Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Cultural Heritage // On August 15, Let’s Celebrate National Acadian Day!
back

On August 15, Let’s Celebrate National Acadian Day!

In 1881, the Acadians who met at Memramcook for their first National Convention chose August 15 as the date for their national holiday. Since then, Acadians get together on the day of the Assumption to commemorate their history and celebrate their culture. For some 40 years, this holiday has taken on a new meaning owing to a very unique event, the Tintamarre. In 1979, this noisy and colourful event became a central element of the celebration on the occasion of the 375th anniversary of the founding of Acadia, by emphasizing its festive side. Acadians use this event to express, loud and clear, their vitality, pride and joie de vivre, as they have been successful, against all odds, in preserving their culture. Since then, on August 15, Tintamarres, performances and joyous gatherings of all kinds take place just about everywhere where Acadians are living.

 

For more information…

Noisy rejoicing

3856676257_4c7bc2e7c0_o-300x225 -  - On August 15, Let’s Celebrate National Acadian Day!
Tintamarre, Caraquet (2009)

The largest Acadian Tintamarre always takes place in Caraquet where this young tradition has grown significantly. On August 15, the last day of the Acadian Festival, tens of thousands of individuals invade the city to participate in this unique event. Exuberance carries the day: costumes and disguises in the colours of Acadia, Acadian flags, pots, plans, penny whistles, trumpets and other noise-making devices. A competition rewards individuals, couples, or families for the most original costumes and the most inventive noise-making devices so as to motivate the largest number of people to be creative and participate in the event. Workshops are even given during the Festival to help people prepare for it.

At the stroke of 6:00 pm when church bells are ringing, a frenzied parade starts to march through Caraquet. In the evening, a major musical performance (one that is harmonious) closes the Festival and National Holiday celebrations. Elsewhere in Acadia, on August 15, the celebrations include a mass, a family picnic, a parade of decorated trawlers, performances of all kinds, and more and more Tintamarres. The cities of Moncton and Dieppe organize their own Tintamarre, as do Bouctouche and Cheticamp, Shippagan and Petit-Rocher, Gatineau and Quebec City, Shediac and Kedwick, Bonaventure, Port-au-Port, Pointe-de-l’Église, and many other towns right up to Maine in the United States. Wherever Acadians live, festive gatherings spread the good cheer. National Acadian Day has become an explosion of joy to which everyone is invited.

Affirming one’s identity, defining one’s path

The option of celebrating the Acadian people on August 15 gave rise to some lively debates during the 1881 National Convention. Several delegates had just taken part in the second major National Convention of French-Canadians, which had been held the previous year in Quebec City, during which was borne the idea of uniting Acadians, based on the model of those French-Canadians who were trying to join forces in order to enhance their development. To choose a patron saint who would help Acadians tighten the fraternal bonds that unite, such as origin, race, language and religion, some delegates wanted to join the French-Canadians and opt for Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day. Others feared that if they did so, they would lose their Acadian identity. They emphasized the differences that set them apart from this other French-Canadian Catholic branch, the French-Canadians who were originally concentrated in the St-Lawrence Valley. Father Marcel-François Richard proved to be the most convincing of the delegates when he presented the fact that Acadians are a separate people, with a different history and a destiny of their own. Owing to his eloquence, everyone embraced his proposal of choosing Our Lady of the Assumption (that is, the Virgin Mary) as the patron saint of Acadians, and the feast of the Assumption, August 15, as the day of their national holiday. This option was approved by the Episcopate of the Maritime Provinces on September 16, 1881.

Origins of the Tintamarre

The Tintamarre is a much more recent tradition. The first event of this type took place in Moncton in 1955 to commemorate the Bicentennial of the Expulsion of Acadians. At that time, Archbishop Norbert Robichaud summoned all Acadian families to recite the bicentennial prayer at the sound of the city’s church bells, and then to make a “joyous Tintamarre” with whatever they had on hand, such as whistles, car horns, bicycle bells, noise-making objects, toys, etc. The idea was only revived in 1979 by the Société des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick for the purpose of celebrating the 375th anniversary of the founding of Acadia. It wanted to encourage the Acadian people to “reaffirm their identity loud and clear.” The event was so successful that it became an annual event in a number of Acadian communities. The Tintamarre seems to have been inspired by an ancient, almost forgotten tradition, the Charivari, which young men practiced to protest various events, such as the marriage of a young woman to an old man. However, with regard to the Tintamarre, the initial meaning of Charivari was totally transformed into a joyous and unifying event. In this sense, the Tintamarre is part a cultural, intangible heritage that is uniquely Acadian.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Festivals et événements // Le 15 août, célébrez la fête nationale de l’Acadie!
retour

Le 15 août, célébrez la fête nationale de l’Acadie!

En 1881, les Acadiens réunis à Memramcook pour leur première Convention nationale ont choisi le 15 août comme date de leur fête nationale. Depuis lors, les Acadiens se rassemblent en ce jour de l’Assomption pour commémorer leur histoire et célébrer leur culture. Depuis une quarantaine d’années, cette fête a pris une signification nouvelle à la faveur d’un événement bien particulier, le tintamarre. Cette manifestation bruyante et colorée s’est imposée comme élément central de la fête à partir de 1979, à l’occasion du 375e anniversaire de la fondation de l’Acadie, en accentuant son côté festif. Les Acadiens profitent de cet événement pour exprimer haut et fort leur vitalité, leur fierté et leur joie de vivre, eux qui ont réussi contre vents et marées à perpétuer leur culture. Désormais, le 15 août, des tintamarres, des spectacles et des rassemblements joyeux de toutes sortes se déroulent un peu partout où vivent les Acadiens.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

De bruyantes réjouissances

3856676257_4c7bc2e7c0_o-300x225 -  - Le 15 août, célébrez la fête nationale de l’Acadie!
Le Tintamarre à Caraquet en 2009

Le plus grand tintamarre acadien se déroule toujours à Caraquet où cette jeune tradition a pris beaucoup d’ampleur. Le dernier jour du Festival acadien, le 15 août, des dizaines de milliers de personnes envahissent la ville pour participer à cet événement singulier. Costumes et déguisements aux couleurs de l’Acadie, drapeaux acadiens, chaudrons, casseroles, flûtiaux, trompettes et autres engins à faire du bruit : l’exubérance est de mise. Un concours récompense les costumes les plus originaux, en solo, en couple, en famille, et les plus ingénieuses patentes à bruit pour stimuler la créativité et la participation du plus grand nombre. Des ateliers sont même offerts durant le festival pour aider les gens à s’y préparer.

Sur le coup de 18h00, au son des cloches de l’église, le défilé délirant se met en branle à travers Caraquet. En soirée, un grand spectacle musical – harmonieux celui-là – clôture les célébrations du festival et de la fête nationale. Ailleurs en Acadie, le 15 août, les célébrations comprennent une messe, un pique-nique familial, un défilé de chalutiers décorés, des spectacles en tous genres, et de plus en plus de tintamarres. Les villes de Moncton et Dieppe organisent le leur, tout comme Bouctouche et Chéticamp, Shippagan et Petit-Rocher, Gatineau et Québec, Shédiac et Kedwick, Bonaventure, Port-au-Port, Pointe-de-l’Église et bien d’autres villes jusque dans le Maine aux États-Unis. Partout où vivent des Acadiens, des rassemblements festifs sèment la bonne humeur. La fête nationale des Acadiens est devenue une explosion de joie à laquelle tous sont conviés.

Affirmer son identité, tracer sa voie

Le choix de célébrer le peuple acadien le 15 août a donné lieu à de vifs débats pendant la Convention nationale de 1881. Plusieurs délégués venaient de participer à la deuxième grande Convention nationale des Canadiens français qui s’était déroulée l’année précédente à Québec, lors de laquelle avait germé l’idée de réunir les Acadiens, à l’exemple des Canadiens français qui cherchaient à unir leurs forces pour favoriser leur développement. Afin de choisir un saint patron qui aiderait les Acadiens à resserrer les liens fraternels d’origine, de race, de langue et de religion qui les unissent, certains délégués voulaient se joindre aux Canadiens français et opter pour la Saint-Jean-Baptiste. D’autres craignaient de perdre ainsi leur identité acadienne. Ils soulignaient les différences qui les distinguaient de cette autre branche catholique francophone canadienne, les Canadiens français, concentrés à l’origine dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent. L’abbé Marcel-François Richard s’est montré le plus convaincant des délégués en évoquant le fait que les Acadiens formaient un peuple distinct, ayant une histoire à part et une destinée propre. Son éloquence a rallié tout le monde à sa proposition de choisir Notre-Dame-de-l’Assomption – c’est-à-dire la Vierge Marie – comme patronne des Acadiens, et le jour de la fête de l’Assomption, le 15 août, comme jour de la fête nationale. Ce choix a reçu l’approbation de l’épiscopat des provinces maritimes le 16 septembre 1881.

Les origines du tintamarre

Le tintamarre est une tradition beaucoup plus récente. Le premier événement du genre s’est produit à Moncton en 1955 pour marquer le bicentenaire de la Déportation des Acadiens. L’archevêque Norbert Robichaud convie alors toutes les familles acadiennes à réciter la prière du bicentenaire au son des cloches de la ville, puis à faire un « joyeux tintamarre » avec ce qu’ils ont sous la main, sifflets, klaxons d’automobile, clochettes de bicyclette, criards, jouets, etc. L’idée n’est reprise qu’en 1979 par la Société des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick, dans le but de souligner le 375e anniversaire de la fondation de l’Acadie. Elle souhaite encourager la population acadienne à « réaffirmer son identité haut et fort ». L’événement remporte un tel succès qu’il devient annuel dans plusieurs localités acadiennes. Cette manifestation semble inspirée d’une ancienne tradition presque disparue, le charivari, que de jeunes hommes pratiquaient pour protester contre divers événements, comme le mariage d’une jeune femme avec un vieil homme. Mais dans le tintamarre, la signification initiale du charivari a été complètement renversée pour en faire un événement joyeux et rassembleur. Sous cette forme, le tintamarre fait partie du patrimoine culturel immatériel proprement acadien.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.