Loading
Home // Manitoba // Festivals and Events // Festival du Voyageur, the largest winter festival in Western Canada
back

Festival du Voyageur, the largest winter festival in Western Canada

Every February since 1970, the Festival du Voyageur brings some warmth to the cold season in Winnipeg. This major festive event pays homage to the first inhabitants of European origin to settle at the forks of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers, who were French, and the thousands of Francophone voyageurs of the fur trade who followed them. The festival includes music, dance, a snow sculpture contest, a parade, period food, a sugar shack, a bar, a live presentation on the life of the voyageurs, and so on. Thousands of people take part in the uninterrupted activities in Whittier Park, Fort Gibraltar and St. Boniface, over a period of ten days. The joie de vivre of the Francophones and the French language are showcased throughout the Festival du Voyageur.

 

To learn more…

A festive mood in Winnipeg

festival-voyageur1-300x200 -  - Festival du Voyageur, the largest winter festival in Western Canada
Group Signposting at the Festival du Voyageur

Both the origin of the Festival du Voyageur and its varied programming reflect the pride, joie de vivre and the warm welcome typical of Winnipeg’s Francophone community. Like Francophones in the other regions of Canada, Franco-Manitobans love to get together, have fun and encourage their guests to take part in the festivities. The original idea of a Francophone winter festival, first celebrated in 1967, quickly grew, adding the idea of paying homage to the founders of the city of Winnipeg: the voyageurs of the fur trade. Since its first edition in 1970, the Festival du Voyageur has expressed its own original personality and distinguished itself from other winter celebrations through its historic roots and by showcasing the heritage of the voyageurs.

shsb15124-300x287 -  - Festival du Voyageur, the largest winter festival in Western Canada
The Forest Family at the Festival du Voyageur

The initiative for the festival came from Georges Forest, a businessman from St. Boniface, originally an independent city that became Winnipeg’s Francophone neighbourhood in 1972. Georges Forest was responsible for promoting the new event. To achieve that, he dressed as a voyageur, with the traditional, tuque, ceinture fléchée, boots and snowshoes. He won over his peers and became the first “official voyageur”, the first ambassador of the festival. This tradition has continued to this day with the choice of a “family of official voyageurs” that embodies the family dimension of the festival, for the family is very important to Franco-Manitobans and their guests.

 

 

Bringing people together

n333-300x200 -  - Festival du Voyageur, the largest winter festival in Western Canada
Float in the Festival du Voyageur Parade, circa 1980

Over the years, the festival, which initially mobilized the Francophone community of St. Boniface, grew and made its mark throughout the City of Winnipeg as a major event on the winter calendar. As the original organizers wished, the festival has also become an occasion for Franco-Manitobans from other regions of the province to get together and celebrate the fact that they all belong to the broader Francophone community and share French culture. While the theme of the voyageur is certainly historical, it is also very much a reflection of today’s multicultural society, as the fur trade at the beginning of the 19th century brought together Francophones, Anglophones, Métis and Indigenous people. It thus lends itself very well to the multicultural evolution of today’s social fabric, while enabling those who participate in the festival to discover some of the striking aspects of Franco‑Manitoban culture.

Who are the voyageurs?

In 1738, Pierre Gaultier de Varennes et de la Vérendrye, a Canadian, (in other words, a Frenchman born in New France) reached the Red River for the first time and had Fort Maurepas built at the forks of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers, where the many Indigenous peoples of the Prairies had been meeting for centuries. De la Vérendrye was accompanied by a number of other Canadians who were to develop the fur trade in the territories of what are today Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and the American states of North Dakota, Montana and Wyoming.

After New France was ceded to the United Kingdom in 1763, the British took over control of the fur trading enterprises based in Montreal, in particular the North West Company, the largest of them, for which hundreds of French Canadian and Francophone Métis employees worked. They were habitually referred to as “voyageurs”, that is, individuals who travelled over great distances in birchbark canoes to transport trade goods and furs between Montreal and the territories where Indigenous peoples lived, hunted and prepared furs.

fdv-2014_07-300x200 -  - Festival du Voyageur, the largest winter festival in Western Canada
Louis Gagné, A Typical Traveller

In 1821, when the North West Company merged with its rival, the Hudson’s Bay Company, based in London, it had about 6,000 voyageurs. The majority of them were French Canadians. These are the voyageurs to whom we pay homage at Winnipeg’s Festival du Voyageur. After the two companies merged, the number of voyageurs decreased, because the Hudson’s Bay Company moved its merchandise and furs over a shorter distance (through its posts on Hudson’s Bay) and employed more British people. Nonetheless, many French-Canadian and Métis voyageurs continued to travel over the Prairies to trade in furs, bison hides and pemmican (dried bison meat mixed with fat and small dried fruit), until the bison herds declined around 1875.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Festivals et événements // Festival du Voyageur, le plus grand festival d’hiver dans l’Ouest canadien
retour

Festival du Voyageur, le plus grand festival d’hiver dans l’Ouest canadien

Chaque année depuis 1970, en février, le Festival du Voyageur anime la froide saison à Winnipeg. Cet événement festif d’envergure rend hommage aux premiers habitants d’origine européenne à s’établir au confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, les Français, et aux milliers de voyageurs francophones de la traite des fourrures qui les ont suivis. Musique, danse, concours de sculpture sur neige, défilé, nourriture d’époque, cabane à sucre, bar, animation sur la vie des voyageurs… Des milliers de personnes participent aux activités présentées sans interruption au parc Whittier, au fort Gibraltar et à Saint-Boniface pendant une dizaine de jours. La joie de vivre des francophones et la langue française sont à l’honneur durant tout le Festival du Voyageur.

 

Winnipeg en fête

festival-voyageur1-300x200 -  - Festival du Voyageur, le plus grand festival d’hiver dans l’Ouest canadien
Fléchage en groupe au Festival du Voyageur

Autant l’origine du Festival du voyageur que sa programmation variée reflètent la fierté, la joie de vivre et l’accueil chaleureux propres à la communauté francophone de Winnipeg. Comme dans les autres régions du Canada, les Franco-Manitobains aiment se rassembler, s’amuser ensemble et faire participer « la visite » à leurs réjouissances. À l’idée originale d’une fête hivernale francophone, qui voit le jour en 1967, se greffe rapidement celle de rendre hommage aux fondateurs de la ville de Winnipeg : les voyageurs de la traite de fourrures. Dès sa première édition, en 1970, le Festival se donne ainsi une personnalité propre et se distingue des autres célébrations hivernales par son ancrage historique et la mise en valeur du patrimoine des voyageurs.

 

shsb15124-300x287 -  - Festival du Voyageur, le plus grand festival d’hiver dans l’Ouest canadien
La famille Forest au Festival du Voyageur

L’initiative vient de Georges Forest, un homme d’affaires de Saint-Boniface, le quartier francophone de Winnipeg, chargé de la promotion du nouvel événement. Pour ce faire, il se costume en « voyageur » avec les traditionnels tuque, ceinture fléchée, bottes et raquettes à neige. Il emporte l’adhésion de ses collaborateurs et devient ainsi le premier « Voyageur officiel », le premier ambassadeur du Festival. Cette tradition se poursuit aujourd’hui en désignant une « famille de voyageurs officiels » qui incarne la dimension familiale de la fête, puisque la famille est une valeur très importante pour les Franco-Manitobains et pour leurs invités.

 

Un événement rassembleur

n333-300x200 -  - Festival du Voyageur, le plus grand festival d’hiver dans l’Ouest canadien
Char allégorique lors d’un défilé du Festival du Voyageur

Avec les années, le Festival qui mobilisait au départ la communauté francophone de Saint-Boniface a grandi et s’est imposé dans toute la ville de Winnipeg comme un événement majeur du calendrier hivernal. Comme le souhaitait les premiers organisateurs, le Festival est aussi devenu l’occasion pour toute la communauté franco-manitobaine de se rassembler et de célébrer leur appartenance commune à la culture française. Quant au thème du voyageur, certes historique, il est aussi très actuel puisque la traite de fourrures réunissait au début du 19e siècle des francophones, des anglophones, des métis et des autochtones. Il se prête donc fort bien à l’évolution multiculturelle du tissu social contemporain, tout en faisant découvrir aux participants quelques éléments forts de la culture franco-manitobaine.

 

Qui sont les voyageurs ?

En 1738, Pierre Gaultier de Varennes et de la Vérendrye, un Canadien (c’est-à-dire un Français né en Nouvelle-France), atteint pour la première fois la rivière Rouge et fait construire un fort au confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, le fort Maurepas, où se rencontrent depuis des siècles plusieurs nations autochtones des Prairies. Il est accompagné de plusieurs autres Canadiens qui développeront la traite de fourrures dans les territoires actuels du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan, de l’Alberta et des états américains du Dakota du nord, du Montana et du Wyoming, jusqu’à la fin du Régime français.

 

Après la cession de la Nouvelle-France au Royaume-Uni, en 1763, des Britanniques prendront la tête d’entreprises de traite de fourrures basées à Montréal, en particulier de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, la plus importante, pour lesquelles travaillent des centaines d’employés canadiens-français et métis francophones. Ceux-ci sont habituellement des « voyageurs », c’est-à-dire ces personnes qui effectuent les longs déplacements en canot d’écorce pour transporter les marchandises de traite et les fourrures entre Montréal et les territoires où les Autochtones vivent, chassent et apprêtent les fourrures.

 

fdv-2014_07-300x200 -  - Festival du Voyageur, le plus grand festival d’hiver dans l’Ouest canadien
Louis Gagné en voyageur typique

En 1821, lorsque la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest fusionne avec sa rivale, la Compagnie de la baie d’Hudson, basée à Londres, on estime le nombre de voyageurs de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest à environ 6000. La majorité d’entre eux sont des francophones. Ce sont ces voyageurs qu’honore le Festival du voyageur de Winnipeg. Après cette fusion, le nombre de voyageurs va diminuer, puisque la Compagnie de la baie d’Hudson fait transiter ses marchandises et ses fourrures par un trajet plus court (via ses postes de la baie d’Hudson) et emploie davantage de Britanniques. Néanmoins, les voyageurs canadiens-français et métis seront encore nombreux à circuler dans les Prairies pour le commerce des fourrures, des peaux de bison et du pemmican (viande bison séchée mélangé à de la graisse et des petits fruits séchés) jusque vers 1875.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.