Loading
Home // Québec // Heritage Sites // The charm and rich cultural assets of the Old Montreal heritage site
back

The charm and rich cultural assets of the Old Montreal heritage site

Old Montreal (“Vieux-Montréal” in French) is one of the oldest areas of settlement in North America. In 1642, when fifty or so French pioneers built Ville-Marie, the Indians no longer inhabited the area. The name chosen by founders Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve and Jeanne Mance, “Ville-Marie”, would not win out over the name Jacques Cartier had given the mountain dominating the island when he came in 1535: Mont Réal (“réal” being archaic French for “royal”). Montreal rapidly grew into a thriving crossroads for the fur trade, and into a commercial hub. For 200 years, the upper and upper-middle classes lived and worked in Old Montreal. This heritage site, with its wealth of listed buildings, restored and revitalized since the 1960s, retains the French character and feel of the 18thand 19thcenturies. Its many shops and attractions make it one of Montreal’s most welcoming, unique and vibrant districts.

 

Learn more…

A cradle of French Canada

9909141814_3c98778229_o-300x169 -  - The charm and rich cultural assets of the Old Montreal heritage site
Rue Saint-Paul

A stroll around the Old Montreal heritage site gives visitors the impression they have travelled back to an earlier century on a different continent. Every year, hundreds of thousands of tourists explore the streets and buildings that bear witness to the evolution of the historic centre of Montreal, from the era of New France to the turn of the 20thcentury. A number of monuments pay tribute to the founders: Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve, Jeanne Mance, the fifty pioneers that accompanied them, and Marguerite Bourgeoys.

3439328643_65587364ab_o-300x199 -  - The charm and rich cultural assets of the Old Montreal heritage site
Montreal archeological remains, Pointe-à-Callière Museum

Opened in 1992 to coincide with the 350thanniversary of the founding of Montreal, the Musée Pointe-à-Callières gives direct access to archeological ruins dating back to the first decades of settlement on the very spot where the city was born. The site on which the museum sits has been designated a Quebec national historic and archeological site. In 2017, to commemorate the city’s 375thanniversary, the museum unveiled its seventh pavilion and the new permanent exhibit it houses, Where Montréal Began. The exhibit showcases artifacts and ruins uncovered by archeological digs conducted on the site from 2002 to 2015. Evidence of Amerindian occupation dating back 4,000 years and many traces of the first French settlers are also visible beneath the museum.

Another exhibit is dedicated to the Great Peace of Montreal, signed in 1701, and highlights commemorations held in 2001 on the very site where hundreds of representatives of First Nations that had allied with the French gathered, right here in Old Montreal.

Outstanding built heritage

The district’s 200 or so 19th-century buildings, many of which have heritage designations, form a dense and cohesive urban fabric that gives Old Montreal its unique historic feel.

e010861990-v8-300x235 -  - The charm and rich cultural assets of the Old Montreal heritage site
Château Ramezay, 1932

The Saint-Sulpice Seminary, whose central section was built between 1684 and 1687, the old General Hospital, also known as the Grey Nuns’ Hospital, and Château Ramezay all date from the New France era. The many private homes built at the start of the 19thcentury—including Papineau House, La Minerve House, Marie-Pierre Viger House and Maison à l’Enseigne-du-Patriote [house with the patriot’s sign]—illustrate the desirability among the well-to-do of a residence in what was then the centre of Montreal. Dating to the latter half of the 19thcentury, the buildings that housed the Bank of Montreal and Banque du Peuple, Canada Life and Great Scottish Life Insurance attest to Montreal’s development into a financial centre. The number of warehouses and commercial buildings, all architecturally striking, also multiplied in the 1860s and 1870s, and are now reminders that for a long time, Old Montreal was the city’s commercial centre. Two exceptional buildings, Notre-Dame Basilica and Bonsecours Market, are of such interest that they merit a separate article.

From Hochelaga to Ville-Marie: the birth of Montreal

Jeanne_Mance-225x300 -  - The charm and rich cultural assets of the Old Montreal heritage site
Statue of Jeanne Mance at foot of Maisonneuve Monument, Place d’Armes

When Jacques Cartier stopped at the Iroquois village of Hochelaga in 1535, he found it to be prosperous and well organized. But the site was uninhabited when Samuel de Champlain arrived in 1611, and was still vacant in 1642 when Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve and Jeanne Mance founded Ville-Marie with the intent of converting the Indians to Christianity and building a new society.

Owing to its strategic location at the confluence of several waterways, Montreal soon became the main crossroads for the fur trade. To defend against frequent attacks by the Iroquois, the governor of Montreal had the town enclosed in a wooden palisade, built between 1685 and 1689. The Great Peace of Montreal in 1701 marked the beginning of a long period of peace that allowed Montreal to start expanding. Soon after, however, stone fortifications were built between 1717 and 1738 to defend against the British threat, making Montreal the first fortified town in North America.

a036724-v8-300x203 -  - The charm and rich cultural assets of the Old Montreal heritage site
Old houses on Rue Saint-Vincent

These stone fortifications were demolished between 1804 and 1817, restoring direct access to the St. Lawrence River. An economic boom began in Montreal, fuelled by an influx of British capital, the development of the port and the city’s important commercial role. The Customs House, built in the late 1830s on a public square called Place Royale, attests to the city’s role as an entry port for immigrants. In the latter half of the 19thcentury, industrialization transformed Montreal into a bustling city, a financial centre and hub for Canadian maritime and rail transportation. During this period, many innovative multi-storey office “towers” were built, cementing Montreal’s place as Canada’s first metropolis.

Old Montreal and its vibrant heritage

The name “Old Montreal” was coined at the turn of the 20thcentury, when the concepts of conservation, preservation and commemoration began to attract interest. Today, restored Old Montreal is a particularly lively district, full of boutiques, restaurants and activities thronging with tourists and residents alike.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Sites patrimoniaux // Charme et richesse du site patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal
retour

Charme et richesse du site patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal

Le Vieux-Montréal correspond à l’une des zones de peuplement les plus anciennes en Amérique du Nord. Lorsqu’une cinquantaine de Français fondent Ville-Marie, en 1642, les Amérindiens n’habitent plus la région. Le nom Ville-Marie choisi par les fondateurs Maisonneuve et Jeanne Mance ne supplantera pas celui que Jacques Cartier a donné à la montagne qui domine l’île lors de son passage en 1535 : le mont Réal. Montréal devient rapidement la plaque tournante du commerce des fourrures puis un grand centre d’affaires. Pendant 200 ans, l’élite bourgeoise habite et travaille dans le Vieux-Montréal. Ce site patrimonial particulièrement riche en bâtiments classés, restauré et revitalisé depuis les années 1960, conserve son caractère français et son cachet des 18e et 19e siècles. La variété des commerces et des attraits qu’on y trouve en font l’un des quartiers les plus accueillants, singuliers et chaleureux de Montréal.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un des berceaux du Canada français

9909141814_3c98778229_o-300x169 -  - Charme et richesse du site patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal
La rue Saint-Paul

En parcourant à pied le site patrimonial de Montréal, l’impression de voyager dans un autre siècle, sur un autre continent, est prenante. Des centaines de milliers de visiteurs découvrent chaque année les rues et les bâtiments qui témoignent de l’évolution du centre  historique de Montréal, de la période Nouvelle-France jusqu’au début du 20e siècle. Quelques monuments y rendent hommage aux fondateurs : Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve, Jeanne Mance, les cinquante pionniers qui les accompagnaient et Marguerite Bourgeoys.

3439328643_65587364ab_o-300x199 -  - Charme et richesse du site patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal
Vestiges archéologiques de Montréal au Musée Pointe-à-Callière

Depuis 1992, lors du 350e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal, la visite du Musée Pointe-à-Callières permet au public d’accéder directement aux vestiges des toutes premières décennies sur les lieux mêmes de naissance de la ville. Le site entourant le musée est d’ailleurs classé Lieu historique et archéologique national de fondation de Montréal. En 2017, pour commémorer le 375e anniversaire de la ville, le musée inaugure son septième pavillon et la nouvelle exposition permanente qu’il abrite, Ici a été fondée Montréal. Les fouilles archéologiques menées sur le site de 2002 à 2015 alimentent cette exposition. Des traces d’occupation amérindienne remontant à 4000 ans et de nombreux vestiges français révélateurs de l’époque de la fondation sont également visibles au sous-sol du musée.

Une exposition porte également sur la Grande Paix de Montréal conclue en 1701 et sur les commémorations qui se sont déroulées en 2001 à l’endroit même où s’étaient rassemblés des centaines d’Amérindiens alliés aux Français, dans le Vieux-Montréal d’aujourd’hui.

Un patrimoine bâti exceptionnel

La trame urbaine dense et cohérente comprenant quelque 200 bâtiments remontant au 19e siècle, dont plusieurs sont classés en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine culturel pour leur grande valeur, confère au Vieux-Montréal son cachet historique singulier.

e010861990-v8-300x235 -  - Charme et richesse du site patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal
Le Château Ramezay en 1932

Le Séminaire de Saint-Sulpice, dont la partie centrale a été érigée de 1684 à 1687, l’ancien Hôpital général aussi connu comme la Maison de Mère d’Youville et le château Ramezay remontent tous trois au Régime français. Plusieurs résidences privées construites au tout début du 19e siècle – les maisons Papineau, de la Minerve, à l’Enseigne-du-Patriote ou Marie-Pierre-Viger, entre autres – illustrent l’importance d’habiter au centre-ville historique de Montréal pour les bourgeois. Construits dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, les édifices de la Banque de Montréal et de la Banque du Peuple, de la Canada Life et de la Great Scottish Life Insurance témoignent quant à eux du développement de Montréal comme centre financier. De nombreux entrepôts et édifices commerciaux, à l’architecture soignée, se multiplient également dans les années 1860 et 1870 et rappellent que ce secteur a longtemps été le centre commercial de Montréal. Deux bâtiments exceptionnels, la basilique Notre-Dame et le Marché Bonsecours, font l’objet d’un texte spécifique  tant leur intérêt est grand.

De Hochelaga à Ville-Marie : naissance de Montréal

Jeanne_Mance-225x300 -  - Charme et richesse du site patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal
La statue de Jeanne Mance, au pied du monument Maisonneuve, Place d’Armes

Quand Jacques Cartier visite le village iroquoien d’Hochelaga, en 1535, il lui apparaît prospère et bien organisé. Mais le site est inhabité lors du passage de Samuel de Champlain, en 1611, et lorsque Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve et Jeanne Mance fondent Ville-Marie pour évangéliser les populations amérindiennes et créer une société nouvelle en 1642.

En raison de sa localisation stratégique au confluent de plusieurs routes d’eau, Montréal devient rapidement le principal carrefour du commerce des fourrures. En réaction aux fréquentes attaques des Iroquois, le gouverneur de Montréal fait construire une palissade de pieux entre 1685 et 1689. La Grande Paix de Montréal de 1701 amorce une longue période de paix qui favorise le développement de Montréal. Des fortifications de pierre sont tout de même érigées entre 1717 et 1738 pour contrer la menace britannique, faisant de Montréal la première ville fortifiée en Amérique du Nord.

a036724-v8-300x203 -  - Charme et richesse du site patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal
Vieilles maisons sur la rue Saint-Vincent au début du 20e siècle

Entre 1804 et 1817, la démolition de ces fortifications redonne un accès direct au fleuve. Montréal entame alors sa fulgurante croissance économique grâce aux capitaux britanniques, au développement de son port et à sa fonction commerciale. La maison de la Douane, construite à la fin des années 1830 sur l’ancienne place Royale, témoigne du rôle de la ville comme porte d’entrée des immigrants. Dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, l’industrialisation transforme Montréal en une grande métropole, entre autres comme plaque tournante du transport maritime et ferroviaire canadien et centre financier. À  cette époque, Montréal se dote d’immeubles de bureaux novateurs de plusieurs étages, ce qui affirme son rôle de métropole canadienne.

Le Vieux-Montréal, un vibrant héritage

L’expression « Vieux-Montréal » émerge au tournant du 20e siècle en même temps que l’intérêt croissant pour la conservation, la préservation et la commémoration. Aujourd’hui, le Vieux-Montréal restauré est un secteur particulièrement animé de la ville, rempli de boutiques, de restaurants et d’activités variées, où se pressent les touristes et les résidents.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.