Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Community portraits // University of Moncton, the keystone of Acadian development
back

University of Moncton, the keystone of Acadian development

The University of Moncton is not only the largest Francophone university in Canada outside Quebec, but also a thriving Francophone community that benefits the entire Acadian community. It welcomes around 6,000 students a year on its three campuses, in Moncton, Shippagan and Edmundston. Four hundred professors teach in eight different faculties that offer a total 180 programs. French-language theatrical, cinematographic and musical events, which are open to the general public, are scheduled on a regular basis. The Moncton campus is also home to three major public institutions: the Acadian Museum, the Centre d’études acadiennes Anselme-Chiasson and the Galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen. The other campuses also contribute in their own way to sociocultural life in their communities.

 

To learn more…

A university for the entire community

moncton-300x225 -  - University of Moncton, the keystone of Acadian development
Université de Moncton entrance

The University of Moncton (UofM) plays such an important role in the development and vitality of New Brunswick Acadians that the community keeps a close eye on the institution’s development and activities. The local population is proud of and benefits from the concentration of French-language cultural activities organized by the UofM’s facilities, not to mention its human and financial resources, which are indispensable to the accomplishment of its educational mission. UofM student and sociocultural services reflect the institution’s dual mission of enhancing academic and community life.

musee_acadien-universite_de_moncton_3-300x225 -  - University of Moncton, the keystone of Acadian development
Acadian Museum, Université de Moncton

Although the Moncton campus holds the most cultural activities, a smaller number are held on the Edmundston and Shippagan campuses. The following sites and organizations are dedicated to them: a) the Acadian Museum of the UofM, the largest Acadian museum in Canada, which presents exhibits on Acadian history, society and culture; b) the Centre d’études acadiennes Anselme-Chiasson, which has the largest documentary collection on Acadia, including a general library that has an exceptional number of works, textual, photographic, cartographic and audiovisual archives, not to mention ethnological and folklore archives, and which also makes many genealogical research tools available to the public; and c) the Galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen, which exhibits contemporary art works of Acadian and international artists, as well as that of UofM graduates. Across from the Moncton campus, visitors can find the Millennium Ecological Park, with pedestrian trails embellished with works of art.

A decisive development factor

The creation of the University of Moncton in 1963 stemmed from a general movement of awakening and emancipation among the New Brunswick Acadians. However, the UofM was also to be an essential driving force, since this institute of higher education was to multiply the fields of specialisation and provide further training to Acadian professionals, in more sectors than ever before. The reconfiguration of the UofM in 1972 gave concrete form to the expansion of its mission. Programs of studies were then offered in administration, law, engineering, pure science, education sciences, health sciences and community services, as well as the arts and social sciences. The university also preserved a particular sensitivity towards the study of Acadian history and culture, a focus that would contribute to extending the influence of Acadia in Canada and on the international scene, and would stimulate the vitality of the Acadian community.

The UofM is undeniably a key factor in promoting the health and prosperity of contemporary Acadian culture and society.

Looking at the origins of the University of Moncton

Although the UofM is the largest Francophone university in Atlantic Canada, it is not the first in New Brunswick. It inherited classical colleges for boys and girls founded by the religious congregations in various regions of the province. It is intimately connected with Collège Saint-Joseph, which opened at Memramcook in 1864 and became a university in 1888, since the latter directly bequeathed its role and university status to the UofM in 1963. The new institution also inherited Notre-Dame d’Acadie of Moncton, a women’s college that closed down in 1965.

On the Acadian Peninsula, Collège de Bathurst became affiliated with the UofM in 1963 but closed down in 1975 to leave room for the UofM campus at Shippagan, opened in 1977 in a former women’s college founded by the religious order of Sainte-Marie in 1959. As for the UofM campus in Edmundston, its origins go back to Collège Saint-Louis, founded in 1946 and elevated to the rank of university the following year. The Saint-Louis-Maillet women’s college in Edmundston merged with University Saint-Louis in 1972.

The University of Moncton is thus the culmination of many efforts made to enhance French‑language higher education for New Brunswick Acadians.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Portraits de communautés // L’Université de Moncton, clé de voûte du développement des Acadiens
retour

L’Université de Moncton, clé de voûte du développement des Acadiens

L’Université de Moncton est non seulement la plus importante université francophone canadienne hors du Québec, mais aussi un milieu de vie francophone effervescent qui profite à toute la communauté acadienne. Elle accueille autour de 6 000 étudiants par année dans ses trois campus de Moncton, Shippagan et Edmundston. Quatre cents professeurs enseignent dans huit facultés différentes, proposant 180 programmes. Des activités théâtrales, cinématographiques et musicales en français, ouvertes à toute la population, s’y tiennent régulièrement. Le campus de Moncton abrite aussi trois institutions publiques majeures : le Musée acadien, le Centre d’études acadiennes Anselme-Chiasson et la Galerie d’art contemporain Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen. Les autres campus contribuent également, à leur façon, à l’animation socioculturelle de leur milieu.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

L’université de toute la communauté

moncton-300x225 -  - L’Université de Moncton, clé de voûte du développement des Acadiens
Entrée de l’Université de Moncton

L’Université de Moncton (UdeM) joue un rôle tellement important dans le développement et la vitalité des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick que la communauté suit de près l’évolution de cette institution et s’intéresse à ce qui s’y déroule. En plus d’en être fière, la population profite de la concentration d’activités culturelles en français que présente l’UdeM grâce à ses infrastructures et ses ressources humaines et financières indispensables à l’accomplissement de sa mission éducative. Le Service à la vie étudiante et socioculturelle de l’UdeM à Moncton reflète ce double impact, académique et communautaire, que vise l’institution.

musee_acadien-universite_de_moncton_3-300x225 -  - L’Université de Moncton, clé de voûte du développement des Acadiens
Musée acadien de l’Université de Moncton

Les visiteurs de l’extérieur peuvent profiter des activités culturelles qui se tiennent tout particulièrement sur le campus de Moncton, mais aussi sur ceux d’Edmundston et de Shippagan. Les lieux et organismes suivants leur sont dédiés tout spécialement : a) le Musée acadien de l’UdeM à Moncton, le plus important musée acadien au Canada, présente des expositions sur l’histoire, la société et la culture acadiennes ; b) le Centre d’études acadiennes Anselme-Chiasson, qui détient la plus importante collection documentaire sur l’Acadie, comprend une bibliothèque générale rassemblant un nombre exceptionnel d’ouvrages, des archives textuelles, photographiques, cartographiques et audiovisuelles, ainsi que d’ethnologie et de folklore ; il met également à la disposition du public d’abondants outils de recherche généalogique ; c) quant à la galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen, elle expose des œuvres d’art contemporain d’artistes acadiens et internationaux, ainsi que de finissants de l’UdeM. En face du campus de Moncton se trouve le Parc écologique du Millénaire, doté de sentiers pédestres agrémentés d’œuvres d’art.

Un facteur de développement déterminant

La création de l’Université de Moncton, en 1963, participe d’un mouvement de réveil et d’émancipation des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick. Mais l’UdeM en sera également un moteur essentiel, puisque cette institution d’enseignement supérieur va multiplier les domaines de spécialisation et former davantage de professionnels acadiens, dans plus de secteurs, que jamais auparavant. La reconfiguration de l’UdeM en 1972 concrétise l’élargissement de sa mission. Seront alors offerts des programmes d’études en administration, droit, ingénierie, sciences pures, science de l’éducation, sciences de la santé et des services communautaires, et en arts et sciences sociales. Elle conservera également une sensibilité particulière pour l’étude de l’histoire et de la culture acadiennes, un axe qui contribuera à faire rayonner l’Acadie au Canada et sur la scène internationale, et stimulera la vitalité de la communauté acadienne.

L’UdeM est indéniablement un facteur clé de santé et de prospérité de la culture et de la société acadiennes contemporaines.

Aux origines de l’Université de Moncton

Bien qu’elle soit la plus importante université francophone des quatre provinces maritimes, l’UdeM n’est pas la première à voir le jour au Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle est l’héritière des collèges classiques pour garçons et filles fondés par les congrégations religieuses dans différentes régions de la province. Elle est intimement liée au premier d’entre eux, le collège Saint-Joseph ouvert à Memramcook en 1864, qui devient une université en 1888, car il léguera directement son rôle et son statut d’université à l’UdeM en 1963. La nouvelle institution prend aussi la relève du collège pour filles Notre-Dame d’Acadie, de Moncton, qui ferme ses portes en 1965.

Dans la Péninsule acadienne, le collège de Bathurst s’affilie à l’UdeM dès 1963 et ferme ses portes en 1975 pour laisser place au campus de l’UdeM à Shippagan, ouvert en 1977 dans l’ancien collège pour filles fondé par les religieuses de Sainte-Marie en 1959. Quant au campus de l’UdeM à Edmundston, il tire son origine du collège Saint-Louis, fondé en 1946 et promu au rang d’université dès l’année suivante. Le collège pour filles Saint-Louis-Maillet d’Edmundston a fusionné avec l’université Saint-Louis en 1972.

L’Université de Moncton est donc le prolongement et l’aboutissement le plus achevé des efforts consacrés depuis longtemps à l’éducation supérieure en français destinée aux Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.