Loading
Home // Newfoundland and Labrador // Arts and Culture // Cupids Legacy center
back

Cupids Legacy center

Did you know that the town of Cupids, Newfoundland, is the oldest British colony in Canada? Established 400 years ago, its history has been showcased for several years at the Cupids Legacy Centre, where visitors learn absolutely everything they need to know about this town, founded by John Guy in 1610.

Visitors to the Centre will be immersed in history and left with lasting memories of this ancient and major trade hub. In fact, for the last two years, the public has been able to take a virtual trip back 400 years, to the time when the town was founded!

The Centre also houses 160,000 artefacts collected at the Cupids Cove Plantation site, one of the largest archeological sites in North America. A large 2,000-square-foot room, decorated with a giant Union Flag from 1910, is also located on the second floor. Speaking of heights… be sure to visit the Centre’s rooftop, where you’ll discover a fairy, interpretation panels and… a breathtaking view of the town.

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador // Arts et culture // Cupids Legacy center
retour

Cupids Legacy center

Saviez-vous que la ville de Cupid, à Terre-Neuve, est le plus ancien berceau britannique au Canada ? Établi il y a 400 ans, ce poste est commémoré depuis plusieurs années au Centre héritage de Cupid, où les visiteurs apprennent absolument tout ce qu’ils ont besoin de savoir sur l’histoire de la ville fondée par John Guy en 1610.

C’est ni plus ni moins une immersion totale qu’on vous propose, afin que vous gardiez d’impérissables souvenirs de cette ancienne et importante plaque tournante du commerce. D’ailleurs, le public peut expérimenter depuis deux ans au centre un voyage virtuel les catapultant 400 ans en arrière, lors de la fondation!

Le centre est également un lieu d’entreposage de 160 000 artefacts recueillis dans la crique du site de plantation de Cupid, un des plus importants sites archéologiques en Amérique du Nord. Une vaste salle de réunion de 2000 pieds carrés, décorée d’un gigantesque drapeau Union Jack datant de 1910, est aussi accessible au deuxième étage.

Parlant de hauteurs… Assurez-vous d’aller faire un tour sur le toit du centre avant de quitter, vous y découvrirez une fée, des panneaux d’interprétation et… une vue imprenable sur la ville.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.