Loading
Home // British Colombia // Arts and Culture // Emily Carr House
back

Emily Carr House

Emily Carr House and Gardens, a National and Provincial Historic Site, is a small gem of Canadian culture. Located at 207 Government Street in Victoria, the restored building pays tribute to great artist, author and nature-lover Emily Carr.

Eighth in a family of nine children, Emily was born in 1871, the year British Columbia joined Confederation. She was fiercely proud of this fact, which influenced her existence and creativity.

By exploring her childhood home, you’ll gain a sense of the context in which she grew up, as well as appreciate how she was so remarkably modern and ahead of her time. After touring the home of this First Nations champion, sit awhile in the garden and enjoy a complimentary refreshment to fully savour your experience.

The gift shop may also interest you, with its fine selection of posters and prints, as well as Emily Carr’s Governor General’s Award-winning book, Klee Wyck. You can also book a reservation for a special visit with artist Karen Lenz.

Information: www.emilycarr.com

Gallery

Additional information

Promotional items and/or documentation available in French

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Colombie-Britannique // Arts et culture // Emily Carr House
retour

Emily Carr House

La Maison et le Jardin Emily Carr, un site historique provincial et national, est un petit joyau de la culture canadienne.

Située au 207, Government Street, à Victoria, la construction restaurée rend hommage à la grande artiste-peintre, auteure et amante de la nature qu’était Emily Carr. Huitième d’une famille de neuf enfants, Emily est née en 1871, année où la Colombie-Britannique a joint la Confédération canadienne.

L’artiste a toujours été si fière de cette coïncidence que cela a influencé son existence et sa créativité. En vous déplaçant dans la maison de son enfance, vous sentirez le contexte dans lequel elle a grandi et comprendrez pourquoi elle était si avant-gardiste et moderne.

Après la visite de la maison de cette savante de la culture des Premières Nations et des indigènes, asseyez-vous dans le jardin et désaltérez-vous avec un rafraîchissement offert par la maison pour que votre expérience soit des plus complètes.

Le magasin de souvenirs pourrait aussi vous intéresser, avec ses nombreuses affiches et photos, ainsi que le livre Klee Wyck, pour lequel Emily Carr a remporté le Prix du Gouverneur général.
Des visites spéciales sur réservation sont également accessibles avec l’artiste Karen Lenz.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Articles promotionnels et/ou documentation en français

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.