Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Cultural Heritage // Beaubears Island
back

Beaubears Island

For reasons good and bad, Beaubears Island made history, mainly on account of the Miramichi River that surrounds it.

It was once a meeting place for the Mi’kmaq and a trading post for early Acadian settlers. Acadian refugees fled to the Miramichi to escape deportation and sought refuge at Wilson’s Point.

In 1979, the island became a national historic site managed by Parks Canada, following the death of its last owner, the former politician J. Leonard O’Brien. Beaubears Island is also the only remaining Canadian shipyard still in its original state, since no one has lived there for over 100 years.

The island is now an important historic site that curious visitors can explore, and discover some of its 323 different plant types, along with numerous animal species.

Whether you take a guided excursion or a boat tour, whether you explore the island by canoe or on foot, you’ll encounter historic figures and take a trip back in time when you visit the Interpretation Centre or paddle in the wake of early settlers.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Patrimoine culturel // L’Île Beaubears
retour

L’Île Beaubears

L’Île Beaubears, notamment en raison de la rivière Miramichi qui l’entoure, est passée à l’histoire pour de bonnes et de mauvaises raisons.

Autrefois un lieu de rencontre pour les Micmacs et un poste de traite pour les premiers colons acadiens. Réfugiés acadiens sont venus à la Miramichi fuir la déportation Acadienne, qui ont cherché à se protéger à la pointe Wilson.

L’ile est devenue un lieu historique national géré par Parcs Canada en 1979, après la mort de son dernier propriétaire, l’ancien politicien J. Leonard O’Brien. L’Île Beaubears serait d’ailleurs le seul chantier de construction naval qui est demeuré inchangé au Canada, puisque personne n’y a habité depuis plus de cent ans.

C’est donc un lieu à la charge historique très impressionnante que les curieux visitent, en observant plus de 323 types de plantes différentes sur l’île et beaucoup d’espèces d’animaux.

Qu’un guide vous accompagne ou non, que vous optiez pour la visite en bateau, que vous viviez l’aventure en canoë ou à pied sur l’île, où vous rencontrerez des personnages historiques, préparez-vous à entrer dans l’histoire à votre tour en poussant les portes du Centre d’interprétation ou en pagayant dans les sillons laissés par les premiers colons.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.