Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // The Centre d’histoire de Montréal: an amazing time machine
back

The Centre d’histoire de Montréal: an amazing time machine

The Centre d’histoire de Montréal presents the history of Quebec’s metropolis from the original occupation of the territory by the First Nations up to today. Opened in a heritage building of Old Montreal in the early 1980s, the centre reveals the rich and eventful adventure of this city from the viewpoint of its past and present inhabitants. Visitors to the centre will discover the fascinating history of the Island of Montreal, from the ancient village of Hochelaga to Montreal’s embrace of modernity in Expo 67. The centre uses artifacts and spectacular images, visual effects and soundscapes. The cultural diversity of Montreal is a central theme of this astonishing voyage through time!

 

To learn more…

Revealing the memory of Quebec’s metropolis

89a13c69213540f95cec21c007daeecb-300x225 -  - The Centre d’histoire de Montréal: an amazing time machine
Place Jacques-Cartier c. 1900

Montreal has been a cosmopolitan city since the 17th century. The plurality of its origins is reflected throughout the exhibits of the centre. The daily life of Montrealers and their histories are exhibited on three floors in a magnificent heritage framework. Through both a permanent exhibit and temporary exhibits, visitors to the Centre d’histoire de Montréal witness the birth and development of the largest Francophone urban environment in Canada.

022-vm94-y-1-1-300x237 -  - The Centre d’histoire de Montréal: an amazing time machine
Red light district, 1947

In recent years, the centre’s temporary exhibits have dealt with such topics as: “Scandal! Vice, Crime and Morality in Montreal, 1940–1960,” “The Portuguese Community, Neighbours for 50 Years,” “Lost Neighbourhoods” and “Tèt Ansanm, Tous Ensemble — Haitians in Montreal. ” Many awards have emphasized the excellence and originality of these exhibits. Some of them are available on the centre’s website.

Visitors can also download three podcasts whose contents guide them through three neighbourhoods: Red Light, Faubourg à m’lasse and Goose Village, containing both vestiges that are still present and modern elements that have replaced them.

Between mountain and river, multiple identities

The Iroquois were the first occupants of the Island of Montreal, and they were eventually replaced by the French. Founded in 1642 by Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve and Jeanne Mance, Ville-Marie was the third largest French settlement in New France, and one of the very first in North America. Its location, between Mount Royal and the St. Lawrence River, close to important trade routes that the Indigenous peoples had been using for centuries, proved to be a determining factor. The site soon overflowed its original cradle, which corresponds to what we now call Old Montreal, and gradually extended to a large part of the Island of Montreal.

After the Conquest of 1763, many English people, Scots and Irish settled in Montreal. In the 19th century, large waves of migration also attracted Italian, Jewish, Chinese, Afro-American and other nationals to the city. The nationalities present in Montreal have multiplied since the beginning of the 20th century because of economic crises, wars and human rights violations. In a few centuries, millions of individual destinies became intermingled on this island, to create the complex history of Montreal.

Birth and evolution of the Centre d’histoire de Montréal

7982501598_1474003a08_o-300x217 -  - The Centre d’histoire de Montréal: an amazing time machine
View of Place Ville-Marie and downtown Montreal from Mount Royal, 1966

The idea of creating a centre to interpret and explain Montreal’s history and heritage started to take root in the early 1980s. The desire was to provide access to the past of the city, and to help people understand its built heritage. The Société d’archéologie et de numismatique de Montréal was in charge at that time.

facade-centremtl-218x300 -  - The Centre d’histoire de Montréal: an amazing time machine
Façade, Centre d’histoire de Montréal

The Centre d’histoire de Montréal was established in a heritage building in D’Youville Square, Barracks No. 1, constructed in 1904. This building, inspired by Queen Anne architecture and built entirely of bricks and stone, was used as a fire station until 1972. The building envelope was carefully preserved during major restoration work. The centre opened in 1983 and immediately aroused great interest. The initial permanent exhibit, dedicated to the most emblematic aspects of Montreal, attracts some 20,000 visitors annually.

exposition-centremlt-300x200 -  - The Centre d’histoire de Montréal: an amazing time machine
Exhibition at Centre d’histoire de Montréal

In the mid-1990s, at the time of the 350th anniversary of Montreal’s founding, the historic neighbourhood was revived by the arrival of new businesses, hotels, restaurants and a museum. The Old Port of Montreal was redeveloped. The new D’Youville Square and the Multimedia City were created. This was a time to rethink the permanent exhibit and the centre’s museum spaces, in order to fully embrace life in the 21st century. The contents were enriched, and more emphasis was placed on the cultural features and diversity that had shaped Montreal. At the Centre d’histoire de Montréal, to take an interest in the past also means to be a person of one’s own time.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal, une agréable machine à remonter le temps
retour

Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal, une agréable machine à remonter le temps

Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal présente l’histoire de la métropole québécoise depuis l’occupation du territoire par les Premières Nations jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Ouvert dans un édifice patrimonial du Vieux-Montréal au début des années 1980, le Centre révèle l’aventure riche et mouvementée de cette ville du point de vue de ses habitants passés et actuels. Les visiteurs y découvrent la fascinante histoire de l’île, depuis l’ancien village d’Hochelaga jusqu’à l’entrée de Montréal dans la modernité lors d’Expo 67. Il utilise des artéfacts et des images, des effets visuels et des atmosphères sonores spectaculaires. La diversité culturelle de Montréal est au cœur de cet étonnant voyage dans le temps !

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Révéler la mémoire de la métropole québécoise

89a13c69213540f95cec21c007daeecb-300x225 -  - Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal, une agréable machine à remonter le temps
Place Jacques-Cartier, vers 1900

Montréal est une ville cosmopolite depuis le 17e siècle. La pluralité de ses origines est omniprésente dans les expositions du Centre. Le quotidien des Montréalais et leurs histoires de vie se déploient sur trois étages dans un magnifique écrin patrimonial. À travers une exposition permanente et des expositions temporaires, les visiteurs du Centre d’histoire de Montréal assistent littéralement à la naissance et au développement de la plus grande agglomération francophone du Canada.

022-vm94-y-1-1-300x237 -  - Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal, une agréable machine à remonter le temps
Le quartier “Red Light” en 1947

Les expositions temporaires des années récentes ont abordé des sujets comme « Scandale ! Vice, crime et moralité à Montréal, 1940-1960 », « La communauté portugaise. 50 ans de voisinage », « Quartiers disparus » et « Tèt ansanm, tous ensemble. Présences haïtiennes d’ici ». De nombreux prix ont souligné l’excellence et l’originalité de ces expositions. Des versions en ligne de certaines d’entre elles sont disponibles sur le site Internet du Centre.

Le visiteur peut aussi télécharger trois parcours en baladodiffusion, des contenus qui le guident dans trois quartiers, le Red Light, le Faubourg à m’lasse et Goose Village, au gré des vestiges encore présents et des éléments modernes qui les ont remplacés.

Entre mont et fleuve, des identités multiples

Les Iroquoiens sont les premiers occupants de l’île, puis les Français les remplacent. Fondée en 1642 par Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve et Jeanne Mance, Ville-Marie est le troisième plus ancien établissement français de la Nouvelle-France et l’un des tout premiers en Amérique du Nord. Sa localisation, entre le mont Royal et le fleuve Saint-Laurent, à proximité d’importantes routes commerciales utilisées depuis des siècles par les Autochtones, s’avère déterminante : le site débordera bientôt de son berceau originel, qui correspond à ce qu’on désigne aujourd’hui comme le Vieux-Montréal, et s’étendra progressivement à une grande partie de l’île.

Après la Conquête de 1763, des Anglais, des Écossais et des Irlandais sont nombreux à s’installer à Montréal. Au cours du 19e siècle, d’importantes vagues migratoires vont amener des ressortissants italiens, juifs, chinois, afro-américains et autres. Les nationalités présentes à Montréal se sont multipliées depuis le début du 20e siècle en raison des crises économiques, des guerres et des violations des droits de la personne. En quelques siècles, ce sont donc des millions de destins individuels qui se sont entrecroisés sur cette île pour créer la complexe histoire montréalaise.

Naissance et évolution du Centre d’histoire de Montréal

7982501598_1474003a08_o-300x217 -  - Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal, une agréable machine à remonter le temps
La Place Ville-Marie et le centre-ville de Montréal vus du mont Royal, 1966

L’idée de créer un centre d’interprétation de l’histoire et du patrimoine montréalais germe au début des années 1980. On souhaite donner accès au passé de la ville et aider à comprendre son patrimoine bâti. C’est la Société d’archéologie et de numismatique de Montréal qui est alors aux commandes.

facade-centremtl-218x300 -  - Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal, une agréable machine à remonter le temps
Façade extérieure du Centre d’histoire de Montréal

Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal logera dans un édifice patrimonial de la place D’Youville, la Caserne no 1, construit en 1904. Ce bâtiment d’inspiration Queen Anne, tout de brique et de pierre, a servi de caserne de pompiers jusqu’en 1972. L’enveloppe est soigneusement préservée lors d’importants travaux de rénovation. Le Centre ouvre ses portes en 1983 et suscite immédiatement l’intérêt : l’exposition permanente initiale, dédiée aux sites les plus emblématiques de Montréal, attire annuellement quelque 20 000 visiteurs.

exposition-centremlt-300x200 -  - Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal, une agréable machine à remonter le temps
Exposition au Centre d’histoire de Montréal

Au milieu des années 1990, à la faveur du 350e anniversaire de la fondation de Montréal, le quartier historique est revivifié par l’arrivée de nouveaux commerces, d’hôtels, de restaurants et d’un musée. Le Vieux-Port est réaménagé. On crée la nouvelle place D’Youville et la Cité multimédia. C’est l’occasion de repenser l’exposition permanente et les espaces muséaux du Centre, afin d’entrer de plain-pied dans le 21e siècle. Les contenus sont enrichis et l’accent est mis plus que jamais sur la diversité culturelle qui a façonné Montréal. Au Centre d’histoire de Montréal, s’intéresser au passé rime avec être de son temps.

Le Centre d’histoire de Montréal est situé dans le site patrimonial de Montréal, déclaré par le gouvernement du Québec.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.