Loading
Home // Ontario // Community portraits // Ontario’s Francophone North: Nature, Culture, and Hospitality
back

Ontario’s Francophone North: Nature, Culture, and Hospitality

Roughly half of Cochrane District’s 80,000 residents are Francophones who live in Hearst, Kapuskasing, Timmins, Cochrane, and a string of towns along the Trans-Canada Highway (Ontario Highway 11) northwest from Sudbury. After 1910, they began arriving from Quebec and sometimes Acadia to farm the land or work in forests and mines. These deep-rooted Franco-Ontarian communities promote their identity and culture through events, museums, learning institutions, and cultural and community centres. At any given time, outdoor activities and warm hospitality are among the region’s best assets. In summer, special events like the Lumberjack Heritage Festival, the Festival de la St-Jean, and the Great Canadian Kayak Challenge & Festival draw large numbers of visitors.

 

Learn more…

Francophones in Ontario’s Near North

a040034-v6-300x234 -  - Ontario’s Francophone North: Nature, Culture, and Hospitality
Portage Island, Missinaibi River, 1901

The remoteness of Ontario’s Near North has left its natural heritage largely unspoiled (countless lakes and rivers for fishing, scenic trails for walking, cycling, skiing, snowmobiling or quadding, game-rich forests for hunting, etc.). The majestic Missinaibi River near Hearst isdesignated a “Canadian Heritage River” and the region is home to more Francophones than anywhere else in Ontario. For example, in Hearst, a town of 5,000 residents, 9 in 10 people are French-speaking—a fact that has earned it the nickname “gallic village.” In Kapuskasing, a town of 8,000 residents, 70% of the population is French-speaking. In Timmins, the region’s largest centre with a population of 45,000, a third of residents claim French as their mother tongue. Université de Hearst, which offers courses in Hearst, Kapuskasing and Timmins, is Ontario’s only fully francophone post-secondary institution. The region also has a fully francophone primary and secondary school system. Between these communities, many Francophones live in Iroquois Falls, Smooth Rock Falls, Moonbeam, Val Rita and other towns, which means French-language services can be obtained in most places on this stretch of the Trans-Canada Highway (Ontario Highway 11).

Regional Heritage

r000800-300x191 -  - Ontario’s Francophone North: Nature, Culture, and Hospitality
Timmins railway station, c. 1920

While highlighting the ancient and modern-day presence of Indigenous peoples, local museums also note the achievements of its first European inhabitants. The Timmins Museum National Exhibition Centre has two galleries for temporary exhibits from across Canada, a gift shop, publications on the region’s mining industry, and community archives with more than 20,000 pictures of the Porcupine camp where workers for the local gold mine lived between 1908 and 1911.

a044766-v8-300x216 -  - Ontario’s Francophone North: Nature, Culture, and Hospitality
Kapuskasing, 1937

Kapuskasing’s Ron Morel Memorial Museum, housed in a train and a former station, hosts exhibits on the history of Kapuskasing and its rail services. It also has sculptures by Maurice Gaudreault, a local artist who paid tribute to Northern Ontario pioneers (the “I Still Remember” collection) and many of the region’s animals (the “Wildlife” collection). The Hearst Ecomuseum, located in one of the town’s oldest houses (built in 1919), explores the town’s history and origins and the Franco Northern Ontario identity of its residents. It covers three key themes: the Catholic religion, the unique character of this French-speaking “minor homeland,” and the logging industry that drives the region’s economy. The term “ecomuseum” alludes to the dynamic relation between man, the environment, and human traditions. TheHeritage Sawmill Marketplace alsohas photos that recall the importance of Hearst’s logging industry.

Culture and Special Events

Cochrane_Ontario_2-300x168 -  - Ontario’s Francophone North: Nature, Culture, and Hospitality
Cochrane, Ontario

Each year in late August, Timmins hosts a three-day Great Canadian Kayak Challenge & Festival consisting of boat races and demonstrations, performances and shows, family activities, and an Indigenous culture component. Centre culturel La Ronde enlivens the community throughout the year with its art gallery, bookstore, bar/lounge, and recreational and social programs and activities. These include shows by Les Maringouins du Nord, a community theatre which, since its founding in 2002, has staged 20 plays and 160 performances attended by some 16,000 people.

Known as a fun and lively town, Kapuskasing’s festival season kicks off in winter with a Festival of Lights from late November to January. Its June 24 Festival de la St-Jean is considered Ontario’s biggest event in honour of St. John the Baptist, the patron saint of French Canadians, and its music festival is a major showcase for francophone artists. Its Lumberjack Heritage Festivalis held in the last weekend of July. In August, anglers take part in the annual Walleye Tournament where catches are released back into the Kapuskasing River. With its performances, live theatre, and art gallery, the Centre régional de Loisirs culturels is a year-round cornerstone for francophone culture in the community.

Since agriculture is as important to the North’s economy as logging, for two days in early September Hearst’s Economic Development Corporation holds the A Taste of Hearst event to showcase local and regional agri-food products. The event includes live music in the evenings. The Country Partridge Festival, also held in late September, has an opening parade, a partridge hunting tournament, and live country music. Throughout the year, Conseil des Arts de Hearst holds various events at Place des Arts de Hearst andhosts exhibits at Galerie 815.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Festivals et événements // Le Nord franco-ontarien : nature, culture et chaleur humaine
retour

Le Nord franco-ontarien : nature, culture et chaleur humaine

Environ la moitié des quelque 78 930 habitants (selon le recensement de 2016) du district de Cochrane sont francophones. Ils demeurent à Hearst, Kapuskasing, Timmins, Cochrane et dans les villages qui se succèdent le long de la route transcanadienne 11 en direction nord-ouest à partir de Sudbury. Ils sont venus du Québec et parfois de l’Acadie à partir des années 1910 pour cultiver la terre ou travailler dans la forêt et les mines. Ces communautés franco-ontariennes solidement enracinées mettent en valeur une identité qui leur est propre à travers des événements, des musées, des institutions d’enseignement et des centres culturels et communautaires. En tout temps, les activités de plein air et l’accueil chaleureux constituent les principaux attraits de cette région. En saison estivale, des événements spéciaux comme le Festival du patrimoine des bûcherons, le Festival de la Saint-Jean ou Le Festival et Grand défi canadien de kayak attirent de nombreux visiteurs.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Le Moyen-Nord ontarien et la francophonie

a040034-v6-300x234 -  - Le Nord franco-ontarien : nature, culture et chaleur humaine
L’Île Portage sur la rivière Missinaibi en 1901

Le patrimoine naturel du Moyen-Nord ontarien est en maints endroits intact en raison de son éloignement des grands centres : innombrables lacs et rivières pour y pratiquer la pêche, des sentiers de randonnée pour la marche, le vélo, le ski, la motoneige ou le quad, et des forêts giboyeuses que fréquentent les chasseurs. La majestueuse rivière Missinaibi, non loin de Hearst, a notamment été désignée « rivière du patrimoine canadien ». Cette région est aussi la plus francophone en Ontario. À Hearst, par exemple, qui compte 4980 habitants, 9 personnes sur 10 sont francophones, ce qui lui vaut à l’occasion le surnom de « village gaulois » ; à Kapuskasing, une ville de 8205 habitants, 70 % de la population est francophone. À Timmins, la plus importante ville de la région, le tiers des 41 485 habitants sont de langue maternelle française. L’Université de Hearst, qui dispense des cours à Hearst, Kapuskasing et Timmins, est la seule institution d’enseignement supérieur entièrement francophone en Ontario. Un réseau scolaire primaire et secondaire français complet conduit jusqu’à ce niveau. Entre ces villes, bien des francophones habitent les municipalités d’Iroquois Falls, Smooth Rock Falls, Moonbeam, Val Rita et d’autres. C’est dire qu’à peu près partout dans cette portion de la route transcanadienne – la route 11 ontarienne –, on peut obtenir des services en français.

Le patrimoine régional

r000800-300x191 -  - Le Nord franco-ontarien : nature, culture et chaleur humaine
La gare de Timmins vers 1920

Tout en soulignant de diverses façons la présence millénaire et contemporaine des peuples autochtones dans la région, des musées locaux mettent l’accent sur les réalisations des premiers occupants d’origine européenne. À Timmins, le Centre national d’exposition comprend deux galeries qui accueillent des expositions temporaires de partout au Canada, une boutique, des publications sur l’industrie minière de la région et des archives communautaires incluant plus de 20,000 images du camp Porcupine, où habitaient les travailleurs de la mine d’or locale entre 1908 et 1911.

a044766-v8-300x216 -  - Le Nord franco-ontarien : nature, culture et chaleur humaine
Kapuskasing en 1937

À Kapuskasing, le Musée Ron-Morel, logé dans une ancienne gare et un train, présente des expositions sur l’histoire de Kapuskasing et les services ferroviaires. Il expose également plusieurs sculptures de Maurice Gaudreault, un artiste local qui a rendu hommage aux pionniers du Nord ontarien dans sa collection J’ai souvenir encore et aux animaux de la région dans sa collection La faune. À Hearst, l’Écomusée loge dans l’une des plus anciennes maisons de la ville, construite en 1919. Il se concentre sur les origines et l’histoire de la ville ainsi que sur l’identité franco-nord-ontarienne de ses habitants. Il couvre trois dimensions centrales : la religion catholique, la spécificité locale de cette « petite patrie » francophone et l’industrie forestière qui est le moteur économique de la région. Le qualificatif d’« écomusée » fait référence à la relation dynamique qui existe entre l’homme, son environnement et ses traditions, que le musée met en évidence. La Place du marché de la scierie patrimoniale expose également des photos rappelant l’importance de l’industrie forestière à Hearst.

Les événements spéciaux et la scène culturelle

Cochrane_Ontario_2-300x168 -  - Le Nord franco-ontarien : nature, culture et chaleur humaine
Vue de Cochrane

Chaque année, à la fin du mois d’août, Timmins organise Le Festival et Grand défi canadien de kayak, un événement de trois jours. Les compétitions et démonstrations nautiques sont complétées par des spectacles, de l’animation pour la famille et un volet culture autochtone. À longueur d’année, le Centre culturel La Ronde anime la communauté : galerie d’art, librairie, bar-salon, cours et activités sociales et récréatives, incluant les représentations de la troupe de théâtre communautaire Les Maringouins du Nord, fondée en 2002, qui compte 20 pièces et 160 représentations à son actif. Seize mille personnes ont assisté à ces représentations.

Kapuskasing est une ville festive. La saison des festivals commence en hiver avec le Festival des lumières, qui se déroule de la fin novembre au mois de janvier. Le 24 juin, le Festival de la Saint-Jean a la réputation d’être la plus grosse fête de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste – patron des Canadiens français – en Ontario. Plusieurs artistes francophones participent alors au grand spectacle musical. Le Festival des bûcherons se déroule la dernière fin de semaine du mois de juillet. Au mois d’août, les pêcheurs sont conviés au Tournoi de pêche avec remise à l’eau de la rivière Kapuskasing. Avec son programme de spectacles et de pièces de théâtre et sa galerie d’art, le Centre régional des loisirs est la pierre angulaire de la culture francophone à Kapuskasing tout au cours de l’année.

À Hearst, la Corporation de développement économique a mis sur pied une Foire des saveurs qui dure deux jours, au début septembre, pour faire découvrir les produits agroalimentaires locaux et régionaux, puisque l’agriculture fait aussi partie des bases économiques de ces communautés nordiques, en conjonction avec l’industrie forestière. En soirée, des spectacles musicaux agrémentent l’événement. Tout au long de l’année, le Conseil des Arts de Hearst présente divers spectacles à la Place des Arts et accueille des expositions à la Galerie 815.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.