Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Festivals and Events // Festival acadien de Caraquet: a definite must!
back

Festival acadien de Caraquet: a definite must!

The Festival acadien de Caraquet has been celebrating Acadian culture since 1963. In the first two weeks of August, Caraquet celebrates song, music and poetry. Indoor and outdoor shows, the blessing of fishing boats decorated with pennants, film screenings, a large fireworks display and animated events for children are held in some 20 different places. The culminating point is the big, noisy and colourful Tintamarre of August 15, National Acadian Day. In addition to delighting its many visitors, the Festival acadien de Caraquet greatly contributes to developing and spreading Acadia’s cultural influence.

 

To learn more…

Discovering, celebrating and developing Acadian culture

Since it was first created, the Festival acadien de Caraquet has been contributing to the development of Acadian arts and artists. The festive atmosphere at Caraquet during this major event shines a spotlight on Acadia, thanks to the joie de vivre and optimism of Acadians and those who come to visit them.

The two festival ambassadors, Évangéline and Gabriel, chosen randomly among students who volunteer for the roles, embody Acadian hospitality throughout the event. These figures are the most emblematic of the Acadian Deportation. During the festival, they thumb their noses at history, demonstrating the capacity of Acadians to rejuvenate themselves and celebrate their renaissance. The Gala de la chanson de Caraquet is an excellent example of this. It gives young amateur artists a chance to reveal their talent and to develop it in training workshops at the event. Many artists who participated in this gala in the past are today making a career for themselves, thereby proving that this gala can be a springboard to greater things. In the same spirit, the Acadian Poetry Festival, incorporated into the Festival acadien de Caraquet, draws attention to literature and helps new talent to blossom.

A growing festival

In 1963, Caraquet residents wanted to celebrate their roots by creating a local festival. This event quickly grew. Theatrical performances were soon added to the traditional blessing of the fishing boats, the town’s livelihood. The first cabarets made their appearance three years later. In 1969, the Gala de la chanson crowned its first winners. Then, in 1979, the first tintamarre was held in Caraquet. Over time, the Festival has always attracted more and more visitors.

Local and regional participation is a priority, however. A home and shop decoration competition gives the town a festive look. The homemade boxcar races, divided into a number of categories, from young people aged 8 to 11 to local mayors, are always popular. Thanks to performance tours designed for seniors, no age group is left behind. Workshops to learn how to make costumes and “noisy objects” before the Grand Tintamarre on August 15 enable local experts to share their know-how.

Today, broad programming focusing on Acadian artists also includes stars from other Francophone regions of Canada and Europe. Wild parties delight partygoers, classical, jazz and singing performances please other audiences, and film screenings and fireworks complete the wide range of activities. After five decades, the Festival acadien de Caraquet, which every year welcomes hundreds of artists and over 100,000 visitors, has definitely made the grade as a major attraction.

A historic reversal

Between 1755 and 1762, the Acadians were hunted down and deported by the British army. Although they have kept a painful memory of this event, they are delighted today with the success of their improbable survival. They celebrate their resilience, in particular during the must-see Festival acadien de Caraquet and the Grand Tintamarre that closes the event, organized for the first time to celebrate the 375th anniversary of the founding of Acadia.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Festivals et événements // L’incontournable Festival acadien de Caraquet
retour

L’incontournable Festival acadien de Caraquet

Depuis 1963, le Festival acadien de Caraquet célèbre la culture acadienne. Pendant les deux premières semaines d’août, plusieurs manifestations dans les domaines de la chanson, de la musique et de la poésie animent tout Caraquet. Les spectacles intérieurs et extérieurs, la bénédiction des bateaux de pêche parés de fanions, des projections de films, un grand feu d’artifice et des animations pour enfants se succèdent en une vingtaine de lieux. Jusqu’au point culminant du grand, bruyant et coloré tintamarre du 15 août, jour de la fête nationale acadienne. En plus de ravir les nombreux visiteurs, le Festival acadien de Caraquet contribue grandement au développement et au rayonnement culturel de l’Acadie.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Découvrir, célébrer et développer la culture acadienne

Depuis sa création, le Festival acadien de Caraquet contribue au développement des arts et des artistes acadiens. L’ambiance festive qui règne à Caraquet pendant cet événement d’envergure propulse l’Acadie en avant, par la joie de vivre et l’optimisme qui animent alors les Acadiens et tous ceux qui leur rendent visite.

Les deux ambassadeurs du Festival, Évangéline et Gabriel, choisis au hasard parmi des étudiants qui se portent volontaires, incarnent durant tout l’événement l’hospitalité acadienne. Or, ces personnages sont les plus emblématiques du drame de la Déportation acadienne. Durant le Festival, ils font un pied de nez à l’histoire en démontrant la capacité des Acadiens à renaître et à célébrer leur renaissance. Le Gala de la chanson de Caraquet en est un bon exemple. Il donne la chance aux jeunes artistes amateurs de révéler leur talent et de le développer lors des ateliers de formation qui font partie de l’événement. Plusieurs artistes qui ont participé à ce gala font aujourd’hui carrière, preuve du rôle de tremplin de ce gala. Dans le même esprit, le Festival acadien de poésie, intégré au Festival acadien de Caraquet, attire l’attention sur la littérature et fait éclore de nouveaux talents.

Petit festival deviendra grand

En 1963, la population de Caraquet voulait d’abord célébrer ses racines en créant un festival local. Rapidement, l’événement a pris de l’ampleur. À la traditionnelle bénédiction des bateaux de pêche, qui faisaient vivre la ville, se sont ajoutées des représentations théâtrales. Les premières boîtes à chansons font leur apparition trois ans plus tard. En 1969, le Gala de la chanson couronne ses premiers gagnants. Puis un premier tintamarre se déroule à Caraquet en 1979. Le Festival attire ainsi toujours plus de visiteurs.

La participation locale et régionale demeure cependant une priorité. Le concours de décorations des résidences et des commerces procure à la ville un visage festif contagieux. Les courses de tacots de fabrication artisanale, divisées en plusieurs catégories, allant des jeunes de 8 à 11 ans aux maires de la région, sont toujours populaires. Grâce aux tournées de spectacles destinés aux aînés, aucun groupe n’est laissé pour compte. Les ateliers de confection de costumes et d’« objets bruyants » qui précèdent le Grand Tintamarre du 15 août permettent aux experts caraquetois de partager leur savoir-faire.

Aujourd’hui, l’abondante programmation centrée sur les artistes acadiens comprend des vedettes provenant d’autres régions francophones du Canada et de l’Europe. Des « méchants partys » réjouissent les amateurs de célébration intense, des soirées de musique classique, de jazz ou de chanson plaisent à un autre public, les projections cinématographiques et les feux d’artifice diversifient encore le choix d’activités. En cinq décennies d’existence, le Festival acadien de Caraquet, qui accueille chaque année quelques centaines d’artistes et plus de 100 000 visiteurs, a définitivement acquis ses lettres de noblesse.

Un renversement historique

Entre 1755 et 1762, les Acadiens ont été pourchassés et déportés par l’armée britannique. Bien qu’ils aient gardé un souvenir douloureux de cet événement, ils se réjouissent aujourd’hui du succès de leur improbable survie et célèbrent leur résilience, entre autres lors de l’incontournable Festival acadien de Caraquet et du Grand Tintamarre qui clôt l’événement, organisé pour la première fois pour célébrer le 375e anniversaire de la fondation de l’Acadie.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.