Loading
Home // Yukon // Cultural Heritage // Klondike National Historic Sites
back

Klondike National Historic Sites

The Klondike Gold Rush is no doubt one of the historical events that forever branded the north. The frenzy that followed  discovery of precious minerals brought thousands of prospectors to the area, all of them suffering from Yukon gold fever. The famous Gold Rush was short-lived, lasting from 1896 to 1899, but it left behind a rich history and vibrant community. Dawson City, the “Paris of the North,” maintains its old-fashioned charm thanks to support from Parks Canada and the involvement of this wonderful community.

Located 535 km north of Whitehorse, the city boasts a fascinating chapter in our country’s history, which you can discover through guided tours. Soak up the Klondike spirit! Stroll the boardwalks to discover this place from bygone days and get a feel for this charming city. You can even go behind the scenes: explore historic buildings that are not normally open to the public and discover Parks Canada’s collection of artifacts.

Climb aboard the S.S. Keno and imagine life as it would have been on the Yukon River. Or enter the world of writers Robert Service, Pierre Berton and Jack London, whose words still inspire modern-day adventurers.

Information: www.parcscanada.gc.ca/klondike

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Yukon // Patrimoine culturel // Lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike
retour

Lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike

La Ruée vers l’or du Klondike est sans contredit l’un des événements historiques ayant marqué le Nord au fer rouge! La frénésie suivant la découverte du précieux minerai a provoqué l’arrivée de milliers de prospecteurs dans la région, tous souffrant de la fièvre de l’or du Yukon! De 1896 à 1899, la fameuse Ruée est de courte durée mais laisse derrière une histoire riche et une communauté colorée. La ville de Dawson, le « Paris du Nord », conserve son cachet d’antan grâce à l’apport de Parcs Canada et à l’implication de cette belle communauté.

Située à 535 km au nord de Whitehorse, on y découvre, à la faveur de visites guidées, un chapitre fascinant de l’histoire du pays. Empreignez-vous de l’esprit du Klondike ! Arpentez les promenades de bois pour découvrir ces lieux d’autrefois et prendre le pouls de cette charmante ville. Accédez même à l’arrière-scène : explorez des bâtiments historiques qui ne sont normalement pas ouverts au public et contemplez les artéfacts de la collection de Parcs Canada.

Montez à bord du S.S. Keno afin d’imaginer la vie telle qu’elle se déroulait sur le fleuve Yukon. Ou bien pénétrez l’antre des auteurs Robert Service, Pierre Berton et Jack London, dont les mots inspirent encore les aventuriers de nos jours.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.