Loading
Home // Alberta // Heritage Sites // Rocky Mountain House, exploring the heritage of the fur trade
back

Rocky Mountain House, exploring the heritage of the fur trade

Rocky Mountain House’s reconstructed fur trading post is located on the shores of the North Saskatchewan River, about 100 kilometres east of the Rocky Mountains. It was the last post in the Prairies before traders had to cross the mountains to continue westward. The site was home to four forts in succession, and was declared a national historic site in 1926 because the great explorer and cartographer David Thompson lived there, together with a number of French-Canadian, Métis and British employees. The interpretive program presents the Indigenous world of the eight nations that used to trade at Rocky Mountain House and the living conditions of the European workers who lived there in the 19th century. Indigenous and Métis expertise workshops are available. Visitors can also listen to storytellers, watch artisans at work, camp on site in Indigenous or Métis fashion, or simply take in the visitor centre’s informative exhibit. A peaceful trail through this protected natural area leads to the remains of the four original forts.

 

For more information…

David Thompson and his French-speaking companions

DSC00343-300x200 -  - Rocky Mountain House, exploring the heritage of the fur trade
Métis camp, Rocky Mountain House

For many English Canadians, David Thompson is a hero. This tireless, gifted man travelled through almost all of Canada between 1797 and 1812, leaving behind a considerable cartographic legacy and a commercially respectable record. His job was to develop the fur trade for the North West Company, which was based in Montreal. But the company also gave him a number of exploration and mapping assignments, which he carried out brilliantly. A large number of visitors come to Rocky Mountain House especially to follow in the footsteps of this great explorer. The puppet show that recaps his life is one of the most popular attractions at the site.

David Thompson spent several months at Rocky Mountain House between 1801 and 1811, before his famous crossing of the Rockies to the Pacific Ocean in 1811, which opened the main trade route for the fur trade through the Rockies via the Columbia River. During his travels, Thompson spoke in French with seasoned French-Canadian and Métis voyageurs who contributed to his success, since the North West Company hired mainly Francophones. He wrote about them as follows: “Everywhere Indians, friends or enemies spoke of the French-Canadians as a race of brave men whose conduct was always wise and virile. Michel Bourdeaux and Augustin Quenneville, two of my companions, were among them. Their loyalty and their word could be relied on until death. They were all renowned snipers, which is why, during skirmishes, they always became the first target of the Indians, who feared them terribly.”

DSC00333-300x200 -  - Rocky Mountain House, exploring the heritage of the fur trade
Blacksmith forge, Rocky Mountain House

When Thompson first went down the Columbia River in 1807 and founded the Kootenay House post, he was accompanied by four French-Canadians: Moussau, Lussier, la Combe and Beaulieu – the latter being described as a loyal employee. In the winter of 1810-1811, Joseph Côté was one of the three people who crossed the Athabasca Pass and wintered with Thompson in a rudimentary cabin, then accompanied him to the Pacific. Michel Boulard, whom Thompson called a connoisseur of Indian affairs, as well as Pierre Pareil and René Valade, completed the group of seven voyageurs who accompanied Thompson to the end of this historic expedition.

Rocky Mountain House recognizes the central role played by French-Canadians and Francophone Métis in the fur trade during the Thompson era, but it takes the soul of an explorer to discover in historians’ recent work the full importance of their contribution.

Rocky Mountain House, a cultural crossroads

c007376-300x229 -  - Rocky Mountain House, exploring the heritage of the fur trade
Group of Piikáni at Rocky Mountain House, 1871

At Rocky Mountain House, Parks Canada also highlights the presence of many different cultures at these trading posts founded simultaneously by the North West Company and the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1799 (the Hudson’s Bay Company fort was called Acton House). The site was permanently abandoned in 1875. Canadian Francophones, French-speaking Métis, British born in the United Kingdom and Anglophones born in Canada all worked there at the same time, at the two forts of the rival companies, where eight different First Nations bartered, especially for iron objects, some of which are on display today at the site’s forge: the Peigan, the Cree, the Gros Ventre, the Blood, the Stoney, the Blackfeet, the Sarcee, and the Kootenay.

Brigade_Jul222008_0054-199x300 -  - Rocky Mountain House, exploring the heritage of the fur trade
Brigade flintlock rifle demonstration

The Rocky Mountain House exhibits and events reflect this cultural diversity. Special attention is given to the Métis nation, born of the fur traders and voyageurs who, in the West, were all men. Some of them married Indigenous women, and their Métis children shared a mixture of European and Indigenous culture, which they passed on from generation to generation. The Métis workshops and the Métis tents on the site attest to that reality. On the other hand, the North West Company Francophones’ familiarity with their Indigenous trading partners is a good reflection of the culture of Canadian Francophones, who were experts in travelling by birch bark canoe. They had borrowed that mode of transportation from the Indigenous peoples. By comparison, the cumbersome York boats used by the British-born employees of the Hudson’s Bay Company clearly show the British attachment to their cultural background, even though those boats put them at a disadvantage on Canada’s waterways compared with the lighter, faster birch bark canoes that were used by their competitors. Both types of craft are exhibited at Rocky Mountain House, which has the advantage of being located in a natural environment similar to that in which the fur traders and voyageurs lived.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Alberta // Sites patrimoniaux // Rocky Mountain House, explorer le patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
retour

Rocky Mountain House, explorer le patrimoine de la traite des fourrures

Le poste de traite des fourrures reconstitué de Rocky Mountain House est situé sur les rives de la rivière Saskatchewan Nord, à une centaine de kilomètres à l’est des montagnes Rocheuses. Il était le dernier poste des Prairies avant d’affronter l’obstacle des montagnes pour poursuivre sa route en direction de l’ouest. Quatre forts se sont succédé à cet endroit, qui est classé lieu historique national dès 1926 parce que le grand explorateur et cartographe David Thompson y a vécu avec quelques employés canadiens-français, métis et britanniques. Le programme d’interprétation présente l’univers autochtone des huit nations qui commerçaient à Rocky Mountain House ainsi que les conditions de vie des travailleurs d’origine européenne qui habitaient là au 19e siècle. Des ateliers de savoir-faire autochtone et métis sont offerts. Les visiteurs peuvent aussi écouter des conteurs, observer des artisans au travail, camper sur place à la manière autochtone ou métisse ou simplement visiter l’instructive exposition du centre d’accueil. Un paisible sentier parcourant cette aire naturelle protégée conduit aux vestiges des quatre forts originaux.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

David Thompson et ses compagnons francophones

DSC00343-300x200 -  - Rocky Mountain House, explorer le patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
Le camp métis à Rocky Mountain House

Pour bien des Canadiens anglais, David Thompson est un héros. Cet homme infatigable et doué a parcouru, entre 1797 et 1812, la quasi-totalité du territoire canadien, laissant derrière lui un héritage cartographique considérable et un bilan respectable sur le plan commercial. Son travail consistait à développer le commerce des fourrures pour la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, qui était basée à Montréal. Mais cette compagnie lui confia aussi quelques mandats d’exploration et de cartographie dont il s’acquitta avec brio. Un nombre important de visiteurs viennent à Rocky Mountain House spécialement pour suivre les traces de ce grand explorateur. La pièce de théâtre de marionnettes qui résume sa vie est l’une des attractions les plus populaires du site.

David Thompson a passé plusieurs mois à Rocky Mountain House entre 1801 et 1811, avant sa célèbre traversée des Rocheuses jusqu’à l’océan Pacifique, en 1811, qui inaugurait la principale voie commerciale de la traite des fourrures à travers les Rocheuses via le fleuve Columbia. Pendant ses voyages, Thompson échangeait en français avec les voyageurs canadiens-français et métis aguerris qui contribuaient à ses succès, puisque la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest engageait principalement des francophones. Il écrivit ceci à leur sujet :

« Partout, les Indiens, amis ou ennemis, parlaient des Canadiens français comme étant une race d’hommes braves dont la conduite était toujours prudente et virile. Michel Bourdeaux et Augustin Quenneville, deux de mes compagnons, étaient de ceux-là. On pouvait compter sur leur fidélité et leur parole jusqu’à la mort. Ils étaient tous reconnus comme tireurs d’élite, et c’est pourquoi, lors d’affrontements guerriers, ils devenaient toujours la première cible des Indiens qui les craignaient terriblement. »

DSC00333-300x200 -  - Rocky Mountain House, explorer le patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
La forge à Rocky Mountain House

Lorsque Thompson descend une partie du fleuve Columbia pour la première fois, en 1807, et fonde le poste Kootenay House, quatre Canadiens français l’accompagnent : Moussau, Lussier, la Combe et Beaulieu – ce dernier étant qualifié d’employé loyal. Durant l’hiver 1810-1811, Joseph Côté est l’une des trois personnes qui traversent le col Athabasca et passent l’hiver avec Thompson dans une cabane rudimentaire, puis l’accompagnent jusqu’au Pacifique. Michel Boulard, que Thompson qualifie de connaisseur des affaires indiennes, ainsi que Pierre Pareil et René Valade font complètent le groupe de sept voyageurs qui accompagnent Thompson jusqu’au bout de cette expédition historique.

À Rocky Mountain House, on reconnaît le rôle central joué par les Canadiens français et les Métis francophones dans le commerce des fourrures à l’époque de Thompson, mais il faut avoir l’âme d’un explorateur pour découvrir dans les travaux récents des historiens toute l’importance de leur contribution.

Rocky Mountain House, un confluent culturel

c007376-300x229 -  - Rocky Mountain House, explorer le patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
Groupe de Piikáni à Rocky Mountain House, 1871

À Rocky Mountain House, Parcs Canada met aussi l’accent sur la présence de nombreuses cultures différentes dans ces postes de traite fondés simultanément par la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest et la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson en 1799 (le fort de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson se nommait Acton House). Le site sera abandonné définitivement en 1875. Des francophones du Canada, des Métis francophones, des Britanniques nés au Royaume-Uni et des anglophones nés au Canada y travaillaient en même temps, dans les deux forts des compagnies rivales, où huit Premières Nations différentes y faisaient du troc, notamment pour s’y procurer des objets de fer, dont certains sont aujourd’hui exposés dans la forge du site : les Péigans, les Cris, les Gros Ventres, les Gens du Sang, les Stonies, les Pieds Noirs, les Sarsis et les Kootenays.

Brigade_Jul222008_0054-199x300 -  - Rocky Mountain House, explorer le patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
Le tir de la brigade

Les expositions et les activités de Rocky Mountain House reflètent cette diversité culturelle. On y porte une attention spéciale à la nation métisse, issue des voyageurs et des commerçants de la traite des fourrures qui, dans l’Ouest, étaient tous des hommes. Plusieurs d’entre eux se sont unis à des femmes autochtones. Ces Métis partageaient entre eux un mélange de culture européenne et de culture autochtone, qu’ils se transmettaient de génération en génération. Les ateliers métis et les tentes métisses montées sur le site témoignent de cette réalité. D’autre part, la familiarité des francophones de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest avec leurs partenaires commerciaux autochtones représente bien la culture des francophones canadiens, qui étaient notamment des experts des voyages en canots d’écorce. Ils avaient emprunté ce moyen de transport aux Autochtones. En comparaison, les lourds « York boat » utilisés par les employés d’origine britannique de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson illustrent bien l’attachement des Britanniques à leur culture d’origine, même si ces embarcations les désavantageaient sur les cours d’eau du Canada par rapport aux canots d’écorce, plus légers et plus rapides, utilisés par leurs concurrents. Ces deux types d’embarcations sont exposés à Rocky Mountain House, qui possède l’avantage d’être situé dans un environnement naturel encore semblable à celui qu’ont connu ces voyageurs et commerçants de fourrures.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.