Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // The Augustinian monastery, valuing and transmitting heritage
back

The Augustinian monastery, valuing and transmitting heritage

Quebec City’s recently restored and redeveloped Augustinian Monastery is an important part of the physical and cultural heritage from the French Regime. In keeping with the vocation of the Augustinians, this first hospital in Canada now houses a healing centre for caregivers and an accommodation service for natural caregivers and visitors. It now offers a complete range of services focusing on physical and spiritual health. The rich collections of the Augustinians are also on exhibit. The successful preservation and transmission of heritage was emphasized when the building received the Thomas-Baillargé Award of the Ordre des architectes du Québec. In 2016, the National Geographic Traveler described the building as “the best tourist healing experience in the world.”

 

To learn more…

Healing at the monastery

Extensive restauration and renovation work has made it possible to convert a large part of the old building into a complex dedicated to health and well-being, as an extension of the mission of the Augustinians as caregivers. It offers many activities for anyone who wishes to enjoy a healing experience in a heritage environment, and for natural caregivers and caregiving personnel who need respite. These activities include Tai Chi, Qi Gong and mindfulness workshops, herbal medicine, embroidery and breathing classes, yoga sessions and various lectures, including on the transition to retirement or caring for the terminally ill. The monastery also presents concerts featuring unusual instruments, such as Tibetan bowls, hand pan or crystal harps, which promote inwardness. Massages, reflexology treatments and nutrition advice are also offered.

The monastery’s restaurant features fresh local produce, which is often organic. The meals combine traditional curative virtues with recent research in nutritional therapy. Of the 60 or so rooms in the monastery, some have retained the original monastic spirit, while others have a more contemporary look.

Collections and museum

In 2000, when the Augustinians took charge of transmitting their heritage, they centralized in Quebec City the collections of the 12 monasteries they had occupied throughout the province and drew up an inventory. These varied collections comprise 24,000 items, some 500 of which date from the French Regime and are classified as cultural assets of Quebec. Many elements of these collections are exhibited at the Quebec City monastery.

The permanent exhibit deals mainly with the mission of the Augustinians—caring for the body and soul—and their history. It sheds light on their spiritual and social commitment over the ages: how they took care of the sick while living a community life of prayer and reflection, in the search of balance between action and contemplation. Some more specific content throughout the monastery illustrate other aspects of the Augustinians’ secular work, in particular the evolution of medicine in Quebec.

Healing the body and soul

The Augustinians began their adventure in America on August 1, 1639, when three young French women disembarked on the beach of Quebec City to establish a hospital and to care for Indigenous people and colonists. These religious women worked and lived at Hôtel-Dieu of Quebec City, the first hospital in North America.

As a result of the growing importance of Hôtel-Dieu and the monastery, the community built additional wings in 1695 and 1755 to accommodate more sisters and patients. During the French Regime, the Augustinians also opened the Hôpital général de Québec in Lower Town. Then, in 1873, they set up a network of 10 other hospitals-monasteries throughout the province, working as managers, nurses and pharmacists. They thus laid the foundations of Quebec’s health care system.

After more than 300 years of dedication, the Augustinians transferred Hôtel-Dieu to the government in 1962, in the wake of lay reforms in health and education. In the following decades, the community faced a massive reduction in its workforce, to the extent that in 2000, the Augustinians made a major decision to transfer their property and convert their monastery in Quebec City. They once again brilliantly carried out their mission.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // Le monastère des Augustines, valoriser et transmettre le patrimoine
retour

Le monastère des Augustines, valoriser et transmettre le patrimoine

Le Monastère-des-Augustines-de-l’Hôtel-Dieu-de-Québec, récemment restauré et réaménagé, représente un important héritage matériel et immatériel remontant au Régime français, d’ailleurs classé par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec. Conformément à la vocation des Augustines, cette première structure hospitalière au Canada abrite désormais un Centre de ressourcement pour personnes soignantes et un Service d’hébergement destiné aux aidants naturels et aux visiteurs. On y offre une gamme complète de services axés sur la santé physique et spirituelle. Les riches collections des Augustines y sont également exposées. Cette réussite dans la préservation et la transmission du patrimoine a remporté le prix Thomas-Baillargé de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec, alors que le National Geographic Traveler a qualifié l’établissement de « meilleure expérience touristique de ressourcement au monde » en 2016.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Se ressourcer au monastère

Les importants travaux de restauration et rénovation ont permis de convertir une importante partie du bâtiment ancien en un complexe dédié à la santé et au mieux-être, dans le prolongement de la mission de soignantes des Augustines. Les nombreuses activités qui y sont proposées s’adressent à toute personne qui veut vivre une expérience de ressourcement en milieu patrimonial, ainsi qu’aux aidants naturels et au personnel soignant qui ont besoin d’une période de repos. Ces activités comprennent des ateliers de Tai Chi, de Qi Gong ou de pleine conscience, des formations en herboristerie, des cours d’initiation à la broderie, des exercices de respiration, des séances de yoga et des conférences variées, par exemple sur la transition à la retraite ou l’accompagnement des malades en fin de vie. Le monastère présente aussi des concerts d’instruments inhabituels tels bols tibétains, hand pan ou harpes de cristal, qui favorisent l’intériorité. Des massages, des traitements de réflexologie et des conseils en alimentation santé sont également offerts.

Quant au restaurant du monastère, il met en valeur des produits frais et locaux, souvent biologiques. Les mets qui y sont proposés combinent les vertus curatives reconnues par la tradition et les recherches récentes en nutrithérapie. Parmi la soixantaine de chambres, certaines ont conservé l’esprit monastique d’origine, alors que d’autres présentent une allure plus contemporaine.

Les collections et le musée

En l’an 2000, lorsque les Augustines ont entrepris la transmission de leur héritage, elles ont centralisé à Québec les collections des douze monastères qu’elles occupaient à travers la province et en ont fait l’inventaire. Ces collections variées comptent 24 000 objets, dont 500 remontent au Régime français. Une partie de ces objets compose la collection des Augustines de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec qui est classée objet patrimonial par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec. Plusieurs éléments de ces collections sont exposés au monastère de Québec.

L’exposition permanente porte principalement sur la mission des Augustines – le soin du corps et de l’âme – et sur leur histoire. Elle éclaire leur engagement spirituel et social à travers les époques : comment prenaient-elles soin des malades tout en menant une vie communautaire de prière et de recueillement, dans une recherche d’équilibre entre l’action et la contemplation ? Des contenus plus pointus, disséminés dans le monastère, illustrent d’autres aspects de l’œuvre séculaire des Augustines, notamment l’évolution de la médecine au Québec.

 Soigner les corps et les âmes

L’aventure des Augustines en terre d’Amérique commence le 1er août 1639 lorsque trois jeunes Françaises débarquent sur la grève de Québec pour établir un hôpital et soigner les Autochtones et les colons. Premier hôpital en Amérique du Nord, L’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec devient le lieu de travail et de vie des religieuses.

Témoignant de l’importance croissante de L’Hôtel-Dieu et du monastère, la communauté construit des ailes supplémentaires en 1695 et 1755 pour loger davantage de sœurs et de malades. Au Régime français, elles ouvrent aussi l’Hôpital général de Québec, à la basse ville. Puis, à compter de 1873, elles mettent sur pied un réseau de 10 autres monastères-hôpitaux à travers la province, œuvrant comme gestionnaires, infirmières et pharmaciennes. Elles jettent ainsi les bases du système de santé du Québec.

Après plus de 300 ans de dévouement, les Augustines cèdent L’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec au gouvernement en 1962, dans la foulée des réformes laïques de la santé et de l’éducation. Dans les décennies suivantes, la communauté fait face à une diminution massive de ses effectifs, au point qu’en l’an 2000, les Augustines entreprennent une importante réflexion sur le transfert de leurs biens et la reconversion de leur monastère de Québec. Une fois de plus, on peut dire qu’elles ont accompli leur mission avec brio.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.