Loading
Home // Manitoba // Nature and wildlife // Fort Whyte Alive
back

Fort Whyte Alive

Although the name Whyte recalls serious clashes that occurred at the end of the 19th century when Canadian Pacific and its vice president, William Whyte, had the monopoly on rail transport, it’s now synonymous with wildlife conservation and environmental education.

In 1966, the Fort Whyte Foundation was established for that purpose, while the interpretation centre we know today opened its doors in 1983. Since then, the Centre and Foundation have kept expanding thanks to programs that are both fun and educational!

The area around FortWhyte has grown as well, enabling visitors to enjoy and explore nature by gliding over water in a canoe or kayak, going on year-round ecological strolls, participating in outdoor winter celebrations or sunset BBQs, or joining our summer day camp!

FortWhyte also provides facility rentals for meetings, weddings, etc. An equipment rental service is available.

Those who’ve visited FortWhyte, both young and old, remember it well and often come back, since one day is hardly enough time to do everything!

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Nature et faune // Fort Whyte Alive
retour

Fort Whyte Alive

Même si le nom Whyte rappelle de durs affrontements survenus à la fin du 19e siècle, lorsque le Canadien Pacifique et son principal dirigeant William Whyte détenaient le monopole des rails, il est aujourd’hui synonyme de conservation de la faune et d’éducation environnementale.

La Fondation Fort Whyte a été créée avec cet objectif en 1966 et dès 1983, le centre d’interprétation que nous connaissons aujourd’hui a ouvert ses portes. Depuis, le centre et la Fondation ne font que grandir grâce à des programmes aussi éducatifs que plaisants!

Le territoire couvert par FortWhyte s’étire aussi de plus en plus, ce qui permet aux visiteurs de jouir d’une nature accueillante en canot, en kayak, à la faveur d’une promenade écologique 12 mois par année, des fêtes extérieures en hiver, un BBQ au coucher de soleil ou un camp d’été!

Vous pouvez également profiter des installations pour vos réunions, vos mariages, etc. Un service de location d’équipement vous est aussi accessible.

Les petits et grands qui ont visité FortWhyte une fois s’en souviennent et sont souvent revenus, car il y a tant à faire et à voir qu’une journée est rarement suffisante pour vous rassasier!

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.