Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Community portraits // Sainte-Anne University, a flagship Francophone institution in Nova Scotia
back

Sainte-Anne University, a flagship Francophone institution in Nova Scotia

Sainte-Anne University, the only Francophone university in Nova Scotia, is located in Church Point (Pointe-de-l’Église), in the municipality of Clare, the largest Francophone region in the province. It inherited a college founded by Eudists in 1890 and has since played a central role in enabling Acadians to achieve their full potential. This major facility provides local residents with cultural, sports and tourist services dispensed in French, enabling the university to maintain an exceptionally close relationship with the community. Its satellite campuses in Halifax, Tusket, Petit-de-Grat and Saint-Joseph-du-Moine, enable it to extend its influence to the other Francophone communities of the province. Its Acadian Centre, which is open to the public, has collected an impressive corpus of archives.

 

To learn more…

A welcoming university

church-point-199x300 -  - Sainte-Anne University, a flagship Francophone institution in Nova Scotia
Pointe-de-l’Église church

In summer, the Rendez-vous de la Baie, located on Sainte-Anne University campus, houses a tourist information centre, an interpretive centre on the history and culture of the Acadians of Baie Sainte-Marie (municipality of Clare), a café, an art gallery and a performance hall. The Acadian festival of Clare, the oldest Acadian festival, takes place partly on the campus. In wintertime, the university’s cultural activities and sports facilities are open to both local residents and students.

3-gustaveblanche-eglise-hockey-300x176 -  - Sainte-Anne University, a flagship Francophone institution in Nova Scotia
Hockey game, Université Sainte-Anne

In addition to its welcoming attitude, the university also has a five-kilometre pedestrian trail, Petit Bois, which surrounds the campus, and Pointe-de-l’Église church, a stone’s throw from the university’s main buildings. The church is reputed to be the largest church built of wood in North America, an extraordinary accomplishment by local carpenters. We can understand why this institution of higher education is not reserved exclusively for students.

A decisive impact on the Francophone community

1-edifice-original-300x182 -  - Sainte-Anne University, a flagship Francophone institution in Nova Scotia
Université Sainte-Anne (original building)

It is nonetheless in the area of education that Sainte-Anne University makes its most invaluable contribution. Thanks to the Eudist fathers who came from France in the late 19th century, the Acadians of Nova Scotia were finally able to start receiving higher education in French in 1890. In the spirit of the “classical” training of the time, Collège Sainte-Anne also became a centre of cultural activities, including literary circles, theatrical and musical performances, and sports, in accordance with the saying “a healthy mind in a healthy body.” For 78 years, Collège Sainte-Anne played an essential role by protecting the French language and training an Acadian professional elite.

201216049-300x217 -  - Sainte-Anne University, a flagship Francophone institution in Nova Scotia
Aerial view of Université Sainte-Anne, 1931

When the Eudists left in 1968, the determination of Nova Scotia’s Acadians prevented the college’s closure by the Nova Scotia government and helped to transform it into today’s Sainte-Anne University, thus perpetuating the indispensable role of French‑language postsecondary education in the province, while also serving as a cultural and sports centre. The university, which serves a Canadian and international clientele and primarily dispenses college and university training in education, humanities, pure science, administrative sciences and health, has had a significant impact on maintaining an articulate and prosperous Francophone community in Nova Scotia, especially since 2002, when it merged with Collège de l’Acadie, founded 10 years earlier to offer high caliber French-language technical and professional training.

Training in French as a second language

pg_16-17_rendez-vous_entrance-300x233 -  - Sainte-Anne University, a flagship Francophone institution in Nova Scotia
Rendez-Vous de la Baie Visitor Centre

French immersion courses have become increasingly popular in Canada, with the exception of Quebec, where Francophones are in the majority. As a result, the need for competent teachers in French and in French as a second language is growing. Sainte-Anne University has a good reputation in this area. Its own French immersion courses are very popular with both Canadian and foreign students. Dispensed year-round in an intense community atmosphere where teachers and students interact socially during training and recreation periods, immersion training provides an opportunity to learn French, become familiar with the history of the Acadians and make friends. Many Acadian descendants from Louisiana come back to their native land to take this training in the summertime.

Acadian Centre of Sainte-Anne University

At the Acadian Centre, a library, print and photographic archives, and a genealogical database on Acadian families of southwest Nova Scotia (municipalities of Clare and Argyle) enable professionals, history buffs and visitors to explore the heritage of Nova Scotia’s Acadians in a relaxed atmosphere.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Portraits de communautés // L’Université Sainte-Anne, institution phare de la francophonie en Nouvelle-Écosse
retour

L’Université Sainte-Anne, institution phare de la francophonie en Nouvelle-Écosse

L’Université Sainte-Anne, seule université francophone en Nouvelle-Écosse, est située à Pointe-de-l’Église (Church Point), dans la municipalité de Clare, la plus grande région francophone de la province. Elle est l’héritière du collège fondé par les Eudistes en 1890 et joue depuis un rôle central dans l’épanouissement des Acadiens. Cette infrastructure majeure offre à la communauté environnante des services culturels, sportifs et touristiques dispensés en français qui assurent à cette université une relation de proximité exceptionnelle avec la communauté. Ses campus satellites, situés à Halifax, à Tusket, à Petit-de-Grat et à Saint-Joseph-du-Moine, la font rayonner dans les autres milieux francophones de la province. Son Centre acadien ouvert au public rassemble un important corpus d’archives.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Une université accueillante

church-point-199x300 -  - L’Université Sainte-Anne, institution phare de la francophonie en Nouvelle-Écosse
L’église de Pointe-de-l’Église

En été, le Rendez-vous de la Baie situé sur le campus de l’Université Sainte-Anne abrite un centre d’information touristique, un centre d’interprétation sur l’histoire et la culture des Acadiens de la baie Sainte-Marie (municipalité de Clare), un café, une galerie d’art et une salle de spectacle. Le festival acadien de Clare, le plus ancien festival acadien, se déroule en partie sur le campus. En hiver, les activités culturelles et les installations sportives de l’Université sont ouvertes aux résidents de la région, en plus des étudiants.

3-gustaveblanche-eglise-hockey-300x176 -  - L’Université Sainte-Anne, institution phare de la francophonie en Nouvelle-Écosse
Match de hockey à l’Université Sainte-Anne

Si on ajoute à ces marques d’ouverture la présence du sentier pédestre du Petit Bois, long de cinq kilomètres, qui entoure le campus, et de l’église de Pointe-de-l’Église, située à deux pas des pavillons principaux de l’Université et réputée la plus grande église construite en bois en Amérique du Nord, prouesse des charpentiers locaux, on comprend que cette institution d’enseignement supérieur n’est pas réservée exclusivement aux étudiants.

Un impact déterminant sur la communauté francophone

1-edifice-original-300x182 -  - L’Université Sainte-Anne, institution phare de la francophonie en Nouvelle-Écosse
L’édifice original de l’Université Sainte-Anne

C’est néanmoins en matière d’éducation que l’Université Sainte-Anne apporte sa contribution la plus précieuse. Grâce aux pères Eudistes venus de France à la fin du 19e siècle, les Acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse peuvent enfin recevoir une éducation supérieure en français à partir de 1890. Dans l’esprit de la formation « classique » de l’époque, le collège Sainte-Anne devient en même temps un centre d’activités culturelles : cercles littéraires, représentations théâtrales et musicales, ainsi qu’activités sportives en accord avec le dicton « un esprit sain dans un corps sain ». Le Collège Sainte-Anne remplit pendant 78 ans un rôle essentiel en ce qui a trait à la conservation de la langue française et à la formation d’une élite professionnelle acadienne.

201216049-300x217 -  - L’Université Sainte-Anne, institution phare de la francophonie en Nouvelle-Écosse
Vue aérienne de l’Université Sainte-Anne en 1931

Lors du départ des Eudistes, en 1968, la détermination des Acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse permet d’éviter la fermeture du Collège, qu’envisageait le gouvernement néo-écossais, et de le transformer en l’Université Sainte-Anne actuelle, qui perpétue l’indispensable rôle de formation postsecondaire en français dans la province, en même temps que de centre culturel et sportif. L’impact de cette université, qui dessert une clientèle canadienne et internationale et dispense principalement des formations collégiales et universitaires en éducation, en sciences humaines, en sciences pures, en sciences administratives et en santé, est considérable sur le maintien d’une communauté francophone articulée et prospère en Nouvelle-Écosse, surtout depuis 2002, quand elle a fusionné avec le Collège de l’Acadie fondé dix ans plus tôt pour offrir des formations techniques et professionnelles de haut calibre en français.

Formation en français, langue seconde

pg_16-17_rendez-vous_entrance-300x233 -  - L’Université Sainte-Anne, institution phare de la francophonie en Nouvelle-Écosse
Centre Rendez-vous de la Baie

Partout au Canada, à l’exception du Québec où les francophones sont en majorité, les cours d’immersion française ont beaucoup gagné en popularité. Les besoins d’enseignants compétents en français et en français langue seconde sont donc croissants. L’Université Sainte-Anne est réputée en ce domaine. Ses propres cours d’immersion française sont également très courus par des étudiants de toutes les régions du Canada et de l’étranger. Dispensées tout au long de l’année, dans une intense ambiance communautaire où les formateurs et les étudiants se côtoient pendant la formation et durant les périodes de loisirs, ces formations sont l’occasion d’apprendre le français, de se familiariser avec l’histoire des Acadiens et de développer des relations d’amitié. Plusieurs descendants acadiens de la Louisiane reviennent sur leur terre d’origine pour suivre ces formations en été.

Le Centre acadien de l’Université Sainte-Anne

Au Centre acadien, une bibliothèque, des archives textuelles et photographiques ainsi qu’une base de données généalogique sur les familles acadiennes du sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse (municipalités de Clare et d’Argyle) permettent aux professionnels, aux amateurs d’histoire et aux visiteurs d’explorer le patrimoine des Acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse dans une ambiance décontractée.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.