Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Heritage Sites // The military heritage of the P’tit Sault Blockhouse in Edmundston
back

The military heritage of the P’tit Sault Blockhouse in Edmundston

In the year 2000 in Edmundston, the Madawaska Historical Society inaugurated the P’tit Sault Blockhouse, which was reconstructed on its original site, according to the original plans. This military work is a reminder of an episode that marked the history the Madawaska Acadians, namely, the bloodless conflict of Aroostook, the result of which was the division of the Acadians of the region into two separate communities, one in the United States and the other, in the British colony of Canada. The blockhouse is perched atop a promontory from which visitors can view the city and the confluence of the Saint John River and the Madawaska River. From there, guides at the P’tit Sault Blockhouse provide information of the battle techniques and lifestyle of the military who were posted at that strategic location in 1841–1842. The Aroostook War was based on a crucial issue: the delineation of the boundary between Canada and the United States.

 

For more information…

How to protect one’s territory and resist the enemy

Block_House_Junction_of_Madawaska_and_St._John_s_Rivers-300x175 -  - The military heritage of the P’tit Sault Blockhouse in Edmundston
Blockhouse at junction of Madawaska and St. Johns rivers, Philip John Bainbridge (1842)

At the highest point in the Aroostook War, between 1830 and 1842, the British built that blockhouse made of stone and solid wood in order to resist the United States’ land claims in the region. The guides/interpreters of the site explain to visitors how the blockhouse was designed to allow soldiers to defend their position for days. The double orientation of its two top stories provided access to the building’s lower floors so that it could be protected from a close-range attack. Its two canons could be fired in all directions. The large gun ports made it possible to oversee the surrounding areas and their sloped movable shutters protected the soldiers from possibly being shot by the enemy, an attack that never happened.

e011154046-v8-300x197 -  - The military heritage of the P’tit Sault Blockhouse in Edmundston
Fort at junction of Madawaska and St. Johns rivers, Philip John Bainbridge (1842)

Food supplies, water and ammunition were stored in the most solid part of the building, its first floor made of stone, which was built directly on solid rock. The soldiers carried these supplies inside by climbing up a movable ladder which, once it was pulled up, prevented the enemy from breaking into the blockhouse. A small trap dug into the floor of the second level made it possible to push away a ladder placed there by the enemy, or to throw boiling water or oil on the assailants.

Restoring the heritage site

At the end of the 1990s, members of the Madawaska Historical Society got together to revive this witness to a key period in the history of the region. They found the plans in the archives and orchestrated its faithful reconstruction in compliance with the techniques of the period. The imposing wooden beams of its walls still came from the region and although they were machine-cut, the rendering was done with an axe to make them look as they did in the past. Original artifacts and reproductions of costumes and furniture illustrate the life that the military men led in that blockhouse in 1841–1842.

A major historical issue

IB4748-300x201 -  - The military heritage of the P’tit Sault Blockhouse in Edmundston
Visitors to P’tit Sault Blockhouse

The P’tit Sault Blockhouse is part of a group of five military buildings constructed by both the Canadians and the Americans to defend their interpretations of the 1783 Treaty of Versailles, which established the border between these two countries in a way that lacked clarity. Starting in 1820, the inhabitants of the region took advantage of the rich pine forests of the Madawaska-Aroostook region by impinging on the land disputed by the neighbouring country. To prevent the growing tensions between the American and Canadian populations from degenerating into an armed conflict, strongholds were built and negotiations were initiated. On the British side, in Canada, the priority was to preserve the route of the Saint John River Valley between Lower Canada (Quebec today) and New Brunswick. In order to reach an agreement, the British agreed, through the 1842 Webster-Ashburton Treaty, to cede more land and natural resources (the most beautiful forests of huge white pines) to the Americans and determine the Canada—United States border by following the Saint John River. This still prevails today and the British were right in recognizing the importance of the Saint John River Valley as a passageway, since the Trans-Canada Highway still winds through this valley for over 200 kilometers.

The Acadian population was deeply affected

Fortin_Petit-Sault_MF_IMG_4062-300x200 -  - The military heritage of the P’tit Sault Blockhouse in Edmundston
Blockhouse interior

The negotiations, which were led without consulting the populations, severely penalized the Acadians who were the first inhabitants of European origin to settle on both sides of the Saint John River on land that had been used for millennia by the Malecite Indigenous Nation. Many of the approximately 2,000 Malecite people who were living on land ceded to the Americans were related to those who were now on the Canadian side of the border. Many Acadian and Malecite families therefore found themselves divided between two countries with different institutions, laws, ways of doing things and values. In the long run, the Madawaska Acadians created one of the most Francophone communities of New Brunswick, but their cousins in Maine, in the United States, almost lost the use of French.

The 2014 Acadian World Congress, which was held in Madawaska and in the Quebec and American bordering regions, nevertheless sparked the interest of Acadians living in Maine in their Francophone roots.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Sites patrimoniaux // Le patrimoine militaire du fortin du P’tit Sault à Edmundston
retour

Le patrimoine militaire du fortin du P’tit Sault à Edmundston

En l’an 2000, la Société historique du Madawaska inaugure à Edmundston la reconstitution du fortin du P’tit Sault, d’après les plans originaux, sur l’emplacement original. Cet ouvrage militaire rappelle un épisode marquant de l’histoire des Acadiens du Madawaska, soit la guerre non sanglante d’Aroostook qui s’est soldée par la séparation des Acadiens de la région en deux communautés distinctes, l’une aux États-Unis, l’autre dans la colonie britannique du Canada. Le fortin est perché sur un promontoire d’où les visiteurs peuvent observer la ville et le confluent du fleuve Saint-Jean et de la rivière Madawaska. De là, les guides du fortin du P’tit Sault donnent des renseignements sur les techniques de combat et le mode de vie des militaires qui étaient stationnés à cet endroit stratégique en 1841-1842. La guerre d’Aroostook portait sur un enjeu crucial : la délimitation de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

 

En savoir plus…

Comment protéger son territoire et résister à l’ennemi

Block_House_Junction_of_Madawaska_and_St._John_s_Rivers-300x175 -  - Le patrimoine militaire du fortin du P’tit Sault à Edmundston
Blockhaus au confluent de la rivière Madawaska et du fleuve Saint-Jean, Philip John Bainbridge, 1842

Au plus fort de la guerre d’Aroostook, entre 1830 et 1842, les Britanniques construisent ce blockhaus en pierre et en bois massif afin de résister aux revendications territoriales des États-Unis dans la région. Les guides-interprètes du lieu expliquent aux visiteurs comment ce fortin était conçu pour permettre aux soldats de défendre leur position pendant des jours. La double orientation de ses deux étages supérieurs donnait accès aux bases de l’édifice pour le protéger d’un assaut rapproché. Ses deux canons pouvaient tirer dans toutes les directions. Les larges meurtrières favorisaient l’observation des environs et leurs volets inclinés amovibles protégeaient les soldats d’éventuels tirs ennemis… une attaque qui ne s’est jamais produite.

e011154046-v8-300x197 -  - Le patrimoine militaire du fortin du P’tit Sault à Edmundston
Fort au confluent des rivières Madawaska et Saint-Jean, Philip John Bainbridge, 1842

Les provisions de bouche, l’eau et les munitions étaient entreposées dans la partie la plus solide de ce bâtiment, son premier étage en pierre, construite directement sur le roc. Les soldats transportaient ces provisions à l’intérieur en gravissant une échelle amovible qui, une fois remontée, empêchait l’ennemi de forcer l’entrée du fortin. Une petite trappe percée dans le plancher du deuxième étage permettait de repousser l’échelle qu’y aurait placée l’ennemi, ou de jeter de l’eau ou de l’huile bouillante sur les assaillants.

Remettre en valeur le patrimoine

À la fin des années 1990, des membres de la Société historique du Madawaska se mobilisent pour faire renaître ce témoin d’une période marquante de l’histoire régionale. Ils retrouvent les plans dans les archives et orchestrent sa reconstruction fidèle dans le respect des techniques d’époque. Les imposantes poutres de bois de ses murs proviennent encore des forêts de la région, et bien qu’elles soient sciées au moulin, l’équarrissage est terminé à la hache pour leur donner l’apparence d’autrefois. Des artéfacts originaux et des reproductions de costumes et de meubles illustrent la vie que menaient les militaires dans ce fortin en 1841-1842.

Un enjeu historique majeur

IB4748-300x201 -  - Le patrimoine militaire du fortin du P’tit Sault à Edmundston
Visiteurs au fortin du P’tit Sault

Le fortin du P’tit Sault fait partie d’un réseau de cinq bâtiments militaires construits tant par les Canadiens que les Américains pour défendre leur interprétation du traité de Versailles de 1783 qui établissait de façon assez floue la frontière entre les deux pays. À compter de 1820, les populations de la région tirent profit des riches forêts de pins de la région du Madawaska-Aroostook en empiétant sur le territoire revendiqué par le pays voisin. Pour éviter que les tensions grandissantes entre les populations américaine et canadienne ne dégénèrent en conflit armé, on construit ces places fortes et on entreprend des négociations. Du côté britannique, au Canada, la priorité est de préserver la voie de passage de la vallée du fleuve Saint-Jean entre le Bas-Canada (le Québec d’aujourd’hui) et le Nouveau-Brunswick. Afin de parvenir à un accord, les Britanniques acceptent par le traité de Webster-Ashburton de 1842 de céder davantage de territoire et de richesse naturelle (les plus belles forêts de grands pins blancs) aux Américains et de tracer la frontière canado-américaine en suivant le fleuve Saint-Jean. Cette frontière prévaut toujours aujourd’hui et les Britanniques avaient vu juste quant à l’importance de la vallée du fleuve Saint-Jean comme voie de passage puisque la route transcanadienne emprunte aujourd’hui encore cette vallée sur plus de 200 kilomètres.

La population acadienne durement touchée

Fortin_Petit-Sault_MF_IMG_4062-300x200 -  - Le patrimoine militaire du fortin du P’tit Sault à Edmundston
L’intérieur du fortin

Ces négociations menées sans consulter les populations ont fortement pénalisé les Acadiens qui étaient les premiers habitants d’origine européenne à s’établir de part et d’autre du fleuve Saint-Jean, dans ce territoire fréquenté depuis des millénaires par la nation autochtone malécite. Plusieurs des quelque 2000 Malécites qui vivaient sur les terres concédées aux Américains étaient apparentés à ceux qui se trouvaient désormais du côté canadien de la frontière. De nombreuses familles acadiennes se sont ainsi retrouvées divisées entre deux pays aux institutions, lois, façons de faire et valeurs différentes. À long terme, les Acadiens du Madawaska ont formé l’une des communautés les plus francophones du Nouveau-Brunswick, mais leurs cousins du Maine, aux États-Unis, ont presque perdu l’usage du français.

Le Congrès mondial acadien de 2014, qui a eu lieu au Madawaska et dans les régions limitrophes québécoise et américaine, a néanmoins stimulé l’intérêt pour les racines francophones des Acadiens du Maine.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.