Loading
Home // Québec // Arts and Culture // Quebec’s museum network: A model for the Francophonie
back

Quebec’s museum network: A model for the Francophonie

Quebec is recognized for the quality and diversity of its museums. The Société des musées du Québec (SMQ) is an association of more than 400 institutions located in major cities and municipalities of all sizes throughout the province. These museums, exhibition centres, interpretive sites and parks showcase the heritage, history, archeology, art, science, lifestyles and environment of the various regions of Quebec. The SMQ’s website offers an effective tool for finding institutions that correspond to your interests. The democratization of art and knowledge started in the late 1960s, and the profession of museologist was established in the 1980s with the creation of university programs in museology and the opening of the Musée de la civilisation. In 2000, Quebec’s Department of Culture and Communications implemented its museum policy Vivre autrement … la ligne du temps, another important step in the evolution of Quebec museology. Quebec’s museums often serve as a model for the Francophone world because of their vibrant, captivating and diversified content. They also play a key role in Quebec’s cultural outreach and enrichment.

 

For more information…

An overview of Quebec’s museums sector

22661798580_262e65f9ef_o-300x225 -  - Quebec’s museum network: A model for the Francophonie
Dale Chihuly’s The Sun in front of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts

Quebec’s four major museums—the Musée d’art contemporain and the Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal in Montreal, and the Musée national des beaux arts du Québec and the Musée de la civilisation in Quebec City—are stops on major international exhibition circuits. The opening of the Musée de la civilisation in 1988 breathed unprecedented new life into Quebec’s museum network. The success of the museum, which draws large crowds, is reflected in the circulation of its thematic exhibits on the international circuit and the borrowing of its “musée de société” concept by several European museums, including the Musée de la civilisation de l’Europe et de la Méditerranée in Marseilles and the Musée d’histoire de l’Europe in Brussels. Pointe-à-Callières in Montreal is one of Canada’s major archeological museums, and the McCord Museum pioneered the use of digital tools in museology. Quebec City and Montreal, both established in the 17th century, have several historical and heritage museums and interpretive centres, as well as a range of exhibition and interpretive sites on a wide variety of subjects.

3942677210_90a9d4107d_o-300x200 -  - Quebec’s museum network: A model for the Francophonie
Zoo Sauvage de St-Félicien

There is also a variety of choices in the regions. In Trois-Rivières, for example, BORÉALIS focuses on the regional paper industry, while the Musée québécois de culture populaire showcases day-to-day aspects of Quebec’s collective culture. The Musée d’art de Joliette has the largest collection of art outside the major urban centres, and is recognized for the quality of its exhibitions. In Lac-Saint-Jean, the Zoo sauvage de Saint-Félicien/ Centre de conservation de la biodiversité boréale presents animals in their natural habitat and showcases the region’s historical heritage. In Sept-Îles, the evolving permanent exhibition at the Musée régional de la Côte-Nord focuses on the human adventure in the region over millennia. In Rimouski, the tour guides at the Maison Lamontagne, which dates back to 1744, share the construction techniques used at the time and showcase the lifestyle of the house’s inhabitants. In Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, the Musée de la mémoire vivante collects audio and video testimonies of inhabitants of the region so that future generations can have access to their life stories, skills and memories. The Musée de la nature et des sciences de Sherbrooke uses an interactive approach to amaze, educate and captivate visitors. The Musée de l’ingéniosité J. Armand Bombardier in Valcourt follows the lives of Joseph-Armand Bombardier and his successors to show that creativity and innovation are within everyone’s reach. In Saint-Anicet, the interpretation centre for the Droulers-Tsiionhiakwatha archeological site showcases the remains of the largest Iroquois village ever found in Quebec. These are only a few examples of the wealth of Quebec’s network of museums. The rest are yours to explore.

A changing world

19122188248_50a66511d2_o-300x165 -  - Quebec’s museum network: A model for the Francophonie
Laiterie Charlevoix, Cheese Economuseum

The mission of a museum is to preserve and exhibit its society’s legacy. Museums must also remain relevant and attractive if they are to play their full role as cultural and social stakeholders. That is why museums in Quebec and the rest of Canada are striving to meet the challenge posed by today’s technological revolution and changes in their clienteles’ expectations. Since the early 1980s, Quebec’s museums have continued to improve their practices through the exploration of international trends, increased collaboration and constant innovation. Thanks to university research, the annual conventions of the SMQ and the Canadian Museums Association, the daring and creativity of the multidisciplinary teams led by professional museologists, and the various financial assistance programs offered by the Department of Culture et des Communications, Quebec museums have succeeded in attracting visitors and reasserting their relevance.

3868461399_a69c33de0b_o-300x200 -  - Quebec’s museum network: A model for the Francophonie
Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

The Info-Muse database was created by the SMQ, the central body dedicated to promoting the vitality of Quebec’s museums. Today, it contains more than a million entries describing the collections of some 150 museums. The SMQ also offers consulting services and training, conducts studies, develops management tools, fosters collaborative efforts, and carries out promotional activities. Most of the museums and interpretive centres have now developed activities for schools and fun activities for young people. They organize interactive activities and welcome public participation in their exhibitions. More activities, such as conferences, film screenings and treasure hunts, now complement their exhibitions. They have incorporated the intangible heritage, the human dimension of feelings, skills and values, into the objects and sites they showcase. Thanks to Virtual Museum of Canada funding, they have created a large number of online exhibitions. They also draw on the potential of digital tools to create immersive environments or reveal unusual aspects about the phenomena and objects in their exhibitions. In short, Quebec’s museum network is a dynamic and creative environment.

A few historical landmarks

1750–1800: Religious communities preserve works of art, objects and written documents related to the history of New France.

1806: The Séminaire du Québec opens the first museum in Canada, a science museum in Quebec City.

1824: The first private museums open in Montreal and Quebec City.

1879: The future Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal opens the first art museum in Canada, the Art Gallery.

1922: The Quebec government establishes the Commission des sites et monuments historiques and enacts a law creating the Musée de la province de Québec.

1933: The Musée de la province de Québec, now the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, opens in Quebec City.

1958: The Association des musées de la province de Québec, now the Société des musées du Québec, is established.

The 1960s: The Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal presents its first major international exhibitions, which draw crowds of visitors. Several regional museums open.

1965: The Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal opens.

1975 : Quebec’s Department of Cultural Affairs establishes the Service des musées privés.

The 1980s: Several museums open or are expanded or renovated, reflecting to the rapid development of the network. The SMQ is restructured and professionalized.

1987–1988: University programs in museology are offered in Montreal and Quebec City.

1988: The Musée de la civilisation opens in Quebec City. Its innovative “musée de société” concept goes hand in hand with several other innovative exhibition concepts, which stimulate the museum community.

1992: The ÉCONOMUSÉE network, another innovative concept combining museum exhibitions, the showcasing of artisanal skills and the sale of objects made on site, is developed. Pointe-à-Callière opens in Montreal.

1999–2000: The Groupe-conseil sur le patrimoine culturel proposes overhauling the Cultural Property Act, which becomes theCultural Heritage Actin 2011. The debate leads the Quebec Department of Culture and Communications to recognize the intangible heritage. In 2003, UNESCO adopts the Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage, and the International Council of Museums incorporates the concept into its new definition of “museum” in 2007.

2000: Implementation of the “Vivre autrement… la ligne du temps” policy of the Quebec Department of Culture and Communications.

2004: The Observatoire de la Culture et des Communications du Québec conducts an extensive survey in order to review the current state of heritage sites and museums in Quebec. Between 2006 and 2010, 11 reports review the state of Quebec’s museums.

2006: The Department of Culture and Communications establishes the five components of the Fonds du patrimoine culturel québécois to promote the showcasing and preservation of Quebec heritage. Component 4 supports the creation and renewal of permanent and travelling exhibitions.

2008: An overview of the evolution of the network of museums is published in honour of the SMQ’s 50th anniversary.

2011: The SMQ holds estates general on the future of the museum network and makes a series of recommendations aimed at increasing museum funding.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Arts et culture // Le réseau des musées québécois, un modèle pour la francophonie
retour

Le réseau des musées québécois, un modèle pour la francophonie

Le Québec est reconnu pour la qualité et la diversité de ses institutions muséales. La Société des musées du Québec regroupe plus de 400 institutions situées autant dans les grandes villes que dans les municipalités de toute dimension réparties sur l’ensemble du territoire. Ces musées, centres d’exposition, lieux d’interprétation et parcs mettent en valeur le patrimoine, l’histoire, l’archéologie, l’art, la science, les modes de vie et l’environnement des différentes régions du Québec. Le site Web de la Société des musées du Québec met à la disposition du public un outil performant pour trouver les institutions qui correspondent à ses intérêts. Ce mouvement de démocratisation des arts et des connaissances a pris son envol à la fin des années 1960 et s’est professionnalisé dans les années 1980 avec la création de programmes universitaires en muséologie et l’ouverture du Musée de la civilisation. En 2000, la mise en place de la politique muséale « Vivre autrement … la ligne du temps »,  par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec est une autre étape importante dans l’évolution de la muséologie québécoise. Les institutions muséales du Québec servent souvent de modèle, notamment dans le monde francophone, parce qu’elles sont vivantes, captivantes et diversifiées. Elles contribuent de façon marquante à l’animation et à l’enrichissement culturels du Québec.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un aperçu du secteur muséologique québécois

22661798580_262e65f9ef_o-300x225 -  - Le réseau des musées québécois, un modèle pour la francophonie
Le Soleil de Dale Chihuly devant le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal

Les quatre principaux musées du Québec que sont, à Montréal, le Musée d’art contemporain et le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, et à Québec, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec et le Musée de la civilisation, s’inscrivent dans les circuits des grandes expositions internationales. L’ouverture du Musée de la civilisation en 1988 insuffle un élan sans précédent au réseau muséal québécois. Le succès de ce musée qui rejoint de larges publics se traduit par la circulation de ses expositions thématiques à l’international et la reprise de son concept de « musée de société » par plusieurs musées en Europe, dont le Musée de civilisation de l’Europe et de la Méditerranée à Marseille et le Musée d’histoire de l’Europe à Bruxelles. À Montréal, le Musée Pointe-à-Callières est l’un des grands musées d’archéologie au Canada et le Musée McCord a été un précurseur dans l’utilisation des outils numériques en muséologie. Tant à Québec qu’à Montréal, dans ces villes fondées au 17e siècle, il existe plusieurs musées et centres d’interprétation à caractère historique ou patrimonial et une diversité de lieux d’exposition et d’interprétation portant sur un large éventail de sujets.

3942677210_90a9d4107d_o-300x200 -  - Le réseau des musées québécois, un modèle pour la francophonie
Le Zoo de Saint-Félicien

Dans les régions, le choix est tout aussi varié. Par exemple, à Trois-Rivières, le Centre d’histoire Boréalis porte sur l’industrie papetière régionale et le Musée québécois de culture populaire met en valeur les dimensions quotidiennes de la culture collective québécoise. Le Musée d’art de Joliette possède la plus importante collection d’œuvres d’art hors des grands centres urbains et il est reconnu pour la qualité de ses expositions. Au Lac-Saint-Jean, le Zoo de Saint-Félicien/Centre de conservation de la biodiversité boréale présente les animaux dans leurs habitats ainsi que le patrimoine historique régional. À Sept-Îles, l’exposition permanente évolutive du Musée régional de la Côte-Nord porte sur l’aventure humaine plusieurs fois millénaire de la région. À Rimouski, les guides-animateurs de la Maison Lamontagne datant de 1744 en révèlent les techniques de construction et font revivre le mode de vie de ses habitants. À Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, le Musée de la mémoire vivante collectionne les témoignages audio et vidéo des habitants de la région pour léguer aux générations futures des récits de vie et des souvenirs personnifiés d’événements et de savoir-faire. Le Musée de la nature et des sciences de Sherbrooke mise sur la participation des visiteurs et l’interactivité pour étonner, instruire et captiver. Le Musée de l’ingéniosité J. Armand Bombardier, à Valcourt, suit les traces de Joseph‐Armand Bombardier et de ses successeurs pour démontrer que la créativité et l’innovation sont à la portée de tous. À Saint-Anicet, le Centre d’interprétation du site archéologique Droulers-Tsiionhiakwatha met en valeur les traces du plus important village iroquoien jamais découvert au Québec. Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples. Il faut explorer le réseau des musées québécois pour en découvrir toute la richesse.

Un univers en transformation

19122188248_50a66511d2_o-300x165 -  - Le réseau des musées québécois, un modèle pour la francophonie
Laiterie Charlevoix, Economusée du Fromage

La mission des musées est de conserver et d’exposer l’héritage qu’une société désire léguer à ses descendants. Ils se doivent aussi de demeurer pertinents et attractifs pour jouer pleinement leur rôle d’acteur culturel et social. C’est pourquoi les institutions muséales québécoises – et canadiennes – s’efforcent de répondre au défi que posent les révolutions technologiques actuelles et l’évolution des attentes de leurs clientèles. Depuis le début des années 1980, le milieu muséal québécois n’a eu de cesse d’approfondir et d’améliorer ses pratiques en s’inspirant des tendances internationales, en collaborant davantage et en innovant constamment. Grâce à la recherche universitaire, aux congrès annuels de la Société des musées québécois et à ceux de l’Association des musées canadiens, à l’audace et à la créativité des équipes multidisciplinaires que dirigent les muséologues professionnels, ainsi qu’aux différents programmes d’aide financière offerts par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec, les institutions muséales québécoises maintiennent leur pouvoir d’attraction et réaffirment leur pertinence.

3868461399_a69c33de0b_o-300x200 -  - Le réseau des musées québécois, un modèle pour la francophonie
La façade du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

À l’instigation de la Société des musées québécois (SMQ), l’organisme central qui favorise ce dynamisme, la base de données virtuelle Info-Muse a été mise sur pied. Elle contient aujourd’hui plus d’un million d’entrées décrivant les collections de près de 150 musées. La SMQ offre également de l’expertise-conseil, dispense des formations, mène des études, développe des outils de gestion, favorise les collaborations et fait de la promotion. La majorité des musées et des centres d’interprétation ont maintenant développé des activités pour la clientèle scolaire et de l’animation ludique destinée aux jeunes. Ils ont investi le champ de l’interactivité et de la participation du public aux expositions. Ils ont bonifié les activités qui se déroulent en parallèle aux expositions, comme les conférences, les projections de films, les chasses au trésor, et autres. Ils ont intégré le patrimoine immatériel aux objets et aux lieux qu’ils mettent en valeur, c’est-à-dire toute la dimension humaine du ressenti, du savoir-faire et des valeurs. Grâce au programme de financement du Musée virtuel du Canada, ils ont créé un grand nombre d’expositions virtuelles. Ils utilisent également le potentiel des outils numériques pour créer des environnements immersifs ou révéler des dimensions inusitées des phénomènes et des objets qu’ils exposent. En un mot, le réseau des institutions muséales québécois est un milieu dynamique et créatif.

Quelques repères historiques

1750-1800 : les communautés religieuses conservent des œuvres d’art, des objets et des documents écrits qui témoignent de l’histoire de la Nouvelle-France.

1806 : le Séminaire de Québec inaugure un musée scientifique à Québec. Il s’agit du premier musée canadien.

1824 : les premiers musées privés font leur apparition à Montréal et à Québec.

1879 : le futur Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal inaugure ses premiers locaux ; il se nomme l’Art Gallery. Il s’agit du premier musée d’art au Canada.

1922 : le gouvernement du Québec met sur pied la Commission des sites et monuments historiques et promulgue la loi créant les musées de la province de Québec.

1933 : inauguration du Musée de la province de Québec, à Québec, devenu l’actuel Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec.

1958 : création de l’Association des musées de la province de Québec, future Société des musées du Québec.

Décennie 1960 : le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal présente les premières grandes expositions d’envergure internationale qui connaissent un succès de foule au Québec. On assiste à l’ouverture de plusieurs musées régionaux.

1965 : inauguration du Musée d’art contemporain à Montréal.

1975 : le ministère des Affaires culturelles du Québec met sur pied le Service des musées privés.

Décennie 1980 : ouverture, agrandissement ou rénovation de plusieurs musées qui témoignent du développement rapide du réseau muséal québécois. Réorganisation et professionnalisation de la Société des musées du Québec.

1987-1988 : création des programmes de formation universitaire en muséologie à Montréal et à Québec.

1988 : ouverture du Musée de la civilisation, à Québec. Son concept novateur de « musée de société » va de pair avec plusieurs concepts d’exposition tout aussi novateurs, qui stimulent le milieu muséal.

1992 : création du réseau d’ÉCONOMUSÉE, autre concept novateur alliant exposition muséale, mise en valeur directe de savoir-faire artisanaux et vente d’objets fabriqués sur place. Inauguration du Musée Pointe-à-Callière, à Montréal.

1999-2000 : le Groupe-conseil sur le patrimoine culturel propose une refonte de la loi sur les biens culturels qui donnera lieu à la nouvelle loi sur le patrimoine en 2011. Cette réflexion conduit le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec à reconnaître le patrimoine immatériel. En 2003, l’UNESCO adopte la Convention pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel et le Conseil international des musées intègre ce concept dans sa nouvelle définition du musée en 2007.

2000 : mise en place de la Politique muséale « Vivre autrement…la ligne du temps » du ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec.

2004 : l’Observatoire de la Culture et des Communications du Québec entreprend une vaste enquête afin de dresser un état des lieux du patrimoine et des institutions muséales au Québec. De 2006 à 2010, onze rapports dressent un bilan du réseau muséal.

2006 : le ministère de la Culture et des Communications crée le Fonds du patrimoine culturel québécois visant la mise en valeur et la conservation du patrimoine, en cinq volets. Le volet 4 soutient la réalisation et le renouvellement des expositions permanentes et itinérantes des institutions muséales.

2008 : pour souligner le 50e anniversaire de la Société des musées québécois, on publie une synthèse de l’évolution du réseau muséal.

2011 : la Société des musées québécois tient des états généraux sur l’avenir du réseau muséal et propose une série de recommandations destinées à accroître le financement des musées.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.