Loading
Home // British Colombia // Heritage Sites // Victoria’s valuable francophone heritage
back

Victoria’s valuable francophone heritage

When the Hudson’s Bay Company built Fort Victoria, a trading post on the south point of Vancouver Island, in 1843, many of the employees were francophone. The Fort’s commander and future governor of British Columbia, James Douglas, spoke fluent French himself. By 1858, when the first bishop, Modeste Demers arrived and sent for the Sisters of St. Ann from Montreal to found the first school, the majority of Victoria’s population was francophone. The tides turned when this modest settlement became the port of entry for thousands of gold seekers. While there is little enduring evidence of this French period in Victoria, more known for its distinctively British feel, coming across the traces that do remain in the downtown core makes the experience ever more surprising and delightful. Not to be missed is the most important legacy of the French in Victoria: St. Ann’s Academy, now a National Historic Site.

 

Learn more …

A typically French-Canadian built heritage

Academie_saint-ann6-200x300 -  - Victoria’s valuable francophone heritage
Entrance gate to Saint Ann’s Academy, Victoria

St. Ann’s Academy as it appears today was restored in the 1990s by the British Columbia government, which acquired it in 1974, the year after the Sisters of St. Ann had stopped teaching and closed it. Visitors have access to the former parlours, now housing an interpretive centre, and the large chapel. The other sections of the building have been converted into government offices.

The impressive east wing, which is open to the public, has four storeys, a majestic staircase and a triangular pediment topped with a bell tower. It was added to the original building in 1886 and has been its façade ever since. The wing was designed by architect John Teague in the same style used by Father Joseph Michaud, born in Lower Canada (now Quebec), when he designed the first wing in 1871. Teague also incorporated elements of the Sisters of St. Ann’s motherhouse in Lachine, Quebec. This architecture, typical of 19th-century religious buildings in Quebec, makes St. Ann’s Academy truly stand out in the urban landscape of downtown Victoria.

Chapelle_academi_st_anne_int-300x200 -  - Victoria’s valuable francophone heritage
Academy Sainte-Anne chapel

The French-Canadian influence is even more pronounced in the chapel, which was actually British Columbia’s first Catholic cathedral. Brother Michaud designed it and oversaw its construction in 1858 in the style of rural churches in Lower Canada. By 1886 it had become too small, so it was moved and incorporated into the new wing of St. Ann’s Academy. Designated a historic monument by British Columbia, the former cathedral inspires reverence for its simplicity and purity. It was built of cedar from Vancouver Island and imported sequoia from California. Its polychromatic decoration, subtle gilding, original paintings and three altars carved by Brother Michaud reflect Victoria’s modest beginnings as well as the fervour of its first francophone Catholic missionaries.

The key role of the Sisters of St. Ann and Bishop Demers

20587377331_a0035a21dc_b-300x190 -  - Victoria’s valuable francophone heritage
Postcard of St. Joseph’s Hospital c. 1910

Opposite St. Ann’s Academy is the former St. Joseph’s Hospital, opened by the Sisters of St. Ann in 1876 and added to several times, once to accommodate a nursing school. Now converted into housing units, this building is another example of French-Canadian architecture, and highlights the significant role of the Sisters of St. Ann as pioneers in education and healthcare. The Royal British Columbia Museum, located steps away from the academy and the former hospital, also commemorates the legacy of the Sisters of St. Ann with an interpretive centre in the house built by Léon Morel, a Hudson’s Bay Company worker, when he arrived in Fort Victoria in 1850. The house was later acquired by Bishop Demers and it was here that the first four St. Ann nuns and an accompanying lay woman lived and taught from 1858 to 1860.

While the Sisters of St. Ann played a key role in the founding of the city of Victoria, so too did the first bishop of Vancouver Island, Modeste Demers, who was appointed in 1847. Born in Lévis, Lower Canada, he began working as a missionary on the Pacific coast in 1838. Appointed bishop for a territory that was essentially Indian because of his facility with native languages and his ethos of hard work, he travelled for several years trying to acquire funds and personnel for his new diocese before returning to Victoria in 1852. He befriended James Douglas and worked closely with him to develop the trading post that would become the capital of British Columbia. Modeste Demers is buried in the crypt of St. Andrew’s Cathedral. A headstone in his honour is located on the lawn to the left of the entrance.

Other heritage assets in downtown Victoria

On the initiative of the Association historique francophone de Victoria and the Greater Victoria Civic Archives Society, bricks inscribed with the names of the city’s pioneers were laid in Government Street between Broughton and View streets. Many of these names are French, paying tribute to French Canadians and French-speaking Métis who helped build Fort Victoria, employees of the Hudson’s Bay Company, missionaries from Lower Canada, Belgium or France, nuns from Montreal, and various business people and professionals.

16872511340_657a86f6ce_o-300x192 -  - Victoria’s valuable francophone heritage
Interior of St. Andrew’s Cathedral c. 1910

Victoria’s second Catholic cathedral, St. Andrew’s Cathedral, was designed by Montreal architects Maurice Perrault and Albert Mesnard and built in 1892. Located at the corner of View Street and Blanshard Street, and the place where Modeste Demers is buried, it is well worth a visit. Lastly, on Belleville Street, curious tourists may wish to visit the Pendray House, built in 1895. Acquired by the Sisters of Notre-Dame-des-Anges in 1939 to establish a boarding house for young women, it has a magnificent reception room that for many years was rented by the Club canadien-français de Victoria for festivities on Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day, the French Canadians’ national holiday. A plaque at the entrance to Pendray Restaurant commemorates this era.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Colombie-Britannique // Sites patrimoniaux // Le précieux héritage francophone de Victoria
retour

Le précieux héritage francophone de Victoria

Lorsque la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson construit le fort Victoria, un poste de traite de fourrures sur la pointe sud de l’île de Vancouver, en 1843, plusieurs de ses employés sont francophones. Le commandant du fort et futur gouverneur de la Colombie-Britannique, James Douglas, parle lui-même couramment le français. Lorsque le premier évêque Modeste Demers s’y installe et fait venir des sœurs de Sainte-Anne de Montréal pour y fonder une première école, en 1858, la majorité des habitants de Victoria sont francophones. La situation bascule lorsque ce modeste établissement devient la porte d’entrée de milliers de chercheurs d’or. S’il reste aujourd’hui peu de traces de cette période française à Victoria, plutôt réputée pour son cachet britannique, les découvrir au cœur du centre-ville historique n’en est que plus agréable. Il ne faut surtout pas manquer le plus important patrimoine francophone de Victoria : l’académie Sainte-Anne, un lieu historique national.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un patrimoine bâti typiquement canadien-français

Academie_saint-ann6-200x300 -  - Le précieux héritage francophone de Victoria
Portail de l’Académie Sainte-Anne de Victoria

L’académie Sainte-Anne, telle qu’on peut la visiter aujourd’hui, a été restaurée dans les années 1990 par le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, qui l’a acquise en 1974, un an après que les sœurs de Sainte-Anne ont cessé d’enseigner et fermé l’établissement. Les visiteurs ont accès au parloir converti en centre d’interprétation et à la grande chapelle. Les autres sections du bâtiment ont été converties en bureaux pour le gouvernement.

L’aile est, ouverte au public, est impressionnante avec ses quatre étages, son escalier monumental et son fronton triangulaire surmonté d’un clocher. Elle a été ajoutée à l’édifice initial en 1886 et en constitue depuis la façade. L’architecte John Teague l’a dessinée dans le style que le frère Joseph Michaud, natif du Bas-Canada (le Québec actuel), avait donné au bâtiment construit en 1871. Teague s’est aussi inspiré de la maison mère des sœurs de Sainte-Anne à Lachine, au Québec. C’est pourquoi l’architecture de l’académie Sainte-Anne se démarque dans le paysage urbain de Victoria avec son style typique des établissements religieux du Québec au 19e siècle.

Chapelle_academi_st_anne_int-300x200 -  - Le précieux héritage francophone de Victoria
L’intérieur de la chapelle de l’Académie Sainte-Anne

L’influence canadienne-française est encore plus prononcée dans la chapelle, qui est en réalité la première cathédrale catholique de la Colombie-Britannique. Le frère Michaud l’a conçue et en a dirigé la construction en 1858 sur le modèle des églises rurales du Bas-Canada. Devenue trop petite en 1886, elle a été déménagée et incorporée à la nouvelle aile de l’académie Sainte-Anne. Classée monument historique par la Colombie-Britannique, l’ancienne cathédrale inspire le recueillement par sa fraîcheur et sa simplicité. Elle est construite en bois de cèdre de l’île de Vancouver et en séquoia importé de Californie. Sa décoration polychrome, ses dorures discrètes, ses tableaux d’origine et les trois autels sculptés par le frère Michaud évoquent les modestes débuts de Victoria ainsi que la ferveur de ses premiers religieux catholiques francophones.

Le rôle clé des sœurs de Sainte-Anne et de l’évêque Demers

20587377331_a0035a21dc_b-300x190 -  - Le précieux héritage francophone de Victoria
Carte postale représentant l’Hôpital Saint-Joseph, vers 1910

Juste en face de l’académie Sainte-Anne se trouve l’ancien hôpital Saint-Joseph, ouvert par les sœurs de Sainte-Anne en 1876, agrandi par la suite et doté d’une école d’infirmières. Cet édifice aujourd’hui converti en logements rappelle lui aussi l’influence architecturale canadienne-française, et surtout le rôle clé joué par les sœurs de Sainte-Anne en tant que pionnières de l’éducation et des soins de santé. Le Musée royal de la Colombie-Britannique, situé à deux pas de l’académie et de l’ancien hôpital, tient lui aussi à commémorer ce rôle en exposant la maison qu’a construite Léon Morel, un employé de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, à son arrivée au fort Victoria en 1850. C’est dans cette maison acquise par l’évêque Demers que les quatre premières sœurs de Sainte-Anne et leur accompagnatrice laïque ont logé et enseigné de 1858 à 1860.

Le rôle primordial des sœurs de Sainte-Anne dans les fondements de la ville de Victoria ne peut faire ombrage à celui du premier évêque du diocèse de l’île de Vancouver, Modeste Demers, nommé en 1847. Il est né à Lévis, au Bas-Canada, et œuvre comme missionnaire sur la côte ouest à compter de 1838. Nommé évêque d’un territoire essentiellement autochtone parce qu’il connaissait bien les langues indigènes et qu’il avait l’énergie des bâtisseurs, il consacre plusieurs années à trouver des ressources pour son nouveau diocèse avant de revenir à Victoria en 1852. Il devient un ami de James Douglas et tous deux collaborent au développement du poste de traite qui allait devenir la capitale de la Colombie-Britannique. Modeste Demers est enterré dans la crypte de la cathédrale Saint Andrew. Sa stèle commémorative se trouve à gauche du portail d’entrée.

D’autres traces patrimoniales au centre-ville

À l’initiative de l’Association francophone historique de Victoria et de la Greater Victoria Civic Archives Society, des briques portant le nom de pionniers de la ville ont été insérées sur la rue Government entre les rues Broughton et View. Plusieurs sont francophones, bâtisseurs canadiens-français ou métis francophones du fort Victoria, employés de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, missionnaires du Bas-Canada, de Belgique ou de France, religieuses venues de Montréal, et divers gens d’affaires ou professionnels.

16872511340_657a86f6ce_o-300x192 -  - Le précieux héritage francophone de Victoria
L’intérieur de la cathédrale St. Andrew, vers 1910

La seconde cathédrale catholique de Victoria, l’église Saint Andrew, est construite en 1892 d’après les plans des architectes montréalais Maurice Perrault et Albert Mesnard. Située au coin des rues View et Blanshard, où est enterré Modeste Demers, elle vaut le détour. Enfin, sur la rue Belleville, les curieux jetteront un coup d’œil à la maison Pendray, construite en 1895. Acquise par les sœurs Notre-Dame-des-Anges en 1939 pour y établir une pension pour jeunes femmes célibataires, elle abrite une magnifique salle de réception que le Club canadien-français de Victoria a longtemps louée pour célébrer la Saint-Jean-Baptiste, fête nationale des Canadiens français. Une plaque commémorative posée à l’entrée du restaurant Pendray rappelle cette époque.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.