Loading
Home // Alberta // Cultural Heritage // Campus Saint-Jean at the University of Alberta, a major asset for Francophones in Alberta
back

Campus Saint-Jean at the University of Alberta, a major asset for Francophones in Alberta

The Campus Saint-Jean is a pillar of Francophone education, research, and cultural life in Alberta. Its academic component, the Faculté Saint-Jean, its college component, the Centre collégial de l’Alberta, its Institut pour le patrimoine de la francophonie de l’Ouest, its Institut des études canadiennes, and the associated Société historique francophone de l’Alberta, make this institution a driver of development for Francophones in Alberta. Its leading role in training Francophone teachers has been recognized for decades, and it is even more important today, when the demand for qualified teachers for Francophone primary and secondary schools and French immersion schools is exploding in the western provinces. In addition, the Campus Saint-Jean is located in heart of the Francophone neighbourhood of Edmonton, across from the Cité francophone, which houses several Franco-Albertan organizations. It participates in the cultural promotion of the community, both through its internal programming and by renting out its premises for events and various activities.

 

To learn more…

Showcasing heritage and cultural promotion

AJA5647-300x241 -  - Campus Saint-Jean at the University of Alberta, a major asset for Francophones in Alberta
The Campus Saint-Jean vegetable garden

The Institut pour le patrimoine de la francophonie de l’Ouest canadien (IPFOC), created in 2011 to recover, protect, synthesize and publish the historical and cultural heritage of Francophones in Western Canada, offers regular conferences and colloquia on the Franco-Albertan heritage and the French-Canadian experience. It has collected a rich variety of documentation, including recordings of popular songs, interviews with members of Alberta’s Francophone communities, the archives of the Oblates who have worked in the territory of what is today Alberta from the middle of the 19th century, and a remarkable collection of Francophone newspapers dating from the early 20th century. It has also published a history of Francophones in Alberta. In response to the interest that its activities raised, in 2012 the IPFOC established a new organization, the Société historique francophone de l’Alberta, to improve long-term planning for the vast field of work available to IPFOC researchers and to obtain assistance from volunteers.

The Institut d’études canadiennes addresses contemporary themes such as Canadian Francophone communities and federalism, and the cultural, artistic and social dimensions of Francophone communities in Western Canada. It also implements courses and research programs on these subjects.

PavillonMcMahon_Interieur-300x197 -  - Campus Saint-Jean at the University of Alberta, a major asset for Francophones in Alberta
Students inside the Pavillon McMahon

The some 800 students who study at Campus Saint-Jean also contribute to the development of the Bonny Doon neighbourhood, the new Francophone neighbourhood in Edmonton, where the Saint-Jean Juniorate was established in 1911. The Association des universitaires de la Faculté Saint-Jean is the heart of the institution’s Francophone student life. It organizes numerous cultural activities celebrating Francophone culture, including the Fête de la francophonie and the Festival hivernal, in addition to running several sport and cultural clubs and mentorship activities to facilitate the integration of foreign Francophones who arrive in Alberta. Students are also very active in the local and provincial Francophone community.

The Campus Saint-Jean is home to a Francophone student radio station that is heard by many residents of Edmonton. It provides a forum for artists on campus, in Edmonton, and elsewhere in the province. The first Gala albertain de la chanson and the first Gala interprovincial de la chanson were held at the Campus Saint-Jean and have taken place there for several years. Several student and community theatre troupes have also been established at the campus. Since 2002, the Lacerte pavillion has been renovated to house a Grand Salon, which is currently used for meetings of Francophone organizations that are not part of the university.

Training for Francophone teachers

In February 2017, the dean of the institution requested authorization from the Alberta government to graduate twice as many education students, in order to respond to the lack of qualified Francophone teachers in Alberta. According to him, the 70 new graduates each year at the Faculté Saint-Jean are not sufficient to meet demand, because of what he called the “wave of Francophilia in the West.”

In 1961, the Collège Saint-Jean opened the École de pédagogie de Saint-Jean in partnership with the University of Alberta and Université Laval. Since then, the institution has become a leader in training Francophone teachers who are able to teach French in French, even though at the time, the use of French in the public education system was limited to one hour a day. In 1968, Alberta law finally allowed teachers to teach half of the day in French in primary schools, and in 1976 that proportion was raised to 80%. The role of the Faculté Saint-Jean in training masters students then became essential. By 1977, the Faculté Saint-Jean had become independent from the University of Alberta, and improved its training program for Francophone teachers, and the education program holds a central place within the Faculté to this day.

Milestones

In 1908, at Pincher Creek in southern Alberta, the Oblate Fathers founded a Juniorate to train young men with a vocation for religious orders. As the region slowly developed, in 1911 the Oblates decided that it would be better to move the Juniorate to Edmonton, which was growing faster, to the land that is still occupied by the Campus Saint-Jean.

OB6992-300x174 -  - Campus Saint-Jean at the University of Alberta, a major asset for Francophones in Alberta
Chemistry laboratory at the Juniorat Saint-Jean, with Father Gilbert Forcier

n the 1930s, the Saint-Jean Juniorate was one of the only private schools in Alberta where young boys could get a classical education in French that matched the standards issued by the government of Quebec at the time. In 1941, the Jesuit College in Edmonton closed its doors, and the Saint-Jean Juniorate replaced it, accepting young men who did not intend to join religious orders. In the late 1950s, the institution also began accepting girls. The Collège Saint-Jean’s excellent reputation extended to Quebec, which sent students there in the 1950s. Starting in 1964, and for several years thereafter, the Government of Quebec contributed financially to expand the facilities of the college.

OB7237-300x173 -  - Campus Saint-Jean at the University of Alberta, a major asset for Francophones in Alberta
Juniorat Saint-Jean hockey team, in front of the Juniorat building

In November 1970, the Collège Saint-Jean became the Collège universitaire Saint-Jean, affiliated with the University of Alberta, and in 1977 it became an independent faculty within the university, the Faculté Saint-Jean.

Between 1997 and 2002, several renovations and enlargements allowed the Faculté Saint-Jean to continue its development and confirm its reputation for excellence in higher education in French.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Alberta // Patrimoine culturel // Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, un atout majeur pour la francophonie albertaine
retour

Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, un atout majeur pour la francophonie albertaine

Le campus Saint-Jean est un pilier de l’éducation, de la recherche et de la diffusion culturelle francophone en Alberta. Sa composante universitaire, la Faculté Saint-Jean, sa composante collégiale, le Centre collégial de l’Alberta, son Institut pour le patrimoine de la francophonie de l’Ouest, son Institut des études canadiennes et la Société historique francophone de l’Alberta qui lui est associée font de cette institution un moteur du développement de la francophonie albertaine. Son rôle de meneur dans la formation d’enseignants francophones est reconnu depuis plusieurs décennies et il est encore plus important aujourd’hui, au moment où la demande pour des enseignants qualifiés explose dans les provinces de l’ouest de la part des écoles primaires et secondaires francophones et des écoles d’immersion française. De plus, le campus Saint-Jean étant situé au cœur du quartier francophone d’Edmonton, en face de la Cité francophone regroupant plusieurs organismes franco-albertains, il participe à l’animation culturelle de sa communauté tant par sa programmation interne que par le prêt de ses locaux pour la tenue d’événements et d’activités variés.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

La mise en valeur du patrimoine et l’animation culturelle

AJA5647-300x241 -  - Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, un atout majeur pour la francophonie albertaine
Le potager du Campus Saint-Jean

L’Institut pour le patrimoine de la francophonie de l’Ouest canadien (IPFOC), créé en 2011 pour récupérer, protéger, synthétiser et diffuser le patrimoine historique et culturel des francophones de l’ouest du Canada, propose une programmation régulière de conférences et de colloques sur le patrimoine franco-albertain et le fait français canadien. Il a rassemblé une riche documentation comprenant des enregistrements de chansons populaires, des entrevues réalisées auprès de membres des communautés francophones albertaines, des archives des Oblats qui ont œuvré sur le territoire albertain depuis le milieu du 19e siècle et une collection remarquable de journaux francophones remontant au début du 20e siècle. Il a aussi publié une synthèse de l’histoire franco-albertaine. Victime de l’intérêt que soulevaient ses activités, l’IPFOC s’est doté dès 2012 d’un nouvel organisme, la Société historique francophone de l’Alberta, afin de mieux planifier à long terme le vaste chantier qui s’ouvrait aux chercheurs de l’IPFOC et obtenir l’aide de bénévoles.

L’Institut d’études canadiennes se penche quant à lui sur des thèmes contemporains comme les francophonies canadiennes et le fédéralisme, ou les dimensions culturelles, artistiques et sociales de la francophonie de l’Ouest canadien. Il met aussi sur pied des cours et des programmes de recherche sur ces sujets.

PavillonMcMahon-Interieur-300x197 -  - Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, un atout majeur pour la francophonie albertaine
Étudiants à l’intérieur du Pavillon McMahon

Les quelque 36 000 étudiants que compte le campus Saint-Jean contribuent bien entendu à l’animation du quartier Bonny Doon, le nouveau quartier francophone d’Edmonton où s’est implanté le Juniorat Saint-Jean dès 1911. L’Association des universitaires de la Faculté Saint-Jean est au cœur de la vie étudiante francophone de l’institution. Elle organise de nombreuses activités culturelles célébrant la culture francophone, notamment la Fête de la francophonie et le Festival hivernal, en plus d’avoir mis sur pied plusieurs clubs sportifs et culturels et des activités de mentorat pour faciliter l’intégration des francophones étrangers qui arrivent en Alberta. Les étudiants sont aussi très actifs au sein de la communauté francophone locale et provinciale.

Le campus Saint-Jean héberge une radio étudiante francophone que syntonisent plusieurs résidents d’Edmonton. Il offre une tribune aux artistes du campus, d’Edmonton et d’ailleurs en province. Le premier Gala albertain de la chanson et le premier Gala interprovincial de la chanson se sont déroulés au campus Saint-Jean et y ont été présentés pendant plusieurs années. Plusieurs troupes de théâtre étudiantes ou communautaires se sont aussi succédé sur le campus. Depuis 2002, les rénovations du pavillon Lacerte ont permis la construction d’un Grand Salon qui est couramment utilisé pour des rencontres d’organisations francophones qui ne font pas partie de l’université.

La formation des enseignants francophones

En février 2017, le doyen de l’institution demandait au gouvernement albertain l’autorisation de diplômer deux fois plus de finissants en éducation afin de répondre à la pénurie d’enseignants francophones qualifiés en Alberta. Selon lui, les 70 nouveaux enseignants qui obtiennent leur diplôme chaque année à la Faculté Saint-Jean ne suffisent plus à répondre à la demande devant ce qu’il qualifiait de « vague de francophilie déferlant sur l’Ouest ».

C’est en 1961 que le Collège Saint-Jean ouvre son École de pédagogie de Saint-Jean en partenariat avec l’Université de l’Alberta et l’Université Laval de Québec. Dès lors, l’institution devient un meneur dans la formation d’enseignants francophones aptes à enseigner le français en français, et ce, même si l’usage du français dans le système d’éducation publique était alors limité à une heure par jour. En 1968, la loi albertaine permet enfin de consacrer la moitié du temps d’enseignement en français dans les écoles primaires, puis en 1976, cette proportion grimpe à 80 %. Le rôle de formation des maîtres à la Faculté Saint-Jean devient alors crucial. En 1977, la Faculté Saint-Jean étant devenue autonome par rapport à l’Université de l’Alberta, elle renforce ses programmes de formation d’enseignants francophones et aujourd’hui encore, le programme de pédagogie occupe une place centrale à la Faculté Saint-Jean.

Jalons historiques

En 1908, les Pères oblats fondent à Pincher Creek, dans le sud de l’Alberta, un juniorat pour former de jeunes hommes se destinant aux ordres religieux. Comme la région se développe lentement, les Oblats décident en 1911 qu’il serait plus opportun de déménager leur juniorat à Edmonton qui connaît une forte croissance, sur le terrain qu’occupe toujours le campus Saint-Jean.

OB6992-300x174 -  - Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, un atout majeur pour la francophonie albertaine
Laboratoire de chimie au Juniorat Saint-Jean, avec le père Gilbert Forcier

Dans les années 1930, le Juniorat Saint-Jean est l’une des seules écoles privées en Alberta où les jeunes garçons peuvent suivre une formation classique en français correspondant aux normes émises par le gouvernement du Québec de l’époque. En 1941, le Collège des Jésuites d’Edmonton ferme ses portes et le Juniorat Saint-Jean le remplace en acceptant des jeunes qui n’ont pas l’intention de devenir religieux. À la fin des années 1950, l’institution accepte aussi des filles. L’excellente réputation du Collège Saint-Jean s’étend jusqu’au Québec qui y envoie des étudiants dans les années 1950. Le gouvernement du Québec contribue même financièrement à l’agrandissement des installations du collège à partir de 1964.

OB7237-300x173 -  - Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, un atout majeur pour la francophonie albertaine
Équipe de hockey du Juniorat Saint-Jean, devant l’édifice du Juniorat

En novembre 1970, le Collège Saint-Jean devient le Collège universitaire Saint-Jean, affilié à l’Université de l’Alberta, et en 1977, il devient une faculté autonome de cette université, la Faculté Saint-Jean.

Entre 1997 et 2002, plusieurs rénovations et agrandissements permettent à la Faculté Saint-Jean de poursuivre son développement et de confirmer sa réputation d’excellence dans plusieurs domaines.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.