Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Cultural Heritage // Chéticamp, traditional Acadia at the gates of a splendid natural park
back

Chéticamp, traditional Acadia at the gates of a splendid natural park

The Acadians of Chéticamp settled in this spectacular region in 1782 to fish in the fish‑bearing waters of the areas. Although fishing has always played a key role in the local economy, tourism became increasingly important with the creation of Cape Breton Highlands National Park in 1936. Posted at the northern entrance of this park, Chéticamp residents provide a warm welcome for visitors. Through their festivals, museum, interpretation centre and various events, they share the Acadian culture specific to their region: language and accent, stories and legends, music and dance, the Mi-Carême celebration, and hooked rugs, renowned for the excellence of their handicraft.

 

To learn more…

Celebrating Chéticamp’s cultural heritage

200400392-300x224 -  - Chéticamp, traditional Acadia at the gates of a splendid natural park
Chéticamp, circa 1955

Located on the northeastern tip of Nova Scotia, in a remote region known for the exceptional beauty of its landscape of sea and mountains, Chéticamp is a lively community. A number of cultural activities take place throughout the summer, sometimes in collaboration with Cape Breton Highlands National Park, located nearby. These activities pay homage to the Acadian language and accent specific to Chéticamp, a community long protected from external influences, and also to traditional Acadian, music, dance and storytelling.

careme5-ebegin-300x225 -  - Chéticamp, traditional Acadia at the gates of a splendid natural park
Mid-Lent Costumes and Celebrations

The Festival de l’Escaouette, created in 1976, is the largest cultural and festive event of the summer. A more recent festival, Racines et bottines, offers a mix of culture, nature and food. A one-week festival known as Masque et Mer de la Mi-Carême is held in March each year, reflecting an old tradition that is no longer celebrated today except in a few select places, including Chéticamp and St. Joseph du Moine, the neighbouring village. Visitors who want to learn about this exuberant costumed celebration when it is not under way may take a tour of the Interpretative Centre de la Mi-Carême, located between these two villages, at Grand Etang Harbour. Visitors can also sign up for a workshop to learn how to make Mi-Carême masks.

Chéticamp’s hooked rugs: a craft, and an art

200400424-300x243 -  - Chéticamp, traditional Acadia at the gates of a splendid natural park
The Hooking of Chéticamp’s Famous Rugs, circa 1959

Chéticamp is also renowned for the fabrication of hooked rugs, which are made with a hook, out of wool with burlap backing. The term “hooked” designates this specific product, made in Chéticamp and in a few other places in Acadia. It is distinctly different from other crocheted rugs.

These decorative rugs originated from the domestic rugs that the housewives of Chéticamp meticulously produced. In the late 1920s, New York artist Lilian Burke, who spent the summer at Baddeck with the family of Alexander Graham Bell, the telephone’s inventor, was looking to revive the sale of homemade products she crafted during her stay. She noted the quality of Chéticamp’s hooked rugs and convinced local artisans to improve their technique. With the help of Marie-Jeanne Doucet, a Chéticamp artisan, she developed this know-how on a large scale and raised it to the level of an authentic visual art: elegant motifs, expressive faces, finesse of details, and multiple striking and subtle colours. Lilian Burke sold many of these hooked rugs at her New York art gallery.

The strong demand for Chéticamp’s hooked rugs fuelled production. Over the years, local artisans hooked them by the hundreds, the largest of which covered an entire wall and required the collaboration of some ten or so hookers. These rugs stimulated the local economy and attracted tourists. When artisans realized the true economic value of their craft, they demanded higher wages and organized cooperatives. Some of them opened their own shops. This traditional practice continues today, although it is slowing down somewhat. Some remarkable hooked rugs are exhibited at the Centre culturel des Trois Pignons. Visitors to the centre can learn about the history of these rugs and the technique used to make them.

The inspiring history of the natives of Chéticamp

200400400-240x300 -  - Chéticamp, traditional Acadia at the gates of a splendid natural park
A Herring Catch in Chéticamp, circa 1955

The fishermen who settled in Chéticamp at the end of the 18th century all worked for the Robin Company. Like all other companies at the time, this Jersey company exploited its workers by paying them meager wages, in the form of coupons that the fishermen could exchange only in Robin stores. Many of the fishermen fell into debt over the years and lived in poverty. Only a few fishermen acquired their own schooners and were able to sell their fish elsewhere, at a better price.

The situation improved slightly at the end of the 19th century with the diversification of fisheries—lobster was now harvested in addition to cod—and the brief operation of a mine. Real improvements started in 1915, when a few individuals founded the first fishermen’s cooperative in North America.

msoucy-5964-300x214 -  - Chéticamp, traditional Acadia at the gates of a splendid natural park
Fishing Boats in Chéticamp Harbour

The sudden interruption in cod fishing in 1992, caused by the collapse of stocks, then the closure of the only fish processing plant in 2006, dealt a hard blow to the economy. Nevertheless, the people of Chéticamp rolled up their sleeves and turned to the development of the tourist sector and the lucrative crab fishery, two sectors that are thriving today.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Patrimoine culturel // Chéticamp, l’Acadie traditionnelle aux portes d’un splendide parc naturel
retour

Chéticamp, l’Acadie traditionnelle aux portes d’un splendide parc naturel

Les Acadiens de Chéticamp s’établissent dans cette région spectaculaire à partir de 1782 pour pêcher dans les eaux poissonneuses des environs. La pêche occupe toujours une place centrale dans l’économie locale, mais le tourisme a pris de plus en plus d’importance avec la création du parc national des Hautes-terres-du-Cap-Breton en 1936. Postés à l’entrée nord de ce parc, les Chéticantins accueillent aujourd’hui les visiteurs avec chaleur. À travers leurs festivals, musée, centre d’interprétation et manifestations diverses, ils partagent la culture acadienne propre à leur région : langue et accent, contes et légendes, musique et danse, fête de la Mi-Carême et tapis hookés, réputés pour l’excellence de leur technique de fabrication artisanale.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Célébrer le patrimoine culturel

200400392-300x224 -  - Chéticamp, l’Acadie traditionnelle aux portes d’un splendide parc naturel
Chéticamp, vers 1955

Située à l’extrémité nord-est de la Nouvelle-Écosse, dans une région isolée reconnue pour son paysage de mer et de montagnes d’une beauté exceptionnelle, Chéticamp est une localité animée. Plusieurs activités culturelles s’y déroulent tout au cours de l’été, parfois en collaboration avec le parc des Hautes-terres-du-Cap-Breton, situé tout près. Celles-ci mettent à l’honneur la langue et l’accent acadiens spécifiques à Chéticamp, une localité qui est restée longtemps protégée des influences externes, ainsi que la musique, les danses et les contes traditionnels acadiens.

careme5-ebegin-300x225 -  - Chéticamp, l’Acadie traditionnelle aux portes d’un splendide parc naturel
Déguisements et célébrations de la mi-carême

Le Festival de l’Escaouette, créé en 1976, est l’événement culturel et festif le plus important de l’été. Le festival Racines et bottines, plus récent, conjugue quant à lui la culture, la nature et l’alimentation. Au mois de mars de chaque année se déroule pendant une semaine le festival Masque et mer de la Mi-Carême, issu d’une vieille tradition qui n’est plus aujourd’hui célébrée qu’à quelques rares endroits, entre autres à Chéticamp et à Saint-Joseph-du-Moine, le village voisin. Il existe aussi un centre d’interprétation de la Mi-Carême entre ces deux villages, au Havre de Grand-Étang, pour ceux qui désirent s’informer du sens et de l’ambiance de cette fête costumée exubérante quand elle ne bat pas son plein. On peut même s’y inscrire à un atelier de fabrication de masques de la Mi-Carême.

Les tapis hookés de Chéticamp, un artisanat et un art

200400424-300x243 -  - Chéticamp, l’Acadie traditionnelle aux portes d’un splendide parc naturel
Le crochetage des fameux tapis de Chéticamp, vers 1959

Chéticamp est également réputé pour la fabrication de tapis hookés, c’est-à-dire de tapis faits au crochet, en laine, sur support de jute. Ce terme dérivé de l’anglais désigne ce produit spécifique, fabriqué à Chéticamp et à quelques autres endroits de l’Acadie, distinct des autres tapis crochetés.

Ces tapis décoratifs ont pour origine les tapis domestiques que fabriquaient de façon soignée les ménagères de Chéticamp. Mais à la fin des années 1920, l’artiste new-yorkaise Lilian Burke, qui passait l’été à Baddeck dans la famille d’Alexander Graham Bell, l’inventeur du téléphone, cherchait à relancer la vente de produits artisanaux dont elle s’occupait pendant son séjour. Elle remarque la qualité des tapis crochetés de Chéticamp et convainc les artisanes locales d’améliorer leur technique. Avec l’aide de Marie-Jeanne Doucet, une artisane de Chéticamp, elle développe ce savoir-faire à grande échelle et le hausse au niveau d’un art visuel à part entière : motifs élaborés, grande expressivité des personnages, finesse des détails, couleurs multiples, éclatantes et subtiles. Lilian Burke en vendra beaucoup dans sa galerie d’art de New York.

La forte demande pour les tapis hookés de Chéticamp en accroît la production. Les artisanes en crochètent par centaines au fil des années. Les plus grands d’entre eux, qui couvrent un mur entier, nécessitent la collaboration d’une dizaine de hookeuses. Ces tapis stimulent l’économie du village et attirent des touristes. Quand les artisanes réalisent la réelle valeur économique de leur activité, elles réclament une augmentation de salaire et s’organisent en coopératives. Certaines ouvrent leur propre boutique. Aujourd’hui, cette pratique traditionnelle se perpétue, bien qu’elle soit en perte de vitesse. Au Centre culturel des Trois Pignons, des tapis hookés remarquables sont exposés. On peut s’y renseigner sur leur histoire et leur technique de fabrication.

L’inspirant parcours des Chéticantins

200400400-240x300 -  - Chéticamp, l’Acadie traditionnelle aux portes d’un splendide parc naturel
Récolte d’une pêche de hareng à Chéticamp, vers 1955

Les pêcheurs qui s’établissent à Chéticamp à la fin du 18e siècle travaillent tous pour la Compagnie Robin. Comme partout ailleurs, cette compagnie jersiaise exploite sa main-d’œuvre en lui versant un salaire de misère, en coupons que les pêcheurs ne peuvent échanger que dans les magasins de la Robin. Plusieurs s’endettent d’année en année et vivent dans la misère. Seuls quelques pêcheurs acquièrent leur propre goélette et peuvent vendre leur poisson ailleurs, à meilleur prix.

La situation s’améliore un peu à la fin du 19e siècle avec la diversification des pêches – le homard s’ajoutant à la morue – et la brève exploitation d’une mine. Les véritables améliorations surviennent à partir de 1915, quand quelques personnes fondent la première coopérative de pêcheurs en Amérique du Nord.

msoucy-5964-300x214 -  - Chéticamp, l’Acadie traditionnelle aux portes d’un splendide parc naturel
Bateaux de pêche dans le port de Chéticamp

L’interruption brutale de la pêche à la morue, en 1992, causée par l’effondrement des stocks, puis la fermeture de la seule usine de transformation de poisson en 2006 portent un dur coup à l’économie. Les Chéticantins se relèvent néanmoins les manches et misent sur le développement du secteur touristique, ainsi que sur la lucrative pêche au crabe, deux secteurs qui se portent bien aujourd’hui.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.