Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Heritage Sites // The impressive heritage of the Fortress of Louisbourg
back

The impressive heritage of the Fortress of Louisbourg

The reconstructed French town and Fortress of Louisbourg is one of the most impressive historical interpretation sites in Canada. High thick stone ramparts surround some 50 buildings, also in stone, as they did in the 18th century. Everything was rebuilt using the original plans and techniques. In this reconstituted fortress town, visitors have the striking impression they are being transported into the past. Dozens of actors in period costume stand guard, fire cannons, bake bread, practice blacksmithing, build boats, do embroidery, play music and dance, just as people did in the glory years of New France. They chat freely with visitors and get them to participate in a number of activities. To visit Louisbourg is to experience authentic life in a colonial French town in 1740s.

 

To learn more…

Day-to-day life at the time of New France

After a short bus trip, visitors enter the reconstructed town as if they have magically become time travellers. Once inside the fortified enclosure, they explore the buildings, which are furnished and decorated with period or faithfully reproduced objects: the sumptuous apartments of the governor, the elegant dwellings of the merchants, the austere barracks of the soldiers, the warehouses full of kegs, assortments of other materials, and so on. Apprentice artisans use 18th century tools to work wood, iron, the land and cloth as people once did. Visitors can buy soldiers’ bread baked on the premises or eat a meal cooked with the food that was available in Louisbourg in 1744, served on period china, in affordable or luxurious form, depending upon whether they feel more like sailors or captains. The staff embody the kind of people who really lived in Louisbourg: soldiers and officers, merchants, administrators, servants, fishermen and slaves.

You will need a whole day to fully explore this reconstructed town and to stroll around among the ruins, which attest to the incredible size of this improbable town, built on a windy strip of land jutting out to sea, and interact with the people who give the place new life.

The confrontation of two empires in America

In 1713, France had to definitely cede Newfoundland and most of what is now Nova Scotia—in other words, Acadia—to Great Britain in order to save other parts of its empire. However, the colony of New France and the lucrative French fisheries on the Grand Banks of Newfoundland were still threatened by the expansion of the British Empire. France reacted by constructing a powerful fortress town on the Atlantic coast: Louisbourg, which not only served as a rampart against the enemy, but also as a hub for exporting cod to France, and as an immense warehouse that stimulated the triangular trade between the motherland, the Caribbean and New France.

On average, 150 ocean-going ships put in at Louisbourg every year. This fortress town, constructed in an inhospitable region where agriculture was difficult, was an essential link in the chain of France’s economic and military power in North America. This is why it was the target of Anglo-American and British attacks in 1745 and again in 1758. Twice, the “impregnable” fortress capitulated after some 40 days of siege, primarily because it was running out of food. France recovered Louisbourg the first time thanks to a peace treaty signed with England in 1748. However, the city was razed to the ground in 1760 in order to convince the French to permanently give up their colonies in America.

Showcasing history and promoting tourism

In 1928, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada classified the ruins of Louisbourg as a Canadian National Historic Site because of the significance of the events that took place there. The government expropriated the property of the several dozen individuals who lived there and opened a museum in 1936. Twenty-five years later, in 1961, the government began the colossal project of reconstructing a quarter of the original town, on the basis of exhaustive archaeological and historical research, carried out on an unprecedented scale. After it opened in 1975, Louisbourg immediately became a major tourist attraction, the leading showcase of our history in Canada. The great quantity of information collected is as impressive as the reconstructed buildings and constitutes a great leap forward in our knowledge of this historical period, and of this site in particular.

Today, this knowledge is embodied in the facilitation and interpretation program, the objective of which is to ensure that visitors have a memorable experience of “living history.”

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Sites patrimoniaux // L’impressionnant patrimoine de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
retour

L’impressionnant patrimoine de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

La reconstitution de la ville-forteresse française de Louisbourg est l’un des plus impressionnants sites d’interprétation historique au Canada. D’épais et hauts remparts en pierre entourent comme au 18e siècle une cinquantaine de bâtiments, également en pierre, reconstruits selon les plans et les techniques d’origine. Dans ce bourg reconstitué, l’impression d’être transporté dans le passé est saisissante. Des dizaines de figurants en costumes d’époque montent la garde, tirent du canon, boulangent, forgent et fabriquent des embarcations, brodent, jouent de la musique et dansent comme aux plus belles années de la Nouvelle-France. Ils échangent librement avec les visiteurs et les font participer à plusieurs activités. Visiter Louisbourg, c’est faire l’expérience véritable d’une ville coloniale française en 1744.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

S’imprégner de la vie quotidienne au temps de la Nouvelle-France

Après un bref parcours en autobus, les visiteurs accèdent à la ville reconstituée comme s’ils avaient voyagé dans le temps. Une fois à l’intérieur de l’enceinte fortifiée, ils explorent les bâtiments meublés et décorés à l’aide d’objets d’époque ou fidèlement reproduits : les somptueux appartements du gouverneur, les belles demeures des commerçants, les austères casernes des soldats, les entrepôts remplis de tonneaux et de matériaux divers… Des apprentis artisans utilisent les outils du 18e siècle pour travailler le bois, le fer, la terre et le tissu, comme autrefois. Les visiteurs peuvent acheter le pain des militaires cuit sur place, ou déguster un repas composé d’aliments disponibles à Louisbourg en 1744, servi dans de la vaisselle d’époque, en formule abordable ou luxueuse, selon qu’ils se sentent davantage matelots ou capitaines. Les animateurs incarnent des personnages qui ont réellement vécu à Louisbourg : soldats et officiers, marchands, administrateurs, domestiques, pêcheurs ou esclaves.

Une journée entière est nécessaire pour explorer à fond cette ville reconstruite, pour se balader dans la vaste section en ruines qui témoigne de l’ampleur de cette ville improbable, construite au bout d’une terre maritime battue par les vents, et interagir avec tous ceux qui lui redonnent vie.

Deux Empires s’affrontent en Amérique

En 1713, la France doit céder définitivement Terre-Neuve et la majeure partie de la Nouvelle-Écosse actuelle – c’est-à-dire l’Acadie – à la Grande-Bretagne pour sauver d’autres parties de son Empire. Mais la colonie de la Nouvelle-France et les lucratives pêcheries françaises sur les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve sont encore menacées par l’expansion de l’Empire britannique. La France réagit en construisant une puissante ville-forteresse sur les côtes atlantiques : Louisbourg, qui sert non seulement de rempart contre l’ennemi, mais aussi de centre d’exportation de morue vers la France, et d’immense entrepôt qui stimule le commerce triangulaire entre la mère patrie, les Antilles et la Nouvelle-France.

En moyenne, 150 navires transocéaniques font relâche à Louisbourg chaque année. Cette ville-forteresse construite dans une région inhospitalière, où l’agriculture est difficile, s’impose comme un maillon essentiel du pouvoir économique et militaire de la France en Amérique du Nord. C’est pourquoi, en 1745 et en 1758, elle est la cible des attaques anglo-américaines et britanniques. Par deux fois, l’« imprenable » forteresse capitule après une quarantaine de jours de siège, principalement parce qu’elle manque de nourriture. La France récupère une première fois Louisbourg grâce à un traité de paix signé avec l’Angleterre en 1748. Mais la ville est rasée au sol en 1760 afin de convaincre les Français de renoncer définitivement à leurs colonies d’Amérique.

Un grand projet de mise en valeur historique et touristique

En 1928, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada classe les ruines de Louisbourg « Site historique national canadien », vu l’importance des événements qui s’y sont déroulés. Le gouvernement exproprie les quelques dizaines de personnes qui habitent sur le site et ouvre un musée en 1936. Vingt-cinq ans plus tard, en 1961, commence le projet colossal de reconstruction d’un quart de la ville d’origine, sur la base d’une recherche archéologique et historique exhaustive, d’une envergure sans précédent. À son ouverture, en 1975, Louisbourg devient aussitôt une attraction touristique majeure, le fleuron de la mise en valeur historique au Canada. La somme d’information colligée est aussi impressionnante que les bâtiments reconstruits et fait faire un bond aux connaissances sur cette période historique et ce site en particulier.

Le savoir acquis s’incarne aujourd’hui dans le programme d’animation et d’interprétation offert aux visiteurs, dont l’objectif est de faire vivre aux participants une expérience mémorable d’« histoire vivante ».

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.