Loading
Home // Saskatchewan // Arts and Culture // Saskatoon’s Troupe du Jour: more than theatre in French
back

Saskatoon’s Troupe du Jour: more than theatre in French

Created in 1985, professional theatre company La Troupe du Jour has taken on the mission of developing Fransaskois theatre by supporting the creation, production and dissemination of French-language works and plays. The move to its new Centre de production 914 in 2011 marked a turning point. Now the owner of a performance hall, the troupe can more easily develop an audience and reach its objectives. In addition to presenting four to six plays a year, home-grown productions and plays of other Francophone Canadian theatre companies, this company is training the new generation, creating bridges with the Anglophone community and collaborating with an Indigenous troupe. La Troupe du Jour is a cultural crossroads.

 

To learn more…

A production house, a school, a meeting place

Every year, La Troupe du Jour produces at least one original play by a French author from Saskatchewan or the Western provinces. Over the years, it has thus given regional talent an opportunity to express itself and develop. Indeed, Fransaskois authors Raoul Granger and Gilles Poulin-Denis, whose plays have been staged by La Troupe du Jour, have earned provincial and national recognition. Director Denis Rouleau has also received two prestigious awards emphasizing the excellence of his career.

lm-2011-300x150 -  - Saskatoon’s Troupe du Jour: more than theatre in French
« La maculée », 2011

Of course, the troupe has shared these successes with its expanding audience, but also with children aged 7 to 15, to whom it offers theatre classes and the opportunity to step onto the stage for the first time after they complete their training. La Troupe du Jour also organizes workshops for emerging playwrights, holds play readings and presents festivals. It accommodates and supports the Cercle des écrivains. It also publishes texts by Fransaskois playwrights in order to put together a repertoire typical of Saskatchewan Francophones, and collaborates with community theatre troupes to spread theatre practice and the use of the French language.

Since 2011, Centre de production 914, built and operated in keeping with sustainable development principles in the heart of Saskatoon, has been facilitating all these initiatives. It also rents out its multipurpose premises to other organizations.

Public relations

The Fransaskois theatre enables local Francophone residents to recognize themselves in the themes addressed on stage by La Troupe du Jour, offering spectators a reflection of their own reality. This partnership between the troupe and its audience contributes to the vitality of the Fransaskois community, in particular through the tremendously successful historical plays it has produced. The troupe’s tours throughout Saskatchewan also drive this energy.

raccourcie-2015-300x200 -  - Saskatoon’s Troupe du Jour: more than theatre in French
« La raccourcie », 2015

Since the Fransaskois community is not very large, La Troupe du Jour makes efforts to reach Anglophone friends and spouses, not to mention Francophiles who want to improve their knowledge of French culture. To accomplish this, the company has created original approaches that foster communication: meaningful props and decor, lighting effects, body doubles, stunning scene recaps, exaggerated use of body language and subtitling in English of part of the play.

La Troupe du Jour is a constructive element in the cultural diversity of Saskatchewan. It rents out its premises and is in contact with artist collectives, community groups and other theatre companies, such as Tant par tant, which specializes in the production of plays translated into French, and Gordon Tootoosis Nikaniwin Theatre, an Indigenous troupe.

The origins of La Troupe du Jour

In 1985, three members of amateur company Unithéâtre of the University of Saskatoon decided to create a professional troupe reflecting Fransaskois reality. The first impetus was given. Four years later, general manager and artistic director Denis Rouleau arrived, bringing the project to maturity. La Troupe du Jour nevertheless had to persevere and innovate to ensure its future. The troupe had to move ten times over the years, which threatened its financial health. Fortunately, in 2007, a major fundraising campaign was launched, enabling the Centre de production 914 to be built. This finally gave the troupe some stability. Today, La Troupe du Jour is the principal professional Francophone theatrical organization in Saskatchewan. It has more than 80 shows—700 performances—to its credit, including some 40 original productions. In 2004, it was inducted into the Margaret Woodward Hall of Fame by Theatre Saskatchewan for its contribution to the development and vitality of theatre in Saskatchewan.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Saskatchewan // Arts et culture // La Troupe du Jour de Saskatoon : plus que du théâtre en français
retour

La Troupe du Jour de Saskatoon : plus que du théâtre en français

Créée en 1985, la troupe de théâtre professionnelle La Troupe du Jour s’est donné comme mission de développer le théâtre fransaskois en soutenant la création, la formation, la production et la diffusion des œuvres et de la pratique théâtrales en français. L’emménagement dans son nouveau Centre de production 914 en 2011 marque un tournant. Désormais propriétaire d’une infrastructure performante, la troupe peut plus facilement fidéliser sa clientèle et atteindre ses objectifs. En plus de présenter quatre à six pièces par année, des productions maison et des pièces d’autres compagnies de théâtre francophones canadiennes, elle forme la relève, crée des ponts avec la communauté anglophone et collabore avec une troupe autochtone. La Troupe du Jour est un carrefour culturel.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Une maison de production, une école, un lieu de rencontre

Chaque année, La Troupe du Jour monte au moins une pièce originale d’un auteur francophone de la Saskatchewan ou des provinces de l’Ouest. Au fil des années, elle a ainsi permis aux talents régionaux de s’exprimer et de se développer. En témoignent les marques de reconnaissance provinciale et nationale obtenues par les auteurs fransaskois Raoul Granger et Gilles Poulin-Denis, dont les pièces ont été créées par La Troupe du Jour. Le directeur Denis Rouleau a aussi reçu deux prix prestigieux soulignant l’excellence de sa carrière.

lm-2011-300x150 -  - La Troupe du Jour de Saskatoon : plus que du théâtre en français
« La maculée », 2011

Ces succès, la troupe les partage bien sûr avec son public, de plus en plus nombreux, mais aussi avec les jeunes de 7 à 15 ans à qui elle offre des cours de théâtre et l’occasion de monter pour la première fois sur les planches au terme de leur formation. Elle organise des ateliers pour les auteurs en début de carrière, des lectures de textes dramatiques et des festivals. Elle héberge et soutient le Cercle des écrivains. Elle publie également les textes des auteurs dramatiques fransaskois, afin de constituer un répertoire typique des francophones de la Saskatchewan, et collabore avec les troupes de théâtre communautaire pour répandre la pratique du théâtre et l’usage de la langue française.

Depuis 2011, le Centre de production 914, construit et exploité selon les principes du développement durable au cœur de la ville de Saskatoon, facilite la réalisation de toutes ces initiatives. Ses locaux polyvalents sont aussi offerts en location à d’autres organismes.

Les relations avec le public

Opter pour un théâtre de création fransaskois permet au public francophone local de se reconnaître dans les thèmes présentés sur scène par La Troupe du Jour, qui propose aux spectateurs un reflet de leur réalité. Cette complicité entre la troupe et son public, en particulier à travers les pièces à caractère historique qu’elle a montées et qui ont connu un franc succès, contribue à la vitalité de la communauté fransaskoise. Les tournées que la troupe effectue à travers la Saskatchewan nourrissent également cette vitalité.

raccourcie-2015-300x200 -  - La Troupe du Jour de Saskatoon : plus que du théâtre en français
« La raccourcie », 2015

La communauté fransaskoise étant peu nombreuse, La Troupe du Jour fait des efforts pour rejoindre les amis et les conjoints anglophones, de même que les francophiles qui désirent approfondir leur connaissance de la culture française. Elle a créé pour ce faire des approches originales qui favorisent la communication : objets et décors signifiants, effets d’éclairage, dédoublement de comédiens et reprises étonnantes de scènes, usage accru du langage corporel et surtitrage en anglais d’une partie du texte.

La Troupe du Jour s’inscrit de façon constructive dans la diversité culturelle de la Saskatchewan en louant ses locaux et en dialoguant avec des collectifs d’artistes, des groupes communautaires et d’autres compagnies de théâtre, comme Tant par tant, qui se spécialise dans la production de pièces traduites en français, et la troupe autochtone Gordon Tootoosis Nikaniwin Theatre.

Les origines de La Troupe du Jour

En 1985, trois membres de la compagnie amateur Unithéâtre de l’Université de Saskatoon décident de fonder une troupe professionnelle reflétant la réalité fransaskoise. L’élan est donné. Quatre ans plus tard, l’entrée en scène du directeur général et artistique Denis Rouleau permet au projet d’atteindre sa maturité. La Troupe du Jour doit néanmoins faire preuve de persévérance et d’ingéniosité pour se développer. La dizaine de déménagements qu’elle doit effectuer au fil des années mettent en péril sa santé financière, jusqu’à la grande collecte de fonds lancée en 2007, qui permet la construction du Centre de production 914 et la stabilisation de la troupe. Aujourd’hui, La Troupe du Jour est la principale organisation de théâtre francophone professionnelle en Saskatchewan. Elle compte plus de 80 spectacles – 700 représentations – à son actif, dont une quarantaine de productions originales. En 2004, elle est intronisée au Temple de la renommée Margaret Woodward par l’organisation Theatre Saskatchewan, pour sa contribution au développement et à la vitalité du théâtre en Saskatchewan.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.