Loading
Home // Québec // Heritage Sites // Bonsecours Market, an icon of Old Montreal
back

Bonsecours Market, an icon of Old Montreal

Recognized as one of the ten most beautiful heritage buildings in Canada, the Bonsecours Market is a key part of the historical heart of Montreal. Since 1847, it has embodied and reflected the evolution of the metropolis. It has housed the city’s largest public market, a large concert hall, the Parliament of United Canada and the headquarters of the municipal government. As an extension of its former mercantile vocation, the market today accommodates the Conseil des métiers d’art du Québec, the Fashion Museum, shops of Quebec craftspeople and restaurants that showcase local products. With its unique architecture, this building is one of the most well-known and liveliest places in Quebec’s metropolis. More than eleven million people visit it each year.

 

To learn more…

A prestigious contemporary market

exterieur-bonsecours-215x300 -  - Bonsecours Market, an icon of Old Montreal
Bonsecours Market entrance

In 1992, Montreal celebrated the 350th anniversary of its founding. The authorities took this opportunity to beautify Old Montreal. The restored Old Port provides renewed access to Bonsecours Market, a gem that had been neglected for many years. Temporary exhibit rooms were created, and then the market’s commercial function was revived when shops opened on the ground floor. Large multipurpose rooms were constructed on the upper floor. From 2001 to 2004, a second wave of work restored the building to its former glory: a new balcony, the reopening of the portals at each end of the building and architectural lighting, imparting undeniable prestige to the building.

tq-005805-300x200 -  - Bonsecours Market, an icon of Old Montreal
Salon des métiers d’arts de Montréal

In this renewed Bonsecours Market, Montrealers and tourists can discover the Fashion Museum, which exhibits Quebec’s textile history and fashion heritage by means of costumes and accessories, in a splendid 3,000 square foot room showcasing Quebec and international creations. Visitors can stroll through high-end shops displaying the work of artists and artisans of every discipline: ready-to-wear clothing, coats, decorative accessories, furs, jewels and fine leathercraft, Inuit sculptures, and other Indigenous and Quebec pieces of arts. The antique shops and impressive collection of reproductions of antique furniture from French Canada echo the architectural heritage of the building. Visitors can also sit down and enjoy many Quebec local products, such as ice cider, chocolate made by Trappiste Monks and various maple confections, unless they have come specifically to take in in the wine or chocolate festivals.

Reflecting the prosperity of the metropolis

Construction of Bonsecours Market started in 1844, on a lot that John Molson’s son, a businessman, sold to the City of Montreal. The designers wanted this majestic building to bear the “stamp of the country”, reflecting the good taste, liberal views and prosperity of Montrealers. With its imposing proportions, the market is visible from afar, to ships from Quebec City, the Atlantic and Europe as soon as they enter the port. The market was inaugurated in January 1847, when it was not yet quite completed. Five years would be needed to finish the work.

a103139-v8-282x300 -  - Bonsecours Market, an icon of Old Montreal
Bonsecours Market, 1880

Bonsecours Market was to become not only the largest public market in Montreal for more than a century, but also a reflection of the social and economic development of the country. In fact, the businesses and organizations that set up shop in this building witnessed growth in agricultural and manufacturing production, and in the industrial and artistic activities of the Canadian colony, of which Montreal was the most important city. The very first exhibition of note in the country took place at the market in 1850.

A multipurpose building

e010948877-v8-300x298 -  - Bonsecours Market, an icon of Old Montreal
Tourists smelling flowers in Bonsecours Market, Montreal (1950)

At the time, booming Montreal needed large spaces capable of accommodating big crowds. Bonsecours Market contained a concert hall and an immense banquet hall in its eastern wing. The City Concert Hall, with its 900 or so square metres designed in the purest Victorian style, was able to accommodate up to 3,000 people. Administrative offices occupied the upper floors, where other rooms could receive smaller gatherings of people. The Canadian Institute, both a public library and a development agency, was the first tenant in 1846, before the construction was finished. The elected representatives of United Canada briefly held their sessions there in 1849. The building was subsequently used as City Hall for over 25 years, from 1852 to 1878.

Nonetheless, the main function of Bonsecours as a public market never changed throughout the 19th and 20th centuries, until it was closed in 1963. Bonsecours Market remains graven in memory as a meeting place between Montreal’s consumers and producers from the surrounding countryside.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Sites patrimoniaux // Le Marché Bonsecours, une icône du Vieux-Montréal
retour

Le Marché Bonsecours, une icône du Vieux-Montréal

Reconnu comme l’un des dix plus beaux édifices patrimoniaux du Canada, le Marché Bonsecours est un incontournable du cœur historique de Montréal. Depuis 1847, il incarne et reflète l’évolution de la métropole, abritant principalement le plus grand marché public de la ville, une grande salle de spectacle, le parlement du Canada-Uni et le siège de l’administration municipale. Dans le prolongement de sa vocation marchande, il accueille aujourd’hui le Conseil des métiers d’art du Québec, le Musée de la mode, des boutiques de créateurs québécois et des restaurants qui tablent sur les produits du terroir. Cet édifice à l’architecture unique est l’un des lieux les plus connus et les plus animés de la métropole québécoise. Plus de onze millions de personnes le fréquentent chaque année. Le marché Bonsecours est situé dans le site patrimonial de Montréal, déclaré par le gouvernement du Québec.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un prestigieux marché contemporain

exterieur-bonsecours-215x300 -  - Le Marché Bonsecours, une icône du Vieux-Montréal
Entrée du Marché Bonsecours

En 1992, Montréal célèbre le 350e anniversaire de sa fondation. Les autorités profitent de l’occasion pour refaire une beauté au Vieux-Montréal. Le Vieux-Port restauré redonne accès au Marché Bonsecours, un bijou qui sommeillait depuis quelques années. On y crée des salles d’exposition temporaire, puis on réhabilite sa fonction commerciale en ouvrant des boutiques au rez-de-chaussée. De grandes salles polyvalentes apparaissent à l’étage supérieur. De 2001 à 2004, une seconde vague de travaux de restauration rend au bâtiment son lustre d’antan : nouveau balcon, réouverture des portiques à chacune des extrémités et éclairage architectural confèrent à l’ensemble un cachet indéniable.

tq-005805-300x200 -  - Le Marché Bonsecours, une icône du Vieux-Montréal
La galerie des métiers des arts

Dans ce Marché Bonsecours réanimé, les Montréalais et les touristes découvrent le Musée de la mode, dans lequel l’histoire des textiles et le patrimoine vestimentaire s’exposent à travers les costumes et les accessoires, dans une splendide salle de 3 000 pieds carrés mettant en valeur les créations québécoises et internationales. Ils arpentent les boutiques haut de gamme présentant le travail des artistes et des artisans de toutes disciplines : vêtements prêt-à-porter, manteaux, accessoires décoratifs, fourrures, bijoux et maroquinerie fine, sculptures inuites et autres objets d’art autochtones et québécois. Les antiquaires et l’impressionnante collection de reproductions de meubles anciens du Canada français font écho au patrimoine architectural du bâtiment. Les visiteurs peuvent aussi se délecter sur place de nombreux produits du terroir québécois comme le cidre de glace, le chocolat des Pères Trappistes et diverses gourmandises à l’érable, à moins qu’ils ne viennent spécialement pour participer au Salon des vins ou à celui du chocolat.

Refléter la prospérité de la métropole

La construction du Marché Bonsecours débute en 1844 sur un terrain que l’homme d’affaires John Molson fils a vendu à la ville de Montréal. L’objectif que poursuivent les concepteurs est que ce majestueux bâtiment porte « l’empreinte du pays », qu’il reflète le bon goût, la libéralité et la prospérité des citoyens de Montréal. Grâce à ses proportions imposantes, le Marché est visible de loin, dès l’arrivée des navires en provenance de Québec, de l’océan et de l’Europe. Son inauguration a lieu en janvier 1847, alors qu’il n’est pas tout à fait complété. Cinq années seront nécessaires pour le parachever.

a103139-v8-282x300 -  - Le Marché Bonsecours, une icône du Vieux-Montréal
Le Marché Bonsecours en 1880

Le Marché Bonsecours sera non seulement le principal marché public de Montréal pendant plus d’un siècle, mais aussi un miroir de l’évolution sociale et économique du pays. Car les commerces et les organismes qui s’installent dans cet édifice témoignent de l’essor de la production agricole et manufacturière, industrielle et artistique de la colonie canadienne dont Montréal est la ville principale. La toute première exposition d’envergure au pays s’y tient en 1850.

Un édifice aux multiples fonctions

e010948877-v8-300x298 -  - Le Marché Bonsecours, une icône du Vieux-Montréal
Des touristes humant des fleurs au Marché Bonsecours en 1950

À cette époque, Montréal, qui est en pleine effervescence, a besoin de grandes salles capables d’accueillir des foules nombreuses. Le Marché Bonsecours renferme donc une salle de concert et une vaste salle de banquet dans son aile est. Le City Concert Hall déploie ses quelque 900 mètres carrés dans le plus pur style victorien et il peut contenir jusqu’à 3 000 personnes ! Des bureaux administratifs occupent les étages supérieurs, où d’autres locaux peuvent recevoir des rassemblements de moindre ampleur. L’Institut Canadien, à la fois bibliothèque publique et organisme de développement, en sera le premier locataire en 1846, alors que les travaux ne sont même pas terminés. Les députés du parlement du Canada-Uni y siègent brièvement en 1849. Puis le bâtiment sert d’hôtel de ville pendant plus de 25 ans, de 1852 à 1878.

Néanmoins, sa fonction principale de marché public ne se démentira jamais au cours des 19e et 20e siècles, jusqu’à sa fermeture en 1963. Le Marché Bonsecours demeure gravé dans les mémoires comme lieu de rencontre entre les consommateurs de Montréal et les producteurs des campagnes environnantes.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.