Loading
Home // Alberta // Festivals and Events // The Calgary Maple Sugar Festival : celebrating and promoting the Alberta Francophone community
back

The Calgary Maple Sugar Festival : celebrating and promoting the Alberta Francophone community

Since 2002, the Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta in Calgary has been organizing the Maple Sugar Festival every year in March. This major festive and heritage event brings together Francophones and Francophiles of all backgrounds who participate in a delicious French-Canadian tradition, eating maple sugar taffy on snow. Emphasizing the close relationships between French Canadians, Métis and First Nations at the time of the fur trade, these three communities take active part in the festival. Dancing, plays, stories and legends, traditional meals, games and the promotion of Francophone, Métis and Indigenous organizations and activities in the Calgary region are all on the program. This popular festival now takes place in the renowned Heritage Park Historical Village.

 

To learn more…

An ever-increasing number of Francophones in Calgary

low_dam6259-200x300 -  - The Calgary Maple Sugar Festival : celebrating and promoting the Alberta Francophone community
Pulled Sugar at the Maple Festival

Alberta’s Francophone community has changed a great deal over the last 30 years. Francophones born in Alberta and those from Quebec and the Maritimes, who formerly made up the bulk of the population, along with a few European immigrants, are now joined by immigrants from Africa and a wide range of other countries. The Francophone community has the largest rate of immigration in Alberta, at a proportion of 31%(according to the census of 2016). If we add the recent contribution of immigration to the many students who currently attend French immersion schools, the Francophones and Francophiles of Calgary number over 100,000, or about 10% of the city’s population.

For these Francophones and Francophiles, the Maple Sugar Festival is a magnificent opportunity to get together, speak French and celebrate the country’s French-Canadian roots. Although the festival is basically a community activity, it is increasingly oriented towards welcoming visitors. Many people seize this opportunity to go and have fun outdoors.

The multicultural face of Alberta’s Francophone community

The Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta (ACFA), founded in 1926 to defend the rights of French Canadians and to promote French language and culture, is increasingly tailoring its approach to take into account the new face of Alberta’s international and multicultural Francophone community. Since the perception of Francophones by the English-language majority is also much more favourable than it used to be, ACFA strives to develop and promote an inclusive community in which all Francophones can flourish and in which all Francophiles are valued.

The Maple Sugar Festival is an example of this new approach. The Métis and Indigenous peoples, who are traditional allies, take part in the festival, and newcomers are invited to express themselves while discovering the historical roots of the French Canadians and taking the opportunity to appropriate these roots for themselves. As for the Anglophone population, it is now more welcome than ever, thanks to the bilingual presentations and information.

Maple products, powerful symbols of the French-Canadian culture

128_Festival-des-Sucres-Calgary_43-300x225 -  - The Calgary Maple Sugar Festival : celebrating and promoting the Alberta Francophone community
Pulled Sugar at the Maple Festival

Throughout Canada, in all the provinces and territories, maple products have come to predominate as symbols of traditional French-Canadian culture, or even of the French fact in Canada, even though the origin of the practice is Indigenous. It is often during a celebration, a “sugar party” or a sugar festival that Francophones get together and welcome visitors to taste maple products.

Maple syrup is a cultural trait so intimately associated to Francophones in Canada that they celebrate it throughout the country, even in regions like Calgary where its production is non-existent. The organizers of these events bring the precious liquid in from Quebec, the world’s biggest producer of maple syrup, where the only majority Francophone population in Canada lives. The delightful taste of maple products and the universal penchant—at least among children—for sweet things assures the success of the Maple Sugar Festival.

Maple products seem to be an effective symbol chosen by native Canadian Francophones to identify and enjoy themselves and make new acquaintances.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Alberta // Festivals et événements // Le Festival des sucres de Calgary : célébrer et promouvoir la francophonie albertaine
retour

Le Festival des sucres de Calgary : célébrer et promouvoir la francophonie albertaine

Depuis 2002, l’Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta à Calgary organise en mars le Festival des sucres. Cet événement festif et patrimonial majeur rassemble les francophones et francophiles de tous horizons autour d’une délicieuse tradition canadienne-française : la dégustation de la tire d’érable sur la neige. Pour souligner les étroits rapports qui existaient entre les Canadiens français, les Métis et les Premières Nations à l’époque de la traite des fourrures, ces derniers participent à part entière au Festival. Danse, musique, théâtre, contes et légendes, repas traditionnel, jeux et promotion des organismes et des activités francophones, métis et autochtones de la région de Calgary sont au programme. Le populaire Festival se déroule maintenant au renommé Parc Héritage.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Les francophones de plus en plus nombreux à Calgary

low_dam6259-200x300 -  - Le Festival des sucres de Calgary : célébrer et promouvoir la francophonie albertaine
La tire au Festival des sucres

La francophonie albertaine a bien changé depuis 30 ans. Les francophones nés en Alberta et ceux provenant du Québec et des Maritimes, qui constituaient auparavant le gros des effectifs, avec quelques immigrants européens, s’allient maintenant avec des immigrants provenant d’Afrique et de pays très divers. Les francophones sont ceux qui connaissent le plus haut taux d’immigration en Alberta, dans une proportion de 31 % (selon le recensement de 2016). Si on ajoute à cet apport récent de l’immigration les nombreux étudiants qui fréquentent les écoles d’immersion française, les francophones et francophiles de Calgary sont maintenant plus de 100 000, soit environ 10 % de la population de la ville.

Pour ces francophones et francophiles, le Festival des sucres est une occasion en or de se réunir, de parler français et de célébrer les racines canadiennes-françaises du pays. Si le Festival est à la base une activité communautaire, il est de plus en plus tourné vers l’accueil des visiteurs. Plusieurs personnes saisissent cette occasion pour aller s’amuser à l’extérieur.

Le visage multiculturel de la francophonie albertaine

L’Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta (ACFA), fondée en 1926 pour défendre les droits des Canadiens français et faire la promotion de la culture d’expression française, adapte de plus en plus son approche pour tenir compte du nouveau visage de la francophonie albertaine, internationale et multiculturelle. Comme la perception des francophones par la majorité de langue anglaise est également beaucoup plus favorable qu’elle ne l’était, l’ACFA s’efforce de faire émerger et de promouvoir une communauté inclusive dans laquelle tous les francophones peuvent s’épanouir et tous les francophiles sont valorisés.

Le Festival des sucres est un exemple de cette nouvelle approche. Les alliés historiques métis et autochtones y participent et les nouveaux arrivants sont invités à s’exprimer, tout en découvrant les racines historiques des Canadiens français et en profitant d’une occasion de se les approprier. Quant à la population anglophone, elle est plus que jamais bienvenue, grâce aux animations et aux informations bilingues qui font maintenant partie du Festival.

Les produits de l’érable, symboles forts de la culture canadienne-française

128_Festival-des-Sucres-Calgary_43-300x225 -  - Le Festival des sucres de Calgary : célébrer et promouvoir la francophonie albertaine
La tire au Festival des sucres

Partout à travers le Canada, dans tous les provinces et territoires, les produits de l’érable se sont imposés comme symboles de la culture traditionnelle canadienne-française, voire du fait français au Canada, même si l’origine de la pratique est amérindienne. Car c’est souvent à l’occasion d’une fête, d’une « partie de sucre » ou d’un festival des sucres que les francophones se rassemblent et accueillent les visiteurs autour d’une dégustation de produits de l’érable.

Le côté festif, trait culturel également très associé aux francophones du Canada, est sans doute l’une des raisons qui expliquent la popularité de ces festivités liées aux produits de l’érable, y compris dans plusieurs régions où la production de sirop d’érable est inexistante, comme à Calgary. Les organisateurs de ces événements font venir le précieux liquide du Québec, premier producteur mondial de sirop d’érable, où réside également la seule majorité francophone au Canada. Il est également certain que le bon goût des produits de l’érable et le penchant universel – à tout le moins chez les enfants – pour le goût sucré garantissent le succès de la fête.

Les produits de l’érable semblent donc un moyen efficace que les francophones de souche du Canada ont choisi pour se reconnaître, faire la fête et se faire aimer.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.