi ses quelque 500 fonds d’archives, certains ont une valeur exceptionnelle. En premier lieu, le fonds Louis Riel est l’une des plus importantes collections d’écrits du chef métis et père de la province du Manitoba. Mentionnons également les archives religieuses de la Corporation archiépiscopale catholique romaine de Saint-Boniface, l’Église mère de tout l’Ouest canadien, fondée en 1818, et celles de plusieurs congrégations religieuses masculines et féminines qui ont joué un rôle clé au Manitoba français, en particulier la Bibliothèque nationale de l’Archevêché de Saint-Boniface, qui comprend environ 30 000 titres. On compte aussi les fonds de la Société historique métisse et ceux de l’Association d’éducation des Canadiens français du Manitoba, sans oublier les archives de la radio et de la télévision de la Société Radio-Canada au Manitoba ainsi que les œuvres de l’artiste métis Réal Bérard et les plans de l’architecte franco-manitobain Étienne Gaboury, pour s’en tenir à une courte sélection.

Ces archives éclairent l’histoire culturelle, sociale, religieuse, politique, économique et juridique des francophones du Manitoba. Le Centre du patrimoine est maintenant la seule institution provinciale vouée à l’acquisition des archives du Manitoba français et métis. À ce titre, le Centre offre aussi ses services aux membres de la nation métisse qui veulent retrouver les documents qui confirment leur appartenance à cette communauté.

Le Centre du patrimoine met aussi sur pied des expositions présentées dans le Salon Empire, situé à l’entrée du centre, par exemple l’exposition CONNEXION de Nelson Briand Mutima, un jeune artiste originaire du Burundi qui a émigré à Winnipeg en 2011, organisée dans le cadre de la Semaine nationale de l’immigration francophone en 2015. Le Centre lançait au même moment un projet d’histoire orale des nouveaux immigrants pour documenter les profondes transformations qui se produisent en ce moment dans le tissu social franco-manitobain. En février 2017, le Centre présentait aussi une exposition sur le rôle de l’éducation dans l’apport des communautés francophones en milieu minoritaire, EDU2017, montée par la Fédération nationale des conseils scolaires francophones.

Le patrimoine, le présent et l’avenir

Le Centre du patrimoine de la Société historique de Saint-Boniface a réalisé un travail colossal de numérisation d’une partie de ses collections pour les rendre disponibles sur son site Web. Cette démarche de diffusion, qui comprend aussi une série de textes d’information historique sur les francophones du Manitoba, accroît le savoir et la reconnaissance du rôle historique joué par les Franco-Manitobains et la contribution du Centre à l’animation culturelle de sa communauté.

Dans une perspective plus large, le Centre a aussi préservé une partie de la façade de l’ancien Bloc Cauchon, construit en 1881 et 1882, qui était l’un des édifices commerciaux les plus en vue à Winnipeg. Ce bâtiment de quatre étages dessiné par l’architecte Louis-Arsène Desy avait été commandé par Joseph-Édouard Cauchon, journaliste, politicien, homme d’affaires et premier lieutenant-gouverneur francophone du Manitoba. Sa façade en métal pressé de style victorien, avec colonnes décoratives en fonte recouverte de fer galvanisé, orne maintenant le Mur du patrimoine, situé à l’entrée du Centre du patrimoine, en souvenir de cet influent francophone et du bel édifice dont la démolition, en 1982, a révélé l’importance de préserver et de mettre en valeur le patrimoine.

La Maison des artistes visuels francophones, qui a vu le jour en l’an 2000 dans l’ancien hôtel de ville de Saint-Boniface, a bénéficié de ce réveil patrimonial en procurant une seconde vie à ce prestigieux édifice de trois étages en brique rouge de style classique, avec tour centrale recouverte d’un dôme, aujourd’hui désigné lieu historique national du Canada. Ce centre d’artistes en art actuel contribue à la vitalité de la communauté franco-manitobaine et, de façon indirecte, à la mise en valeur de son patrimoine bâti.

L’action déterminante de la Société historique de Saint-Boniface

Depuis sa création, en 1902, la Société historique de Saint-Boniface, la plus ancienne société d’histoire francophone de l’Ouest canadien, fait la promotion du patrimoine franco-manitobain et métis. Elle est à l’origine des collections qui sont aujourd’hui exposées au Musée de Saint-Boniface et, dans les années 1970, d’une vaste initiative visant à rassembler toutes les archives francophones du Manitoba. Elle élabore alors un projet d’édifice à la fine pointe de la technologie, comparable à celui qui abrite les Archives provinciales du Manitoba, essentiellement anglophones, pour entreposer et rendre accessibles les archives francophones. Elle poursuit ainsi sa mission de valorisation de la mémoire des francophones depuis leur arrivée dans la région, dans les années 1730, ainsi que des Métis par des publications, expositions, prises de position et divers services offerts à la population.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.