Loading
Home // Alberta // Cultural Heritage // Francophone heritage in St. Albert, Morinville and Legal
back

Francophone heritage in St. Albert, Morinville and Legal

In the late 19thcentury, a number of French-speaking families settled in Sturgeon County, just north of Edmonton. Along Highway 2 north of the capital is a corridor about 50 kilometres long running by St. Alberta, Morinville and Legal, where evidence of these francophone pioneers is in plain view. The oldest building in Alberta, the chapel built by missionary Albert Lacombe and Métis helpers in 1861, has been restored and is now an attraction in St. Albert. Displays at the local Musée Heritage Museum show how the French-speaking Métis and French Canadians contributed to the region’s development. The church and rectory in Morinville, and the nearby Notre-Dame Convent, designated Provincial Historic Resources, are wonderful examples of early 20thcentury French-Canadian architecture. In Legal, some forty murals depict significant events in the area’s francophone history, an attraction for which the town has been dubbed the “French Mural Capital of Canada”!

 

Learn more…

St. Albert, paying tribute to francophone pioneers

DSC00433-300x200 -  - Francophone heritage in St. Albert, Morinville and Legal
Statue of Father Lacombe in Saint-Albert

In the summer, interpreters at the Father Lacombe Chapel tell about the work of this diligent missionary, who founded the St. Albert pioneer mission with the help of the French-speaking Catholic Métis he ministered to. Under his supervision, they constructed a simple but solid squared-timber chapel that is now listed on the Register of Canada’s Historic Places, being the oldest building still standing in Alberta. FatherAlbert Lacombe and Bishop Vital-Justin Grandin are buried in the crypt of the St. Albert cathedral church, built in 1870 very near the chapel. Father Lacombe played a major role in dealings with the Cree and Blackfoot, who formed the majority of the population on the territory that is now Alberta. Because these Amerindians had “adopted” him and he was fluent in their language, he participated in discussions and gave them advice in the signing of treaties between them and the federal government.

a045101-v8-300x177 -  - Francophone heritage in St. Albert, Morinville and Legal
The First Church in Saint-Albert

Other local heritage attractions provide further evidence of the importance of the francophone pioneer community at St. Albert, which became the centre for Catholic missions in the Western Prairies and an Episcopal See. In 1863, the Grey Nuns opened a convent here that served as a hospital, school and orphanage. Between 1872 and 1878, Bishop Vital-Justin Grandin built an imposing rectory of three and a half storeys right beside the church, which was designated a Provincial Historic Resource in 1977. Tours of the rectory and its splendid furnishings are available on request. The Founder’sWalk is an interpretive trail showcasing St. Albert’s history and culture. Beginning at the Father Lacombe Chapel, it passes by river lots 23 and 24, currently part of a major heritage project. On these lots, which were deeded before the Hudson’s Bay Company territories were transferred to Canada and are therefore divided in the French tradition into long rectangles with river access, rather than in the English tradition of square townships, sit a handful of historic buildings. One is the Chevigny house, a two-storey wood dwelling built in the 1880s by the Chevigny brothers from Quebec, which was occupied by their descendants until the 1960s. The neighbouring lot has been occupied by descendants of the same Métis family since the time of Father Lacombe.

The Michif Cultural Institute in St. Albert, founded by retired Métis Senator Thelma Chalifoux, is dedicated to preserving and promoting the history of the local French-Canadian Métis. By 1871, this mission had one of the largest Métis populations in the West. The earliest settlers had typically Métis names like Alexis Gladu, Louis Beaupré, Pierre L’Hirondelle, Olivier Laderoute, Félix Gabriel, Norbert Bellerose and Ferdinand Coulongérard. The offspring of French-Canadian voyageurs and First Nations women, Métis shared both cultures; they were farmers, bison hunters and traders. The decline and ultimate disappearance of the buffalo meant they had to focus more on cultivating the fertile lands along the Sturgeon River. The Michif Institute is located on Mission Avenue, in the Juneau House. Built in 1895, this was the residence of Dr. Arthur Giroux, the first mayor and doctor of St. Albert. Local heritage is also being preserved by the St. Albert Musée Heritage Museum, whose mission is to showcase and promote the community’shistory and historic diversity.

Morinville’s built heritage

St_Jean_Baptiste_Church_Morinville_Alberta_Canada_01B-300x188 -  - Francophone heritage in St. Albert, Morinville and Legal
The Saint-Jean-Baptiste Church in Morinville

Missionary and colonization agent Jean-Baptiste Morin, attached to the Canadian immigration office in Montreal, settled north of St. Albert in 1891, in what was to become Morinville, named in his honour. In a few short years, he persuaded several hundred Quebec families to relocate to Alberta, despite the resentment French Canadians had been feeling since the hanging of Métis leader Louis Riel in 1885.

Father Morin was responsible for the construction of the St. Jean Baptiste Church and Rectory, completed in 1912. The province listed these buildings for their significance in the francophone colonization of Alberta and for their architecture, marrying traditional French-Canadian influences with French and British classicism, in the style of Thomas Baillairgé, a renowned 19thcentury Quebec architect. Notre-Dame Convent (in French, Notre-Dame-de-la-Visitation), run by the Daughters of Jesus teaching order of nuns, was built in 1909 and is also on Canada’s Register of Historic Places for its value as one of the few remaining examples ofthe Baillairgé style from this era in Alberta. The convent and the adjacent church and rectory form a rich and harmonious heritage landmark. Since 2009, the convent has housed the Musée de Morinville Museum, established by the Morinville Historical and Cultural Society.

Legal – Telling francophone history in pictures

DSC00447-300x204 -  - Francophone heritage in St. Albert, Morinville and Legal
Mural of the Cyr Family in Legal

In 1997, the regional French-Canadian association of Alberta ACFA Centralta, launched a large-scale project to paint a series of murals on the town’s buildings illustrating the history of Legal’s past and present francophone residents. About a dozen artists, most of them local, set about depicting pioneer families (Pelletier, Auger, Maisonneuve and others), the Grey Nuns, agricultural scenes, the St. Arnaud general store, the Legal co-op and the 75thanniversary of ACFA. There are so many murals lining the streets of this town of about 1,400 inhabitants—more than 40—that it qualifies as the largest concentration of murals per capita in the world! This tidy, colourful town, where Francophones make up 15% of the population, was named “Alberta’s best small town” by journalist Robin Esrock in 2014. Every July, a celebration of francophone culture, Fête au village, is held in Citadel Park. Legal was named after Émile-Joseph Legal, who was made bishop of St. Albert in 1902. A great builder, he designed and drew plans for several religious institutions in Alberta.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Alberta // Patrimoine culturel // Le patrimoine francophone de Saint-Albert, Morinville et Legal
retour

Le patrimoine francophone de Saint-Albert, Morinville et Legal

À la fin du 19e siècle, plusieurs familles francophones s’établissent dans le comté de Sturgeon, au nord d’Edmonton. En empruntant la route 2 à partir de la capitale, on trouve dans un couloir d’une cinquantaine de kilomètres des traces remarquables de leur présence à Saint-Albert, à Morinville et à Legal. Le plus vieux bâtiment de l’Alberta, la chapelle que le missionnaire Albert Lacombe fait construire par les Métis en 1861, est maintenant restauré et mis en valeur à Saint-Albert. Le Musée Heritage Museum témoigne également de la contribution des Métis francophones et des Canadiens français au développement de la région. À Morinville, l’église et le presbytère classés au répertoire patrimonial de l’Alberta constituent un magnifique exemple d’architecture canadienne-française du début du 20e siècle, avec le couvent voisin des Filles de Jésus. À Legal, une quarantaine de murales racontent des épisodes marquants de l’histoire francophone de cette localité, un attrait qui lui vaut le titre de « Capitale nationale des peintures murales francophones ».

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Saint-Albert : rendre hommage aux pionniers francophones

DSC00433-300x200 -  - Le patrimoine francophone de Saint-Albert, Morinville et Legal
Statue du Père Lacombe à Saint-Albert

En saison estivale, à la chapelle du père Lacombe, des guides-interprètes renseignent les visiteurs sur l’œuvre de cet infatigable missionnaire qui a fondé la mission Saint-Albert avec les Métis catholiques francophones qu’il desservait. Ceux-ci construisirent sous sa direction une chapelle en bois de type pièce sur pièce, simple et solide, qui est aujourd’hui inscrite au répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux, car elle est le plus vieux bâtiment encore debout en Alberta. Le père Albert Lacombe et l’évêque Vital-Justin Grandin sont enterrés dans la crypte de l’église-cathédrale de Saint-Albert, construite en 1870 tout près de cette chapelle. Le père Lacombe a joué un rôle très important auprès des Cris et des Pieds-Noirs, qui étaient majoritaires sur le territoire actuel de l’Alberta. Comme ceux-ci l’ont adopté et qu’il maîtrisait parfaitement leur langue, il participa aux discussions et leur conseilla de signer les traités conclus entre eux et la Couronne britannique (pour le gouvernement du Canada).

a045101-v8-300x177 -  - Le patrimoine francophone de Saint-Albert, Morinville et Legal
La première église de Saint-Albert

D’autres éléments du patrimoine témoignent de l’importance de la communauté francophone pionnière de Saint-Albert, qui devient le centre des missions dans l’ouest des Prairies et le siège d’un diocèse. En 1863, les Sœurs grises y ouvrent un couvent qui sert d’hôpital, d’école et d’orphelinat. Entre 1872 et 1878, monseigneur Vital-Justin Grandin fait construire une imposante résidence de trois étages et demi juste à côté de l’église, que le gouvernement de l’Alberta a désignée ressource historique provinciale en 1977. Il est possible de visiter cette résidence sur demande pour découvrir ses aménagements intérieurs exceptionnels. Le « Founder’s Walk », un sentier d’interprétation de l’histoire et du patrimoine de Saint-Albert, qui commence à la chapelle du père Lacombe, passe par les lots de rivière 23 et 24 qui font l’objet d’une importante mise en valeur. Sur ces terres concédées avant que la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson ne cède son territoire au Canada – elles sont donc divisées en longs rectangles avec accès à la rivière, selon la tradition française, plutôt qu’en lots carrés à l’anglaise –, on trouve quelques bâtiments patrimoniaux. C’est entre autres le cas de la maison Chevigny, une résidence en bois de deux étages construite dans les années 1880 par les frères Chevigny, originaires du Québec, que leurs descendants ont habitée jusque dans les années 1960. Les descendants d’une famille métisse ont occupé en permanence le lot voisin depuis l’époque du père Lacombe.

L’Institut de culture Michif de Saint-Albert, fondé par la sénatrice métisse Thelma Chalifoux, se consacre à la préservation et à la diffusion de l’histoire des Métis d’origine canadienne-française de Saint-Albert. Vers 1871, l’une des plus grandes populations métisses de l’Ouest habitait cette mission. Les premiers occupants portaient des noms typiquement métis comme Alexis Gladu, Louis Beaupré, Pierre L’Hirondelle, Olivier Laderoute, Félix Gabriel, Norbert Bellerose et Ferdinand Coulongérard. Issus d’unions entre les voyageurs canadiens-français de la traite des fourrures et des femmes autochtones, les Métis partageaient les deux cultures ; ils étaient cultivateurs et chasseurs de bison ainsi que commerçants. Le déclin, puis la disparition de la chasse au bison les ont forcés à pratiquer davantage l’agriculture sur les terres fertiles qui bordaient la rivière Esturgeon (Sturgeon). L’institut est situé sur l’avenue Mission, dans la maison Juneau construite en 1895, où le premier maire et médecin de Saint-Albert, le Dr Arthur Giroux, a résidé. Le Musée Heritage Museum de Saint-Albert a également pour mission de refléter et de faire connaître l’histoire et la diversité historique de ses habitants.

Le patrimoine bâti de Morinville

St_Jean_Baptiste_Church_Morinville_Alberta_Canada_01B-300x188 -  - Le patrimoine francophone de Saint-Albert, Morinville et Legal
L’église Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Morinville

Le missionnaire colonisateur Jean-Baptiste Morin, rattaché au Bureau canadien de l’immigration à Montréal, s’établit au nord de Saint-Albert en 1891, dans l’actuelle localité de Morinville, qui a été nommée en son honneur. En quelques années, il réussit à convaincre quelques centaines de familles québécoises d’immigrer en Alberta, malgré le ressentiment provoqué par la pendaison de Louis Riel, le chef des Métis, en 1885.

La construction de l’église Saint-Jean-Baptiste et du presbytère, amorcée à son initiative, est complétée en 1912. La province a classé ces bâtiments pour leur importance dans la colonisation francophone de l’Alberta et pour leur style architectural mariant l’influence traditionnelle canadienne-française et le classicisme français et britannique, à la manière de Thomas Baillairgé, un maître architecte québécois du 19e siècle. Le couvent Notre-Dame-de-la-Visitation, de l’ordre enseignant des Filles de Jésus, construit en 1909, est lui aussi inscrit au répertoire canadien des lieux patrimoniaux, car il est l’un des rares exemples de ce style et de cette période qui subsistent en Alberta. Il est situé à côté de l’église et complète harmonieusement cet ensemble patrimonial de grande valeur. Il abrite depuis 2009 le Musée de Morinville, créé par la Société historique et culturelle de Morinville.

Raconter en images l’histoire des francophones à Legal

DSC00447-300x204 -  - Le patrimoine francophone de Saint-Albert, Morinville et Legal
La murale de la famille Cyr à Legal

En 1997, l’Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta lance un projet d’envergure : peindre une série de murales sur les bâtiments de la ville pour raconter l’histoire des francophones qui ont vécu et vivent encore à Legal. Une douzaine de peintres, en majorité de la région, se mettent à l’œuvre pour illustrer les familles des pionniers, les Pelletier, Auger, Maisonneuve et autres, le travail des Sœurs grises, l’agriculture, le magasin général St. Arnaud, la coopérative de Legal ou encore le 75e anniversaire de l’Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta. Il y a tant de murales – plus de 40 – sur la rue principale et les rues transversales de cette localité de quelque 1400 habitants qu’elle présente la plus grande concentration de murales par habitant au monde ! Cette petite ville propre et colorée, où réside encore une proportion de 15 % de francophones, a été qualifiée de « meilleure petite ville d’Alberta » par le journaliste Robin Esrock en 2014. Chaque mois de juillet, on y célèbre la culture francophone lors de la Fête au village, un événement qui se déroule au Citadel Park. Legal a été nommée en l’honneur d’Émile-Joseph Legal, sacré évêque de Saint-Albert en 1902, un grand bâtisseur qui a conçu et dessiné plusieurs édifices religieux en Alberta.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.