Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // The Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac: A heritage gem on a barachois
back

The Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac: A heritage gem on a barachois

The Government of Quebec designated the Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac in Gaspé as a historic site in 1981. Since then, Paspébiac residents have patiently restored and showcased this exceptional heritage site located on a barachois—a long sandbar stretching into Chaleur Bay. The 11 surviving buildings were the premises of the two companies that dominated the dried cod market in the 19th century—Charles Robin and Company and the Le Boutillier Brothers Company—which were headquartered in Pasbébiac. These buildings provide visitors with a comprehensive overview of the Gaspé fishing industry during this period: the particularly effective organization of these companies, the fishers’ way of life, the evidence artisans left behind in their workshops, not to mention the cod itself, which is prepared in the traditional way or according to current gastronomic trends in the onsite restaurant. Visiting the Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac is a memorable experience.

 

For more information…

Where land and sea meet

a051709-v8-1-300x228 -  - The Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac: A heritage gem on a barachois
Warehouse, Paspébiac Beach

The term “barachois” comes from the Basque word “barratxoa,” meaning “little bar.” Though anglicized to “barachois,” the term nevertheless tells us that Basques fishers were in this area in the 17th and 18th centuries, just as they used many other locations on the shores of Quebec and the maritime provinces. The name Paspébiac comes from the Mi’kmaq word “ipsigiaq,” which also means barachois. This long sandbar was well positioned and big enough to allow two major Anglo-Norman fishing companies to erect tens of buildings there in the 18th and 19th centuries. Although many of these buildings were destroyed by fire in June 1964, those that survived the blaze provide eloquent examples of the shore-based organization of these shipping companies.

bancpaspebiac-300x130 -  - The Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac: A heritage gem on a barachois
Banc-de-Pêche-de-Paspébiac

Chief among them is the large, beautiful six-storey wooden warehouse operated by Le Boutillier Brothers, the largest building with an exposed wood-frame structure in North America. Built between 1845 and 1850, it houses the main exhibit focussing on the operations of the dried cod industry, which was dominated by these two companies established by entrepreneurs from the Island of Jersey. Here they built the boats the fishers used to catch the cod, which was dried on the cobble beaches, then placed in barrels and exported, mainly to Europe, in ships that were also built onsite. These ships brought back the merchandise that was sold in the general stores that belonged to these companies. Much of this merchandise was usually available to fishers on credit.

shbp_11-300x233 -  - The Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac: A heritage gem on a barachois
Fishing bank

By travelling from one building to another, visitors can familiarize themselves with nearly every aspect of how the cod was processed and marketed. In the carpentry workshop where the boats were built, the beams are covered in dates and the names of ships and individuals, inscriptions that are contextualized in the workshop exhibit. In the forge, where many household items and metal ship parts were manufactured, facilitation activities help visitors learn more about the 19th century artisans. In the office, the period furnishings evoke the administrative tasks related to the fisheries. The site also includes hangars, the 1906 vault for the general store, three cook rooms that were used by the fishers, the flour hangar and the powder magazine, attesting to the variety of facilities that were built there.

Tangible and intangible heritage

The beauty of this barachois and the architectural significance of the remaining buildings built by these companies in the 19th century are matched only by the value of the activities and human experiences showcased in the exhibits and the places that where the fishers and artisans lived. The tangible heritage of the locations and buildings combined with the reminders of the lifestyles and know how that brought them to life is the strength behind this site, which recounts the way of life of these Gaspé entrepreneurs and fishers from the late 18th century until the early 20th century.

The bright and dark sides of the story

The success of these two companies cannot eclipse the negative impact they had on many fishers.

Charles Robin first set foot in Paspébiac in 1766. At that time, Chaleur Bay was home only to the Mi’kmaq and a few scattered and isolated inhabitants of French descent. Robin, who was already active in this industry, saw the advantages of this location and the abundance of cod in the bay. Bilingual, skilled and persistent, he was able to recruit the Francophone fishers, and thanks to his family network in Jersey, he began building a large company and became its owner in 1783. He spent 20 years in Paspébiac, where he lived a modest lifestyle, remained unmarried and gradually developed his business. When he retired to Jersey in 1802, he left the business to his nephews Philip and James, whom he had trained. They successfully maintained the Charles Robin and Company’s dominant position in the dried cod trade until the 20th century, making the most of the high European demand for this fish, which Catholics ate on the many days of abstinence when they could not eat meat. David Le Boutillier, who also hailed from Jersey, started working for Charles Robin in 1827. He went on to establish his own business with his two brothers in 1838, using the same business model and location as Robin’s company. Le Boutillier Brothersquickly expanded, opening several fishing stations in Gaspé and New Brunswick, while remaining headquartered in Paspébiac. When David Le Boutillier died in 1854, his brother-in-law took over the reins and continued to develop the company.

Although these two businesses largely dominated the dried cod trade, the fishers they employed were nowhere as prosperous. The system imposed by the Jerseyan companies penalized fishers. They supplied them with boats, fishing gear and sustenance on credit until the end of the fishing season. The fishers then received their salary, usually in the form of coupons that could be used in company stores. As fishers were underpaid and the prices in these stores were high, many fishers remained in debt for many years and had no choice but to continue fishing for the companies that were exploiting them. One of the significant milestones in the history the fisheries in Quebec and the Maritimes was the transition that occurred at the turn of the 20th century, when fishers were able to free themselves from this alienating system.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // Le Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac, joyau patrimonial sur un barachois
retour

Le Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac, joyau patrimonial sur un barachois

Le Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac, en Gaspésie, est un site patrimonial classé par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec en 1981. Depuis, les Paspéyas ont patiemment restauré et mis en valeur cet ensemble patrimonial exceptionnel situé sur un barachois – un long banc de sable qui s’avance dans la baie des Chaleurs. Dans les onze bâtiments qui subsistent des installations de Charles Robin & Co et de Le Boutillier Brothers Co., les deux compagnies qui ont dominé le marché de la morue séchée au 19e siècle et dont le centre opérationnel se trouvait à Pasbébiac, les visiteurs apprennent tout sur l’industrie de la pêche en Gaspésie à cette époque. De l’organisation particulièrement efficace de ces compagnies jusqu’au mode de vie des pêcheurs, en passant par les traces laissées par les artisans dans leur atelier et la dégustation de morue apprêtée comme autrefois ou selon les tendances gastronomiques contemporaines, dans le restaurant du site, visiter le Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac est une expérience mémorable.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Mariage terre et mer

a051709-v8-1-300x228 -  - Le Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac, joyau patrimonial sur un barachois
Un entrepôt sur la plage de Paspébiac

Le mot « barachois » provient du basque « barratxoa » qui veut dire « petite barre ». Ce terme francisé en « barachois » témoigne de la présence des pêcheurs basques à cet endroit aux 17e et 18e siècles, ainsi que dans bien d’autres sites fréquentés par ces pêcheurs sur les côtes du Québec et des provinces maritimes. À Paspébiac, un nom de lieu qui proviendrait du mot micmac « ipsigiaq », qui signifie également barachois, cette longue bande de sable était suffisamment grande et bien située pour que deux importantes compagnies de pêche anglo-normandes y construisent des dizaines de bâtiments aux 18e et 19e siècles. Bien qu’un grand nombre aient brûlé en juin 1964, ceux qui ont échappé aux flammes témoignent de façon éloquente de l’organisation terrestre de ces compagnies maritimes.

bancpaspebiac-300x130 -  - Le Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac, joyau patrimonial sur un barachois
Le banc de pêche de Paspébiac

Dans le bel et vaste entrepôt en bois de six étages de Le Boutillier Brothers Co., le plus gros bâtiment à structure de bois apparente en Amérique du Nord, construit entre 1845 et 1850, l’exposition principale présente le fonctionnement du commerce de morue séché que ces deux compagnies fondées par des entrepreneurs de l’île Jersey ont dominé. Elles construisaient sur place les barques des pêcheurs qui capturaient la morue, qui était séchée sur les plages de galets, puis mise en baril et exportée principalement en Europe, dans des navires également construits sur place. Ceux-ci rapportaient des marchandises vendues dans les magasins généraux qui appartenaient à ces compagnies, et plus souvent cédées à crédit aux pêcheurs.

shbp_11-300x233 -  - Le Banc-de-pêche-de-Paspébiac, joyau patrimonial sur un barachois
Vue du banc de pêche

Les visiteurs peuvent faire l’expérience de presque toutes les étapes de traitement et de commercialisation de la morue en cheminant d’un bâtiment à l’autre. Dans l’atelier de menuiserie où l’on construisait les barques, les poutres sont couvertes de dates, de noms de bateaux et d’individus, des inscriptions qui sont remises en contexte dans l’exposition de cet atelier. Dans la forge où l’on fabriquait de nombreux articles domestiques et des pièces en métal pour les navires, des activités d’animation plongent les visiteurs dans la peau des artisans du 19e siècle. Dans l’office, le mobilier d’époque évoque les tâches administratives liées aux pêcheries. Dans l’un des hangars, la chambre forte du magasin général de 1906 et trois cook-room (des gîtes à la disposition des pêcheurs), ainsi que le hangar à farine et la poudrière illustrent la diversité des installations construites sur le site.

Patrimoine matériel et immatériel

La beauté de ce barachois et l’intérêt architectural des bâtiments qu’ont érigés ces compagnies au 19e siècle (pour ceux qui subsistent) n’ont d’égal que la valeur des activités et des expériences humaines que révèlent les expositions et les lieux que fréquentaient les pêcheurs et les artisans. Le mariage entre l’héritage matériel des lieux et des bâtiments et le rappel des modes de vie et des savoir-faire qui les ont animés fait la force de ce site qui restitue l’ensemble du mode de vie des entrepreneurs et des pêcheurs gaspésiens de la fin du 18e au début du 20e siècle.

Une histoire de pêche à la fois sombre et lumineuse

Le succès de ces deux entreprises ne peut faire oublier l’impact négatif qu’elles ont eu sur plusieurs pêcheurs.

Charles Robin met les pieds pour la première fois à Paspébiac en 1766. Seuls les Micmacs et quelques habitants d’origine française, dispersés et isolés, habitent alors la baie des Chaleurs. Déjà actif dans ce domaine, Robin repère les avantages du site et l’abondance de morue dans la baie. Bilingue, habile et persévérant, il sait rallier les pêcheurs francophones et il bâtit grâce à son réseau familial de l’île Jersey une grande entreprise qui lui appartient à partir de 1783. Célibataire, il passe 20 ans à Paspébiac, où il vit modestement et développe progressivement son entreprise. Quand il se retire à l’île Jersey, en 1802, il confie son entreprise à ses neveux Philip et James, qu’il a formés. Ceux-ci maintiennent avec succès la position dominante des Robin dans le commerce de la morue séchée jusqu’au 20e siècle, profitant de la forte demande en Europe pour ce poisson que les catholiques mangent les nombreux « jours maigres » (sans viande). David Le Boutillier, lui aussi natif de l’île Jersey, travaille pour Charles Robin à partir de 1827. Puis il fonde sa propre entreprise avec deux frères en 1838, sur le même modèle et au même endroit que la compagnie Robin. Le Boutillier Brothers Co. prend rapidement de l’expansion, ouvrant plusieurs postes de pêche en Gaspésie et au Nouveau-Brunswick, tout en conservant Paspébiac comme centre de ses opérations. À son décès, en 1854, le beau-frère de David Le Boutillier prend la relève et poursuit le développement de la compagnie.

Bien que ces deux entreprises aient largement dominé le commerce de la morue séchée, les pêcheurs qui travaillaient pour elles n’ont pas connu la même prospérité. Car le système mis en place par les compagnies jerseyaises pénalisait les pêcheurs. Elles leur fournissaient à crédit les barques, le matériel de pêche et les biens de subsistance jusqu’à la fin de la saison de pêche. Le pêcheur recevait alors son salaire, habituellement sous la forme de coupons échangeables dans les magasins des compagnies. Comme les pêcheurs étaient sous-payés et que les prix étaient élevés dans ces magasins, plusieurs pêcheurs demeuraient endettés pendant plusieurs années et n’avaient alors d’autre choix que de continuer à pêcher pour les entreprises qui les exploitaient. L’histoire des pêcheries au Québec et dans les Maritimes a pour jalon marquant la capacité de se libérer de ce système aliénant, une transition qui survient au tournant du 20e siècle.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.