Loading
Home // Newfoundland and Labrador // Heritage Sites // Castle Hill-Plaisance National Historic Site: an unparalleled perspective of history
back

Castle Hill-Plaisance National Historic Site: an unparalleled perspective of history

Castle Hill is located atop a high hill where visitors can enjoy a spectacular view of the bay and town of Placentia. This Parks Canada site emphasizes the rivalry between the French and British for the possession of Newfoundland by means of the remnants of Fort-Royal, which protected the French colony of Plaisance, founded in 1662. Plaisance was used to supply andsupportthe French cod fishermen who had been fishing the Grand Banks and along the coasts of Newfoundland since the 16th century. The fort repelled three enemy attacks before being ceded to the British by treaty, along with the entire island of Newfoundland, in 1713. The British renamed thefortified site Castle Hill and used it until 1811.

 

To learn more…

Lively interpretation

cartebellin-300x224 -  - Castle Hill-Plaisance National Historic Site: an unparalleled perspective of history
Map of the Bay, Harbour and Port of Placentia on the Island of Newfoundland By Jacques Nicolas Bellin and Pierre-François-Xavier de Charlevoix, Paris, 1755

Using artifacts unearthed on the site, exhibits at the welcome centre reveal a myriad of information on the day-to-day life of the French inhabitants who lived in or passed through Plaisance in the second half of the 17th century. The hiking trails still lead to the vestiges of Fort Royal-Castle Hill, which dominates the bay. By strolling through the earthworks and stone walls that surround the artillery batteries, visitors can enjoy a panoramic view of the surrounding areas, like the soldiers of yesteryear. Outdoor interpretation activities show visitors how to put up a tent or light a fire. Facilitators personify fishermen, merchants, soldiers and colonial governors. Visitors are thus able to delve into history. They may also opt for an independent visit, guided by a mobile application.

A coveted fishing locale

castle-hill-2006-flickr-cc-robert_hiscock-300x225 -  - Castle Hill-Plaisance National Historic Site: an unparalleled perspective of history
View from Castle Hill

Starting in the mid-16th century, approximately 500 French, Spanish, English, Portuguese and Basque ships fished cod every year in the fish-bearing waters of Newfoundland’s banks and coasts.The fishermen then prepared and dried the cod in small camps set up on land before returning to Europe. France founded the colony of Plaisance to protect its interests against the English fishermen who had settled in St. John’s. Although relations between the French and English fishermen were generally peaceful, many skirmishes occurred in wartime. And there were many wars between these two rival great powers.

Plaisance is very conveniently located: aside from the fact that it is on a strategic, easily defensible promontory, the Bay of Plaisance becomes ice-free in early spring. It thus enabled French fishermen to quickly resume sailing and gave them a competitive advantage.

A powerful French presence

Placentia_Bay_from_the_look_out_at_Castle_Hill-300x225 -  - Castle Hill-Plaisance National Historic Site: an unparalleled perspective of history
Placentia Bay

Between 1678 and 1688, at the height of the French presence in the region, some 20,000 fishermen fished off the many banks and along the coasts of Newfoundland from May and September. However, the great majority of these fishermen did not live permanently in Plaisance or elsewhere in Newfoundland. The permanent population did not exceed 700 individuals, including members of religious orders and the military. A third of them lived in Plaisance, while the rest were scattered in the small coastal villages of Baie-Fortune, Cap-Nègre, Grand-Banc, Havre-Bertrand, Petit-Plaisance, L’Hermitage or Pointe-Verte.

The Treaty of Utrecht and the English period

A-View-of-the-Town-and-Harbour-of-Placentia-from-the-Hill-aback-of-the-Town-300x81 -  - Castle Hill-Plaisance National Historic Site: an unparalleled perspective of history
View of the City and Port of Placentia. By J.S. Meres, 1786

Built between 1693 and 1703, Fort Royal played its defensive role for a number of years. It enabled the French to hang on to Plaisance by repelling assaults by the British, who wanted to become the sole masters in Newfoundland. However, at the conclusion of the War of the Spanish Succession, which the French lost, France had to abandon several colonies. Under the Treaty of Utrecht, concluded in 1713, France ceded to the British all its settlements in Newfoundland, including Plaisance, as well as Acadia and Hudson’s Bay. Plaisance became Placentia, and Fort Royal was given the new name of Castle Hill. Some French colonists agreed to become British subjects, and the rest returned to France or settled on Île-Royale (present-day Cape Breton).

Under the Treaty of Utrecht, France nonetheless obtained the right for its fishermen to disembark on the western coasts of Newfoundland to dry their fish, called the French Shore. This is one of the reasons why the French are still present in Newfoundland today.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador // Sites patrimoniaux // Lieu historique national de Castle Hill-Plaisance: une vue imprenable sur l’histoire
retour

Lieu historique national de Castle Hill-Plaisance: une vue imprenable sur l’histoire

Castle Hill est situé au sommet d’une haute colline d’où le visiteur a une vue spectaculaire sur la baie et la ville de Placentia. Ce site de Parcs Canada souligne la rivalité franco-britannique pour la possession de Terre-Neuve à travers les vestiges du fort Royal, qui protégeait la colonie française de Plaisance, fondée en 1662. Plaisance servait à approvisionner et à encourager les pêcheurs de morue français qui fréquentaient les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve depuis le 16e siècle. Le fort a résisté à trois attaques ennemies avant d’être cédé aux Britanniques par traité, avec toute l’île de Terre-Neuve, en 1713. Ceux-ci le renomment Castle Hill et l’utilisent jusqu’en 1811.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un site d’interprétation animé

cartebellin-300x224 -  - Lieu historique national de Castle Hill-Plaisance: une vue imprenable sur l’histoire
Carte des bayes, rades, et port de Plaisance dans l’isle de Terre-Neuve. Par Jacques Nicolas Bellin et Pierre-François-Xavier de Charlevoix, Paris, 1755

À partir d’artéfacts mis au jour sur le site, les expositions du centre d’accueil révèlent une foule d’informations sur la vie quotidienne des habitants français qui demeuraient ou qui étaient de passage à Plaisance dans la seconde moitié du 17e siècle. Les sentiers de randonnée mènent, comme autrefois, aux vestiges du fort Royal-Castle Hill, qui domine la baie. En circulant à travers les terrassements et les murs de pierres qui entouraient les batteries d’artillerie, les visiteurs jouissent, comme les militaires de l’époque, d’une vue panoramique sur les environs. Des activités d’interprétation en plein air montrent comment dresser une tente ou allumer un feu. Des animateurs personnifient des pêcheurs, des marchands, des soldats et des gouverneurs coloniaux. Les visiteurs plongent ainsi dans l’histoire. Ils peuvent aussi opter pour une visite autonome, guidés par une application mobile.

Un lieu convoité pour la pêche

castle-hill-2006-flickr-cc-robert_hiscock-300x225 -  - Lieu historique national de Castle Hill-Plaisance: une vue imprenable sur l’histoire
Vue depuis Castle Hill

Dès le milieu du 16e siècle, environ 500 navires français, espagnols, anglais, portugais et basques viennent pêcher la morue dans les eaux poissonneuses des Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve chaque année. Les pêcheurs préparent et sèchent ensuite la morue dans de petits campements établis sur la terre ferme, avant de revenir en Europe. La France fonde la colonie de Plaisance pour protéger ses intérêts face aux pêcheurs anglais établis à St. John’s. Bien que les relations entre les pêcheurs français et anglais soient en général pacifiques, les escarmouches sont nombreuses en temps de guerre. Et les guerres entre ces deux grandes puissances rivales sont fréquentes.

L’emplacement de Plaisance est très avantageux : outre le promontoire stratégique qui permet de défendre efficacement l’endroit, la baie de Plaisance est libre de glaces tôt au printemps. Elle permet donc une reprise hâtive de la navigation et confère un avantage concurrentiel aux pêcheurs français.

La période de forte présence française

Placentia_Bay_from_the_look_out_at_Castle_Hill-300x225 -  - Lieu historique national de Castle Hill-Plaisance: une vue imprenable sur l’histoire
La baie de Plaisance

Entre 1678 et 1688, au plus fort de la présence française dans la région, quelque 20 000 pêcheurs sont actifs entre mai et septembre sur les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve. Mais la grande majorité de ces Français ne réside pas en permanence à Plaisance, ni ailleurs à Terre-Neuve. La population permanente ne dépasse pas 700 personnes, incluant les religieux et les militaires. Le tiers d’entre elles demeure à Plaisance ; les autres sont dispersées dans les petits villages côtiers comme Baie-Fortune, Cap-Nègre, Grand-Banc, Havre-Bertrand, Petit-Plaisance, L’Hermitage ou Pointe-Verte.

Le traité d’Utrecht et la période anglaise

A-View-of-the-Town-and-Harbour-of-Placentia-from-the-Hill-aback-of-the-Town-300x81 -  - Lieu historique national de Castle Hill-Plaisance: une vue imprenable sur l’histoire
Vue de la ville et du port de Plaisance. Par J.S. Meres, 1786

Le fort Royal, construit entre 1693 et 1703, remplit son rôle défensif pendant plusieurs années. Il permet aux Français de conserver Plaisance en résistant aux assauts des Britanniques, qui veulent devenir les seuls maîtres à Terre-Neuve. Mais au terme de la guerre de la Succession d’Espagne, qui se termine au désavantage de la France, celle-ci doit se départir de plusieurs colonies. Par le traité d’Utrecht, en 1713, la France cède aux Britanniques tous ses établissements terre-neuviens, incluant Plaisance, ainsi que l’Acadie et la baie d’Hudson. Plaisance devient alors Placentia et le fort Royal est rebaptisé Castle Hill. Quelques colons français se font sujets britanniques et les autres regagnent la France ou s’établissent à l’île Royale (aujourd’hui île du Cap-Breton).

Par le traité d’Utrecht, la France obtient cependant que ses pêcheurs maintiennent le droit de débarquer sur les côtes de Terre-Neuve pour y faire sécher leur poisson, sans pouvoir s’y établir à demeure. C’est entre autres pourquoi le fait français est encore présent à Terre-Neuve aujourd’hui.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.