Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Arts and Culture // The Aberdeen Cultural Centre, a Francophone artistic hub in Moncton
back

The Aberdeen Cultural Centre, a Francophone artistic hub in Moncton

The Aberdeen Cultural Centre, founded in 1993, is a major creative and collaborative centre for Francophone Acadian artists in Moncton. Located close to the University of Moncton, the Centre gives expression to the desire of young creators to explore new imaginary and social territories, and thus to contribute to renewing the Acadian identity. This former school building houses some 20 cultural businesses and organizations, artists’ studios, a performance hall and a publishing house, art galleries, the Association acadienne des artistes professionnel.le.s du Nouveau-Brunswick and a restaurant. The Aberdeen Centre promotes sharing and brings new cultural initiatives into being. It fosters the dissemination of original works and offers various activities to further artistic education among the public.

 

To learn more…

Showcasing Acadian culture

moncton_aberdeen_centre_38_0-300x201 -  - The Aberdeen Cultural Centre, a Francophone artistic hub in Moncton
Front of the Aberdeen Centre

The heart of the Aberdeen Centre, housed in a former Aberdeen school building purchased and redeveloped by an artists’ cooperative in 1993, is its 150-seat performance hall. A variety of productions are presented, including dance performances, literary demonstrations, visual arts events, plays, musical productions, film screenings, lectures and receptions associated with arts and culture. Theatre troupe L’Escaouette, entirely dedicated to the creation of original works and founded in 1978 by University of Moncton dramatic arts graduates, performed in this space until 2004, before moving into larger premises located close-by. Many poetry evenings have also left their enchanted ghosts in this hall.

After the building was acquired, the members of the cooperative chose French as the “official language” of this new space, dedicated to the creation, collaboration, dissemination and promotion of Acadian artists who put down roots at the centre. In a city like Moncton where the majority of the population is Anglophone, this kind of public space where artists could create and share in French was vital to consolidating the Acadian identity and developing a sense of belonging. This symbolic dimension has contributed to extending the influence of the Aberdeen Centre throughout the Maritimes. Today, the centre is increasingly looking to play the role of mediator between Moncton’s Francophone and Anglophone communities, thanks to the Acadian artistic community’s dynamism and confidence. For example, while French is always predominant in the centre’s activities, advertising of these initiatives is bilingual.

Benefits of the Aberdeen Cultural Centre

This incubator of talent, initiatives, organizations and artistic companies is behind a number of cultural influences that have developed in Moncton and New Brunswick. Examples include, at the Centre itself, three art galleries; Les Brumes du coude, a restaurant that is reinventing the Acadian culinary heritage; and the Association acadienne des artistes professionnel.le.s, which offers development, information, documentation and publication services. The training and events that the Centre provides for people of all ages, including children, also makes art more democratic and prepares the next generation of artists.

acadierock16aout2013-0270web-300x200 -  - The Aberdeen Cultural Centre, a Francophone artistic hub in Moncton
Acadie Rock Show in 2013

The centre is also home to DansEncorps, a dance company that creates choreographies and teaches dance. DansEncorps also organizes Atlantic Dance Festival Danse Atlantique. Film Zone set up the Festival international du cinéma francophone in Acadia. Phare Est, a film producer, plays an important role in the development of Acadian cinematography, with some hundred productions to its credit. The idea for Festival Frye Festival, the only international literary festival of this magnitude in Canada, originated at the Aberdeen Centre in 1999. (Internationally renowned literary critic Northrup Frye spent his youth in Moncton and studied in this school). Publishing house Éditions Perce-Neige, founded in 1980, supports Acadian literature. Several other productions of artists, organizations and businesses housed at the Centre inspire and enrich cultural life in many different ways.

A dynamic center

1901416_649274985122482_619842434_n-2-300x200 -  - The Aberdeen Cultural Centre, a Francophone artistic hub in Moncton
Opening of the Art Gallery

In the heart of the city of Moncton, the Aberdeen Cultural Centre is a welcoming place for Francophone creation and exchange, where hundreds of cultural workers, artists and art lovers meet to share their passion. The centre has acted as a bridge between generations of Acadian artists and has contributed to the blossoming and diversification of contemporary art in Acadia. Through its capacity to bring people together and inspire new collaborations, the centre continues to be a leader on the artistic scene and in the cultural life of Moncton and New Brunswick.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Arts et culture // Le Centre culturel Aberdeen, pôle artistique francophone à Moncton
retour

Le Centre culturel Aberdeen, pôle artistique francophone à Moncton

Le Centre culturel Aberdeen, fondé en 1993, est un haut lieu de création et de collaboration entre artistes acadiens francophones à Moncton. Situé à proximité de l’Université de Moncton, il a cristallisé la volonté de jeunes créateurs d’explorer de nouveaux territoires imaginaires et sociaux et contribué à renouveler l’identité acadienne. Cette ancienne école abrite une vingtaine d’entreprises et d’organismes culturels, des studios d’artistes, une salle de spectacle et une maison d’édition, des galeries d’art, les bureaux de l’Association acadienne des artistes professionnel.le.s du Nouveau-Brunswick, ainsi qu’un restaurant. Le Centre Aberdeen stimule les échanges et fait émerger de nouvelles initiatives culturelles. Il favorise la diffusion d’œuvres originales et propose au public diverses activités d’éducation artistique.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Faire rayonner la culture acadienne

moncton_aberdeen_centre_38_0-300x201 -  - Le Centre culturel Aberdeen, pôle artistique francophone à Moncton
Façade du centre Aberdeen

Le cœur du Centre Aberdeen – qui loge dans l’ancienne école Aberdeen achetée et réaménagée par une coopérative d’artistes en 1993 – est sans doute sa salle de spectacle de 150 places. On y présente diverses productions : spectacles de danse, démonstrations littéraires, événements en arts visuels, pièces de théâtre, prestations musicales, projections cinématographiques, conférences et réceptions liées aux arts et à la culture. La troupe de théâtre l’Escaouette, entièrement dédiée à la création d’œuvres originales, fondée par des diplômés en art dramatique de l’Université de Moncton en 1978, s’est produite dans cette salle jusqu’en 2004, avant d’emménager dans des locaux plus grands, situés tout près. De nombreuses nuits de la poésie ont aussi laissé quelques fantômes enchantés dans cette salle.

Dès l’acquisition du bâtiment, les membres de la coopérative ont choisi la langue française comme langue « officielle » de ce nouvel espace de création, de collaboration, de diffusion et de promotion des artistes acadiens qui élisaient domicile au Centre. Dans une ville majoritairement anglophone comme Moncton, un tel lieu public où il était possible de créer et d’échanger en français était crucial pour consolider l’identité acadienne et dessiner un territoire social d’appartenance. Cette dimension symbolique a contribué au rayonnement du Centre Aberdeen dans toutes les provinces maritimes. Aujourd’hui, le Centre cherche davantage à jouer un rôle de médiateur entre les communautés francophones et anglophones de Moncton, étant donné la vigueur et l’assurance qu’a gagnées la communauté artistique acadienne. Par exemple, si le français domine toujours largement les activités, les publicités qui les annoncent sont bilingues.

Les retombées du Centre culturel Aberdeen

Cet incubateur de talents, d’activités, d’organismes et de compagnies artistiques est à l’origine de plusieurs retombées culturelles à Moncton et au Nouveau-Brunswick. Mentionnons, au Centre même, trois galeries d’art, le restaurant Les Brumes du coude qui réinvente le patrimoine culinaire acadien, et l’Association acadienne des artistes professionnels qui offre des services de développement, d’information, de documentation, de publication et de perfectionnement. Les formations et événements destinés au public de tous âges, incluant les enfants, démocratisent également l’art et préparent la relève.

acadierock16aout2013-0270web-300x200 -  - Le Centre culturel Aberdeen, pôle artistique francophone à Moncton
Spectacle à Acadie Rock en 2013

On trouve aussi au Centre la compagnie de danse DansEncorps qui crée des chorégraphies et enseigne la danse ; elle organise l’Atlantic Dance Festival Danse Atlantique. L’organisme Film Zone a mis sur pied l’important Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie. La maison de production cinématographique Phare-Est joue un rôle important dans le développement de la cinématographie acadienne avec une centaine de réalisations à son actif. L’idée du festival littéraire international bilingue Festival Frye Festival, le seul de cette envergure au Canada, est née au Centre Aberdeen en 1999. (Le critique littéraire de réputation internationale Northrup Frye a passé sa jeunesse à Moncton et a étudié dans cette école). Les Éditions Perce-Neige, créées en 1980, soutiennent la littérature acadienne. Plusieurs autres réalisations des artistes, organismes et entreprises logés au Centre animent et enrichissent de multiples façons la vie culturelle.

Un lieu effervescent

1901416_649274985122482_619842434_n-2-300x200 -  - Le Centre culturel Aberdeen, pôle artistique francophone à Moncton
Vernissage de la galerie d’art

Au cœur de la ville de Moncton, le Centre culturel Aberdeen est un lieu de création et d’échange francophone accueillant, où des centaines de travailleurs culturels, d’artistes et d’amateurs d’art se rencontrent pour partager leur passion. Il a servi de pont entre les générations d’artistes acadiens et il a contribué à l’éclosion et à la diversification des arts actuels en Acadie. Par sa capacité à rassembler et à susciter de nouvelles collaborations, il continue de jouer un rôle moteur sur la scène artistique et dans la vie culturelle à Moncton et au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.