Loading
Home // Manitoba // Community portraits // The St. Joseph Museum: In memory of the southern Manitoba’s Francophone pioneers
back

The St. Joseph Museum: In memory of the southern Manitoba’s Francophone pioneers

The village of St. Joseph is located 100 kilometres south of Winnipeg, about 15 kilometres from the United States border. Some 500 inhabitants of the Rural Municipality of Montcalm, which comprises St. Joseph and the neighbouring villages of St. Jean Baptiste and Letellier, or around 36% of its population, speak French as a first language. The region was colonized in the 1870s and 1880s by Francophone immigrants, most of them from Quebec. The huge St. Joseph Museum, which exhibits most of the 30,000 objects in its collection in 24 buildings, was created to shed light on the lives of Franco-Manitoban farmers in the early 20th century. Some objects are presented in context, in a workshop or a general store. Others are grouped together by theme, such as dozens of old tractors and hundreds of antique tractor seats. The museum pays homage to the pioneers who developed agriculture in the region.

 

To learn more…

The great western plains

Musee_Saint_Joseph-300x225 -  - The St. Joseph Museum: In memory of the southern Manitoba’s Francophone pioneers
The Saint-Joseph Museum, kitchen and dining room

To get to St. Joseph, visitors must cross Manitoba’s characteristic plains, flat as far as the eye can see, and devoted to agriculture. The abundance of silos and grain and pulse elevators of all sizes in the village testify to the fact that St. Joseph is still mainly an agricultural centre, and that its moniker “bean town” is well earned. St. Joseph also has the largest wind farm in Manitoba.

Thanks to the wide open spaces that surround it, St. Joseph Museum, which opened in 1977 to celebrate the parish’s centennial, was able to spread out over a considerable area measuring 19 hectares. It includes an old general store, an old school, a Ukranian Catholic chapel, wood and leather shops, a dairy display, a barn that comes to life every year for the Montcalm Heritage Festival, and large buildings containing thousands of household items such as oil lamps, jars, bottles, primitive washing machines and scales. The museum is particularly proud of its collection of stationary engines, one of the largest in Western Canada. The engines were used to power pumps, threshing mills and table saws before the electrification of rural areas. One building is devoted to the history of sugar beet production, a little-known Manitoban agricultural sector that provided many producers in the region with a good income until the Manitoba Sugar Company in Winnipeg closed in 1996.

Musee_Saint_Joseph01-300x225 -  - The St. Joseph Museum: In memory of the southern Manitoba’s Francophone pioneers
The Saint-Joseph Museum, bedroom

The museum’s two main displays, the historical village and the agricultural village, are open from May through October, while the Parent Tourism Centre, the large reception pavilion opened in 2013, is open year round. There, visitors can see the Laurent Fillion camera collection, which traces the history of photography from its beginnings in the 19th century, as well as a selection of the museum’s finest objects. One weekend in mid-June each year, the Montcalm Heritage Festival takes place at the museum, including a petting zoo, a parade, entertainment and lavish meals.

Francophone farmers in the Manitoba prairies

Voyageurs in the fur trade, most of them French Canadian, were the first European inhabitants to settle what is now Manitoba. Many of them married Aboriginal women, creating the Métis. When the first Francophone Catholic missionaries arrived at the Red River (the future location of Winnipeg) in 1818, they focused on the Métis population, which was soon several thousand strong. In the 1850s, the majority of the population was made up of Francophone Métis. However, with the creation of Canada in 1867, they were joined by a wave of British immigrants. Many Métis moved west, and the Catholic Church reacted to the decline in the Francophone Catholic population by recruiting new colonists.

Musee_Saint_Joseph_Classe-300x225 -  - The St. Joseph Museum: In memory of the southern Manitoba’s Francophone pioneers
The Saint-Joseph Museum, classroom

Those who settled in the St. Joseph area in the 1870s and 1880s were mainly from the Montreal area of Quebec, eastern Ontario and the New England states, to which French Canadians had recently begun immigrating. Since the Church was not successful in recruiting large numbers of new immigrants, it grouped them together into clusters in which they would be the linguistic majority, thereby making it easier for them to preserve their language and religion. In St. Joseph, this strategy yielded good results, since, according to the 2016 census, almost a century and a half after the arrival of these immigrants, French is still the primary language spoken by about a quarter of the population.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Patrimoine culturel // Le Musée Saint-Joseph, à la mémoire des pionniers francophones du sud du Manitoba
retour

Le Musée Saint-Joseph, à la mémoire des pionniers francophones du sud du Manitoba

Le village de Saint-Joseph est situé à 100 km au sud de Winnipeg, à une quinzaine de kilomètres à peine de la frontière avec les États-Unis. La municipalité rurale de Montcalm, qui regroupe Saint-Joseph et les villages voisins de Saint-Jean-Baptiste et de Letellier, compte environ 500 personnes de langue maternelle française, soit 36 % de sa population. Des immigrants francophones provenant principalement du Québec ont colonisé cette région dans les années 1870 et 1880. Le vaste Musée de Saint-Joseph, qui expose une grande partie des 30 000 objets de sa collection dans 24 bâtiments, s’est donné pour mission d’éclairer la vie que menaient ces agriculteurs franco-manitobains au début du 20e siècle. Les objets sont parfois présentés dans leur contexte, dans un atelier ou un magasin général, ou sont regroupés par thèmes, comme des dizaines de tracteurs et des centaines de bancs de tracteurs anciens. Ce patrimoine rend hommage aux pionniers qui ont développé l’agriculture dans la région.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Dans les grandes plaines de l’Ouest

Musée-Saint-Joseph-02-300x225 -  - Le Musée Saint-Joseph, à la mémoire des pionniers francophones du sud du Manitoba
Le musée Saint-Joseph, cuisine et salle à manger

Pour se rendre à Saint-Joseph, on traverse le paysage typique des plaines du Manitoba, plat à perte de vue et voué à l’agriculture. L’abondance de silos et de réservoirs à grains et à légumineuses de toutes tailles que l’on trouve au village démontre que l’on cultive toujours la terre à grande échelle à Saint-Joseph et que sa réputation de « village des haricots secs » n’est pas surfaite. Saint-Joseph se distingue également par le fait qu’il se trouve au milieu du plus grand parc d’éoliennes du Manitoba.

Grâce aux vastes espaces environnants, le Musée Saint-Joseph, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1977 pour célébrer le centenaire de la paroisse, a pu s’étendre sur une superficie considérable de 19 hectares. Il comprend un ancien magasin général, une ancienne école, une chapelle catholique ukrainienne, des ateliers pour travailler le bois et le cuir, un entrepôt laitier, une étable qui s’anime lors du Festival du patrimoine, de grands immeubles où sont exposés des milliers d’objets domestiques tels que des lampes à l’huile, des pots et des bouteilles, des balances et des machines à laver primitives, et plus encore. Le Musée est particulièrement fier de sa collection d’engins stationnaires – ces moteurs utilisés pour actionner pompes, moulins à battre le grain ou bancs de scie avant l’électrification des campagnes –, l’une des plus importantes de l’Ouest canadien. Un bâtiment est aussi consacré à la culture de la betterave à sucre, un secteur méconnu de l’agriculture manitobaine qui a contribué au bien-être de plusieurs producteurs de la région jusqu’à la fermeture de la raffinerie Manitoba Sugar Company de Winnipeg en 1996.

Musée-Saint-Joseph-01-300x225 -  - Le Musée Saint-Joseph, à la mémoire des pionniers francophones du sud du Manitoba
Le musée Saint Joseph, chambre à coucher

Les deux principaux secteurs du Musée, le village historique et le village agricole, sont ouverts du mois de mai au mois d’octobre, alors que le Centre du tourisme Parent, le grand pavillon d’accueil inauguré en 2013, est ouvert à l’année. C’est là que sont exposées la collection Laurent Fillion d’appareils photographiques, qui retrace l’histoire de cette technologie depuis ses débuts au 19e siècle, ainsi qu’une sélection des plus beaux objets du Musée. Chaque année, durant une fin de semaine au milieu du mois de juin, une petite ferme, un défilé, des spectacles et de plantureux repas donnent un air de fête au site du Musée lors du Festival du patrimoine Montcalm.

Les agriculteurs francophones des prairies manitobaines

Les voyageurs de la traite des fourrures, en majorité canadiens-français, sont les premiers habitants d’origine européenne à s’établir sur le territoire actuel du Manitoba. Plusieurs s’unissent à des femmes autochtones et donnent ainsi naissance au peuple métis. Lorsque les premiers missionnaires francophones catholiques arrivent à la rivière Rouge (futur Winnipeg), en 1818, c’est avant tout pour desservir la population métisse qui s’élève rapidement à quelques milliers de personnes. Dans les années 1850, les Métis francophones constituent la majorité de la population. Mais à compter de 1867, après la création du Canada, une vague d’immigrants d’origine britannique les rejoint. De nombreux Métis se déplacent alors très loin vers l’ouest et l’Église catholique réagit à la baisse des effectifs francophones catholiques en recrutant de nouveaux colons.

Musée-Saint-Joseph-04-300x225 -  - Le Musée Saint-Joseph, à la mémoire des pionniers francophones du sud du Manitoba
Le musée Saint-Joseph, salle de classe

Ceux qui s’établissent dans la région de Saint-Joseph au cours des décennies 1870 et 1880 proviennent principalement de la région de Montréal, au Québec, ou encore de l’est de l’Ontario et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre où ces Canadiens français avaient émigré depuis peu. Comme l’Église ne parvient pas à recruter un grand nombre de nouveaux immigrants, elle les regroupe afin qu’ils forment, ici et là, des noyaux majoritaires où il sera plus facile pour ces francophones catholiques de conserver leur langue et leur religion. À Saint-Joseph, cette stratégie a donné de bons résultats puisque aujourd’hui encore, presque un siècle et demi après l’arrivée de ces immigrants, le français est la principale langue parlée par le quart de la population environ, selon le recensement de 2016.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.