Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // The Quebec Winter Carnival: Celebrating winter for three generations
back

The Quebec Winter Carnival: Celebrating winter for three generations

The Quebec Winter Carnival has been warming hearts during the cold season since 1955. The festivities transform Quebec City into the capital of snow and winter! From late January to mid-February, hundreds of thousands of people take part in competitions, outdoor activities and winter sports, often derived from Quebec traditions: ice canoe races, snowshoeing, dog sledding, snow sculptures and large parades of colourful floats. This major event, with the emblematic Bonhomme Carnaval as its mascot, offers a varied program to please both the young and the young at heart. Each year, the carnival gives residents of Quebec City and its visitors an opportunity to have an exceptional winter experience in a city whose beauty embellishes the festival.

 

To learn more…

A 21st century carnival

course-canots-300x200 -  - The Quebec Winter Carnival: Celebrating winter for three generations
The Canoe Race

The carnival’s longevity stems from both popular support among Quebec City residents and the event’s traditional origins, which lend a definite charm for visitors who are less familiar with winter. The Quebec Winter Carnival also constantly adjusts to changes in customs and recreational pursuits, to the delight of participants from both within and outside the province. To please all types of audiences, warmer and more intimate activities that are smaller in scale have been added recently to the major events held on larger sites.

chateau-de-glace1-300x200 -  - The Quebec Winter Carnival: Celebrating winter for three generations
The Ice Castle in 2014

The most popular attractions include the colourful night parades, the ice canoe race and the snow sculpture competitions, with Canadian and international categories. The prestigious Grande Allée also attracts many people with its outdoor ice bars, music and giant-sized games. Everyone is invited to participate in sports challenges, including the coureurs des bois triathlon, axe throwing, the mechanical moose ride, the three-ski grand prix and other friendly competitions. The most courageous will no doubt want to take part in the traditional “snow bath,” clad only in bathing suits. Shivers are guaranteed!

The less adventurous can watch performances by storytellers, musicians and ice dancers, and demonstrations by lumberjacks. The family site includes activities tailored to children: sliding, skating, eating roasted marshmallows and maple taffy on snow. Nobody, however, should miss Bonhomme Carnaval’s impressive ice palace. This immense structure made of partially sculpted ice blocks, with its magnificent lighting, is a must-see.

The first winter carnivals in the Old Capital

default_98_palais_carnaval_1896-300x232 -  - The Quebec Winter Carnival: Celebrating winter for three generations
The Carnaval Palace in 1896

In 1893, a group of businessmen decided to develop a large-scale attraction to bring in tourists during the off season. Their efforts resulted in the very first Quebec Winter Carnival, which was held in 1894.

An ice palace was built in front of the Quebec Parliament, and the streets were decorated with arches made from evergreen branches and enhanced by ice sculptures. The programming included a large masquerade ball on ice, a canoe race on the river and a parade of decorated floats. The experience was repeated in 1896, then several times over the ensuing decades, but the two World Wars and the Depression of the 1930s put a halt to the winter festivities.

Rebirth and evolution of a tradition

n027653_edited_grand_prix_carnaval_1966-300x238 -  - The Quebec Winter Carnival: Celebrating winter for three generations
The Carnaval Grand Prize in 1966

The idea of a winter carnival resurfaced in the 1950s. While Bonhomme Carnaval and his duchesses were innovations at the time, the organizers also relied on attractions that had proven their worth: the ice palace, the great parade of decorated floats, and the ice canoe race between Quebec City and Lévis, which were all part of this new edition of the revived carnival, in 1955.

From one winter to the next, the program was gradually enriched with additional winter activities and sports, often inspired by the traditional lifestyle of Quebecers. Other novelties, like the international snow sculpture competition and the snow bath with Bonhomme, made their appearance to provide the simple pleasure of “playing with winter”.

defile-300x199 -  - The Quebec Winter Carnival: Celebrating winter for three generations
Night-time Parade

In the 1990s, after 40 years in existence, the carnival embraced new directions to keep up with societal changes. It refocused its activities on the family, and nearly all the festivities were brought together on an immense site located on the Plains of Abraham. Then, from 2014 on, the organization brought the celebrations back into the city streets, to better respond to the changing expectations of carnival lovers. The duchesses’ competition, for example, which had been set aside for several years, was updated to suit contemporary tastes and revived on the 60th anniversary of the carnival.

May the festivities continue!

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Festivals et événements // Le Carnaval de Québec : célébrer notre hiver depuis trois générations
retour

Le Carnaval de Québec : célébrer notre hiver depuis trois générations

Depuis 1955, le Carnaval d’hiver de Québec réchauffe les cœurs pendant la saison froide. Ces festivités transforment la ville en capitale de la neige et de l’hiver ! De la fin janvier à la mi-février, des centaines de milliers de personnes participent aux compétitions, activités extérieures et sports d’hiver souvent issus des traditions québécoises : courses de canots à glace, de raquettes ou de traîneaux à chiens, sculptures sur neige et grands défilés de chars allégoriques. L’événement animé par l’emblématique Bonhomme Carnaval offre une programmation variée pour plaire aux petits et aux grands. Chaque année, le Carnaval fait vivre aux résidents de Québec et aux visiteurs une expérience hivernale exceptionnelle dans une ville dont la beauté rehausse la fête.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un carnaval bien de son temps

course-canots-300x200 -  - Le Carnaval de Québec : célébrer notre hiver depuis trois générations
La course de canots

La longévité du Carnaval s’explique par le soutien populaire des résidents de Québec, tout autant que par l’ancrage traditionnel de l’événement qui lui confère un charme indéniable auprès des visiteurs moins familiers avec l’hiver. Le Carnaval de Québec s’adapte aussi constamment à l’évolution des mœurs et des loisirs pour continuer à faire vibrer les participants de la province et de l’extérieur. Aux gros événements qui se tiennent sur les sites majeurs, on a récemment ajouté des animations plus intimes et chaleureuses sur des sites de superficie plus modeste, afin de plaire à tous les types de publics.

chateau-de-glace1-300x200 -  - Le Carnaval de Québec : célébrer notre hiver depuis trois générations
Le Château de Glace en 2014

Parmi les attractions les plus courues, on compte les grands défilés de nuit hauts en couleur, la course de canots à glace et le concours de sculptures sur neige, avec ses volets canadien et international. La prestigieuse Grande Allée est aussi très fréquentée avec ses « bars » de glace extérieurs, sa musique et ses jeux format géant. Un peu partout, des défis sportifs sont lancés au public, comme le triathlon du coureur des bois, le lancer de la hache ou l’orignal mécanique, le grand prix de trois skis et d’autres compétitions amicales… Les plus courageux voudront sans doute participer au traditionnel « bain de neige » en tenue de plage : frissons garantis !

Les moins hardis peuvent assister aux spectacles de conteurs, de musiciens et de danseurs de gigue, aux démonstrations de bûcherons. Sur le site familial, des activités sont destinées aux bouts de chou : glissade, patinage, dégustation de guimauves grillées sur le feu et de tire sur la neige. Mais personne ne doit manquer l’impressionnant palais de glace de Bonhomme Carnaval. La visite de cette immense structure de blocs de glace partiellement sculptée et magnifiquement mise en lumière s’impose.

Les premiers carnavals d’hiver de la Vieille Capitale

default_98_palais_carnaval_1896-300x232 -  - Le Carnaval de Québec : célébrer notre hiver depuis trois générations
Le palais du Carnaval en 1896

En 1893, un groupe d’hommes d’affaires décide de mettre sur pied une attraction de grande ampleur afin d’attirer des touristes pendant la saison morte. C’est ainsi que le tout premier Carnaval d’hiver de Québec naît en 1894.

On construit un palais de glace devant le parlement et décore les rues d’arches ornées de branches de sapin et de sculptures sur glace. La programmation inclut une grande mascarade sur glace, une course de canots sur le fleuve et un défilé de chars allégoriques. On réitère l’expérience en 1896, puis à quelques reprises dans les décennies suivantes, mais les deux guerres et la crise économique des années 1930 mettent un frein à ces festivités hivernales.

Renaissance et évolution d’une tradition

n027653_edited_grand_prix_carnaval_1966-300x238 -  - Le Carnaval de Québec : célébrer notre hiver depuis trois générations
Le Grand prix du Carnaval en 1966

L’idée d’un carnaval d’hiver refait surface dans les années 1950. Si le Bonhomme Carnaval et ses duchesses sont alors des innovations, les organisateurs s’appuient également sur les attraits qui ont fait leurs preuves : le palais de glace, le grand défilé de chars allégoriques et la course de canots à glace entre Québec et Lévis, qui font tous partie de cette première édition du Carnaval renouvelé, en 1955.

D’un hiver à l’autre, le programme s’enrichit de plusieurs activités et sports d’hiver additionnels, souvent inspirés du mode de vie traditionnel des Québécois. D’autres nouveautés, comme le Concours international de sculptures sur neige et le bain de neige avec Bonhomme, apparaissent pour le simple plaisir de « jouer avec l’hiver ».

defile-300x199 -  - Le Carnaval de Québec : célébrer notre hiver depuis trois générations
Défilé de chars nocturne

Dans les années 1990, après une quarantaine d’années d’existence, le Carnaval opère un virage pour s’arrimer aux changements sociaux. Il recentre ses activités sur la famille et rassemble presque toutes les festivités sur un immense site situé sur les plaines d’Abraham. Puis à partir de 2014, l’organisation ramène les célébrations dans les rues de la ville pour mieux répondre aux attentes changeantes des « carnavaleux ». Le concours des duchesses, par exemple, mis de côté pendant plusieurs années, est remis au goût du jour et relancé à l’occasion du 60e anniversaire du Carnaval.

Que la fête continue !

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.