Loading
Home // Newfoundland and Labrador // Arts and Culture // The Colony of Avalon Foundations
back

The Colony of Avalon Foundations

Established in 1621 by Sir George Calvert (the first Lord Baltimore), the Colony of Avalon is widely recognized as the best preserved early English colonial site in North America.

A fascinating and educational tourist attraction that’s a treasure trove of information. Visitors can go back in time 400 years and discover that its residents didn’t live in hovels, but rather in quality stone and timber-frame houses, and enjoyed freedom of worship. Women even held the reins in this micro society!

Let yourself be seduced by the Visitors’ Centre, which contains thousands of artefacts and information discovered on site by archaeologists.

Guides will help you visit and appreciate all that has been discovered in just over a third of Calvert’s original four-acre site! This includes the remains of a bakery/brewery, a forge, the Calvert estate, a cobblestone street, and a wall that once protected inhabitants from the pounding waves.

This beautiful colony is located on an arm of the sea at the extreme south-east of Newfoundland… Come with a group, your family or your pet on a leash; the past awaits you in a most beautiful and modern setting!

Information: http://colonyofavalon.ca/

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador // Arts et culture // Colony of Avalon Foundation
retour

Colony of Avalon Foundation

Fondée en 1621 par Sir George Calvert, le premier Lord Baltimore, la Colonie d’Avalon est considérée comme le site colonial anglais le mieux préservé en Amérique du Nord.

C’est une colossale mine d’informations que l’on exploite quotidiennement dans cette attraction touristique fascinante et éducative. Les visiteurs reviennent 400 ans en arrière et découvrent que les habitants ne demeuraient pas dans des taudis, mais des maisons en bois rond de qualité, et avaient liberté de culte. Les femmes tenaient même les rênes de cette microsociété!

Laissez-vous séduire par le centre des visiteurs, qui contient des milliers d’artefacts et d’informations trouvés sur place par les archéologues.

Des guides vous aideront par la suite à assimiler et visiter ces nombreuses trouvailles effectuées dans seulement un tiers des 4 acres de la colonie (!), dont les vestiges d’une boulangerie/brasserie, d’une forge, du domaine Calvert, d’une rue pavée de roches ou d’un mur protégeant les habitants des flots.

Oui, car la superbe colonie est située dans un bras de mer à l’extrême sud-est de l’île… Venez en groupe, en famille ou  avec  votre animal en laisse, le passé vous attend dans ses plus beaux atours actuels !

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.