Loading
Home // Manitoba // Cultural Heritage // The cathedrals of St. Boniface: homage to the resilience of Franco-Manitobans
back

The cathedrals of St. Boniface: homage to the resilience of Franco-Manitobans

Entering St. Boniface Cathedral today is a unique experience, as it was built between the previous cathedral’s high stone walls, which remained standing after the building was ravaged by fire in 1968. Franco-Manitoban architect Étienne Gaboury, who designed and decorated the current cathedral, was well aware of the people’s attachment to the largest Western Canadian church, built at the beginning of the 20th century to showcase the strength of the Franco-Manitoban community. Thanks to this bold concept, the faithful still pray on the very spot where six churches have succeeded one another since the first Francophone missionaries arrived at the Red River in 1818. This cathedral is a fundamental piece of Franco-Manitoban heritage and identity. It has withstood every ordeal and has always risen up from its ashes.

 

To learn more…

A church that reflects today’s tastes, and today’s costs

fete_de_la_culture_cathedrale_de_saint-boniface_06-300x199 -  - The cathedrals of St. Boniface: homage to the resilience of Franco-Manitobans
Culture Days

The current church, constructed of wood, glass and brown patinated steel, is a large building. Its lateral stained-glass windows, designed by Étienne Gaboury himself, renew Christian imagery in clean and elegant forms, and the cathedral’s large interior spaces invite us to spend a moment of quiet reflection. When we approach the threshold by crossing the nave of the previous cathedral, the new church seems small, because the colossal stone wall of the cathedral that burned down in 1968 dominate both the visitor and the new church.

The current cathedral is smaller than the previous one, since the number of faithful no longer justified such an immense place of worship. Although many parishioners wanted to reconstruct the building exactly like the former cathedral, this option would have been ruinously expensive. Since completely demolishing the vestiges of the edifice known as Langevin’s Cathedral, the pride of the community, was inconceivable after the loss of this identity symbol, Gaboury’s proposal was the better compromise.

Preserving the cultural landscape and memory

shsb1905-300x196 -  - The cathedrals of St. Boniface: homage to the resilience of Franco-Manitobans
Archbishop Langevin’s cathedral, construction begun 1905

The long-term conservation of the stone walls of Langevin’s Cathedral, which saved the major features of this Romanesque Revival building, considered to be the finest example of French Romanesque architecture in Manitoba, preserves the cultural landscape of the historic centre of the Franco-Manitoban community. This site is so important that in 1994 the government designated it as one of Manitoba’s provincial heritage sites.

mf_p1000989-225x300 -  - The cathedrals of St. Boniface: homage to the resilience of Franco-Manitobans
Louis Riel’s gravestone

One of the oldest and most significant Catholic cemeteries in Western Canada is located in front of the cathedral. Every year, on November 16, a ceremony commemorating the death of Louis Riel is celebrated in front of his tomb. Jean-Baptiste Lagimodière and his wife Marie-Anne Gaboury, the French Canadians considered to be the founding couple of the Franco-Manitoban community, are buried there, along with a number of bishops and prominent religious men and women. In the summer, the show Sur les traces de Riel is performed there, telling visitors about the rich heritage of St. Boniface and about the contribution of French Canadians and Francophone Métis to the history of Manitoba.

The history of the cathedrals of St. Boniface

msb_0141-300x163 -  - The cathedrals of St. Boniface: homage to the resilience of Franco-Manitobans
Third St. Boniface Cathedral, 1863

Abbé Norbert Provencher, the first missionary to serve the community of Red River, built a small wooden church as soon as he arrived in 1818. The next year, he started the construction of a second, larger church, which was completed in 1825. This was the building project to which Lord Selkirk, the principal shareholder of the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC), wanted to contribute. At the time, he had just established a Scottish Catholic community in the region. To relax the tense relations between the Anglophones of the HBC and the Francophones of the North West Company, the two great rival corporations in the fur trade, he made the gift of a bell made in England for Provencher’s new church. This bell is now exhibited in St. Boniface Museum.

shsb9368-300x207 -  - The cathedrals of St. Boniface: homage to the resilience of Franco-Manitobans
Cathedral fire, July 2, 1968

From 1832 to 1839, Provencher had an imposing church built with two high twin towers, impressing all visitors to St. Boniface. In 1860, however, a fire destroyed this edifice, which had become a cathedral when the diocese of St. Boniface was created in 1847. Bishop Taché, who succeeded Provencher, hastened to replace it with a smaller church, with a single spire, on the same site. In the early 20th century, the Catholic population of St. Boniface, which was essentially Francophone, numbered some 5,000 people. The church could not accommodate all the faithful. Archbishop Langevin then decided to undertake the construction of a larger cathedral, which would be worthy of the seat of the archdiocese of St. Boniface, the hierarchical centre of the Catholic Church in Western Canada, and reflect the confidence of the Franco-Manitoban community at a time when Winnipeg was becoming the metropolis of the West and was welcoming an ever-increasing number of Anglophone residents. The cost exceeded $200,000, a fortune at the time. The loan that had to be taken out to finance the project was to be amortized over a period of 40 years, commencing in 1906. Inaugurated in 1908, this majestic cathedral remained the largest church in the West until it succumbed to fire in 1968. Today, it has been replaced by Gaboury’s cathedral, now firmly planted in the chancel of Langevin’s cathedral.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Patrimoine culturel // La cathédrale de Saint-Boniface : un hommage à la résilience des Franco-Manitobains
retour

La cathédrale de Saint-Boniface : un hommage à la résilience des Franco-Manitobains

Pénétrer dans la cathédrale de Saint-Boniface aujourd’hui est une expérience unique, car elle est construite entre les hauts murs de pierre de la cathédrale précédente, qui sont restés debout après l’incendie qui l’a ravagée en 1968. L’architecte franco-manitobain Étienne Gaboury, qui a conçu et décoré la cathédrale actuelle, connaissait l’attachement de la population à la plus grande église de l’Ouest canadien, construite au début du 20e siècle pour affirmer la force de la communauté franco-manitobaine. Grâce à ce concept audacieux, les fidèles prient toujours à l’endroit où six églises se sont succédé depuis l’arrivée des missionnaires francophones à la rivière Rouge, en 1818. Cette cathédrale est un élément fondamental du patrimoine et de l’identité franco-manitobains. Elle résiste aux épreuves et renaît constamment de ses cendres.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Une église au goût et au coût du jour

fete_de_la_culture_cathedrale_de_saint-boniface_06-300x199 -  - La cathédrale de Saint-Boniface : un hommage à la résilience des Franco-Manitobains
La cathédrale lors de la Fête de la culture

L’église actuelle, construite en bois, en verre et en acier brun patiné, est un grand bâtiment. Les vitraux latéraux, dessinés par Étienne Gaboury, renouvellent l’imagerie chrétienne dans des formes épurées et ses grands espaces intérieurs invitent au recueillement. Néanmoins, quand le visiteur approche de son seuil, en traversant la nef de la cathédrale précédente, la nouvelle église semble petite, car les murs de pierre colossaux de la cathédrale incendiée en 1968 dominent tant le visiteur que la nouvelle église.

La cathédrale actuelle est plus petite que la précédente, car le nombre de fidèles ne justifiait plus que la paroisse se dote d’un lieu de culte aussi vaste. Bien des paroissiens auraient souhaité la reconstruire à l’identique, mais cette option aurait été ruineuse. Comme la démolition pure et simple des vestiges de la cathédrale dite de Langevin, fierté de la communauté, était inconcevable après la perte de ce symbole identitaire, la proposition de l’architecte Gaboury s’est avérée le meilleur compromis.

Préserver le paysage culturel et la mémoire

shsb1905-300x196 -  - La cathédrale de Saint-Boniface : un hommage à la résilience des Franco-Manitobains
La cathédrale de Mgr. Langevin

La conservation à long terme des murs de pierre de la cathédrale de Langevin, qui sauvegarde les grandes lignes architecturales de cet édifice de style néo-roman, considéré comme le plus bel exemple de l’architecture romanesque française au Manitoba, préserve le paysage culturel du centre historique de la communauté franco-manitobaine. L’importance de ce lieu est si grande qu’il a été désigné site provincial du patrimoine du Manitoba par le gouvernement en 1994.

mf_p1000989-225x300 -  - La cathédrale de Saint-Boniface : un hommage à la résilience des Franco-Manitobains
La stèle de Louis Riel

Devant la cathédrale s’étend l’un des cimetières catholiques les plus anciens et les plus significatifs de l’Ouest canadien. Chaque année, le 16 novembre, une cérémonie commémorant la mort de Louis Riel s’y déroule devant sa tombe. Jean-Baptiste Lagimodière et sa femme, Marie-Anne Gaboury, les Canadiens français considérés comme le couple fondateur de la communauté franco-manitobaine, y sont aussi enterrés, ainsi que quelques évêques, religieux et religieuses marquants. Durant l’été, on y présente le spectacle Sur les traces de Riel, qui informe les visiteurs sur le riche patrimoine de Saint-Boniface et la contribution des Canadiens français et des Métis francophones à l’histoire du Manitoba.

L’histoire des églises et cathédrales de Saint-Boniface

msb_0141-300x163 -  - La cathédrale de Saint-Boniface : un hommage à la résilience des Franco-Manitobains
La troisième cathédrale de Saint-Boniface

L’abbé Norbert Provencher, premier missionnaire en poste à la rivière Rouge, construit une petite église en bois dès son arrivée en 1818. L’année suivante, il entame la construction d’une seconde église, plus grande, qui sera terminée en 1825 et à laquelle Lord Selkirk, le principal actionnaire de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (CBH), veut contribuer. Il vient d’établir une communauté écossaise catholique dans la région. Pour améliorer les relations tendues entre les anglophones de la CBH et les francophones de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, les deux grandes entreprises rivales de la traite des fourrures, il fait cadeau d’une cloche fabriquée en Angleterre pour la nouvelle église de Provencher. Cette cloche est aujourd’hui exposée au Musée de Saint-Boniface.

shsb9368-300x207 -  - La cathédrale de Saint-Boniface : un hommage à la résilience des Franco-Manitobains
L’incendie de la cathédrale

De 1832 à 1839, Provencher fait ériger une imposante église à deux hauts clochers jumeaux qui impressionnent tous les visiteurs de passage à Saint-Boniface. Mais en 1860, un incendie détruit cet édifice devenu cathédrale lors de la création du diocèse de Saint-Boniface en 1847. L’évêque Taché, qui succède à Provencher, se dépêche de la remplacer par une église plus petite, à clocher unique, sur le même site. Au début du 20e siècle, la population catholique essentiellement francophone de Saint-Boniface atteint 5000 personnes. L’église ne peut contenir tous les fidèles. L’archevêque Langevin décide alors de construire une cathédrale de grande ampleur, qui serait digne du siège de l’archidiocèse de Saint-Boniface, centre hiérarchique de l’Église catholique dans l’Ouest canadien, et reflèterait la confiance de la communauté franco-manitobaine au moment où Winnipeg devient la métropole de l’ouest et accueille toujours plus d’habitants anglophones. Le coût de la plus grande église de l’Ouest dépasse les 200 000 $, une fortune à l’époque. L’emprunt nécessaire sera amorti sur une période de 40 ans à compter de 1906. Inaugurée en 1908, cette majestueuse cathédrale sera malheureusement la proie des flammes en 1968. Aujourd’hui, la cathédrale de Gaboury, enracinée dans le chœur de la cathédrale de Langevin, la remplace.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.