Loading
Home // Ontario // Cultural Heritage // The Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival–Listening to and Expanding Francophone Culture
back

The Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival–Listening to and Expanding Francophone Culture

Every year, in the middle of June, the National Capital Region vibrates to the sound of Francophone music generated by the Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival. The event, which was created in 1976, has grown over the years and today features inclusive and diverse programming. Franco-Ontarian artists are showcased alongside emerging artists and stars of Francophone music from Canada, Europe and Africa. To prepare the next generation, students from the Ontario Francophone school system have been taking part in this event for many years. The programming of the Festival, particularly the music component, is also based on diverse forms of entertainment, such as the culinary arts, to make this event a celebration that attracts Francophones and Francophiles, as well as the curious from all origins. The Franco-Ontarian Festival marks the beginning of summer and it delights thousands of spectators and hundreds of participants of all ages in the very heart of the Canada’s National Capital.

 

For more information…

Hospitality and openness of Franco-Ontarians

Franco047-300x204 -  - The Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival–Listening to and Expanding Francophone Culture
Franco-Ontarian flag

The initial objective of Ottawa region Franco-Ontarians, who, in 1976, created a “Semaine française,” the ancestor of the current Franco-Ontarian Festival, was to celebrate Franco-Ontarian cultural pride. Since then, the event has been fuelled by the changes in Canada and it has also taken on the mission of making as many people as possible appreciate this culture. The Franco-Ontarian community, just like Canada and the City of Ottawa, has become increasingly diverse. Immigrants of all origins are increasingly finding their place and the organizers of the Festival wish to reflect the diversity that exists in the Ontarian and Canadian Francophonie. To reach out to the greatest number visitors possible and residents of the Ottawa region, they have integrated into the Festival a major parade throughout the streets of Ottawa and entertaining activities at the By Market. Thus, participants experience more intensively this inherent dimension of Canadian culture: the richness of its Francophone roots and its contemporary Francophonie that is open to the world.

Transmission of a heritage

Franco132-222x300 -  - The Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival–Listening to and Expanding Francophone Culture
Live show, Festival franco-ontarien

The organizers take advantage of the time of the year when the Festival takes place (just before the end of the school year) to ensure the participation of hundreds of students from the Ontario Francophone school network. They pass on to them a love of the French language and give them an opportunity to live an exceptional experience, for example during the Culture en fête–Enraciné vers l’avenir (a culture in celebration, rooted toward the future) show that has marked the beginning of the Festival for a number of years, a few hours before the major opening concert. Thousands of students also come to listen to Francophone artists and enjoy themselves at school matinées.

F15_013-200x300 -  - The Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival–Listening to and Expanding Francophone Culture
Family enjoying the festival

With respect to the professional succession, the Festival has established, in collaboration with the l’Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique (the association of songwriting and music professionals), the Rond Point residence for artists, which allows writers-composers-singers or “emerging” music groups in Ontario, of all musical styles, to develop their talents and perform on the Festival’s main stage, surrounded by a team of professionals.

A major Franco-Canadian event

Franco163-300x160 -  - The Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival–Listening to and Expanding Francophone Culture
Crowd at Festival franco-ontarien

Since its creation, the Ottawa Franco-Ontarian Festival, has constantly renewed itself to adapt to the needs of the Franco-Ontarian community and to public demand. The Franco, as it is commonly called, is the only large-scale festival that takes place only in French in Ottawa. It slowly found a niche as one of the most important festive events of Canadian Francophonie, particularly since the arrival in 2006 of a company specialized in events management, which focused on the event’s unifying aspect. Since then, the number of activities and participants in the various streams of the Festival has been increasing steadily. Bringing the Festival back to Major Hill Park, close to the Canadian Parliament and two steps away from the By Market in 2012 has something to do with it, as well as its increasingly selective artistic programming, its strong alliances with the Franco-Ontarian school network and the upgrading of the last day of the Festival, which always takes place on a Saturday. The day begins with performances for children and the Grand pique-nique de la francophonie (major Francophonie picnic). This is followed by the 5 à 7 Découverte (5 to 7 Discovery) which offers a gathering of food trucks, advice on how to match food and wine, and music by Franco-Ontarian artists. In the evening, stars of Francophone music close the event. After over 40 years of existence, the Franco-Ontarian Festival is just as young and dynamic as ever.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Festivals et événements // Le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa, entendre et étendre la culture francophone
retour

Le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa, entendre et étendre la culture francophone

Chaque année, au milieu du mois de juin, le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa fait vibrer la capitale nationale au son de la musique francophone. L’événement créé en 1976 a pris de l’ampleur au fil des ans et propose aujourd’hui une programmation inclusive et variée. Les artistes franco-ontariens y sont à l’honneur aux côtés d’artistes émergents et de vedettes de la chanson francophone du Canada, d’Europe et d’Afrique. En vue de former la relève, les élèves du réseau scolaire francophone de l’Ontario y participent aussi depuis plusieurs années. La programmation du festival, surtout musicale, s’appuie également sur diverses formes d’animation, notamment culinaire, pour faire de cet événement une fête qui attire autant les francophones et les francophiles que les curieux de toute origine. Le Festival franco-ontarien marque le début de l’été et ravit des milliers de spectateurs et des centaines de participants de tout âge en plein cœur de la capitale nationale du Canada.

 

En savoir plus…

Accueil et ouverture des Franco-ontariens

Franco047-300x204 -  - Le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa, entendre et étendre la culture francophone
Le drapeau franco-ontarien aux festivités

L’objectif initial des Franco-ontariens de la région d’Ottawa, qui ont créé en 1976 une « Semaine française », l’ancêtre du Festival franco-ontarien actuel, était de célébrer la fierté culturelle franco-ontarienne. Depuis, l’événement s’est nourri de l’évolution du Canada et se donne aussi comme mission de faire apprécier cette culture au plus grand nombre. La communauté franco-ontarienne, tout comme le Canada et la ville d’Ottawa, s’est beaucoup diversifiée. Les immigrants de toute provenance occupent davantage de place et les organisateurs du Festival tiennent à refléter cette diversité présente dans la francophonie ontarienne et canadienne. Pour rejoindre le plus de visiteurs et de résidents de la région d’Ottawa possible, ils ont notamment intégré au Festival un grand défilé dans les rues d’Ottawa et des animations au Marché By. Les participants vivent ainsi de manière plus intense cette dimension constitutive de la culture canadienne : la richesse de ses racines francophones et de sa francophonie contemporaine ouverte sur le monde.

La transmission d’un patrimoine

Franco132-222x300 -  - Le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa, entendre et étendre la culture francophone
Spectacle au Festival franco-ontarien

Les organisateurs profitent de la période de l’année où se déroule le Festival — soit juste avant la fin de l’année scolaire — pour faire participer des centaines d’élèves du réseau des écoles francophones de l’Ontario. Ils leur transmettent ainsi l’amour de la langue française et leur donnent l’occasion de vivre une expérience exceptionnelle, notamment lors du spectacle Culture en fête — Enraciné vers l’avenir qui marque le début du Festival depuis plusieurs années, quelques heures avant le grand spectacle d’ouverture. Des milliers d’élèves viennent aussi écouter des artistes francophones et s’amuser lors des Matinées scolaires.

F15_013-200x300 -  - Le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa, entendre et étendre la culture francophone
Une famille célébrant le festival

Sur le plan de la relève professionnelle, le Festival a mis sur pied, en collaboration avec l’Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique, la résidence artistique Rond Point, qui permet à des auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes ou à des groupes de musique « émergents » de l’Ontario, de tous les styles musicaux, de parfaire leur talent et de se produire sur la grande scène du Festival, entourés d’une équipe de professionnels.

Un grand événement franco-canadien

Franco163-300x160 -  - Le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa, entendre et étendre la culture francophone
La foule au Festival franco-ontarien

Depuis sa création, le Festival franco-ontarien d’Ottawa s’est constamment renouvelé pour s’adapter aux besoins de la communauté franco-ontarienne et au goût du public. Le Franco, comme on l’appelle familièrement, est le seul festival de grande envergure se déroulant uniquement en français à Ottawa. Il s’est peu à peu imposé comme l’un des événements festifs les plus importants de la francophonie canadienne, notamment depuis l’entrée en scène d’une firme spécialisée en gestion d’évènements, en 2006, qui a accentué le caractère rassembleur de l’événement. Depuis, le nombre d’activités et de participants aux divers volets du Festival croît régulièrement. Le retour du Festival au parc Major’s Hill, près du parlement du Canada et à deux pas du Marché By, en 2012, y est pour quelque chose, ainsi que sa programmation artistique de plus en plus relevée, ses alliances solides avec le réseau scolaire franco-ontarien et la bonification de la dernière journée du Festival, qui se déroule toujours le samedi. Cette journée débute par des spectacles pour enfants et par le Grand pique-nique de la francophonie. Suit le 5 à 7 Découverte qui propose un rassemblement de camions de cuisine de rue, des conseils d’accords mets et vins et de la musique d’artistes franco-ontariens. En soirée, des vedettes de la chanson francophone clôturent l’événement. Après plus de 40 ans d’existence, le Festival franco-ontarien est toujours aussi jeune et dynamique.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.