Loading
Home // Manitoba // Cultural Heritage // Canadian Museum for Human Rights: a pioneer institution
back

Canadian Museum for Human Rights: a pioneer institution

The Canadian Museum for Human rights, in Winnipeg, has adopted a universal approach to bear witness to the importance of human rights. It emphasizes the constant effort made to acquire and maintain these rights. Although a number of institutions, memorial sites and historic sites deal with specific issues, such as tragedies including genocide, this museum is the first to explore human rights from a general perspective, both in Canada and around the world. It encourages visitors to reflect on their perception of human rights, to understand how tenuous these rights are and to support their application. It is very fitting to showcase the beauty human rights in the superb building that houses the museum.

 

To learn more…

Bearing witness to struggles and achievements, encouraging reflection

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights has both temporary exhibits and permanent galleries that tell different stories related to human rights. In contrast to what is done in many other museums, this museum’s message is conveyed through testimonies and accounts of experiences, not by a collection of objects. This choice makes it possible to exhibit personal and intimate views of the themes addressed by the museum. People are at the centre of reflections on human rights. Emotions sometimes run high.

Expo_Musee_DDP-300x198 -  - Canadian Museum for Human Rights: a pioneer institution
Language rights exhibit, Canadian Museum for Human Rights

Visitors discover that human rights have many facets and many faces, such as those of the Canadian Francophone, Métis and Indigenous minorities. Francophones, a minority in Manitoba, had to fight fiercely to obtain the right to be educated in their own language. The rights of the Métis to the lands they had cultivated for decades were abused and trampled on. The rights to identity and the respect for culture were denied in the residential schools established for Indigenous peoples, where an attempt was made to eradicate the “Indian” in the First Nations children whom the authorities had torn away from their parents.

Sites pregnant with meaning

Martin_Interieur_Musee-300x200 -  - Canadian Museum for Human Rights: a pioneer institution
Interior, Étienne Gaboury building

The architecture and layout of the museum were carefully designed to illustrate a journey from darkness to light, from ignorance to knowledge of human rights. Visitors begin their experience in a large darkened room, dug out of the ground, evoking the primitive gatherings of humanity. They then discover the first themes associated with discrimination and mass crimes. They then climb a few levels, guided by alabaster handrails that stand out in the darkness. As they move ahead, visitors discover better illuminated galleries with more optimistic themes that focus on education, tolerance and the struggle against discrimination. At the very end of the visit, the Israel Asper Tower of Hope, named for the man who launched the museum, is a lighthouse symbolizing enlightenment, which also affords a splendid view of Winnipeg.

martin_Jardin_Contemplation-300x195 -  - Canadian Museum for Human Rights: a pioneer institution
Stuart Clark Garden of Contemplation

Winnipeg was a relevant choice to establish such a museum, for certain striking historical events relating to human rights occurred there. The Red River Rebellion, in 1869 and 1870, is one of them. Under the leadership of Louis Riel, the Métis refused to give up their lands, as the Hudson’s Bay Company had given them a verbal promise to honour their property rights over these lands. In 1870, Louis Riel obtained justice and saw to it that the provisional government of the Métis of Manitoba was included in Canadian Confederation. However, his victory was only partial, and many Métis had to leave Red River. In 1919, another major event occurred in Winnipeg: a general strike that turned out to be decisive step in the birth of the labour union movement in Canada.

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights is located just beside the Riel Esplanade, a pedestrian bridge that symbolically unites Winnipeg’s Francophone and Anglophone communities. The Franco-Manitoban architect who designed this memorial site, Étienne Gaboury, also adorned nearby Provencher Bridge with intertwined symbols representing the diversity and complementarity of the communities that make up the social fabric of Manitoba.

A little story about a big museum

mcdh-300x223 -  - Canadian Museum for Human Rights: a pioneer institution
Museum construction, 2011

The idea for a museum devoted to basic rights emerged in 2003. Initially, it was the private initiative of Israel Asper, a prominent Manitoban lawyer, politician and businessman, and son of Ukrainian Jewish immigrants. When Asper died the same year, his idea was adopted by the government, given the importance and relevance of this theme for Canada and today’s world. Construction started in 2009, and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights was inaugurated in 2014. It is, with the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 in Halifax, Canada’s only national museum that is located outside the Ottawa‑Gatineau National Capital Region.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Patrimoine culturel // Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne : une institution pionnière
retour

Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne : une institution pionnière

Le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne, à Winnipeg, adopte une approche universelle pour témoigner de l’importance des droits de l’homme. Il souligne les efforts constants qui sont faits pour les acquérir et les maintenir. Plusieurs institutions, lieux de mémoire et sites historiques abordent des cas précis, telle tragédie, tel génocide en particulier, mais ce musée est le premier à explorer les droits de la personne dans une perspective générale, tant au Canada qu’à travers le monde. Il pousse le visiteur à réfléchir à sa perception des droits de la personne, à comprendre leur fragilité et à souscrire à leur application. La beauté du respect des droits de l’homme n’a d’égal que celle du superbe édifice dans lequel loge ce musée.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Témoigner des luttes et des acquis, inciter à la réflexion

Le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne comporte des expositions temporaires et des galeries permanentes qui racontent différentes histoires se rapportant aux droits de l’homme. Contrairement à bien d’autres institutions muséales, la communication du message ne repose pas sur une collection d’objets, elle passe plutôt par des témoignages, par le récit d’expériences vécues. Ce choix muséographique permet d’exposer des visions personnelles, intimes, sur les thèmes qui sont développés. Les personnes sont au centre de la réflexion sur les droits de la personne. L’émotion est au rendez-vous.

Museģe_Droits_personnes_MF_IMG_3591M-1-300x198 -  - Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne : une institution pionnière
La vitrine sur la protection des droits linguistiques au Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne

Les visiteurs découvrent que les droits de la personne comportent de multiples facettes et possèdent maints visages, tels ceux des minorités canadiennes francophones, métisses et autochtones. Les francophones en situation minoritaire du Manitoba ont âprement lutté pour obtenir le droit de s’instruire dans leur langue. Les droits de propriété des Métis sur les terres qu’ils cultivaient depuis des décennies ont été malmenés et foulés au pied. Le droit à l’identité et au respect de sa culture a été nié dans les pensionnats pour Autochtones où l’on tentait d’éradiquer l’« Indien » dans les enfants des Premières Nations que les autorités arrachaient à leurs parents.

Des lieux investis de signification

martin-intérieur-musée-300x200 -  - Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne : une institution pionnière
L’intérieur du bâtiment d’Étienne Gaboury

L’architecture et la muséographie du Musée ont été soigneusement conçues pour illustrer un cheminement allant de l’ombre à la lumière, de l’ignorance à la connaissance des droits de la personne. Le visiteur commence l’expérience dans une grande salle sombre, creusée à même la terre, qui évoque les rassemblements primitifs de l’humanité. Puis il découvre les premiers thèmes liés à la discrimination et aux crimes de masse. Il monte ensuite les différents paliers, guidé par des rampes d’albâtre qui luisent dans l’obscurité. À mesure qu’il progresse, le visiteur découvre des galeries mieux éclairées, aux thématiques plus optimistes, orientées vers l’instruction, la tolérance et la lutte contre les discriminations. À la toute fin de la visite, la tour de l’Espoir Israel Asper, du nom de celui qui a lancé le projet, est un phare symbolisant l’éveil… d’où l’on a une vue imprenable sur Winnipeg.

martin-espace-détente-300x195 -  - Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne : une institution pionnière
Le jardin de contemplation Stuart Clark

Le choix de cette ville pour établir un tel musée est pertinent, car certains événements historiques marquants s’y sont produits en rapport aux droits de l’homme. La rébellion de la Rivière Rouge, survenue en 1869-1870, est l’un d’entre eux. Sous la direction de Louis Riel, les Métis refusent alors que leurs terres soient confisquées parce que la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson ne leur a cédé qu’oralement les droits de propriété de celles-ci. En 1870, Louis Riel obtient justice et fait entrer le gouvernement métis provisoire du Manitoba dans la Confédération canadienne. Mais sa victoire ne sera que partielle et de nombreux Métis devront quitter la rivière Rouge. Un autre événement majeur survient à Winnipeg en 1919 : la grève générale qui sera une étape déterminante dans la naissance du syndicalisme au Canada.

Le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne est situé juste à côté de l’esplanade Riel, un pont piétonnier qui unit symboliquement les communautés francophone et anglophone de Winnipeg. L’architecte franco-manitobain qui a conçu ce lieu de mémoire patrimonial, Étienne Gaboury, a aussi flanqué le pont routier Provencher voisin de symboles représentant la diversité des communautés qui composent le tissu social du Manitoba, entrelacées, en signe de complémentarité.

Petite histoire d’un grand musée

mcdh-300x223 -  - Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne : une institution pionnière
La construction du musée en 2011

Ce projet de musée consacré aux droits fondamentaux a émergé en 2003. Au départ, il était l’initiative privée d’Israel Asper, avocat, politicien et homme d’affaires en vue du Manitoba, un fils d’immigrants juifs ukrainiens. À son décès, la même année, son projet devient gouvernemental, vu l’importance et la pertinence de cette thématique pour le Canada et le monde d’aujourd’hui. La construction débute en 2009 ; l’inauguration a lieu en 2014. Avec le Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21 à Halifax, il est le seul musée national du Canada situé à l’extérieur de la région de la capitale nationale Ottawa.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.