Loading
Home // Québec // Agrotourism // Cheeses, star products of Quebec agri-tourism
back

Cheeses, star products of Quebec agri-tourism

Cheese making has evolved remarkably in Quebec, where some 350 different varieties of cheese are produced, from mild to very strong, in almost every region of the province. Their colourful names reflect the creativity of the artisans that make them and the attachment to the land: Pied-De-Vent des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Ciel de Charlevoix, Mi-Carême de L’Isle-aux-Grues, Louis d’or de Warwick or Grand 2, made on Rang 2, Grondines, Quebec. Food lovers are particularly fond of these authentic hand-crafted cheeses, which have won many national and international awards. Visiting Quebec’s cheese factories is a delicious way to discover la Belle Province.

 

To learn more…

Cheeses, at the heart of Quebec food heritage

fromage_qc_13-300x169 -  - Cheeses, star products of Quebec agri-tourism
Tourist signs

There are a hundred or so cheese factories in Quebec, which make more than half the cheese produced in Canada, or about 215,000 tonnes. Cheese makers cultivate recognition of their cheeses, which are superb ambassadors of Quebec regional know-how and the local areas that produce them. Enhancing the excellence of Quebec cheeses generates spinoff in cities and the regions, as well as in the restaurant and agri-tourism industries and at festivals, such as the Cheddar Cheese Museum in Saint-Prime and the Montreal Cheese Festival, or along the Quebec gourmet cheese trail known as the Route des fromages fins.

A number of Quebec cheeses have won prestigious awards in competitions like the World Championship Cheese Contest or the Grand Prix of Canadian Cheeses. The Quebec cheese industry began in New France, developed under the English Regime, and continued into the first decades of Canadian Confederation. Over the last thirty years, the cheese sector has virtually exploded!

An ancient heritage in a new setting

ecomusee-charlevoix-300x176 -  - Cheeses, star products of Quebec agri-tourism
Charlevoix Cheese Economuseum

Dairy cows were introduced into New France in the first decade of the 17th century, and the French who immigrated to the colony brought their cheese making traditions with them. The first documented production of cheese was around 1690 at the Island of Orléans, near Quebec City. This was “Saint Peter’s Delight”, small cow’s milk cheese with a Camembert flavour. The recipe for this cheese has been passed on from generation to generation, and a version similar to the old recipe can be tasted at Fromages de l’Isle d’Orléans. However, at the time of New France, cheeses imported from England and Holland had a better reputation.

After 1763, with the arrival of the British, and even more so with the influx of Loyalist immigrants fleeing the American Revolution, cheese production was transformed by the introduction of new processes. Hard, cheddar-type cheese began to appear.

Quebec cheddar conquers the world

In the early 1830s, most of the cheese consumed in Lower Canada (what is now Quebec) was from the United States. To address the situation, measures were taken to improve dairy cow breeds and develop the domestic production of butter and cheese. These measures produced excellent results. Thanks these new processes, cheese production grew exponentially and cheddar became one of the stars of Quebec’s agricultural economy.

fromage_qc_3-300x219 -  - Cheeses, star products of Quebec agri-tourism
Cheese-making at École de laiterie de Saint-Hyacinthe, 1945

In 1881, Édouard Barnard and Jean-Charles Chapais (son) founded the first cheese making school in North America, at Saint-Denis-de-Kamouraska. Eleven years later, the first Canadian dairy school opened in Saint-Hyacinthe. The school provided education in the most up-to-date techniques in bacteriology, nutrition and chemistry. Canada was one of the first countries to apply pasteurization and enact legislation to improve safety in the dairy industry.

At the turn of the 20th century, thanks to improvements in transportation and refrigeration, millions of boxes of Quebec cheese were shipped annually to the British Isles. The English considered Quebec cheddar to be the best in the world.

Diversification of cheeses in Quebec

a020033-300x195 -  - Cheeses, star products of Quebec agri-tourism
Oka cheese factory, 1926

For a long time, cheddar was the dominant feature in the Quebec cheese landscape, except for Oka Cheese, made by the Trappistes Monks in Oka starting in 1893. It was immigrants from Italy, Greece and Germany, after the World Wars, who introduced Quebecers to mozzarella, ricotta, feta, marbled cheese and many other types. Demand put pressure on producers to innovate. The monks of the abbey of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac, for example, created Bleu l’Ermite in 1943. Then, in the 1970s, dozens of artisanal cheese makers and micro-cheese manufacturers started to use cow’s milk, goat’s milk and sheep’s milk to fabricate many specialty cheeses. At the same time, the Latin and epicurean heritage of Quebecers was awakening, leading to an increasingly diverse cheese market.

Today, Quebec’s many gourmet trails encourage you to buy an astonishing variety of excellent cheeses. Visitors can go directly to welcoming artisanal cheese factories or buy products in specialized shops and fine groceries stores.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Agrotourisme // Les fromages, produit vedette de l’agrotourisme québécois
retour

Les fromages, produit vedette de l’agrotourisme québécois

La fabrication de fromages a connu une remarquable évolution au Québec, où l’on produit aujourd’hui quelque 350 variétés de fromages différents, des plus doux aux plus corsés, dans presque toutes les régions de la province. Leurs noms évoquent la créativité des artisans et l’ancrage au territoire : Pied-De-Vent des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Ciel de Charlevoix, Mi-Carême de L’Isle-aux-Grues, Louis d’or de Warwick ou Grand 2, fabriqué dans le rang 2 des Grondines. Les gourmands se régalent de ces fromages authentiques et souvent artisanaux, dont l’excellence est reconnue par de nombreux prix nationaux et internationaux. Visiter les fromageries du Québec est une délicieuse façon de découvrir la Belle Province.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Les fromages, au cœur du patrimoine alimentaire québécois

fromage_qc_13-300x169 -  - Les fromages, produit vedette de l’agrotourisme québécois
Panneau d’indications touristiques

On compte une centaine de fromageries sur le territoire québécois qui fabriquent plus de la moitié de tout le fromage produit au Canada, soit autour de 215 000 tonnes. Les producteurs et artisans fromagers veillent à la reconnaissance de ces formidables ambassadeurs des savoir-faire régionaux et des terroirs où ils sont produits. Leur mise en valeur entraîne des retombées dans les centres urbains et les régions, tant en restauration qu’en agrotourisme ou dans les festivals, par exemple au Musée du fromage cheddar à Saint-Prime, à la Fête des fromages d’ici, à Montréal, ou le long de la Route des fromages fins du Québec.

Plusieurs fromages québécois remportent des prix prestigieux dans des concours comme le World Championship Cheese Contest ou le Grand Prix des fromages canadiens. Leur histoire commence à l’époque de la Nouvelle-France, se développe au Régime anglais et se poursuit dans les premières décennies de la Confédération canadienne. Ces trente dernières années, Elle a littéralement explosé !

Un héritage ancien dans un terroir neuf

ecomusee-charlevoix-300x176 -  - Les fromages, produit vedette de l’agrotourisme québécois
Économusée du fromage de Charlevoix

Des vaches laitières sont introduites en Nouvelle-France dès la première décennie du 17e siècle et les immigrants français amènent avec eux leurs traditions fromagères. La première production documentée de fromage débute vers 1690 à l’île d’Orléans, près de Québec : il s’agit du « raffiné de Saint-Pierre », petit fromage de lait de vache à saveur de camembert. Sa recette s’est transmise de génération en génération jusqu’à aujourd’hui et l’on peut en déguster une version semblable à celle d’autrefois à la ferme Fromages de l’Isle d’Orléans. Mais à l’époque de la Nouvelle-France, ce sont les fromages importés d’Angleterre et de Hollande qui ont la meilleure réputation.

Après 1763, avec l’arrivée des Britanniques et plus encore des immigrants loyalistes qui fuient la révolution américaine, la production fromagère se transforme par l’introduction de nouveaux procédés de fabrication. Les fromages à pâte ferme de type cheddar font leur apparition.

Le cheddar québécois à la conquête du monde

Au début des années 1830, la plus grande partie du fromage consommé au Bas-Canada (le Québec d’aujourd’hui) provient des États-Unis. Pour remédier à cette situation, on instaure des mesures pour améliorer les races de vaches laitières et développer la production domestique de beurre et de fromage. Ces mesures portent fruit. À la faveur de nouveaux procédés, la production de fromage connaît une croissance exponentielle et le cheddar devient l’un des fleurons de l’économie agricole québécoise.

fromage_qc_3-300x219 -  - Les fromages, produit vedette de l’agrotourisme québécois
Fabrication de fromage à l’École de laiterie de la province de Québec à Saint-Hyacinthe, 1945

En 1881, Édouard Barnard et Jean-Charles Chapais (fils) fondent la première fromagerie-école en Amérique du Nord, à Saint-Denis-de-Kamouraska. Onze ans plus tard, la première école de laiterie canadienne ouvre ses portes à Saint-Hyacinthe. On y enseigne les techniques de pointe en bactériologie, en nutrition et en chimie. Le Canada est l’un des premiers pays à appliquer les techniques de pasteurisation et à promulguer des lois destinées à l’industrie laitière en matière d’hygiène.

Au tournant du 20e siècle, grâce à l’amélioration du transport et de la réfrigération, des millions de caisses de cheddar québécois sont expédiées aux îles britanniques chaque année. Les Anglais le considèrent comme le meilleur au monde.

Diversification des fromages au Québec

a020033-300x195 -  - Les fromages, produit vedette de l’agrotourisme québécois
Fromagerie à Oka en 1926

Le cheddar domine pendant longtemps le paysage fromager québécois, à l’exception du fromage Oka, fabriqué par les Pères trappistes à partir de 1893 à Oka. Ce sont les immigrants venus d’Italie, de Grèce ou d’Allemagne, après les guerres mondiales, qui introduisent au Québec les mozzarella, ricotta ou feta, les pâtes persillées et bien d’autres types de fromage. La demande pousse les producteurs à innover. Les moines de l’abbaye Saint-Benoît-du-Lac créent par exemple le Bleu l’Ermite en 1943. Puis, à partir des années 1970, des dizaines de fromageries artisanales et de microfromageries utilisent le lait de vache, de chèvre et de brebis pour fabriquer de nombreux fromages de spécialité. L’héritage latin et épicurien des Québécois s’éveille en même temps et crée un marché propice à la multiplication de ces produits fins.

Aujourd’hui, les nombreux parcours gourmands proposés au Québec vous invitent à déguster une étonnante variété d’excellents fromages fins, en vous rendant directement dans les accueillantes fromageries artisanales, ou en vous procurant leurs produits dans les boutiques spécialisées et les bonnes épiceries.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.