Loading
Home // Québec // Community portraits // Tourism and heritage in the Îles de la Madeleine
back

Tourism and heritage in the Îles de la Madeleine

In the second half of the 18th century, Acadian fishermen settled permanently in the Îles de la Madeleine. This archipelago made up of long strips of fertile land bordered by white sand beaches and red cliffs is located right in the middle of the Gulf of St. Lawrence between the Maritime provinces, Quebec, and Newfoundland and Labrador. Prior to the 1940s, the Madelinots had only sporadic access to the rest of the country, and their relative isolation fostered the preservation of their unique culture, language and traditions. Today, this warm and colourful community welcomes visitors with open arms, happy to share their powerful connection with music, storytelling, visual art and cuisine. Although fishing is still the backbone of the islands’ economy, and seafood, the star of the local cuisine, the tourist industry and new local products such as craft beer and fine cheeses draw increasing numbers of visitors and contribute to the archipelago’s development.

 

To learn more…

Showcasing the islands’ heritage

Many of the tourist attractions in Îles de la Madeleine are heritage based. For example, the Café de la Grave in Havre-Aubert is located in an old general store built in the 1860s. Citizen participation saved it from being torn down because it is at the heart of the islands’ first settlement and the fishing industry on the La Grave heritage site. Since 1980, the café-restaurant, which is extremely popular among tourists, has been presenting a variety of performances and exhibitions showcasing local artists. Its menu includes items drawn from the islands’ culinary heritage. At Havre-Aubert, the Musée de la Mer’s permanent exhibition Vivre aux Îles —Vivre les Îles provides an overview of Madelinot culture: daily life, housing, fishing and boating, shipbuilding, celebrations, etc.

The Tour of Typical Dishes allows visitors to sample eight traditional Îles de la Madeleine recipes in eight different establishments across the archipelago. The Wild Gourmet Spree also relies on the participation of several restaurateurs, but it focuses more on the recent gastronomic evolution of the islands’ cuisine, including new local products that are also part of the islands’ heritage. For example, the Fromagerie du Pied-de-Vent uses milk from Canadian heritage cattle breeds to make their cheese. The microbrewery À l’abri de la tempête is set in an old fish processing plant and uses only local ingredients, including algae. The agri-food company Le Fumoir d’Antan has revived the typical Îles de la Madeleine practice of smoking herring, while Le Barbocheux distills traditional alcoholic beverages, including a strawberry and raspberry bagosse and a cranberry and dandelion bagosse. The name Le Barbocheux comes from the verb “barbocher,” to go from house to house enjoying a drink.

Storytelling: Past and present

Storytelling has always been popular in the local tradition as a way of whiling away the long winter evenings. But Madelinots now use storytelling as a way of educating tourists about the local history and enhancing their stay. Some stories are for children. Others are for adults, inspired by the lives of Madelinot fishermen, women and artisans. Thus, storytelling continues the tradition while keeping a constantly evolving oral heritage alive. The 20-year-old Festival international des contes en Îles, which takes place in Cap-aux-Meules at the end of each summer, brings together local and foreign storytellers from Switzerland, Haiti and Martinique for a week-long festival. The linguistic heritage of the Madelinots is also showcased by author Suzanne Richard, who hosts a discussion about the quirks of the local vocabulary.

Discovering the islands’ natural heritage

The Îles de la Madeleine are also known for their beautiful natural environment. A 13‑stage, 225-kilometre hiking trail called Entre vents et marées created in 2017 allows visitors to discover the archipelago on foot. Fans of the great outdoors can enjoy a different view of the beauty of the islands’ natural heritage, since the peaceful trail follows secondary roads, beaches and hills. Hikers are also invited to Entry Island, the only inhabited island that is not connected to the rest of the archipelago by road. It is home to the Entry Island Museum, which showcases the evolution of the Scottish community that settled there, as well as the undulating landscape that leads to the highest summit in the archipelago at 174 metres, aptly named Big Hill, which offers a unique panorama of the Îles de la Madeleine.

Historical references

The Mi’kmaq regularly visited the archipelago, which they called Menagoesenog, or “islands swept by the surf.” Basque, Breton and Norman fishermen also visited before Jacques Cartier arrived in 1534. Their seasonal installations were located in the southern sector of what is now Île du Havre Aubert. At the time of New France, fishermen and walrus hunters sometimes wintered on the islands. In 1762, entrepreneur Richard Gridley set up headquarters at Havre-Aubert and hired a group of Acadians. But the real beginnings of colonization were in 1792, when two priests from Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Jean-Baptiste Allain and François Lejamtel, refused to take the oath to the new Civil Constitution of the Clergy after the French Revolution. They and a few dozen Acadian families who had sought refuge in Saint Pierre and Miquelon after the Great Deportation settled in Îles de la Madeleine.

For almost two centuries, the La Grave site at Île du Havre Aubert was the main settlement. Fishermen stopped there to process, salt and dry their catch, and sell to passing merchants. In the mid-19th century, La Grave was covered with fish stages. Fishermen lived on the second floor of these wooden structures, whose ground floor was used to salt fish, repair nets and store equipment. General stores, saltworks, ironworks, fish counters and small warehouses stood side by side.

The arrival of Maritime Packers in 1930 and of National Sea Products in 1965 with their refrigerated warehouses made these traditional installations obsolete. However, fishing still drove the archipelago’s economy, in particular thanks to the lucrative lobster fishery and scallop and blue mussel farming. The islands have had permanent access to the mainland since 1940, and the tourism industry in Îles de la Madeleine has grown exponentially since the 1970s.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Au fil de l'eau // Tourisme et patrimoine aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine
retour

Tourisme et patrimoine aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine

Dans la seconde moitié du 18e siècle, des pêcheurs acadiens s’établissent en permanence aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Cet archipel constitué de longues bandes de terre verdoyante bordées de plages de sable blond et de falaises de terre rouge se situe au beau milieu du golfe Saint-Laurent, entre les provinces maritimes, le Québec et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Alors que les Madelinots sont reliés de façon régulière au reste du pays seulement depuis les années 1940, leur isolement relatif a favorisé la préservation de leur culture, de leur langue et de leurs traditions uniques. C’est aujourd’hui à bras ouverts que cette communauté chaleureuse et colorée accueille les visiteurs, heureuse de partager avec eux le lien puissant qu’elle entretient avec la musique, le conte, les arts plastiques et les arts culinaires. Si la pêche constitue toujours la base de l’économie – et les fruits de mer, le clou de la cuisine locale –, l’industrie touristique et de nouveaux produits du terroir comme la bière artisanale et les fromages fins attirent toujours plus de visiteurs et contribuent au développement de l’archipel.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Mettre ses racines en valeur

Une part importante des attractions touristiques des Îles-de-la-Madeleine repose sur le patrimoine. Le Café de la Grave, par exemple, à Havre-Aubert, se trouve dans un ancien magasin général construit dans les années 1860. Une mobilisation citoyenne l’a sauvé de la démolition, car il se trouve au milieu du berceau du peuplement des Îles et de l’industrie de la pêche, dans le site patrimonial de la Grave. Depuis 1980, ce café-restaurant très populaire auprès des touristes présente des spectacles et des expositions variées mettant en vedette des artistes locaux. Son menu comprend des mets reflétant le patrimoine alimentaire des Îles. À Havre-Aubert, l’exposition permanente Vivre aux Îles – Vivre les Îles du Musée de la Mer propose un tour d’horizon de la culture des Madelinots : vie quotidienne, habitation, pêche et navigation, construction navale, fêtes, etc.

La Tournée des plats typiques permet aux visiteurs de déguster huit recettes traditionnelles des Îles servies dans autant d’établissements éparpillés dans l’archipel. L’événement La Folle Virée gourmande repose également sur la participation de plusieurs restaurateurs, mais elle met l’accent sur la récente évolution gastronomique de la cuisine des Îles, dont les nouveaux produits du terroir font aussi la part belle au patrimoine. La fromagerie du Pied-de-Vent, par exemple, utilise le lait de vache de race patrimoniale canadienne. La microbrasserie À l’abri de la tempête occupe une ancienne usine de transformation de poisson et n’utilise que des ingrédients locaux, notamment des algues. Quant aux entreprises agroalimentaires Le Fumoir d’Antan et le Barbocheux, la première remet au goût du jour une pratique alimentaire typique des Îles, le fumage du hareng, et la seconde distille des boissons alcoolisées traditionnelles aux Îles, une bagosse de fraises et de framboises et une autre de canneberges et de pissenlits. Quant au nom Barbocheux, il provient du verbe barbocher, typique des Îles, qui signifie aller prendre un verre de maison en maison.

Conter et raconter d’hier à aujourd’hui

Le conte est présent depuis toujours dans les traditions locales pour agrémenter les longues soirées d’hiver. Mais les Madelinots l’utilisent aujourd’hui pour faire connaître l’histoire locale aux touristes et agrémenter leur séjour. Certains sont destinés aux enfants. D’autres s’adressent aux adultes, inspirés des récits de vie des pêcheurs, des femmes et des artisans des Îles. Le conte perpétue ainsi la tradition tout en gardant vivant un patrimoine oral qui se renouvelle. Le Festival international des contes en Îles, qui se tient depuis une vingtaine d’années à la fin de la saison estivale à Cap-aux-Meules, réunit pendant une semaine des conteurs locaux et étrangers – suisses, haïtiens ou martiniquais – dans une atmosphère de fête. Le patrimoine linguistique des Madelinots est aussi mis en valeur par l’auteure Suzanne Richard, qui anime une causerie portant sur les particularismes du vocabulaire local.

Découvrir le patrimoine naturel des Îles

Les Îles-de-la-Madeleine sont aussi reconnues pour leur environnement naturel enjôleur. Depuis 2017, un circuit de randonnée pédestre appelé Entre vents et marées permet de parcourir tout l’archipel en treize étapes totalisant 225 km. Les amateurs de grands espaces peuvent ainsi profiter du paysage insulaire sous un jour nouveau, car ce circuit les amène le long des routes secondaires, sur les plages et les buttes des Îles, pour y découvrir la quiétude et la splendeur de son patrimoine naturel. Les randonneurs sont aussi invités sur l’Île d’Entrée, la seule encore habitée qui n’est pas reliée au reste de l’archipel par une route. On y trouve le Musée historique de l’Île d’Entrée qui présente l’évolution de la communauté écossaise qui s’y est installée, ainsi qu’un paysage vallonneux qui culmine à 174 mètres d’altitude, le plus haut sommet de l’archipel – judicieusement nommé Big Hill – qui offre un panorama unique sur les Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

Repères historiques

Les Micmacs fréquentaient régulièrement cet archipel qu’ils nommaient Menagoesenog, « îles balayées par le ressac ». Les pêcheurs basques, bretons et normands le fréquentaient aussi avant le passage de Jacques Cartier en 1534. Leurs installations saisonnières étaient situées dans le secteur sud de l’actuelle Île du Havre Aubert. À l’époque de la Nouvelle-France, des pêcheurs et des chasseurs de morse passent parfois l’hiver aux Îles. En 1762, l’entrepreneur Richard Gridley établit un poste permanent à Havre-Aubert et engage un groupe d’Acadiens. Mais le véritable début de la colonisation se produit en 1792, quand deux prêtres des îles Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Jean-Baptiste Allain et François Lejamtel, refusent de prêter serment à la nouvelle Constitution civile du clergé, après la Révolution française. Ils regroupent quelques dizaines de familles acadiennes réfugiées à Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon après la Déportation et trouvent refuge aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

Pendant près de deux siècles, le site de la Grave, à l’île du Havre Aubert, demeure le principal centre de peuplement. Les pêcheurs y débarquent, transforment, salent et font sécher leurs poissons. Des marchands de passage achètent leurs prises. Au milieu du 19e siècle, les chafauds s’entassent sur la grave. Les pêcheurs habitent le premier étage de ces constructions en bois et le rez-de-chaussée sert à la salaison du poisson, à la réparation des filets et à l’entreposage des agrès. Des magasins généraux, des salines, des ferblanteries, des comptoirs de vente de poisson et de petits entrepôts se voisinent.

En 1930, l’arrivée de la Maritime Packers, puis de la National Sea Products en 1965, avec leurs entrepôts frigorifiques, rend désuètes ces installations traditionnelles. Les pêcheries n’en demeurent pas moins le moteur économique de l’archipel, notamment grâce à la lucrative pêche au homard et à l’aquaculture de pétoncle et de moule bleue. Reliées régulièrement au continent depuis les années 1940, l’industrie du tourisme aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine connaît un essor important depuis les années 1970. Le site patrimonial de la Grave est classé en 1983 par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec. Les Îles-de-la-Madeleine compte un autre immeuble patrimonial classé, l’église de Saint-Pierre-de-La-Vernière ainsi que 13 immeubles patrimoniaux cités par la municipalité en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine culturel.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.