Loading
Home // Ontario // Cultural Heritage // Le Festival du loup de Lafontaine – Celebrating Francophone Culture and Roots
back

Le Festival du loup de Lafontaine – Celebrating Francophone Culture and Roots

Along with Penetanguishene, Midland and Perkinsfield, Lafontaine is part of a Francophone hub whose roots are very old; it is located some 150 kilometers north of Toronto, in the magnificent Huronia region. Lafontaine is known for its amazing pool of professional artists, many of whom take part in the Festival du Loup, which was created in 2002. The event is based, for the most part, on storytelling, singing, and traditional and folk music, but it also welcomes artists from the contemporary pop repertoire, such as the renowned Damien Robitaille, originally from Lafontaine, or from Quebec and other regions in Ontario and Canada. The event takes place in the third weekend of July. The group of volunteers who organizes the festival, La Meute culturelle de Lafontaine (the Lafontaine cultural pack), gets its name from Lafontaine’s legend of the wolf, a remarkable regional work that gives the festival its unique character and features a wolf-howling competition. The Meute also mounts temporary historical exhibits.

 

For more information

A community event that has caught on

Statue_Loup_Lafontaine-300x195 -  - Le Festival du loup de Lafontaine – Celebrating Francophone Culture and Roots
Statue of the Wolf, Lafontaine

The first edition of the Festival du Loup was actually a funding activity for a museum project that would pay homage to Lafontaine’s Francophone pioneers. This is why La Meute culturelle de Lafontaine organizes every year a temporary exhibit illustrating the regional Francophone heritage, a sign that they still entertain the hope of opening a permanent museum. However, for the community whose mother tongue is French and which, overall, is very small in the region (slightly over 2,500 people), the Festival du Loup quickly made a name for itself as an important unifying event and a major source of pride, as many professional musicians who live or were born in Lafontaine take part in the festival, such as Jean-Marc Lalonde, Éric Dubeau, Michel Payment, Ariko, Damien Robitaille (who launched his national career at the Festival du Loup) and writers Daniel Marchildon and Suzanne Desrochers who give storytelling performances or make presentations at the Festival.

Encheres_Loups-300x169 -  - Le Festival du loup de Lafontaine – Celebrating Francophone Culture and Roots
Wolves auction

Today, this well-known event is an opportunity to promote Huronia’s Francophone culture outside the region and keep alive the ties that bind the Francophone population to its maternal language. However, as in any minority community (Francophones here represent 10% of the regional population), the challenge to preserve one’s language and culture is constant. In this regard, the Festival du Loup and the temporary exhibits, including several interpretative activities, which last for one week in November, play a very important role. La Meute culturelle de Lafontaine has also initiated the Contes de Lafontaine project, in partnership with the schools in the region, as well as a storytelling course to enhance the Festival du Loup’s programming and keep alive a tradition of storytelling and a legend that has marked the town of Lafontaine.

Lafontaine’s Legend of the Wolf

The legend tells the story that, in 1902, a wandering wolf was killing sheep, calves and horses, and terrorizing the entire Lafontaine population. However, its inhabitants were divided. After the departure of the French who were visitors in the region in the first half of the 17th century, at the time of the Huron missions, four successive groups colonized the region. The first to arrive in 1828 were former French-Canadian Voyageurs and Métis fur traders. Then, starting in 1840, three waves of immigrants settled in Lafontaine, originating from Lower Canada (now Quebec). The first wave of settlers chose the most fertile tracts of land; the second wave became lumberjacks, in addition to farming the land; and the third wave worked as fishermen and lumberjacks. However, these French-Canadians originating from Batiscan, Joliette and the counties of Vaudreuil and Soulanges were wary of each other and kept to themselves. Yet, according to parish priest Thomas Marchildon of the Ste-Croix de Lafontaine parish (who was also born there and who wrote and published a story about a wolf in 1955), the wild beast was threatening all adults indiscriminately; so, they all joined forces to hunt it down and get rid of it. The wolf allegedly provided all the inhabitants of Lafontaine with an opportunity to join forces and become a real community.

Since then, this true story, which was embellished into a unifying legend, has been repeated a number of times: it was told on television in 1976, summarized in English in 1995, remounted as a play in 1997, republished in its original version in 2007, and converted into a video in 2013. The story is always current in Lafontaine and serves to remind everyone that they must remain united. The legend of the wolf is now part of the cultural heritage and identity of the population of Lafontaine. It is part of Lafontaine’s toponymy as the “Chemin du Loup” (Wolf Road) and it was the inspiration for the creation of the Festival du Loup, as well as for the name of La Meute culturelle de Lafontaine that wishes to perpetuate the unifying impact of this legend.

A small, dynamic Francophone community

Historian Gaétan Gervais identifies the very beautiful region of Lafontaine-Penetanguishene-Midland-Perkinsfieldas the “cradle of French civilization in Ontario” because of a lasting French presence in the first half of the 17th century and its early colonization in the 19th century. In comparison to other Francophone regions in Ontario, the inhabitants of Huronia are nevertheless few in number, even though they are deeply rooted there. The community expresses its vitality through the Le Goût de vivre (a zest for life) newspaper based in Lafontaine, a community radio, a digital portal (www.francohuronie.ca) and La Clef d’la Baie en Huronie, a Francophone cultural association, all three located in Penetanguishene, which, by the way, is a partner of the Festival du Loup. Moreover, Lafontaine and Penetanguishene enjoy the benefit of French schools.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Festivals et événements // Festival du Loup de Lafontaine, célébrer la culture et les racines francophones
retour

Festival du Loup de Lafontaine, célébrer la culture et les racines francophones

Avec Penetanguishene, Midland et Perkinsfield, Lafontaine fait partie d’un noyau francophone aux racines très anciennes, à quelque 150 kilomètres au nord de Toronto, dans la magnifique région de la Huronie. Lafontaine se distingue par son exceptionnel bassin d’artistes professionnels, dont plusieurs participent au Festival du Loup, créé en 2002. L’événement repose en majeure partie sur le conte, la chanson et la musique traditionnelle et folk, mais il accueille des artistes au répertoire pop contemporain comme le réputé Damien Robitaille, originaire de Lafontaine, ou d’autres provenant du Québec et de différentes régions de l’Ontario et du Canada. L’événement a lieu la troisième fin de semaine de juillet. Le groupe de bénévoles qui organise ce festival, La Meute culturelle de Lafontaine, tire son nom de la légende du loup de Lafontaine, une œuvre régionale marquante qui donne un caractère unique à ce festival, qui comporte un concours de hurlement de loup. La Meute monte aussi des expositions historiques temporaires.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un événement communautaire qui a pris son envol

Capture-d’écran-2017-12-18-à-18.33.28-300x195 -  - Festival du Loup de Lafontaine, célébrer la culture et les racines francophones
Statue du loup à Lafontaine

La première édition du Festival du Loup était en fait une activité de financement pour un projet de musée qui rendrait hommage aux pionniers francophones de Lafontaine. C’est pourquoi la Meute culturelle organise chaque année une exposition temporaire illustrant le patrimoine francophone régional et qu’elle caresse toujours le projet d’ouvrir un musée permanent. Cependant, pour la communauté de langue maternelle française somme toute peu populeuse de la région – environ 2100 personnes (selon le recensement de 2016) – le Festival du Loup s’est rapidement imposé comme un événement rassembleur important et une grande source de fierté, puisque plusieurs musiciens professionnels qui habitent ou sont originaires de Lafontaine participent au festival, tels Jean-Marc Lalonde, Éric Dubeau, Michel Payment, Ariko, Damien Robitaille – qui a commencé sa carrière nationale au Festival du Loup – et les écrivains Daniel Marchildon et Suzanne Desrochers qui y présentent des contes ou des conférences.

Capture-d’écran-2017-12-18-à-18.33.55-300x169 -  - Festival du Loup de Lafontaine, célébrer la culture et les racines francophones
La vente aux enchères des loups

Aujourd’hui, cet événement bien connu permet de faire rayonner la culture francophone de la Huronie à l’extérieur de la région et de maintenir vivants les liens qu’entretient sa population francophone avec sa langue maternelle. Car, comme dans toute communauté en situation minoritaire – les francophones représentent ici autour de 10 % de la population régionale –, le défi de conserver sa langue et sa culture est constant. Sur ce plan, le Festival du Loup et les expositions temporaires accompagnées de plusieurs activités d’animation, qui durent une semaine, au mois de novembre, jouent un rôle très important. La Meute culturelle de Lafontaine a aussi mis sur pied le projet des Contes de Lafontaine, en partenariat avec les écoles de la région, ainsi qu’une formation de conteurs afin d’enrichir la programmation du Festival du Loup et de maintenir vivante une tradition de conte et légende qui a marqué Lafontaine.

La légende du loup de Lafontaine

La légende raconte qu’en 1902, un loup errant tuait moutons, veaux et chevaux et terrorisait toute la population de Lafontaine. Or, celle-ci était divisée. Après le départ des Français qui fréquentaient la région dans la première moitié du 17e siècle, à l’époque des missions huronnes, quatre groupes successifs ont colonisé la localité. D’anciens voyageurs canadiens-français et métis de la traite des fourrures sont arrivés les premiers, en 1828. Puis, à partir de 1840, trois vagues d’immigrants se sont établies à Lafontaine, en provenance du Bas-Canada (le Québec d’aujourd’hui). Les premiers ont accaparé les meilleures terres ; les seconds se sont faits bûcherons en plus de cultiver la terre ; les troisièmes ont travaillé comme pêcheurs et bûcherons. Mais ces Canadiens français venus de Batiscan, de Joliette et des comtés de Vaudreuil et Soulanges se méfiaient les uns des autres et ne se mélangeaient pas. Or, d’après le curé Thomas Marchildon de la paroisse Sainte-Croix de Lafontaine, lui-même natif de l’endroit, qui a rédigé et publié cette histoire de loup en 1955, la bête sauvage menaçait tous les adultes, indistinctement, et tous se sont ligués pour la pourchasser et s’en débarrasser. Ce loup aurait donc permis de réunir enfin tous les habitants de Lafontaine et d’en faire une véritable communauté.

Depuis, cette histoire véritable – embellie en une légende rassembleuse – a été maintes fois reprise : racontée à la télévision en 1976, résumée en anglais en 1995, remontée au théâtre en 1997, republiée en version originale en 2007 et convertie en vidéo en 2013. Elle est toujours d’actualité à Lafontaine et sert à rappeler à tous qu’il faut s’unir. La légende du loup fait désormais partie du patrimoine culturel et de l’identité de la population de Lafontaine. Elle a trouvé place dans la toponymie avec « le chemin du Loup » et elle a inspiré la création du Festival du Loup, ainsi que le nom de la Meute culturelle de Lafontaine qui désire perpétuer l’impact rassembleur de cette légende.

Une petite communauté francophone dynamique

L’historien Gaétan Gervais identifie la très belle région de Lafontaine-Penetanguishene-Midland-Perkinsfield comme le « berceau de la civilisation française en Ontario » à cause d’une présence française durable dans la première moitié du 17e siècle et de sa colonisation précoce au 19e siècle. En comparaison à d’autres régions francophones en Ontario, les habitants de la Huronie sont néanmoins peu nombreux, bien que profondément enracinés. Cette communauté manifeste son dynamisme dans le journal Le goût de vivre basé à Lafontaine, la radio communautaire, le portail numérique (huronie.francoservice.info) et l’association culturelle francophone La Clé d’la Baie en Huronie situés à Penetanguishene, cette dernière étant d’ailleurs un partenaire du Festival du Loup. Lafontaine et Penetanguishene bénéficient en outre d’écoles françaises.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.