Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Community portraits // The prosperous Acadian community of Greater Moncton
back

The prosperous Acadian community of Greater Moncton

For a generation now, Acadians have been participating in the development of the dynamic urban agglomeration of Moncton, where the steadily growing Francophone community is becoming a driving force. Its business people are creating new businesses and opening shops. Its artists are presenting original creations. Its community organizations are setting up and facilitating events that bring people together, like the Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie, the Dieppe Book Fair, the World Wine and Food Expo or the Frye Festival, the only bilingual literary festival in Canada. Local residents take part in these activities, which are transforming greater Moncton into a festive, creative and prosperous city: the new capital of Acadia and the centrepiece of a new Acadian identity.

 

To learn more…

An important cultural cluster

Many Acadians have been living in the Moncton area for a long time. They represent approximately a third of the population, distributed in order of size in the towns of Dieppe, Moncton and Riverview. However, their emancipation, which now makes it possible to describe Acadians as leaders both in business and in culture, is fairly recent. This strong growth in the capacity of Acadians to take action can be attributed to the creation of the University of Moncton in 1963. This French-language institution of higher education has had a decisive impact in training many professionals in a host of fields. Other establishments subsequently opened in downtown Moncton, close to one another: the Aberdeen Cultural Centre, the L’Escaouette Theatre, and a large multipurpose performance hall known as the Capitol Theatre. With the University of Moncton, they form a synergistic cultural cluster that fosters collaborations among creators, entrepreneurs and the general public, and that is bringing about the emergence of a lively, dynamic and enriching living environment.

A Francophone majority in Dieppe

The movement of rural populations to urban environments is a virtually universal contemporary phenomenon. Traditionally, however, the strongly Acadian regions of New Brunswick were primarily located in the countryside or in small communities. Since the economy of the province’s northern regions, and in particular the Acadian Peninsula, has been experiencing difficulties, many workers have been moving to Canada’s large urban centres: Montreal, Toronto or Fort McMurray, in Alberta. However, a number of them are also heading for Moncton, which offers good employment prospects and is also located in the heart of Acadia. More specifically, many new Acadian arrivals choose to settle in Dieppe, where they now make up three quarters of the population. The fact that they are now in the majority in Dieppe makes Greater Moncton more attractive for these Acadians and consolidates the economic and cultural development of the whole agglomeration, where the French fact is a growing phenomenon.

A welcoming living environment

In addition to Moncton’s traditional downtown, an increasingly bustling area, a new modern urban hub where Francophones are in the majority is emerging in Dieppe, where we find the Arts and Culture Centre, a bookstore, an aquatic centre, a farmer’s market, a hotel, cafés, office buildings and a public space designed to accommodate entertainment activities. The presence of boldly designed contemporary buildings, nearby shops, bike paths and pedestrian pathways are providing Dieppe residents with a quality of life that is attracting more and more Acadians. According to Canada Census data, the municipality has been growing at a rapid rate of about 20% every five years for the last 20 years or so, making it the city that has the highest demographic growth rate east of Toronto. It is obvious that a new urban, prosperous and dynamic Acadian identity is developing in Dieppe and Moncton.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Portraits de communautés // La prospère communauté acadienne du grand Moncton
retour

La prospère communauté acadienne du grand Moncton

Depuis une génération, les Acadiens participent au développement de l’agglomération urbaine dynamique de Moncton, où la communauté francophone de plus en plus nombreuse joue un rôle moteur. Ses gens d’affaires créent des entreprises et ouvrent des commerces. Ses artistes présentent des créations originales. Ses organismes communautaires mettent sur pied et animent des événements rassembleurs comme le Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie, le Salon du livre de Dieppe, le Festival international du vin ou le Festival Frye, seul festival littéraire bilingue au Canada. La population participe à ces activités qui transforment le grand Moncton en une micrométropole festive, créative et prospère : nouvelle capitale de l’Acadie et cœur d’une nouvelle identité acadienne.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Une grappe culturelle déterminante

Depuis longtemps, les Acadiens sont nombreux dans la région de Moncton. Ils représentent environ le tiers de la population, répartie en ordre d’importance dans les villes de Dieppe, de Moncton et de Riverview. Leur émancipation, qui permet maintenant de qualifier les Acadiens de meneurs, tant en affaires que sur le plan culturel, est cependant assez récente. Cette forte croissance de la capacité d’action des Acadiens repose sur la création de l’Université de Moncton en 1963. Cette institution française d’enseignement supérieur a eu un impact déterminant en formant nombre de professionnels dans bien des domaines. D’autres établissements ont ensuite ouvert leurs portes à proximité les uns des autres, au centre-ville : le centre culturel Aberdeen, le théâtre L’Escaouette et la grande salle de spectacle polyvalente appelée le théâtre Capitol. Avec l’Université de Moncton, ils forment une grappe culturelle synergique qui favorise les collaborations entre les créateurs, les entrepreneurs et la population et provoque l’émergence d’un milieu de vie animé, dynamique et enrichissant.

Une majorité francophone à Dieppe

Le déplacement des populations rurales vers les milieux urbains est un phénomène contemporain quasi universel. Or, traditionnellement, les régions fortement acadiennes du Nouveau-Brunswick étaient surtout situées à la campagne ou dans de petites localités. Comme l’économie des régions du nord de la province, notamment de la Péninsule acadienne, connaît des difficultés, plusieurs travailleurs se déplacent vers les grands centres urbains du pays : Montréal, Toronto, ou encore Fort McMurray, en Alberta. Mais plusieurs se dirigent aussi vers Moncton, qui présente de bonnes perspectives d’emploi et qui est de surcroît située au cœur de l’Acadie. Plus précisément, beaucoup de nouveaux arrivants acadiens choisissent de s’établir à Dieppe, où ils forment maintenant plus des trois quarts de la population. Le fait qu’ils y soient en majorité renforce l’attrait du grand Moncton pour ces Acadiens et consolide le développement économique et culturel de toute l’agglomération, où le fait français occupe une place croissante.

Un milieu de vie accueillant

En plus du centre-ville traditionnel de Moncton, qui s’anime de plus en plus, un nouveau pôle urbain moderne et majoritairement francophone apparaît donc à Dieppe, comprenant le Centre des arts et de la culture, une librairie, un centre aquatique, un marché fermier, un hôtel, des cafés, des édifices à bureaux et un terrain public conçu pour accueillir des activités d’animation. La présence de bâtiments contemporains à l’architecture audacieuse, de commerces de proximité, de pistes cyclables et de sentiers pédestres pour garder la forme, tous ces développements procurent aux habitants de Dieppe une qualité de vie qui attire toujours plus d’Acadiens. Selon les données du recensement du Canada, la municipalité croît au rythme élevé d’environ 20 % à chaque période de cinq ans depuis une vingtaine d’années, ce qui en fait la ville à plus forte croissance démographique à l’est de Toronto. Il est évident qu’une nouvelle identité acadienne urbaine, prospère et dynamique se développe à Dieppe et à Moncton.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.