Loading
Home // Newfoundland and Labrador // Arts and Culture // The Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre
back

The Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre

Conception Bay South (CBS) in Newfoundland is home to a small jewel called the Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre. Located in an ancient and scenic river valley 20 minutes from downtown Saint John’s (the capital), the Centre provides a window on the province’s rich history.

We know that Newfoundland once provided a lush habitat to prehistoric life long before it welcomed European and Scandinavian explorers, including the Vikings, who’ve been immortalized on the island. The centre is open 12 months of the year and is a treasure trove of fossils and information on Newfoundland’s geology and natural history. After learning so much, why not relax at the Coffee Matters café, stroll through the gift shop, go see a movie or take advantage of the centre’s various programs?

Feel like getting fresh air after all that? Hiking trails run for over six kilometres along the Manuels River; our guides would love to tailor a hike to your pace and interests. They’ll take you to a fossil excavation site and, if you’re not too tired, up to the rocky beach where you’ll learn how these vast sandy stretches were formed!

For more information: http://manuelsriver.com/

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador // Arts et culture // Manuels River Interpretation Center
retour

Manuels River Interpretation Center

La municipalité de Conception Bay South (CBS) à Terre-Neuve abrite un petit bijou appelé Centre d’interprétation Hibernia de la rivière Manuels. Situé dans une ancienne et pittoresque vallée riveraine à 20 minutes du centre-ville de la capitale, Saint-Jean, le centre s’avère une porte grande ouverte sur la riche histoire de la province.

Nous savons que Terre-Neuve fut jadis un territoire fertile pour la vie préhistorique, les explorateurs européens et scandinaves, dont les Vikings, immortalisés sur l’île.

Le centre, ouvert 12 mois par année, est ainsi une manne extraordinaire de fossiles, de renseignements sur la géologie et l’histoire naturelle de Terre-Neuve. Après avoir appris une foule de choses, pourquoi ne pas relaxer au café Coffee Matters, flâner dans la boutique de souvenirs, aller voir un film au cinéma ou profiter des programmations variées du centre? Envie de prendre l’air après tout ça?

Des sentiers d’excursion longent la rivière Manuels sur plus de 6 kilomètres; nos guides se feront un plaisir d’adapter la randonnée à votre rythme et à votre curiosité! Ils vous amèneront notamment sur un site de fouilles fossilifères et, si vous n’êtes pas trop fatigués, jusqu’à la plage rocheuse où vous apprendrez comment se forment ces vastes étendues sablonnées!

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.