Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // The Montreal Botanical Garden: Showcase and custodian of an extraordinary plant heritage
back

The Montreal Botanical Garden: Showcase and custodian of an extraordinary plant heritage

Montreal is home to one of the four largest botanical gardens in the world. A remarkably diverse array of plants are on display in its many outdoor themed gardens and greenhouses. Since 70% of these plants are grown outdoors and are therefore adapted to winter in Quebec, they represent the horticultural heritage of southern Quebec. The Botanical Garden’s large collection reflects the passion the Western world has had for horticulture since the 19th century, a movement that resulted in the introduction of a wide variety of ornamental, medicinal and economic plants from around the world to Quebec and the rest of Canada. The Montreal Botanical Garden also has a collection of ancient, rare and threatened plants for preservation and research purposes. In addition, it produces new hybrids, such as Montreal echinacea, Montreal’s floral emblem created in honour of the city’s 375th anniversary in 2017.

 

To learn more…

Knowledge transmission

H-1941-0003-c-300x207 -  - The Montreal Botanical Garden: Showcase and custodian of an extraordinary plant heritage
Teaching botany to École de l’Éveil students, 1941

In addition to maintaining its hundreds of awe-inspiring landscaped areas, flowers, colours, exotic plants, trees and shrubs that few visitors could manage to take in in a single day, the Botanical Garden’s highly specialized employees are keen on transmitting their knowledge and passion to as many people as they can.

A team of skilled facilitators wander the gardens and answer questions. In the large Chinese, Japanese and First Nations gardens and the arboretum (in the Tree Pavilion), employees educate the public about these broad topics and organize activities to enhance the horticultural experience. In keeping with the vision of the Botanical Garden’s main founder, Brother Marie Victorin, who wanted to make science accessible to all people, especially children, several programs are offered for school-age children. These complementary activities focus on pumpkins (an Aboriginal heritage plant), trees and the urban ecosystem, and include horticultural day camps or the Youth Gardens, both of which allow young people between the ages of 8 and 15 to grow their own garden under the supervision of counsellors.

H-1938-0003-300x236 -  - The Montreal Botanical Garden: Showcase and custodian of an extraordinary plant heritage
Montreal Botanical Garden being built, 1938

The Botanical Garden’s library, its website and the horticultural officers at the information desk are other resources to share knowledge. The École des métiers de l’horticulture de Montréal also sends trainees to the Montreal Botanical Garden, which was founded in 1932, to allow them to learn from the employees who look after the 22,000 taxa (different plants). A Biodiversity Centre, which has a permanent exhibit, also transmits knowledge.

Preserving and showcasing plant heritage

The Montreal Botanical Garden is part of a network of international horticultural institutions that share the same passion for preserving and showcasing the world’s plant heritage. Most of the Botanical Garden’s plants are now from outside Canada, since the organization is committed to preserving world biodiversity for future generations. The Botanical Garden is increasingly enhancing its collections with plants taken from their natural habitat, in accordance with strict rules aimed at protecting the world’s plants, which are threatened by development.

JBM001633-300x198 -  - The Montreal Botanical Garden: Showcase and custodian of an extraordinary plant heritage
Spring floral exhibition,1956

In addition to enhancing the beauty and originality of the gardens and greenhouses where visitors can admire thousands of plants from here and around the world, the collections maintained by some 50 specialized horticulturalists and several dozen gardeners guarantee the preservation of endangered and threatened species. Since the acquisition of the first plants in the 1930s, the Botanical Garden’s challenge has been to ensure the sustainability of its growing collections and to document them in order to enhance their value: Where do they come from? How are they to be cared for and reproduced? How should they be exhibited?

At the Montreal Botanical Garden, Quebec’s Aboriginal heritage can be viewed exclusively in the First Nations Garden and the Quebec Corner. Brother Marie Victorin, founder of the Botanical Garden and indefatigable herbalist, is responsible for the first major inventory of Quebec’s flora, La flore laurentienne, published for the first time in 1935. His herbarium has been preserved and can be consulted at the Institut de recherche en biologie végétale on site.

The power of plants

JBM002160-189x300 -  - The Montreal Botanical Garden: Showcase and custodian of an extraordinary plant heritage
Poster – Spring exhibition: Fleurs du vieux Québec (Flowers of Old Quebec), 1967

In addition to delighting and educating the public and preserving the plant heritage, the Montreal Botanical Garden also does research. Staff at the Institut de recherche en biologie végétale, which partners with the Montreal Botanical Garden and the Université de Montréal, focuses mainly on phytotechnology, an area in which it has special expertise. The Botanical Garden has been an expert in horticultural beauty for many years. Now it is also an expert in the utilitarian value of plants and their many psychological and environmental benefits. To further this research and raise public awareness of these new avenues of sustainable development, the Botanical Garden is gradually creating a Pathway to Phytotechnologies that will eventually include seven elements, including filtering marshes that will eliminate pollutants in the water, plants that will be used to control shoreline erosion, and a living plant wall that will help block out traffic noise. This focus will attract a new clientele, on top of the 850,000 people who visit the Montreal Botanical Garden each year.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Exploration urbaine // Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, vitrine et gardien d’un extraordinaire patrimoine végétal
retour

Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, vitrine et gardien d’un extraordinaire patrimoine végétal

Montréal abrite l’un des quatre plus grands jardins botaniques au monde. Le public peut y admirer en toute saison une fascinante variété de végétaux dans ses nombreux jardins extérieurs thématiques et ses serres d’exposition. Comme 70 % de ces plantes sont cultivées à l’extérieur et sont donc bien adaptées aux hivers québécois, elles représentent le patrimoine horticole actuellement disponible dans le sud du Québec. Les abondantes collections du Jardin botanique de Montréal illustrent le formidable engouement qu’a connu l’Occident pour l’horticulture depuis le 19e siècle, un mouvement qui a permis l’implantation d’une grande diversité de plantes ornementales, médicinales et économiques au Québec et au Canada, notamment, en provenance du monde entier. Le Jardin botanique de Montréal est aussi dépositaire de collections de plantes anciennes, rares ou menacées destinées à la recherche et à la conservation. De plus, le Jardin crée de nouveaux hybrides, comme l’échinacée de Montréal développée comme emblème floral de Montréal à l’occasion du 375e anniversaire de fondation de la ville, qui a eu lieu en 2017.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

La transmission des connaissances

H-1941-0003-c-300x207 -  - Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, vitrine et gardien d’un extraordinaire patrimoine végétal
Herborisation des élèves de l’École de l’Éveil, 1941

Au-delà de l’émerveillement que suscitent les centaines d’aménagements paysagers, de fleurs, de couleurs, de plantes exotiques, d’arbres et d’arbustes de ce jardin botanique que peu de visiteurs peuvent découvrir en entier en une seule journée, le Jardin cherche à transmettre au plus grand nombre les connaissances et la passion de son personnel hautement spécialisé.

Une équipe d’animateurs compétents circule en permanence à travers les jardins pour répondre aux questions. Dans les grands jardins thématiques sur la Chine, le Japon, les Premières Nations et l’arboretum (à la Maison de l’arbre), des agents culturels renseignent le public sur ces vastes sujets et organisent des activités d’animation qui enrichissent l’expérience horticole. En accord avec la vision du principal fondateur du Jardin, le frère Marie Victorin, qui désirait rendre la science accessible à tous dès l’enfance, de nombreux programmes d’animation destinés aux jeunes d’âge scolaire sont offerts. Ces activités complémentaires traitent de la citrouille – un héritage amérindien –, des arbres ou de l’écosystème urbain, et comprennent des camps de jour à thématique horticole ou le Jardin-jeune qui donne la chance aux jeunes de 8 à 15 ans de cultiver leur propre potager sous la supervision d’animateurs-conseils.

H-1938-0003-300x236 -  - Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, vitrine et gardien d’un extraordinaire patrimoine végétal
Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, construction en 1938

La bibliothèque du Jardin, le site Web et les préposés aux renseignements horticoles du comptoir d’information sont d’autres ressources destinées à la diffusion des connaissances. L’École des métiers de l’horticulture de Montréal envoie aussi des stagiaires au Jardin afin qu’ils approfondissent leurs connaissances auprès des employés qui veillent sur les quelque 22 000 taxons (plantes différentes) du Jardin botanique de Montréal, qui a vu le jour en 1932. Un Centre sur la biodiversité, avec exposition permanente, contribue également à la transmission des connaissances.

Conserver et mettre en valeur le patrimoine végétal

Le Jardin botanique de Montréal fait aujourd’hui partie d’un réseau d’institutions horticoles d’envergure mondiale qui partagent la même vision de préservation et de mise en valeur du patrimoine végétal planétaire. Le Jardin possède maintenant une majorité de plantes qui ne sont pas originaires du Canada et participe ainsi à la tâche essentielle de préserver la biodiversité mondiale pour les générations futures. De plus en plus, le Jardin enrichit ses collections à l’aide de plantes prélevées dans leur milieu naturel, dans le respect des règles sévères qui visent à protéger les végétaux du monde, menacés par le développement.

JBM001633-300x198 -  - Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, vitrine et gardien d’un extraordinaire patrimoine végétal
Exposition florale printanière, 1956

En plus d’accroître la beauté et l’originalité des jardins et des serres accessibles au public, où les visiteurs peuvent admirer des milliers de plantes d’ici et d’ailleurs, les collections que supervisent une cinquantaine d’horticulteurs spécialisés, avec l’aide de plusieurs dizaines de jardiniers, garantissent la conservation d’espèces menacées ou en voie d’extinction. Depuis l’acquisition des premières plantes dans les années 1930, le défi du Jardin est d’assurer la pérennité de ses collections de plus en plus abondantes et de les documenter pour en accroître la valeur : quels sont leurs milieux d’origine et leur provenance, de quelle façon faut-il les soigner et les multiplier, comment a-t-on aménagé les espaces où elles sont exposées ?

Au Jardin botanique de Montréal, le patrimoine horticole indigène du Québec se retrouve en exclusivité dans le Jardin des Premières Nations et dans le Coin du Québec. Le frère Marie Victorin, fondateur du Jardin et herboriste infatigable, est responsable du premier grand inventaire de la flore du Québec, La flore laurentienne, publié pour la première fois en 1935. Son herbier est conservé et peut être consulté à l’Institut de recherche en biologie végétale qui se trouve sur le site du Jardin.

Le pouvoir des plantes

JBM002160-189x300 -  - Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, vitrine et gardien d’un extraordinaire patrimoine végétal
Affiche – Exposition thématique printanière : Fleurs du vieux Québec, 1967

Le Jardin botanique de Montréal, en plus de séduire et d’instruire le public et de préserver le patrimoine végétal, a pour mission d’effectuer des recherches. Aujourd’hui, le personnel de l’Institut de recherche en biologie végétale, un organisme conjoint du Jardin et de l’Université de Montréal, se penche principalement sur les phytotechnologies, un domaine dans lequel il excelle. À l’esthétique horticole, qui est une force du Jardin botanique depuis de nombreuses années, s’ajoutent désormais la valeur utilitaire des plantes et leurs nombreux bienfaits psychologiques et environnementaux. Pour faire progresser ces recherches et sensibiliser le public à ces nouvelles avenues de développement durable, le Jardin met progressivement en place un parcours phytotechnologique qui comprendra à terme sept éléments, notamment un marais filtrant qui élimine les polluants présents dans l’eau, un aménagement de plantes visant à contrôler l’érosion des berges et un mur végétal pour atténuer les bruits de la circulation automobile. Cet axe attirera une nouvelle clientèle qui s’additionnera aux quelque 850 000 personnes qui visitent le Jardin botanique de Montréal chaque année.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.