Loading
Home // Ontario // Heritage Sites // Canadian Parliament and Francophones of Canada
back

Canadian Parliament and Francophones of Canada

This magnificent Gothic Revival building, located in the heart of the City of Ottawa, is the seat of Canada’s federal government. Designated a Canadian National Historic Site on Parliament Hill, it is built on landscaped grounds overlooking the Ottawa River. Many great French‑Canadian politicians have made a name for themselves there since 1867, making their mark on the country’s history. Talented Francophone artisans also participated in the construction and ornamentation of the Parliament buildings, through majestic architectural sculptures. To visit Parliament in Ottawa is to discover the legacy of all these builders.

 

For more information…

A unique architectural heritage site to visit

This architectural complex is one of the most significant examples of the Gothic Revival style in Canada. It was built between 1859 and 1866 to house the government of the British colony of Canada. It was finally ready when Canada became a nation in its own right on July 1, 1867. In February 1916, however, a terrible fire destroyed most of it. Architects John Pearson and Jean Omer Marchand, from Toronto and Montreal respectively, redesigned the current building in the same style. The reconstruction was finished in 1922 and the addition of the central Peace Tower was completed in 1927.

The House of Commons and the Senate are in the Centre Block. Offices of the members of Parliament are housed in the Centre, East and West Blocks. The free tour of Centre Block focuses on history, political functions, and works of art. The public gallery enables visitors to attend proceedings in the Senate and House of Commons. It is also possible to visit the East Block—including the office of George-Étienne Cartier, one of the Fathers of Confederation.

Francophones in the federal Parliament

George-Étienne Cartier, Co‑Premier of Canada East with John A. Macdonald in the Union Government (1857–1862), led the Confederation movement. He then served as Minister of Militia and Defence (1867–1872) under the government of Macdonald, who was Canada’s first Prime Minister (1867–1896). His office, which was recently restored, provides an opportunity to discover the parliamentary life of the time. His bronze statue, the first commemorative monument on the Hill (1885), honours him as a Father of Confederation. The work was created by Louis-Philippe Hébert, who went on to do make other statues. The first French‑Canadian elected Prime Minister of Canada was Wilfrid Laurier (1896–1911). He brought Alberta and Saskatchewan into Confederation in 1905. He was portrayed by Joseph Émile Brunet, a renowned figurative sculptor originally from Montreal. Louis Saint‑Laurent also held the office of Prime Minister (1948–1957). Since then, the French language has gained more prominence in Parliament. Since 1968, prime ministers have been bilingual or native French‑speakers. Five of them were elected from Quebec, the only province with a Francophone majority: Pierre-Elliot Trudeau (1968–1979 and 1980–1984), Brian Mulroney (1984–1993), Jean Chrétien (1993–2003), Paul Martin (2003–2006) and Justin Trudeau (2015). The majority of Francophone MPs and ministers also come from Quebec, while some 20 ridings—mainly in New Brunswick and Ontario—regularly send Francophone MPs to Ottawa. Several dozen MPs from all regions of the country now have a good knowledge of French, because today it is an asset for Canadian politicians to speak both of the country’s official languages.

In the Centre Block, the Salon de la Francophonie commemorates Canada’s membership in La Francophonie. The Salon was created in 1993 with support from the Canadian chapter of the International Assembly of French‑Speaking Parliamentarians. It houses the portraits of six Kings of France from the era of New France and a bronze bust of its founder, Samuel de Champlain, and of Raoul Dandurand, Speaker of the Senate (1905–1909). The 30-metre fresco “History of Canada,” located in the House of Commons foyer, depicts Champlain with an Indigenous guide, in an Indiana limestone bas-relief.

Sculptors of Parliament

These heritage works showcase the expertise of Francophone sculptors. Cléophas Soucy, born in Quebec City in 1879, was the first Dominion Sculptor in Parliament (from 1919 to 1950). He directed up to eleven sculptors. He carved the formidable sculptures at the grand entrance to the Centre Block, the limestone altar in the Memorial Chapel, and stone high reliefs. Before his death, he prepared the models for an enormous series of limestone gables that crown the ogive arches in Confederation Hall, one of the most important ceremonial sites.

The House of Commons is decorated with wooden carvings made by his brother, Elzéar Soucy, and his nephew, Donat. His talent is reflected in the impressive oak door, along with the mullions and finials dividing the galleries and the two owls that overlook the press gallery. Maurice Joanisse was also the Dominion Sculptor (1993–2006), as well as the creator of a series of twelve high reliefs with his brother.

Documentary and archival heritage

Beneath the arches of the Senate is housed the most important series of legal records in Canada. It contains the original laws of the Parliaments, stretching more than 150 linear metres. The Senate Records include institutional records that span over 550 linear metres. The library building, shown on Canadian banknotes, houses a marble bust of Étienne-Paschal Taché. He chaired the Quebec Conference in 1864, and defended the 72 resolutions that would lead to Confederation.

Recent legislative measures to promote French as an official language

Since the 1960s, the federal government has passed laws that have had a major impact on Canada’s Francophone communities. The most recent version of the Official Languages Act (passed in 1969 and amended in 1988 and 2005) commits the federal government and its institutions to taking positive measures to promote the vitality and development of official language minority communities. This legislation has made it possible to increase the number of jobs that require a functional knowledge of French. The federal government created the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages to enforce this law.

The most important measure was undoubtedly the entrenchment of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in the Constitution Act, in 1982. Sections 16, 17, 20 and 23 of the Charter guarantee various language rights, including the right to minority-language education, where numbers warrant. Several Supreme Court of Canada decisions have clarified the exact scope of these rights. Those decisions enabled a number of Francophone communities to establish and manage their own schools. Several other federal laws promote respect for both official languages, such as the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, and the Broadcasting Act, which regulates French and English content of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

The Parliament of Canada has always been and continues to be a place of great importance for the French fact in this country. Every year on July 1, Canadians gather on Parliament Hill to celebrate Canada Day.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Sites patrimoniaux // Le Parlement canadien et les francophones du Canada
retour

Le Parlement canadien et les francophones du Canada

Ce magnifique édifice de style néogothique, situé au cœur de la ville d’Ottawa, est le siège du gouvernement fédéral du Canada. Désigné lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline-du-Parlement, il est bâti sur un terrain paysagé surplombant la rivière des Outaouais. Plusieurs grands hommes politiques du Canada français s’y illustrent dès 1867 et marquent l’histoire du pays. Des artisans francophones de talent ont aussi participé à la construction et à l’ornementation des édifices du Parlement par des sculptures architecturales grandioses. Visiter le Parlement d’Ottawa, c’est découvrir les traces de tous ces bâtisseurs.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un patrimoine architectural unique à visiter

Cet ensemble architectural figure parmi les exemples les plus importants du style néogothique au Canada. Il a été construit entre 1859 et 1866 pour abriter le gouvernement de la colonie britannique du Canada. Il est fin prêt lorsque le Canada devient un pays à part entière, le 1er juillet 1867. En février 1916, un grave incendie en ravage cependant la plus grande partie. Les architectes John Pearson et Jean Omer Marchand, respectivement de Toronto et de Montréal, redessinent l’édifice actuel dans le même style. La reconstruction s’achève en 1922 et l’ajout de la tour de la Paix centrale est complété en 1927.

La Chambre des communes et le Sénat sont dans l’édifice du Centre. Les bureaux des députés sont logés dans les édifices du Centre, de l’Est et de l’Ouest. La visite gratuite de l’édifice central est axée sur l’histoire, les fonctions politiques et les œuvres d’art. La tribune du public permet aux visiteurs d’assister aux délibérations du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes. Il est aussi possible de visiter l’édifice de l’Est, incluant le bureau de George-Étienne Cartier, l’un des pères de la Confédération.

Les francophones au Parlement fédéral

George-Étienne Cartier, co-premier ministre de l’Est du Canada avec John A. Macdonald dans le gouvernement de l’Union (1857-1862), a dirigé le mouvement de la Confédération. Il a ensuite été ministre de la Milice et de la Défense (1867-1872) sous le gouvernement de Macdonald qui a été le premier premier ministre du Canada (1867-1896). Son bureau, récemment restauré, permet de découvrir la vie parlementaire de l’époque. Sa statue en bronze, premier monument commémoratif sur la Colline (1885), l’honore à titre de père de la confédération. L’oeuvre est réalisée par Louis-Philippe Hébert, qui exécutera trois autres statues. Le premier Canadien français élu premier ministre du Canada est Wilfrid Laurier (1896-1911). Il intègre l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan dans la Confédération en 1905. Il est représenté par Joseph Émile Brunet, sculpteur figuratif de renom originaire de Montréal. Louis Saint-Laurent occupe également le poste de premier ministre (1948-1957). Par la suite, la langue française gagne en importance au Parlement d’Ottawa. Depuis 1968, les premiers ministres sont bilingues ou de langue maternelle française. Cinq d’entre eux se font élire au Québec, seule province à majorité francophone : Pierre-Elliot Trudeau (1968-1979 et 1980-1984), Brian Mulroney (1984-1993), Jean Chrétien (1993-2003), Paul Martin (2003-2006) et Justin Trudeau (2015…). La majorité des députés et ministres francophones proviennent également du Québec, alors qu’une vingtaine de circonscriptions – principalement au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Ontario – envoient régulièrement des députés francophones à Ottawa. Plusieurs dizaines de députés de toutes les régions du pays ont maintenant une bonne connaissance du français car c’est aujourd’hui un atout pour les hommes et les femmes politiques canadiens de s’exprimer dans les deux langues officielles du pays.

Dans l’édifice du Centre, le salon de la Francophonie commémore l’adhésion du Canada à la Francophonie. Créé en 1993 avec l’appui de la section canadienne de l’Assemblée internationale des parlementaires de langue française, il rassemble les portraits des six rois de France de l’époque de la Nouvelle-France, ainsi qu’un buste en bronze de son fondateur, Samuel de Champlain, et de Raoul Dandurand, président du Sénat (1905- 1909). La fresque de 30 mètres, « Histoire du Canada », située dans le hall de la Chambre des communes, représente dans un bas-relief en calcaire de l’Indiana Champlain avec un guide autochtone.

Les sculpteurs du Parlement

Le Parlement est un lieu unique de production de sculptures à plein temps. Ces œuvres patrimoniales illustrent le savoir-faire des sculpteurs sur bois et sur pierre. Cléophas Soucy, né à Québec en 1879, est le premier sculpteur en chef au Parlement (de 1919 à 1950). Il dirige jusqu’à onze sculpteurs. Il exécute les imposantes sculptures de l’entrée d’honneur de l’édifice du Centre, l’autel en calcaire de la chapelle du souvenir, des hauts-reliefs en pierre. Dans le Hall de la Confédération, l’un des plus importants lieux de cérémonies, il a préparé, avant de décéder, les modèles d’une immense série de gables en calcaire qui couronnent les arcs en ogive.

La Chambre des communes est ornée des sculptures sur bois de son frère, Elzéar Soucy et son neveu Donat. L’impressionnante porte en chêne, ainsi que les montants et fleurons qui divisent les tribunes, et les deux hiboux qui surmontent la tribune de la presse révèlent son talent. Maurice Joanisse est également sculpteur en chef (1993-2006), auteur d’une série de douze hauts-reliefs, avec son frère.

Patrimoine documentaire et archivistique

Sous les voûtes du Sénat est conservée la série d’archives légales la plus importante au Canada, qui rassemble les lois originales des Parlements sur plus de 150 mètres linéaires. Les Archives du Sénat regroupent les documents institutionnels qui s’étendent sur plus de 550 mètres linéaires. L’édifice de la bibliothèque, illustré sur les billets de banque canadiens, abrite un buste en marbre de Étienne-Paschal Taché. Président la Conférence de Québec en 1864, il y défend les 72 résolutions qui mèneront à la Confédération.

Des mesures législatives récentes pour favoriser le français, langue officielle

Depuis les années 1960, le gouvernement fédéral a voté des lois qui ont eu d’importantes répercussions sur les communautés francophones du Canada. Dans sa version la plus récente, la Loi sur les langues officielles adoptée en 1969, puis modifiée en 1988 et 2005, engage le gouvernement fédéral et ses institutions à adopter des mesures positives pour favoriser l’épanouissement et le développement des communautés minoritaires de langue officielle. Cette loi a permis de multiplier les emplois exigeant une connaissance fonctionnelle du français. Le gouvernement fédéral a créé le Commissariat aux langues officielles pour veiller à l’application de cette loi.

La mesure la plus importante est certainement l’enchâssement de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés dans la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, dont les articles 16, 17, 20 et 23 garantissent divers droits linguistiques, dont le droit à l’instruction dans une langue minoritaire, quand le nombre le justifie. Plusieurs procès et décisions de la Cour suprême du Canada ont permis de préciser la portée exacte de ces droits. La jurisprudence a conduit plusieurs communautés francophones à obtenir des écoles, ainsi que la gestion de celles-ci. Il existe plusieurs autres lois fédérales favorisant le respect des deux langues officielles, dont la Loi sur l’emballage et l’étiquetage des produits de consommation, la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, ou la Loi sur la radiodiffusion qui encadre le contenu français et anglais de la Société Radio-Canada.

Le Parlement du Canada a toujours été et continue d’être un lieu d’une grande importance pour le fait français au pays. Chaque 1er juillet, les Canadiens se rassemblent sur la Colline du Parlement pour la fête du Canada.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.