Loading
Home // Prince Edward Island // Cultural Heritage // The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island at Miscouche: preserving the memory of PEI’s Acadians
back

The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island at Miscouche: preserving the memory of PEI’s Acadians

The pretty town of Miscouche, near Summerside, the second largest city in Prince Edward Island, is the gateway to Évangéline, one of the island’s main Acadian regions. Miscouche is home to the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island, whose permanent exhibit charts the history of the island’s Acadians from 1720 to today. In addition, every six months, the museum offers a new temporary exhibit dealing with a specific aspect of Acadian culture. An archive centre also enables visitors to carry out genealogical research. Armchair discussions and various other informal activities are held at the museum, which is part of the Prince Edward Island Museum and Heritage Foundation. Don’t miss the magnificent Saint-Jean-Baptiste Church, just a short distance from the museum.

 

To learn more…

A decisive event at Miscouche

mf_p1030101m-255x300 -  - The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island at Miscouche: preserving the memory of PEI’s Acadians
St. John the Baptist Church, Miscouche

August 15, 1884 is a very important date for Acadians. The second National Acadian Convention was held in Miscouche that day, three years after the convention in Memramcook, New Brunswick, where the delegates chose August 15, dedicated to Notre‑Dame‑de‑l’Assomption, to celebrate National Acadian Day.

This time, in Miscoucheon the afternoon of August 15, 1884, Abbé Marcel-François Richard made an impassioned plea for the adoption of his design for an Acadian flag. Following his highly eloquent speech, the delegates unanimously adopted the tricoloured French flag, decorated with a gold star in the blue section, the symbolic colour of the Virgin Mary. According to Abbé Richard, the star “must guide the small Acadian colony through storms and pitfalls.” In the evening, he dazzled the Convention’s organizing committee by unfurling the flag that he had already made. The next day, on August 16,1884, the delegates raised the Acadian flag for the first time in front of the church in Miscouche. Since then, the flag has been adopted by all Acadians and can be seen wherever Acadians live.

04_24_drapeauacadien_FullRes-300x238 -  - The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island at Miscouche: preserving the memory of PEI’s Acadians
First on-land raising of the Acadian flag, Historical painting by Claude Picard, 2005

History of the Acadians of Prince Edward Island

This event is one of the themes that artist Claude Picard depicted in the six large historical paintings that are part of the Acadian Museum’s permanent exhibit. In addition, an award‑winning video and five panels made up of texts, photos and artifacts tell the story of the odyssey of Prince Edward Island’s Acadians. From the pioneers’ settlement on the island in 1720 all the way up to their contemporary struggles to preserve Acadian and Francophone culture, by way of the tragic story of the Deportation and the resettlement of a small number of families on the island, the exhibit highlights the courage and determination of this embattled people.

The situation today

Today, approximately one quarter of Prince Edward Island’s residents claim to have Acadian ancestors. Most of the people who carry on the French tradition send their children to one of the province’s six French‑language schools. Because they had to endure so much hardship, many Acadian descendants no longer speak French, while nonetheless remaining proud of their roots.

In 1964, the Association of the Acadian Museum was created to give a concrete expression to the Acadian presence on Prince Edward Island and the desire of the members of this community to have their specific characteristics and traditions officially recognized. The Acadian Museum thus adopted a two-fold mission: to showcase the history of the Acadian community on the island and to promote learning about its history. It achieves this mission by acquiring and preserving collections used to interpret the Acadian historical and cultural heritage of Prince Edward Island. The current museum opened in 1992.

Carte_postale_Nouveau_Musee-300x207 -  - The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island at Miscouche: preserving the memory of PEI’s Acadians
Exhibition in the Acadian Museum

Open year-round, the Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island is a tourist attraction that is visited mainly during the summer. In the winter, it serves more as a community gathering place where events are held. The exhibits and video are in both official languages, and visitors are greeted in both French and English. The bilingual armchair discussions in the summer (one week in French, one week in English) are intended for Francophones, Anglophones who want to learn more about Acadian culture, and Acadians who no longer speak French but who are still attached to their traditions.

After 300 years of surviving against the odds, the Acadian men and women of Prince Edward Island have every reason to be proud of their accomplishments and to be confident in their future. The Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island showcases their fascinating odyssey.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Île-du-Prince-Édouard // Patrimoine culturel // Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à Miscouche : la mémoire des Acadiens de l’Île
retour

Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard à Miscouche : la mémoire des Acadiens de l’Île

Le joli village de Miscouche, près de Summerside, deuxième ville en importance de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, est la porte d’entrée de la région Évangéline, l’une des principales régions acadiennes de l’Île. Ce village accueille le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, dont l’exposition permanente retrace l’histoire des Acadiens de l’Île entre 1720 et aujourd’hui. De plus, des expositions temporaires portant sur divers aspects de la culture acadienne se succèdent tous les six mois ; un centre d’archives permet aussi de faire des recherches généalogiques. Des causeries et diverses activités ponctuelles animent cet établissement membre du réseau Musée et patrimoine de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. À quelques pas du musée, ne manquez pas la magnifique église Saint-Jean-Baptiste.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un événement déterminant s’est déroulé à Miscouche

Le 15 août 1884 est une date marquante pour les Acadiens. Ce jour-là s’ouvre à Miscouche la deuxième Convention nationale acadienne, trois ans après celle de Memramcook au Nouveau-Brunswick, durant laquelle les délégués choisissent la date du 15 août, dédiée à Notre-Dame-de-l’Assomption, pour célébrer la fête nationale des Acadiens.

Cette fois, à Miscouche, l’abbé Marcel-François Richard prononce un vibrant plaidoyer dans l’après-midi du 15 août 1884 pour faire adopter son concept de drapeau acadien. Après un discours fort éloquent, les délégués adoptent à l’unanimité le tricolore français orné d’une étoile dorée dans la partie bleue, symbole de la Vierge Marie, « qui doit guider la petite colonie acadienne à travers les orages et les écueils », explique l’abbé Richard. En soirée, il éblouit les membres du comité organisateur de la Convention en déployant le drapeau qu’il avait fait confectionner à l’avance. Le lendemain, 16 août 1884, les délégués hissent donc pour la première fois le drapeau acadien devant l’église de Miscouche. Depuis, on le voit affiché partout où vivent les Acadiens.

L’histoire des Acadiens de l’Île

Cet événement est l’un des thèmes que le peintre Claude Picard a illustrés dans les six grands tableaux historiques qui font partie de l’exposition permanente du Musée acadien. De plus, une vidéo, qui s’est méritée un prix d’excellence, et cinq volets composés de textes, de plusieurs photos et d’artéfacts racontent l’odyssée des Acadiens de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. À partir de leur implantation pionnière dans l’île en 1720 jusqu’à leurs luttes contemporaines pour la préservation de la culture acadienne et francophone, en passant par l’événement tragique de la Déportation et le rétablissement d’un petit nombre de familles sur l’Île, cette exposition met en évidence le courage et la détermination de ce peuple durement éprouvé.

La situation contemporaine

Aujourd’hui, environ un quart de la population de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard se réclame de descendance acadienne. La majorité de ceux qui perpétuent la tradition française habitent le comté de Prince, autour de Miscouche, et envoient leurs enfants à l’une des six écoles francophones de la province. Comme leur route a été semée d’embûches, plusieurs descendants acadiens ne parlent plus le français, tout en demeurant fiers de leurs racines.

En 1964, la création de l’Association du musée acadien se voulait un acte d’affirmation de la présence acadienne à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle témoignait de la volonté des membres de cette communauté de faire reconnaître officiellement ses spécificités et ses traditions. Le Musée acadien s’est ainsi donné comme mission de mettre en valeur l’histoire de la communauté acadienne de l’Île et de favoriser l’étude de celle-ci en acquérant et en préservant des collections qui serviraient à interpréter le patrimoine historique et culturel acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Le musée actuel a ouvert ses portes en 1992.

Ouvert à longueur d’année, le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard est une attraction touristique fréquentée principalement en été. L’hiver, il est davantage un lieu de rassemblement et d’animation communautaire. Les expositions, la vidéo et l’accueil sont offerts dans les deux langues officielles. Les causeries estivales bilingues (une semaine en français, une semaine en anglais) ont pour but de rejoindre la clientèle francophone, anglophone désireuse de découvrir la culture acadienne et les Acadiens qui ne parlent plus le français, mais qui restent attachés à leurs traditions.

Après 300 années de survie contre vents et marées, les Acadiens et Acadiennes de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard ont toutes les raisons d’être fiers de leurs réalisations et d’être confiants en leur avenir. Le Musée acadien de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard présente leur fascinante odyssée.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.