Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // Cité de l’énergie: an incredible hydroelectric and industrial heritage!
back

Cité de l’énergie: an incredible hydroelectric and industrial heritage!

Cité de l’énergie is a science and heritage theme park featuring hydroelectric plants and industrial buildings erected at the foot of the Shawinigan Falls in the early 20th century. The name “Cité de l’énergie” stresses the importance that hydroelectricity played in the development of this industrial complex and of Quebec as a whole. The first Quebec aluminum smelter, built at this location, was turned into a large interpretation centre. Meanwhile, the Shawinigan-2 hydroelectric plant, commissioned in 1911, is the oldest one still in operation in Quebec. Interactive exhibits on natural energy and energy issues of the future, scientific innovation and the day-to-day life of Shawinigan residents round out the tour of these incredible heritage properties. A 115‑metre high tower gives visitors a bird’s‑eye‑view of the site’s layout and offers vistas of the Saint‑Maurice River and the city of Shawinigan. A stunning family multimedia show featuring Amos Daragon, a popular Quebec teen fiction hero, is also presented in the evenings.

 

Learn more…

Cité de l’énergie heritage

c031224k-300x219 -  - Cité de l’énergie: an incredible hydroelectric and industrial heritage!
The falls at Shawinigan, Saint-Maurice River in 1842

The idea of building a hydroelectric museum at the Northern Aluminum Company plant, the first Quebec aluminium smelter that began production in 1901, was initially proposed in 1947. However, it did not resurface until the 1970s, when the industrial decline of the Shawinigan region forced policy makers to diversify the economy by focusing on this valuable industrial heritage. A new, more ambitious plan was born out of the efforts of the Corporation du Centre d’interprétation de l’industrie de Shawinigan, with the Cité de l’énergie opening in 1997.

Hydro-Québec welcomes visitors to many of its hydroelectric facilities, particularly at Beauharnois, Manic-5 and La Grande-1, which are the best known. It also collaborates on the Cité de l’énergie project by providing public access to its Shawinigan-2 plant, still in operation with its original turbine generator units installed in 1911. The old control room and other obsolete equipment have also been left in place for interpretation purposes. In 1987, Engineers Canada designated this plant, originally built by Shawinigan Water and Power, as one of the 25 greatest feats of Canadian engineering in the 20th century.

a015576-v8-300x237 -  - Cité de l’énergie: an incredible hydroelectric and industrial heritage!
Shawinigan in 1929

In addition to the old Northern Aluminum Company hydroelectric plant, built in 1901 and converted into a scientific activity and interpretation centre, the old aluminium smelter consists of a complex of 12 brick buildings erected between 1900 and 1927. These buildings showcase the industrial architecture typical of the early 20th century and are of great heritage value, as they exemplify the beginnings of the electrometallurgical industry so important to Quebec due to its abundant and low-cost electrical resources. The old Shawinigan aluminium smelter is also a heritage building designated by the QuebecDepartment of Culture and Communications.

The guided tour of the city of Shawinigan, which starts in Cité de l’énergie, explains how this planned city rose almost overnight—1,500 people built the city core in two years—based on the urban development scheme designed by Montreal firm Pringle & Sons. The city as it stands today has largely kept to this plan, which aimed to accommodate a population of 20,000 people.

Addition of scientific and fun activities

a024472-v8-300x239 -  - Cité de l’énergie: an incredible hydroelectric and industrial heritage!
View of the interior of Building 1, second floor, Canadian Electro Products Co. Ltd., in Shawinigan, 1917

Cité de l’énergie was designed to appeal to a broad, mainly family‑oriented public who would spend several hours at the site. The first area that visitors access is scientifically themed. A multi-sensory multimedia presentation and interactive displays are intended to raise the public’s awareness of the importance of scientific knowledge and innovation. An elevator ride to the top of the 115‑metre observation tower offers both a fun and an educational experience that informs visitors about the functional layout of the facilities and industrial buildings, while offering a breathtaking panorama of the Saint‑Maurice River, the city of Shawinigan and the surrounding area.

The so-called historical area is accessed by taking a pontoon ride across the Saint‑Maurice River. Here, visitors discover heritage buildings and interactive exhibits in which fun scientific demonstrations are held. For the past few years, a big-budget multimedia show created by author Bryan Perro, featuring his character Amos Daragon, in a rotating, covered and heated amphitheatre, has put a decidedly playful spin on the visit to Cité de l’énergie. A recent exhibit also highlights the work of the “little guy from Shawinigan,” Jean Chrétien, in Canadian foreign policy during his three successive terms as Prime Minister of Canada, through the many items he received as official gifts.

The origin of the word “Shawinigan”

According to the Commission de toponymie du Québec, the word “Shawinigan” has Amerindian roots. Nineteenth-century Francophone authors had various spellings for it: Chaouinigane, Oshaouinigane, Achawénégan, Chawinigame and Chaouénigane. Its translation also varies, from “south portage,” “beech portage” and “angular portage” to “summit” or “crest,” which would be the most plausible meaning. It would allude to the crest of the rocks that the nomadic Algonquin peoples had to cross in their travels as they portaged in order to bypass the falls. The “Shawinigan” spelling appeared around 1800 and was adopted due to the importance of the Shawinigan Water and Power Company, which acquired the falls and the surrounding area in 1898 to build a dam, a power plant and the planned city of Shawinigan Falls.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // La Cité de l’énergie, plus qu’un patrimoine hydroélectrique et industriel exceptionnel !
retour

La Cité de l’énergie, plus qu’un patrimoine hydroélectrique et industriel exceptionnel !

La Cité de l’énergie est un parc thématique à vocation scientifique et patrimoniale reposant sur des centrales hydroélectriques et des bâtiments industriels construits au pied des chutes Shawinigan au tout début du 20e siècle. Le nom Cité de l’énergie souligne l’importance de l’hydroélectricité dans le développement de ce complexe industriel et du Québec tout entier. La première aluminerie québécoise, construite à cet endroit, a été transformée en un vaste centre d’interprétation, alors que la centrale hydroélectrique Shawinigan-2, mise en service en 1911, est la plus vieille encore en activité au Québec. Des expositions interactives portant sur les énergies naturelles et les enjeux énergétiques du futur, l’innovation scientifique et la vie quotidienne des habitants de Shawinigan complètent la visite de ces biens patrimoniaux exceptionnels. Une tour haute de 115 mètres permet aux visiteurs de comprendre l’aménagement du site et de contempler la rivière Saint-Maurice et la ville de Shawinigan. Un spectacle multimédia familial haut en couleur mettant en vedette Amos Daragon, populaire héros de romans jeunesse québécois, est aussi présenté en soirée.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Le patrimoine de la Cité de l’énergie

c031224k-300x219 -  - La Cité de l’énergie, plus qu’un patrimoine hydroélectrique et industriel exceptionnel !
Les chutes de Shawinigan, rivière Saint-Maurice en 1842

L’idée d’aménager un musée sur l’hydroélectricité dans la centrale de la Northern Aluminum Company, première aluminerie québécoise entrée en production en 1901, remonte à 1947. Ce projet ne refait surface que dans les années 1970, quand le déclin industriel de la région de Shawinigan pousse les décideurs à diversifier l’économie en misant sur ce précieux patrimoine industriel. Un nouveau projet plus ambitieux se développe grâce aux efforts de la Corporation du Centre d’interprétation de l’industrie de Shawinigan jusqu’à ce que la Cité de l’énergie ouvre ses portes en 1997.

Hydro-Québec accueille des visiteurs dans plusieurs de ses installations hydroélectriques, notamment à Beauharnois, Manic-5 et La Grande-1 qui sont les plus connues. Elle collabore aussi au projet de Cité de l’énergie en ouvrant au public sa centrale Shawinigan-2 qui fonctionne toujours avec ses groupes turbines-alternateurs d’origine installés en 1911. L’ancienne salle de commande et d’autres équipements désuets ont aussi été laissés sur place dans un souci d’interprétation. En 1987, l’organisme Ingénieurs Canada a désigné cette centrale, construite à l’origine par la compagnie Shawinigan Water and Power, comme l’une des 25 plus grandes réalisations du génie canadien au 20e siècle.

a015576-v8-300x237 -  - La Cité de l’énergie, plus qu’un patrimoine hydroélectrique et industriel exceptionnel !
Shawinigan en 1929

En plus de l’ancienne centrale hydroélectrique de la Northern Aluminum Company construite en 1901, convertie en centre d’interprétation et d’animation scientifique, l’ancienne aluminerie regroupe un ensemble de douze édifices construits en briques entre 1900 et 1927. Ces bâtiments reflètent l’architecture industrielle typique du début du 20e siècle et sont d’une grande valeur patrimoniale, car ils incarnent les débuts de l’industrie électrométallurgique qui est si importante au Québec, en raison de ses ressources électriques abondantes et à prix modique. L’ancienne aluminerie de Shawinigan est également un immeuble patrimonial classé par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec.

Le tour guidé de la ville de Shawinigan offert à partir de la Cité de l’énergie permet de comprendre comment cette ville planifiée a vu le jour presque instantanément – 1500 personnes en ont construit le cœur en deux ans – à partir du schéma d’urbanisme conçu par la firme montréalaise Pringle & Sons. La ville actuelle respecte d’ailleurs l’essentiel de ce plan qui prévoyait accommoder une population de 20 000 personnes.

Les compléments scientifiques et ludiques

a024472-v8-300x239 -  - La Cité de l’énergie, plus qu’un patrimoine hydroélectrique et industriel exceptionnel !
Vue de l’intérieur de Édifice 1, deuxième étage, Canadian Electro Products Co. Ltd., à Shawinigan, 1917

La Cité de l’énergie est conçue pour intéresser un large public principalement familial qui passera plusieurs heures sur le site. La première zone à laquelle accèdent les visiteurs est dite scientifique. Un spectacle multimédia multisensoriel et des expositions interactives ont pour objectif de sensibiliser les gens à l’importance des connaissances et des innovations scientifiques. Une balade en ascenseur jusqu’au sommet de la tour d’observation de 115 mètres propose une expérience à la fois ludique et pédagogique qui informe les visiteurs sur la disposition fonctionnelle des installations et des bâtiments industriels, tout en offrant un panorama saisissant de la rivière Saint-Maurice, de la ville de Shawinigan et de la région environnante.

Le passage dans la zone dite historique se fait en traversant la rivière Saint-Maurice en ponton. Les visiteurs y découvrent les bâtiments patrimoniaux et des expositions interactives dans lesquelles des animateurs effectuent des démonstrations scientifiques amusantes. Depuis quelques années, la présentation du spectacle multimédia à grand déploiement créé par l’auteur Bryan Perro, mettant en vedette son personnage Amos Daragon, dans un amphithéâtre tournant, couvert et chauffé, ajoute une dimension nettement ludique à la visite de la Cité de l’énergie. Une récente exposition met aussi en valeur le travail du « p’tit gars de Shawinigan », Jean Chrétien, en politique étrangère canadienne pendant ses trois mandats successifs comme premier ministre du Canada, par le biais des nombreux objets qu’il a reçus en cadeaux officiels.

L’origine du mot Shawinigan

Selon la Commission de toponymie du Québec, l’origine du mot Shawinigan est amérindienne. Sous la plume d’auteurs francophones du 19e siècle, il est orthographié de plusieurs manières : Chaouinigane, Oshaouinigane, Achawénégan, Chawinigame, Chaouénigane… et sa traduction varie également de portage du sud, portage aux hêtres, portage anguleux et sommet de la côte ou crête, qui serait le sens le plus plausible. Il ferait allusion à la crête de rochers que les peuples algonquiens nomades devaient franchir dans leurs déplacements lorsqu’ils effectuaient le portage de contournement des chutes. L’orthographe Shawinigan apparaît vers 1800 et s’impose en raison de l’importance de la compagnie Shawinigan Water and Power qui se porte acquéreuse des chutes et de ses environs en 1898 pour y construire un barrage, une centrale électrique et la ville planifiée Shawinigan Falls.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.