Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Heritage Sites // Grand-Pré, a memorial of the Acadian Deportation
back

Grand-Pré, a memorial of the Acadian Deportation

Grand-Pré is a very fertile field that extends beyond the distant horizon. The Acadians claimed this land from the sea by means of an aboiteaux system, which they designed and built here more than 300 years ago. Visitors who come to Grand Pré today find an interpretation centre that tells the story of the farming lifestyle of 18th century Acadians and of their brutal deportation. This collective tragedy, which affected 11,000 individuals and marked Acadian history, began in 1755. This place, so heavy with meaning, has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2012.

 

To learn more…

Commemorating the resilience of the Acadians

200501852-300x189 -  - Grand-Pré, a memorial of the Acadian Deportation
Illustration of Évangéline, by F.O. Darley, 1893

Grand-Pré is one of the many locations where the Deportation took place. However, this particular place has gradually emerged as the principal symbol of this tragic event, in particular because of a celebrated poem composed by American writer Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. The story of Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie, published in 1847, begins in Grand‑Pré. Since the 1920s, an increasing number of gatherings have taken place on this site, laden with memories and meaning. The commemorative chapel, built in 1922, is a central memorial for Acadians, Cajuns of Louisiana and even Quebecers.

ceaac_grand-pre_bicentenaire_1955_pb4-47-300x237 -  - Grand-Pré, a memorial of the Acadian Deportation
Bicentennial in Grand-Pré in 1955

Over the years, major commemorations have been added. Grand-Pré has been a national historic site of Canada since 1956. It has also been registered on UNESCO’s World Heritage List since 2012, as it has been an eloquent example of a landscape shaped by human beings for over three centuries. Today, what inspires and moves Grand-Pré visitors the most at this historical site is the extraordinary resilience of the Acadians and their ability to overcome a painful collective tragedy, the deportation from a land that they had fashioned. This proud people was able to bounce back, to gradually flourish again, without being consumed by acrimonious resentment or a desire for vengeance. On the contrary, it is their joie de vivre that best characterizes the Acadians. Their heart is a grand meadow, welcoming and fertile.

A dreamland for Acadians

gp-eglise-300x169 -  - Grand-Pré, a memorial of the Acadian Deportation
Statue of Évangéline at the Church of Grand-Pré

The Acadians first settled in the region of Port-Royal (today Annapolis Royal) in the first half of the 17th century. They moved to Grand-Pré when they mastered the technique of aboiteaux, which could be applied here to great advantage. This technique involved protecting the marshes located on the borders of the Bay of Fundy from the rising salt water at high tide. These tidal flats, which dried out at low tide, were very fertile. But in order to cultivate them, they first needed to be permanently protected from the sea and desalinated. To accomplish this, the Acadians had to drain the land and erect dikes to prevent the sea from invading the flats at high tide. They then installed a system of aboiteaux across these dykes, which were locks equipped with a valve operated by the tide. This valve closed under the pressure from the rising tide, thus preventing salt water from penetrating the dried marsh. With the ebbing of the tide, the valve opened to enable rain water and soft water to drain from the surrounding lands into the sea.

In this manner, the Acadians were able to develop and inhabit this region, known as the Minas Basin, which was and is still today the most productive land in Nova Scotia.

The nightmare of the Deportation

In 1713, Acadia became a British possession. The English soldiers who occupied this territory, which was inhabited almost exclusively by Francophones, tried to subjugate the Acadians and win them over to the British Crown. The Acadians nevertheless tried to remain neutral. Then, in the 1750s, the British decided to be done with all the French colonies in America. The Acadians were an obstacle, a threat, even, and the authorities adopted a radical solution to get rid of them: deportation.

After disarming the Acadians throughout the Minas Basin, the soldiers gathered the population in the church in Grand-Pré, where the Act of Deportation was read to them. Everything happened very quickly. The ships to transport the deportees were already anchored at sea. Men, women and children were forcibly boarded onto the ships, sometimes in a very haphazard manner, with some families separated. When the overloaded ships travelled to the American colonies, the Acadians’ cattle and lands were redistributed to the British, who enriched themselves from this tragic event. Similar events took place throughout Acadia. Thousands of deportees were to perish from starvation or disease before completing the voyage to Europe or the Anglo-American colonies. It took decades for the dispossessed Acadians who had survived to reorganize themselves.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Sites patrimoniaux // Grand-Pré, lieu de mémoire de la Déportation des Acadiens
retour

Grand-Pré, lieu de mémoire de la Déportation des Acadiens

Le « Grand Pré » est un champ très fertile qui s’étend toujours à perte de vue. Les Acadiens l’ont gagné sur la mer grâce au système d’aboiteau qu’ils ont conçu et construit à cet endroit il y a plus de 300 ans. En arrivant sur place aujourd’hui, le visiteur trouve un centre d’interprétation qui raconte le mode de vie agricole des Acadiens du 18e siècle et la Déportation brutale dont ils ont été victimes. Ce drame collectif, qui a touché 11 000 personnes et marqué l’histoire acadienne, a débuté en 1755. Ce lieu chargé de sens figure sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 2012.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Commémorer la résilience des Acadiens

200501852-300x189 -  - Grand-Pré, lieu de mémoire de la Déportation des Acadiens
Illustration d’Évangéline, par F.O. Darley, 1893

Grand-Pré est l’un des nombreux endroits où s’est produite la Déportation. Mais ce lieu s’est progressivement imposé comme le principal symbole de cet événement tragique, entre autres à cause du célèbre poème de l’écrivain américain H. W. Longfellow, Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie, publié en 1847, dont l’histoire commence à Grand-Pré. À partir des années 1920, les rassemblements se sont multipliés sur ce site chargé de sens et de souvenirs. La chapelle commémorative, érigée en 1922, est un lieu de mémoire central pour les Acadiens, les Cajuns de la Louisiane et même les Québécois.

ceaac_grand-pre_bicentenaire_1955_pb4-47-300x237 -  - Grand-Pré, lieu de mémoire de la Déportation des Acadiens
Bicentenaire à Grand-Pré en 1955

Au fil du temps, des marques de reconnaissance majeures se sont ajoutées : Grand-Pré est un lieu historique national du Canada depuis 1956 ; son paysage est également inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 2012, car il est un exemple éloquent de paysage façonné par l’être humain qui s’est maintenu pendant trois siècles. Aujourd’hui, ce qui inspire et émeut le plus en visitant Grand-Pré, au-delà de cette continuité historique, c’est l’extraordinaire résilience des Acadiens, leur capacité à surmonter une épreuve collective aussi douloureuse que la Déportation de cette terre qu’ils ont façonnée. Ce peuple fier a su rebondir, s’épanouir à nouveau, peu à peu, sans entretenir de rancune acrimonieuse ou de désir de vengeance. Au contraire, c’est la joie de vivre qui caractérise le mieux les Acadiens. Leur cœur est un grand pré accueillant et fertile.

Une terre de rêve pour les Acadiens

gp-eglise-300x169 -  - Grand-Pré, lieu de mémoire de la Déportation des Acadiens
Statue d’Évangéline de l’église de Grand-Pré

Les Acadiens se sont d’abord établis dans la région de Port-Royal (aujourd’hui Annapolis Royal) dans la première moitié du 17e siècle. Ils se déplacent vers Grand-Pré lorsqu’ils maîtrisent la technique d’aboiteau, qui peut être appliquée ici avec grand profit. Ce savoir-faire consiste à protéger les marais situés en bordure de la baie de Fundy de la montée des eaux salées, à marée haute. Car cette zone asséchée à marée basse, appelée estran, est très fertile. Mais pour la cultiver, il faut la garder hors de portée de la mer en tout temps, et la dessaler. Pour ce faire, les Acadiens vont la drainer et ériger des digues qui empêchent la mer d’envahir l’estran à marée haute. Ils vont ensuite poser des aboiteaux à travers ces digues, c’est-à-dire des écluses munies d’un clapet actionné par la marée. Ce dernier se ferme sous la pression de la marée montante et empêche ainsi l’eau salée de pénétrer dans le marais asséché. Avec le retrait de la marée, le clapet s’ouvre pour laisser passer l’eau de pluie et l’eau douce qui viennent des terres environnantes jusque dans la mer.

C’est ainsi que les Acadiens vont développer et peupler cette région appelée le bassin des Mines, qui était et qui est encore la plus productive de la Nouvelle-Écosse sur le plan agricole.

Le cauchemar de la Déportation

À partir de 1713, l’Acadie est possession britannique. Les militaires anglais qui occupent ce territoire habité presque exclusivement de francophones tentent d’assujettir et de fidéliser les Acadiens à la Couronne britannique. Mais ceux-ci tiennent à rester neutres. Or, dans les années 1750, les Britanniques décident d’en finir avec toutes les colonies françaises en Amérique. Les Acadiens sont un obstacle, voire une menace, et les autorités adoptent une solution radicale pour se débarrasser d’eux : ils les déportent.

Après avoir désarmé les Acadiens de tout le bassin des Mines, les militaires rassemblent la population dans l’église de Grand-Pré où on leur lit l’Acte de déportation. Tout va très vite. Des navires de transport sont déjà ancrés au large. On embarque de force les hommes, les femmes et les enfants, parfois pêle-mêle, familles séparées. Quand les navires surchargés voguent vers les colonies américaines, le bétail et les terres des Acadiens sont redistribués aux Britanniques, qui s’enrichissent de cet événement dramatique. Des scènes semblables se produisent partout en Acadie. Des milliers de déportés vont périr de faim et de maladie durant ces voyages vers l’Europe et les colonies anglo-américaines. Il faudra des décennies aux survivants acadiens dépossédés pour se réorganiser.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.